BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Coding / ConnectedDrive / Audio-Video / Electronics / Bluetooth / I-Drive & Nav
 
PYSPEED
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      07-25-2012, 07:12 AM   #1
rumelk
1
Private First Class
 
Drives: E93 M3 Convertible - 6MT!
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: London, UK

Posts: 123
iTrader: (0)

Just found out i have 'Base Stereo' System!!

Hi All,

I've been looking to upgrade my sound system as its too crap. Makes a bit more sense now, noing that it is the 'base stereo' system ( http://www.musicarnw.com/bmw-sound-s...us-model-year/) as i have no seperate tweeters and cant seem to find an amplifier in the back (havn't looked properly, pryed it open slightly and only saw cd changer, CAN THIS BE FOR REAL!!!)

My question is; how to i go about upgrading the sound on this. Would a bit one audio processor be required or can i do without?

I was originally going to use Technic's harness thinking i had the hifi set up, but i guess i could rather use his help as opposed to his harness on this one.

The equipment i had planned to install were the following:

JL Audio HD900/5 Amp

Focal 100KP 4" Components or JL Audio C5-525 5.25" Components (I know the 4" will fit, but wanted to ask if the 5.25" can be squeezed in) - For the doors

JL Audio C2-400x 4" Coaxial Speaker or Focal 130KRC 5.25" Coaxial Speakers - Rear Side Panel (Its a e93 m3)

2 X SWS-8xi 2Ohm Woofers (Underseat)

If somebody can confirm for me that i have 'base stereo' and not hifi, i would very much appreciate this. Also if i have base stereo, where do i start the wiring from, are there any harnesses like Technic's which can be used, or do i need to start splicing wires?

Many Thanks
rumelk is offline  
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      07-26-2012, 09:36 PM   #2
rumelk
1
Private First Class
 
Drives: E93 M3 Convertible - 6MT!
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: London, UK

Posts: 123
iTrader: (0)

bump
rumelk is offline  
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      07-26-2012, 09:53 PM   #3
rumelk
1
Private First Class
 
Drives: E93 M3 Convertible - 6MT!
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: London, UK

Posts: 123
iTrader: (0)

confirmed from BMW tha i do indeed have the base stereo system. Still going to go ahead with the uprade, however are there any harnesses i can purchase to avoid splicing?

Many Thanks
rumelk is offline  
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      07-27-2012, 08:45 AM   #4
THE TECH
131
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
THE TECH's Avatar
 
Drives: BPMsport 2012 E92 M3
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Kansas

Posts: 13,111
iTrader: (45)

Garage List
Send a message via AIM to THE TECH Send a message via Skype™ to THE TECH
Check with Technic as he may have a harness for this application as well.
__________________
THE TECH is offline   United_States
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      09-16-2012, 06:11 PM   #5
BCS13
0
New Member
 
Drives: 2010 335i xDrive Sedan
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Minneapolis, MN

Posts: 10
iTrader: (0)

"Base Stereo" Harness from Technics?

Rumelk, did Technic have a a harness for you to use from the back of the "base" head-unit??? (rather than from the OEM amp as he does for the "Hi-Fi" version...)

I literally *just* got my e90 after browsing forums for 2+ years, and am looking into my options as well. I know Technics has a P-n-P for connecting from the OEM amp, but I am in the "base" stereo world as well, and curious to see what update you may have???
BCS13 is offline  
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      09-16-2012, 07:46 PM   #6
Technic
111
Lieutenant General
 
Technic's Avatar
 
Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

Posts: 11,146
iTrader: (18)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by BCS13 View Post
Rumelk, did Technic have a a harness for you to use from the back of the "base" head-unit??? (rather than from the OEM amp as he does for the "Hi-Fi" version...)

I literally *just* got my e90 after browsing forums for 2+ years, and am looking into my options as well. I know Technics has a P-n-P for connecting from the OEM amp, but I am in the "base" stereo world as well, and curious to see what update you may have???
Please use PM...
__________________
-2015 F30 320i, Imperial/Oyster, 8AT: August 2014 ED
-2012 E92 M3 Jerez Black/Rust Brown, M-DCT: Gone
-2008 E90 M3 Melbourne Red/Bamboo, 6MT: Gone
-2007 MK5 GTI United Grey/Grey, DSG: Gone
-2004 E46 M3 Carbon Black/Cinnamon, 6MT: Gone
Technic is offline   United_States
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:35 PM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST