BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Coding / ConnectedDrive / Audio-Video / Electronics / Bluetooth / I-Drive & Nav
 
Evolve Automotive
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      09-30-2012, 02:14 PM   #1
RBB
First Lieutenant
5

 
RBB's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: NOVA


Posts: 344
iTrader: (10)

Help with INPA setup

So I'm just trying to get started coding on my 2008 E92 M3. Bought the $99 cable from one stop electronics and downloaded the ncsexpert package from the DIY. Everything is unzipped to C: drive and I've installed the obd driver as well as set up my enviroment variables and port settings per the DIY. Cable is plugged into OBD2 port and I start INPA. The attached image is all I get.

The top two dots in the left corner flash nonstop and I get nothing on Battery or Ignition. The green Running bar in the lower right continuously stays up. I tried to select my chassis and select the airbag module anyways and I get an interruption in communication error.

So what am I doing wrong here? I've followed the DIY to the T. I am running 64-bit Windows 7 so I'm running the software through the virtual machine and a windows XP emulator if that information helps.
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      09-30-2012, 08:32 PM   #2
Mike Benvo
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
United_States
92


 
Mike Benvo's Avatar
 
Drives: Harrop SC M3 / E46 M3 / 7Turbo
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SoCal


Posts: 4,765
iTrader: (7)

Garage List
2008 BMW M3  [5.00]
1990 BMW 735i Turbo  [5.00]
2004 BMW M3  [0.00]
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Benvo
could be a ton of different things..
__________________

-----| Like us on Facebook | Instagram || Tuning Information | Remote Coding |-----
----Visit us at www.BPMSport.com - Emotion. Driven. | Toll Free: (888) 557-5133----
Appreciate 0
      09-30-2012, 09:26 PM   #3
armyav8tor
n1smo
United_States
26

 
armyav8tor's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: North Carolina


Posts: 1,447
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
You're not going to find any help here. Too many people trying to make a easy buck. Go to the other coding forum that happens to start with BMW for more helpful answers. Just because INPA is not working doesn't mean NCSEXPERT doesn't work. Go through the steps in the DIY for coding and see if it works. You might want to update your daten files also if you got them from that DIY link.
Appreciate 0
      09-30-2012, 09:48 PM   #4
Merlosso
Banned
United_States
5

 
Drives: Results
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Germantown, MD


Posts: 495
iTrader: (2)

I'm local and can help you. Send me a PM.
Appreciate 0
      10-01-2012, 12:58 PM   #5
RBB
First Lieutenant
5

 
RBB's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: NOVA


Posts: 344
iTrader: (10)

I got it figured out guys, it was OBD.ini. Ended up having to create a OBD.INI file and inserting it into my Windows folder. It was not in the software package I downloaded....didn't even exist in the appropriate EDIABAS folder. I also updated my daten files while I was at it. Successfully added the alarm to my vehicle order and coded all the associated options. Also coded amber delete, door unlocks when ignition off, windows up on rain, windows up with fob, 6MT shifting suggestion....probably all the most common stuff. Everything works flawlessly, not bad for the first time. I appreciate the replies.

Last edited by RBB; 10-01-2012 at 01:35 PM.
Appreciate 0
      10-29-2012, 03:32 PM   #6
Boost3dm3
Lieutenant
United_States
7

 
Boost3dm3's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: DC Metro


Posts: 470
iTrader: (0)

we're gonna have to get together so you can show locals how to do this.
__________________
Become a BMW CCA member; please use member #405205 as a reference . Click here to join online
Appreciate 0
      10-29-2012, 03:36 PM   #7
Merlosso
Banned
United_States
5

 
Drives: Results
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Germantown, MD


Posts: 495
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boost3dm3 View Post
we're gonna have to get together so you can show locals how to do this.
I've done coding at a few of the BMWCCA social events and I'm coding at least a few cars a week in the area. I'm happy to help anyone that needs it.
Appreciate 0
      10-29-2012, 04:46 PM   #8
RBB
First Lieutenant
5

 
RBB's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: NOVA


Posts: 344
iTrader: (10)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boost3dm3 View Post
we're gonna have to get together so you can show locals how to do this.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Merlosso View Post
I've done coding at a few of the BMWCCA social events and I'm coding at least a few cars a week in the area. I'm happy to help anyone that needs it.
Same here. I've already coded a few others in my area. I don't mind meeting with some guys and helping out.
Appreciate 0
      12-03-2012, 02:08 PM   #9
flip
Private First Class
4

 
Drives: 2008 E90 M3
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Marietta, GA


Posts: 112
iTrader: (0)

Any suggestions on the best cable to get for doing this type thing? I need to do my battery and haven't found any good solid threads that say which one will work best with a 2008 m3...

This one is cheap and looks OK. Maybe not the best quality but might be OK?
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...A1E57UY6AMKO25

OR this? Comes with software so it might be a bit easier to get going...?
http://www.amazon.com/Loftek-Interfa...pd_sim_sbs_e_1

IF theres something liek this already out there that I've missed please point me in the right direction...
Appreciate 0
      12-03-2012, 09:57 PM   #10
flip
Private First Class
4

 
Drives: 2008 E90 M3
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Marietta, GA


Posts: 112
iTrader: (0)

Nevermind... Ended up just getting the one that the coding site recommends...
Appreciate 0
      12-03-2012, 10:06 PM   #11
leo95se
Lieutenant
United_States
7

 
Drives: 09 JB e92, Q5 and passat
Join Date: May 2009
Location: CT


Posts: 494
iTrader: (1)

nice work! would be great to get some NE people coding. I have all the tools too, but havent had the chance to troubleshoot. ill add it back on my list of shit to do when i have free time. ha
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:36 PM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST