BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > DIY Guides/ Discussions
 
Lux Angel Eyes
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      09-25-2013, 02:02 PM   #133
Fen335i
Captain
 
Fen335i's Avatar
 
Drives: e92 M3 / Z4 M Roadster
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Pacific Northwest

Posts: 783
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by W/// View Post
Maybe try to clear the codes first? Or you could just disconnect the battery and see if it goes away (unlikely). I always kind of find it hard to believe that both would fail, but maybe it's just a coincidence (not the good kind).

But DIY is very straight forward though, you can PM me if you have any issues.
Thanks. Yes, I cleared them a couple times already. It keeps coming back. The other thing I should do first before purchasing new actuators is test the battery for voltage and alternator. I have heard that a bad battery can lead to all sorts of funky codes.
Fen335i is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-25-2013, 02:41 PM   #134
Gil@McKennaPerformance
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Norwalk, CA

Posts: 374
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by stevehifi View Post
UPDATE: After driving the car a third time, the check engine light is gone! The code must
have finally cleared after the engine self-diagnosed itself.

thanks to everyone on this thread who has helped me. Changing the actuator myself, saved
me alot of $$$!
Hey Steve,
It was a pleasure helping you out and getting your ///M3 back on the road
Gil@McKennaPerformance is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-25-2013, 04:42 PM   #135
Fen335i
Captain
 
Fen335i's Avatar
 
Drives: e92 M3 / Z4 M Roadster
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Pacific Northwest

Posts: 783
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gil@McKennaPerformance View Post
Hey Steve,
It was a pleasure helping you out and getting your ///M3 back on the road

I highly advise anyone needing throttle actuators for this vehicle to give Mckenna a call. Great service and prices! (best I could find by far!)
Fen335i is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-25-2013, 04:47 PM   #136
Gil@McKennaPerformance
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Norwalk, CA

Posts: 374
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fen335i View Post
I highly advise anyone needing throttle actuators for this vehicle to give Mckenna a call. Great service and prices! (best I could find by far!)
Gil@McKennaPerformance is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-25-2013, 10:01 PM   #137
stevehifi
Private
 
Drives: E90 M3
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Irvine,CA

Posts: 81
iTrader: (2)

Big thumbs up to Gilbert at McKenna BMW. He hooked me up with a great deal on the throttle actuator. He was professional, efficient and very personable..a great guy to deal with!

Thanks dude,

Steve


Quote:
Originally Posted by Gil@McKennaPerformance View Post
Hey Steve,
It was a pleasure helping you out and getting your ///M3 back on the road
stevehifi is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-22-2013, 08:07 PM   #138
aznboi319
Lieutenant
 
aznboi319's Avatar
 
Drives: G-Powered E92 M3 6MT
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Atlanta

Posts: 417
iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2011 Nissan GTR  [0.00]
2008 E92 BMW M3  [5.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by W/// View Post
I wouldn't even call it hard work. Half a day.

Definitely let me know if it goes out and you end up with questions.
I got 2B15 a month ago and replaced Bank 1 Throttle actuator (with a confirmed working used one from Ebay) and cleared the codes and everything was fine. I got home today and everything was all good and fine until I just went out to the car to check out the new nav disc I just burned and my car was in limp mode even before I cranked the car on. My question is does the throttle actuator turn work prior to fully turning the car over? I don't know how limp mode would occur with just pressing the engine on button without actually starting the car. I cleared the code and cranked it on afterwards and so far no problems. Do you think this actuator is now bad too?
__________________
SG E92 M3 6MT | G-Power SKII+ | ACM Test Pipes | Agency Power Valvetronic Exhaust | Stoptech BBK | AEM Gauges | M Performance Black Grills | M Performance Black Gills | Challenge Rep Front Lip | Forgestar F-14 Wheels Custom Anthracite| Michelin Pilot Super Sports | Lux V3 Angel Eyes

Last edited by aznboi319; 10-22-2013 at 08:34 PM.
aznboi319 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-22-2013, 08:33 PM   #139
jcolley
Private
 
Drives: 2006 M5
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Maine

Posts: 85
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by aznboi319 View Post
I got 2B25 a month ago and replaced Bank 1 Throttle actuator (with a confirmed working used one from Ebay) and cleared the codes and everything was fine. I got home today and everything was all good and fine until I just went out to the car to check out the new nav disc I just burned and my car was in limp mode even before I cranked the car on. My question is does the throttle actuator turn work prior to fully turning the car over? I don't know how limp mode would occur with just pressing the engine on button without actually starting the car. I cleared the code and cranked it on afterwards and so far no problems. Do you think this actuator is now bad too?
Open your hood and put your head near the intake manifold while someone else puts the key in and presses start (without starting the car). You will hear the actuators do a quick test as it checks travel range, speed, and current integral which checks the motor electrically. This last part it what usually kicks the error as the motor is strong enough to move past bad teeth, but draws excessive current to do so. The actuator electronics are programmed with an acceptable current curve and throw an error code to the DME when that current curve is exceeded.
jcolley is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-22-2013, 08:38 PM   #140
aznboi319
Lieutenant
 
aznboi319's Avatar
 
Drives: G-Powered E92 M3 6MT
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Atlanta

Posts: 417
iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2011 Nissan GTR  [0.00]
2008 E92 BMW M3  [5.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcolley View Post
Open your hood and put your head near the intake manifold while someone else puts the key in and presses start (without starting the car). You will hear the actuators do a quick test as it checks travel range, speed, and current integral which checks the motor electrically. This last part it what usually kicks the error as the motor is strong enough to move past bad teeth, but draws excessive current to do so. The actuator electronics are programmed with an acceptable current curve and throw an error code to the DME when that current curve is exceeded.
Hmm.. makes sense. I was able to replicate it again by just turning on the car without cranking it. So you think I should be okay for a while as long as I crank my car up each time?
__________________
SG E92 M3 6MT | G-Power SKII+ | ACM Test Pipes | Agency Power Valvetronic Exhaust | Stoptech BBK | AEM Gauges | M Performance Black Grills | M Performance Black Gills | Challenge Rep Front Lip | Forgestar F-14 Wheels Custom Anthracite| Michelin Pilot Super Sports | Lux V3 Angel Eyes
aznboi319 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-22-2013, 08:49 PM   #141
jcolley
Private
 
Drives: 2006 M5
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Maine

Posts: 85
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by aznboi319 View Post
Hmm.. makes sense. I was able to replicate it again by just turning on the car without cranking it. So you think I should be okay for a while as long as I crank my car up each time?
Well, it's throwing the code for some reason. These actuators are notorious for the gears, did you say this one was used? You may be able to open it up and rotate the first reduction gear (white one) so that it lasts a while longer. But inevitably, it will have to either have new gears (nothing commercially available large scale yet) or get a new actuator.
jcolley is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-23-2013, 04:18 PM   #142
speedaddictM3
Banned
 
Drives: 2008 E90 M3
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Canada

Posts: 264
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by aznboi319 View Post
Hmm.. makes sense. I was able to replicate it again by just turning on the car without cranking it. So you think I should be okay for a while as long as I crank my car up each time?
I also bought not one but two used actuators off ebay and both were bad. You really should get a new one. If the car is still throwing the same code then the replacement actuator isn't working properly either.
speedaddictM3 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-31-2013, 07:01 PM   #143
Gil@McKennaPerformance
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Norwalk, CA

Posts: 374
iTrader: (2)

Thanks guys for all the orders! Really appreciate the continued support
Gil@McKennaPerformance is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-01-2013, 01:05 PM   #144
Elvace
New Member
 
Drives: e92 M3
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Canada

Posts: 17
iTrader: (2)

Received my actuator from Gil@McKennaPerformance yesterday afternoon.

Took me about 3 hours to install it. Would have saved some time if I had the trim removal tools.

Once it was installed, my car started right up. The engine malfunction, dsc, dbc, and start off assistant errors were gone. The increased emissions warning was still there however. But that error went away when I started the car this morning. I didn't need to reset any codes.

Hats off to W/// for putting together such a detailed and easy to follow DIY and many thanks to Gil for the fast and friendly service. His prices were far better than anything I could find especially in Canada.
Elvace is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-01-2013, 04:53 PM   #145
Gil@McKennaPerformance
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Norwalk, CA

Posts: 374
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Elvace View Post
Received my actuator from Gil@McKennaPerformance yesterday afternoon.

Took me about 3 hours to install it. Would have saved some time if I had the trim removal tools.

Once it was installed, my car started right up. The engine malfunction, dsc, dbc, and start off assistant errors were gone. The increased emissions warning was still there however. But that error went away when I started the car this morning. I didn't need to reset any codes.

Hats off to W/// for putting together such a detailed and easy to follow DIY and many thanks to Gil for the fast and friendly service. His prices were far better than anything I could find especially in Canada.
Glad to hear your car is up and running again! Thanks for the support. I really appreciate it.
Gil@McKennaPerformance is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-11-2013, 12:11 PM   #146
xfactor
Private
 
xfactor's Avatar
 
Drives: M3
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Toronto

Posts: 77
iTrader: (0)

Hi Guys,

I got the limp mode couple of weeks ago and when I plug in the Bavarian Technic tool, I got the following error code:

CDBF
Throttle flap acutator CAN-message Bank 1
Error will cause a warning light
Error is not currently present
Test conditions have been completed

The message code seems different from what others in the post have seen but the message is regarding the throttle actuator Bank 1. Since the first time I got this, it has reappeared several times within two weeks time so I'm sure that there is an issue but just want to make sure that it is the actuator before ordering.

Local shop can also run an actuator test to see, so I'll be bringing it soon to make sure also. Any help is appreciated.
thanks
__________________
Wife: M3 Mistress: R1
xfactor is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-11-2013, 02:39 PM   #147
Mthrice
First Lieutenant
 
Mthrice's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 e92M3 AW/BLK CF roof 6MT
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Planet Earth

Posts: 367
iTrader: (1)

Just want to remind everyone, if your car is within 7yr/70k, throttle actuator is warrantied in many states under emissions laws. Not sure about Canada though. Check your manuals!
Mthrice is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-11-2013, 02:41 PM   #148
W///
Brigadier General
 
W///'s Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 E92 M3/1999 E36 M3 Coupe
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: SC

Posts: 4,478
iTrader: (11)

Quote:
Originally Posted by xfactor View Post
Hi Guys,

I got the limp mode couple of weeks ago and when I plug in the Bavarian Technic tool, I got the following error code:

CDBF
Throttle flap acutator CAN-message Bank 1
Error will cause a warning light
Error is not currently present
Test conditions have been completed

The message code seems different from what others in the post have seen but the message is regarding the throttle actuator Bank 1. Since the first time I got this, it has reappeared several times within two weeks time so I'm sure that there is an issue but just want to make sure that it is the actuator before ordering.

Local shop can also run an actuator test to see, so I'll be bringing it soon to make sure also. Any help is appreciated.
thanks
Sounds like you are on the right path to me
__________________
2008 E92 M3: Sparkling Graphite | Bamboo Beige | 6MT | CF Roof | HRE | Eisenmann | BPM Sport | Swift | Arkym | Mode Carbon | M.Perf
W/// is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-11-2013, 03:18 PM   #149
xfactor
Private
 
xfactor's Avatar
 
Drives: M3
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Toronto

Posts: 77
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by W/// View Post
Sounds like you are on the right path to me
Thanks. Just talke to Gil at McKenna and will be ordering the acutator. Just like everyone else said before, don't hesitate to contact Gil, the guy is truely amazing!

Probably tackling it this weekend. Local shop is asking $300 for the labour, the price is just right for me so I don't have to attpempt to fix it in my condo parking, but I do also want to change the plugs, so...decisions decisions.
__________________
Wife: M3 Mistress: R1
xfactor is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-11-2013, 03:20 PM   #150
W///
Brigadier General
 
W///'s Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 E92 M3/1999 E36 M3 Coupe
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: SC

Posts: 4,478
iTrader: (11)

Quote:
Originally Posted by xfactor View Post
Thanks. Just talke to Gil at McKenna and will be ordering the acutator. Just like everyone else said before, don't hesitate to contact Gil, the guy is truely amazing!

Probably tackling it this weekend. Local shop is asking $300 for the labour, the price is just right for me so I don't have to attpempt to fix it in my condo parking, but I do also want to change the plugs, so...decisions decisions.
Depending on how many miles you have on the car, it's almost a no brainer to change the plugs while you have as much room as possible. And considering how big of a difference they make on S65's, I don't think it's a bad idea at all.
__________________
2008 E92 M3: Sparkling Graphite | Bamboo Beige | 6MT | CF Roof | HRE | Eisenmann | BPM Sport | Swift | Arkym | Mode Carbon | M.Perf
W/// is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-11-2013, 08:23 PM   #151
Gil@McKennaPerformance
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Norwalk, CA

Posts: 374
iTrader: (2)

Thanks guys for all the great feedback!
Gil@McKennaPerformance is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-16-2013, 07:56 PM   #152
imdrax
New Member
 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: United States

Posts: 11
iTrader: (0)

Is this covered under CPO warranty? My car is throwing P154E anytime i give it like 30% throttle and then goes into limp mode. I clear the fault and then keep driving and if I do the same thing the fault/limp mode comes back.
imdrax is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-19-2013, 02:27 PM   #153
Gil@McKennaPerformance
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Norwalk, CA

Posts: 374
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by imdrax View Post
Is this covered under CPO warranty? My car is throwing P154E anytime i give it like 30% throttle and then goes into limp mode. I clear the fault and then keep driving and if I do the same thing the fault/limp mode comes back.
Just spoke to our performance department service adviser and he did say that CPO warranty will cover the throttle actuators.
Gil@McKennaPerformance is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-21-2013, 03:11 PM   #154
Mx3
M
 
Mx3's Avatar
 
Drives: 08.SpaceGry.DCT.19's,Tech,+
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Northern CA

Posts: 211
iTrader: (0)

Mthrice is correct: They are covered!! "Just want to remind everyone, if your car is within 7yr/70k, throttle actuator is warrantied in many states under emissions laws. Not sure about Canada though. Check your manuals!"

My car is in the shop right now and they called and told me it was the TA-both banks and will be covered under emissions law. BTW...my 2008 M3 has 26k miles, warranty expired. Yet still covered, including the $200 diagnostic fee as well. I am very happy
__________________
Past BMW's
1975 2002 w/bbs,stahl header,weber, ++
1973 2002 flared,race susp ++
1989 325i vert w/Dinan
2003 M3 SMG
Mx3 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:57 PM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST