BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Coding / ConnectedDrive / Audio-Video / Electronics / Bluetooth / I-Drive & Nav
 
GT Haus
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      10-07-2012, 05:12 PM   #1
LightWerkz
Lieutenant
 
Drives: E90 M3
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Oakland, NJ

Posts: 535
iTrader: (1)

Adding Sirius Radio : Running into issues

Purchased a 2009 M3 recently and the one thing it was missing was the sirius radio option. Picked up a used receiver from a forum member and went to install it.

installation just took a few mins, it was 1 large connector and the other for the antenna. I had to remove the connector on the factory antenna wire, but besides that it plugged right in.

On the back of this receiver it had two antenna ports. Tom from EAS said that he knows that just plugging into one of them will work, but he forgot which one it was.

Local member did some coding for me, which included the addition of the Sirius Sat radio this morning.

The Sirius radio is now and option under the Radio Category, but when I click it nothing comes up. No channels come up and there is just a blank under "Category"

I tried both locations on the antenna.

Do you know what could be wrong?

Im not sure, maybe he programmed it wrong, is this possible? Or would it not come up on the screen if he didn't do it right?

Another thing I am worried about is the seller shipped the module without any protection and just jammed it into a small flat rate box, maybe its damaged?

Thanks in Advance

Last edited by LightWerkz; 10-07-2012 at 05:49 PM.
LightWerkz is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-07-2012, 05:35 PM   #2
ussoldierforhire
Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2011 M3 E92
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Virginia Beach, VA

Posts: 561
iTrader: (1)

Can you go into options and find your ESN number? You may need to have Sirius send an activation signal to your unit.
ussoldierforhire is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-07-2012, 05:51 PM   #3
6spdg37s
Captain
 
Drives: none
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: dirty jerz

Posts: 754
iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ussoldierforhire View Post
Can you go into options and find your ESN number? You may need to have Sirius send an activation signal to your unit.
+ 1 you need to get the ESN , I dont think it will show channels until they send you an activation signal
6spdg37s is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-07-2012, 05:56 PM   #4
LightWerkz
Lieutenant
 
Drives: E90 M3
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Oakland, NJ

Posts: 535
iTrader: (1)

Ok. Good to hear, I will call in and see what happens. Thank you!
LightWerkz is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-07-2012, 05:58 PM   #5
6spdg37s
Captain
 
Drives: none
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: dirty jerz

Posts: 754
iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by LightWerkz View Post
Ok. Good to hear, I will call in and see what happens. Thank you!
but if its not even displaying or letting you get to the ESN on the idrive than there is some sort of problem whether it be with the coding or the actual module itself. GL
6spdg37s is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-08-2012, 11:16 AM   #6
LightWerkz
Lieutenant
 
Drives: E90 M3
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Oakland, NJ

Posts: 535
iTrader: (1)

So just an update.

Called Sirius, and they asked for the ESN and I told them I couldnt locate it on the screen. Mentioned that I couldnt see anything, no channels, no ESN, Etc. Dont have any options...

Gave them the Sirius ID number and they added it to my account. The rep stated the signal is out to the receiver and it would take 5 mins. She said if it didnt work, to try again using the online activation which would send out another signal.

I tried both antenna ports and waited 15 mins with each one. Made sure I had a clear view of the sky.

Im not sure whats wrong, but it seems like either the module is not compatible or the coding wasnt done right.

I unplugged the unit and that made no change, I still have the "Satellite Radio" option under the Radio drop down, but when its clicked nothing appears.
LightWerkz is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-08-2012, 11:47 AM   #7
VSmotorsports
Lieutenant Colonel
 
VSmotorsports's Avatar
 
Drives: e92 M3
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Schaumburg, IL

Posts: 1,633
iTrader: (3)

Send a message via AIM to VSmotorsports
Is your car wired for xm radio? Did you go behind the bolster and switch wires?
VSmotorsports is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-08-2012, 12:04 PM   #8
LightWerkz
Lieutenant
 
Drives: E90 M3
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Oakland, NJ

Posts: 535
iTrader: (1)

Just spoke to Tom at EAS and he mentioned the same thing. My car had the "Sat Prep " Option installed but im not sure if thats just standard. So I didnt think I needed to go behind the seat. I got the instructions so I will report back later.

THANK YOU EVERYONE!
LightWerkz is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-08-2012, 07:49 PM   #9
LightWerkz
Lieutenant
 
Drives: E90 M3
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Oakland, NJ

Posts: 535
iTrader: (1)

All is working now. Had to remove that side bolster and read the instructions about 10 times, but finally got it all figured out. Just needed to switch those fiber optic wires. Thanks for the help.
LightWerkz is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-09-2012, 08:02 AM   #10
aussiem3
Major
 
aussiem3's Avatar
 
Drives: '07 E92 M3/'11 F25 X3 3.0D
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Kangaroo land

Posts: 1,300
iTrader: (0)

That's why this forum is great. A lot of knowlegeable members/sponsors/vendors who are constantly willing to help each other. Enjoy your radio. Congrats.
__________________

2007 E92 6MT - Silverstone II with /// Performance Exhaust with ACM Test Pipes and BPM Sport Stage II Dev-Tune
2011 F25 X3 3.0d
aussiem3 is online now   Australia
0
Reply With Quote
      10-18-2012, 06:23 PM   #11
AMGKillr1
Private First Class
 
Drives: 08 M3 Sedan
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Los Angeles

Posts: 189
iTrader: (6)

I'm about to do this. Thank god for this post
AMGKillr1 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:27 PM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST