BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > BIMMERPOST Universal Forums > Off-Topic Discussions Board
 
GT Haus
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      10-26-2012, 07:45 PM   #1
M_Six
Free Thinker
 
M_Six's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 MB C300 4matic
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Foothills of Mt Level

Posts: 4,945
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Looks like I'll be switching to Mac.

Anyone check out Windows 8 yet? What a piece of crap. M$ has screwed up royally, IMO. I hope this is a Windows ME type of screw up that they'll quickly move past.
__________________
Mark
Flickr

"The $0.99 menu was put on this Earth for a good damn reason." -Weebl
M_Six is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-26-2012, 07:47 PM   #2
ddk632
Professional Orangeer
 
Drives: Bacon
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: South Florida

Posts: 1,896
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
I played with it in the client preview stage, had it installed on a VM on my machine about a year ago; wasn't at all impressed with the new "start" screen and its various navigational quirks. Beside that, the rest of it is almost identical to Win7.

What don't you like about it, specifically?
__________________
ddk632 | David Khaykin | (The K* is Silent!)
flickr photos [ Best Of | BMW | Motorcycles & DSLR's ]
* First K only, credit to Billup
ddk632 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-26-2012, 08:04 PM   #3
M_Six
Free Thinker
 
M_Six's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 MB C300 4matic
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Foothills of Mt Level

Posts: 4,945
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
The whole need to mess with the Tile screen and use "swipes" to get to things like the shut down button. I admit I haven't had a chance to set things up for myself, though, so maybe it's not as bad as the demo I saw. Can you avoid some of the nonsense and make it work like Windows 7 for the most part?

For instance, to shut down you need to move the cursor into the top right corner of the screen to get a menu to pop out. Then sweep down to the "Settings" button that appears, and click it. Then click "Power," then "Shut down."

Really? Just to shut down? Tell me there's an easier way.
__________________
Mark
Flickr

"The $0.99 menu was put on this Earth for a good damn reason." -Weebl

Last edited by M_Six; 10-26-2012 at 08:11 PM.
M_Six is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-26-2012, 09:11 PM   #4
Crimson92
Smiling Politely
 
Crimson92's Avatar
 
Drives: Like a boss
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Whales Vagina

Posts: 28,628
iTrader: (3)

Start> type shutdown /s /t 01enter.


Win 8 is great for IT people.....like me.
__________________
Quote:
Some people are like slinkies...not really good for much but you can't help but smile when you see one tumble down the stairs"
Crimson92 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-26-2012, 09:54 PM   #5
M_Six
Free Thinker
 
M_Six's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 MB C300 4matic
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Foothills of Mt Level

Posts: 4,945
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crimson92 View Post
Win 8 is great for IT people.....like me.
How so?
__________________
Mark
Flickr

"The $0.99 menu was put on this Earth for a good damn reason." -Weebl
M_Six is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-26-2012, 09:57 PM   #6
donovan
Brigadier General
 
donovan's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 m3 AW, light package
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: le' Murica

Posts: 3,484
iTrader: (12)

Does not matter..just get a mac.. I did it and its awesomeness
__________________


e46 m3 Black
Too many mods
donovan is offline   Germany
0
Reply With Quote
      10-26-2012, 11:02 PM   #7
ddk632
Professional Orangeer
 
Drives: Bacon
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: South Florida

Posts: 1,896
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
I agree the start menu is cumbersome. Most non techy people don't know commands such as 'shutdown' or CMD window stuff.

It's been a year so I can't remember how I shut down, but it's possible it's that convoluted. Behind the start screen with the tiles, I do like the enhanced look of file explorer, as it looks more like a browser now, and the file tagging functions are improved.

Overall it looks more like an overhaul or facelift of Win7 vs. the vast difference between Vista and Win7 several years ago.

But hey, you don't have to switch to Mac. You can just keep Win7
__________________
ddk632 | David Khaykin | (The K* is Silent!)
flickr photos [ Best Of | BMW | Motorcycles & DSLR's ]
* First K only, credit to Billup
ddk632 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-26-2012, 11:04 PM   #8
Crimson92
Smiling Politely
 
Crimson92's Avatar
 
Drives: Like a boss
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Whales Vagina

Posts: 28,628
iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by M_Six
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crimson92 View Post
Win 8 is great for IT people.....like me.
How so?
Hyper v built in

Better rsat

Dedup

And so on.
__________________
Quote:
Some people are like slinkies...not really good for much but you can't help but smile when you see one tumble down the stairs"
Crimson92 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-26-2012, 11:11 PM   #9
M_Six
Free Thinker
 
M_Six's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 MB C300 4matic
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Foothills of Mt Level

Posts: 4,945
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by ddk632 View Post
I agree the start menu is cumbersome. Most non techy people don't know commands such as 'shutdown' or CMD window stuff.

It's been a year so I can't remember how I shut down, but it's possible it's that convoluted. Behind the start screen with the tiles, I do like the enhanced look of file explorer, as it looks more like a browser now, and the file tagging functions are improved.

Overall it looks more like an overhaul or facelift of Win7 vs. the vast difference between Vista and Win7 several years ago.

But hey, you don't have to switch to Mac. You can just keep Win7
Hopefully Windows 7 will endure for a while longer, like NT4 lived past the Windows 98/ME debacle. I will have to deal with it at some point as I support 50 or so staff and faculty machines and approx 200 student laptops running Windows and Mac. I just hope you can tune out some of the BS and just make the thing work. Windows 7 already takes more clicks to do something that was simple in XP. Windows 8 looks to be worse in the regard.

On the other side of the fence, I hear rumors that the next Mac OS may restrict access to the Unix underpinnings of the OS. That's going to piss off lots of serious techie types I know who run MacBook Pros almost strictly in terminal window mode. I do like the Mac hardware. I'm typing this now on a very nice MBP running Win7 in Bootcamp. I need to spend more time on the Mac side of the drive, though.
__________________
Mark
Flickr

"The $0.99 menu was put on this Earth for a good damn reason." -Weebl
M_Six is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-26-2012, 11:37 PM   #10
ddk632
Professional Orangeer
 
Drives: Bacon
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: South Florida

Posts: 1,896
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by M_Six View Post
Hopefully Windows 7 will endure for a while longer, like NT4 lived past the Windows 98/ME debacle. I will have to deal with it at some point as I support 50 or so staff and faculty machines and approx 200 student laptops running Windows and Mac. I just hope you can tune out some of the BS and just make the thing work. Windows 7 already takes more clicks to do something that was simple in XP. Windows 8 looks to be worse in the regard.

On the other side of the fence, I hear rumors that the next Mac OS may restrict access to the Unix underpinnings of the OS. That's going to piss off lots of serious techie types I know who run MacBook Pros almost strictly in terminal window mode. I do like the Mac hardware. I'm typing this now on a very nice MBP running Win7 in Bootcamp. I need to spend more time on the Mac side of the drive, though.
This actually happened when Vista came out. A lot of organizations stayed on XP for their workstations, and lots of individuals as well.

The Win8 Metro start screen can be disabled as its a registry setting. Here's a quick link to someone who's done this already:
http://www.itworld.com/answers/topic...8-start-screen

If you maintain group policy and have a hand in imaging new machines, I bet you can just run all of your machines with the Metro UI disabled. Underneath, it's same as Win7.

That all being said, I am not against Macs. I had an MBP for a while, ran Bootcamp and Parallels, but found myself, like you, in the Windows 7 side most of the time for maximum efficiency. The only time I spent on the Mac side was to play with XCode and some iOS development - I am thinking of picking another one up with the new retina display for this purpose.
__________________
ddk632 | David Khaykin | (The K* is Silent!)
flickr photos [ Best Of | BMW | Motorcycles & DSLR's ]
* First K only, credit to Billup
ddk632 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-26-2012, 11:51 PM   #11
M_Six
Free Thinker
 
M_Six's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 MB C300 4matic
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Foothills of Mt Level

Posts: 4,945
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Yeah, we run images and GPOs. We've killed auto-run (which I don't miss a bit) and use it to push out updates. If the Metro screen can be squashed, I'm sure we will. But we have no say over student laptops, so if a student shows up with a problem related to Metro, I'll still need to know how to fix it.

A new 27" iMac with an i7 and 16GB RAM is coming available in a few weeks. I may snatch that one for myself just to work more in Mac in my office. I dropped a 512GB SSD in my MBP and it's a sweet machine now. I may do the same with the iMac.
__________________
Mark
Flickr

"The $0.99 menu was put on this Earth for a good damn reason." -Weebl
M_Six is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-26-2012, 11:54 PM   #12
ddk632
Professional Orangeer
 
Drives: Bacon
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: South Florida

Posts: 1,896
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
SSD FTW!!!
__________________
ddk632 | David Khaykin | (The K* is Silent!)
flickr photos [ Best Of | BMW | Motorcycles & DSLR's ]
* First K only, credit to Billup
ddk632 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-27-2012, 06:51 AM   #13
amanda hor$t
Banned
 
Drives: a380
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: ny ny

Posts: 208
iTrader: (0)

i'm usually on firefox or media player, so pc/mac and win/osx really doesn't change anything. i'll skip the upgrading/config crap for now.
amanda hor$t is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-27-2012, 09:18 AM   #14
bosstones
Major
 
Drives: o_0
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Suburbia

Posts: 1,068
iTrader: (0)

Microsoft does have a history of putting out a useable product every other OS release. I honestly didn't have too many gripes about Vista on my home machine other than how it handled memory management but I had pretty new HW w/ a lot of RAM, fast drives, and proc so that probably helped mitigate things. Windows 7 really should have been a patch to Vista, though (IMHO).
Attached Images
 
__________________
bosstones is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-27-2012, 09:51 AM   #15
donovan
Brigadier General
 
donovan's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 m3 AW, light package
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: le' Murica

Posts: 3,484
iTrader: (12)

shit lol
__________________


e46 m3 Black
Too many mods
donovan is offline   Germany
0
Reply With Quote
      10-27-2012, 12:17 PM   #16
Hawkeye
Brigadier General
 
Hawkeye's Avatar
 
Drives: '07 Z4 si Coupe, '08 R6
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Holland

Posts: 3,594
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
lol, nice. Yeah, I have it on my mac (Parallels) but never seem to use it. I do use Windows 7... but only when I need to log into work cause they disabled Mac remote log ins but through Parallels it works as it was a PC.
__________________
2007 Z4 3.0si Coupe 6 MT Black Saphire Metallic PP SP Heated M Seats Clutch Stop Stubby
2008 R6 Raven Black GPR Steering Stabilizer Comp Werks FE Hotbodies Flush Mount Blinkers
2008 Nissan Titan XE King Cab Long Bed 4x4 Line-X
Hawkeye is offline   No_Country
0
Reply With Quote
      10-27-2012, 01:27 PM   #17
amanda hor$t
Banned
 
Drives: a380
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: ny ny

Posts: 208
iTrader: (0)

i have win7 on my 3 laptops (main one is only a c2d) and osx snow leopard w xp parallels on the mac pro (basically retired now). i really really don't see how a new os will make surfing the web any better.

it's like those guys who have to drive a new car. get it running well, and just keep it.
amanda hor$t is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-27-2012, 03:12 PM   #18
ddk632
Professional Orangeer
 
Drives: Bacon
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: South Florida

Posts: 1,896
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Some people do use their computers to do more than just surf the web

Just sayin'
__________________
ddk632 | David Khaykin | (The K* is Silent!)
flickr photos [ Best Of | BMW | Motorcycles & DSLR's ]
* First K only, credit to Billup
ddk632 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-27-2012, 03:24 PM   #19
iBoost
Brigadier General
 
iBoost's Avatar
 
Drives: real slow
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Las Vegas

Posts: 3,038
iTrader: (12)

just saw a video on it, sh!t looks like my xbox dashboard (dontwantforcomputer.jpeg)
iBoost is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-27-2012, 03:39 PM   #20
sterz85
Second Lieutenant
 
sterz85's Avatar
 
Drives: '07 328xi
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Troy, MI

Posts: 239
iTrader: (1)

i installed it the day it came out, took about 5-10 min to get used to it

after getting used to it, it's pretty awesome
sterz85 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-27-2012, 05:50 PM   #21
amanda hor$t
Banned
 
Drives: a380
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: ny ny

Posts: 208
iTrader: (0)

the way i see it, when you buy a mac you're buying a computer + furniture/art. it does look a lot better. even the boxes, i saved them. alienware is pretty close but you're gonna pay up for that too. with apps, there's nothing really exclusive to either platform.

i bought a mac once, i'd rather save money now.
amanda hor$t is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:04 AM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST