BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Engine, Transmission, Exhaust, Drivetrain, ECU Software Modifications
 
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      09-13-2012, 07:34 PM   #1
rvaM3
New Member
rvaM3's Avatar
0
Rep
19
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 M3
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Richmond, Va

iTrader: (0)

Battery Stabilizer

Where would one, locally, buy a battery stabilizer required for ECU tunes for the E92 M3?

Thanks in advance
Appreciate 0
      09-13-2012, 09:08 PM   #2
rvaM3
New Member
rvaM3's Avatar
0
Rep
19
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 M3
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Richmond, Va

iTrader: (0)

Search, you dummy!!!!
Appreciate 0
      09-13-2012, 10:44 PM   #3
THE TECH
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
THE TECH's Avatar
United_States
157
Rep
13,121
Posts


 
Drives: BPMsport 2012 E92 M3
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Kansas

iTrader: (45)

Garage List
Send a message via AIM to THE TECH Send a message via Skype™ to THE TECH
If you want local help, you should post in the local section.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      09-13-2012, 11:10 PM   #4
JeffreMarti
New Member
0
Rep
6
Posts

 
Drives: audi
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: for

iTrader: (0)

you should post in the local section.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      09-16-2012, 02:23 AM   #5
Mike Benvo
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Mike Benvo's Avatar
United_States
98
Rep
4,813
Posts


 
Drives: Harrop SC M3 / E46 M3 / 7Turbo
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SoCal

iTrader: (7)

Garage List
2008 BMW M3  [5.00]
1990 BMW 735i Turbo  [5.00]
2004 BMW M3  [0.00]
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Benvo
No need for a stabilizer. The read will take 36 minutes with my cable, it will read the ECU even at a low voltage. Most cars have no problem.

Programming back the tuned file only takes under 5 minutes
__________________

-----| Like us on Facebook | Instagram || Tuning Information | Remote Coding |-----
----Visit us at www.BPMSport.com - Emotion. Driven. | Toll Free: (888) 557-5133----
Appreciate 0
      09-16-2012, 06:25 AM   #6
armyav8tor
n1smo
armyav8tor's Avatar
United_States
27
Rep
1,449
Posts

 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: North Carolina

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Just get a battery tender.
Appreciate 0
      09-16-2012, 02:42 PM   #7
THE TECH
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
THE TECH's Avatar
United_States
157
Rep
13,121
Posts


 
Drives: BPMsport 2012 E92 M3
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Kansas

iTrader: (45)

Garage List
Send a message via AIM to THE TECH Send a message via Skype™ to THE TECH
Quote:
Originally Posted by armyav8tor View Post
Just get a battery tender.
That won't satisfy the battery voltage needs when doing long programming sessions.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      09-16-2012, 03:27 PM   #8
C|3R1C
So Kewl Guy
C|3R1C's Avatar
5
Rep
513
Posts

 
Drives: 2010 E93 M3 DCT
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Los Angeles

iTrader: (0)

I got a battery charger at autozone for like 30 bucks. Charges at 2,8 and 12 amp increments. I usually use 8 amps.
__________________
2010 E93 M3 / AA Catless X-Pipe / AA Catback / AA Pulley / Vorsteiner Vented Hood and Bootlid E93 Trunk / ADV1 7.1 Wheels GB / LS3 LED Lights / AFE Stage 2 / Velos Designwerks Tune
Appreciate 0
      09-17-2012, 08:09 AM   #9
THE TECH
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
THE TECH's Avatar
United_States
157
Rep
13,121
Posts


 
Drives: BPMsport 2012 E92 M3
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Kansas

iTrader: (45)

Garage List
Send a message via AIM to THE TECH Send a message via Skype™ to THE TECH
Quote:
Originally Posted by C|3R1C View Post
I got a battery charger at autozone for like 30 bucks. Charges at 2,8 and 12 amp increments. I usually use 8 amps.
FYI, for reprogramming or doing factory updates on the car as the OP asked, this will not work.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      09-17-2012, 11:52 AM   #10
C|3R1C
So Kewl Guy
C|3R1C's Avatar
5
Rep
513
Posts

 
Drives: 2010 E93 M3 DCT
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Los Angeles

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by THE TECH

FYI, for reprogramming or doing factory updates on the car as the OP asked, this will not work.
It worked on my friends 335. His battery died during flashing and left a part of the ecu blank. This was before the charger. (my battery never died so I can't comment on my car lol). Turned up the charger to 8 amps and it worked.

If this isn't OPs question then my bad lol. I guess I was understanding it wrong. And if I'm mixing up what I have with a charger then my mistake again lol
__________________
2010 E93 M3 / AA Catless X-Pipe / AA Catback / AA Pulley / Vorsteiner Vented Hood and Bootlid E93 Trunk / ADV1 7.1 Wheels GB / LS3 LED Lights / AFE Stage 2 / Velos Designwerks Tune
Appreciate 0
      09-17-2012, 11:57 AM   #11
THE TECH
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
THE TECH's Avatar
United_States
157
Rep
13,121
Posts


 
Drives: BPMsport 2012 E92 M3
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Kansas

iTrader: (45)

Garage List
Send a message via AIM to THE TECH Send a message via Skype™ to THE TECH
Quote:
Originally Posted by C|3R1C View Post
It worked on my friends 335. His battery died during flashing and left a part of the ecu blank. This was before the charger. (my battery never died so I can't comment on my car lol). Turned up the charger to 8 amps and it worked.

If this isn't OPs question then my bad lol. I guess I was understanding it wrong. And if I'm mixing up what I have with a charger then my mistake again lol
The issue is that when programming, the ECM requires precise voltage or it will stop programming. Most battery chargers or tenders will not provide a stable amount of voltage. For lengthy programming, it's not safe to use anything but a voltage stabilizer.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      11-07-2012, 10:00 AM   #12
KmndntKlink
Lieutenant
KmndntKlink's Avatar
Canada
4
Rep
421
Posts

 
Drives: 2010 e92 m3
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (4)

So what exactly do I need for programming/update to 240e sessions? I've borrowed a charger that can do 13v and 15amps. That should be enough no?
__________________
E92 ///M3 in Dakar Yellow, M-DCT, iDrive, 220M OEM rims, Active Autowerke Green filter, Turner Motorsport test pipes, BPM stage 2 tune, Stoptech ST-40 F+R in yellow.
Appreciate 0
      11-15-2012, 08:23 AM   #13
edwinm3
Colonel
edwinm3's Avatar
United_States
38
Rep
2,121
Posts

 
Drives: E92 MELBOURNE RED M3
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Doral

iTrader: (10)

Quote:
Originally Posted by KmndntKlink
So what exactly do I need for programming/update to 240e sessions? I've borrowed a charger that can do 13v and 15amps. That should be enough no?
I ask the same
__________________
Appreciate 0
      11-15-2012, 09:41 AM   #14
THE TECH
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
THE TECH's Avatar
United_States
157
Rep
13,121
Posts


 
Drives: BPMsport 2012 E92 M3
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Kansas

iTrader: (45)

Garage List
Send a message via AIM to THE TECH Send a message via Skype™ to THE TECH
Quote:
Originally Posted by KmndntKlink View Post
So what exactly do I need for programming/update to 240e sessions? I've borrowed a charger that can do 13v and 15amps. That should be enough no?
Quote:
Originally Posted by edwinm3 View Post
I ask the same
For just an update to 240E and no other module updates, you shouldn't need a charger at all.
__________________
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:48 PM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST