BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Engine, Transmission, Exhaust, Drivetrain, ECU Software Modifications
 
INDustry distribution
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-08-2013, 01:27 PM   #23
IMG
IMG's Avatar
United_States
226
Rep
7,401
Posts

Drives: E36 M3 Track car,Ess E90 M3 DD
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Location

iTrader: (6)

Very nice,good work Mike !
Appreciate 0
      05-08-2013, 03:06 PM   #24
ChrisK
Major General
ChrisK's Avatar
United_States
153
Rep
5,064
Posts

Drives: '15 X1
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: IL

iTrader: (5)

Garage List
I had an F30 loaner last weekend - Start/Stop was the most annoying, stupidest thing I have ever seen on a car. There is a jolt when the car restarts and you drive off. How is this good for the engine, trans, starter, etc.

No thanks.

Sorry Mike
__________________
2017 2 LBB DCT Coming Soon!
2011 ///M3 AW DCT SOLD
2008 135i AW 6MT SOLD
2000 ///MZ3 EB SOLD
1998 Z3 AB SOLD
Appreciate 0
      05-08-2013, 09:38 PM   #25
Mike Benvo
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Mike Benvo's Avatar
United_States
446
Rep
5,793
Posts


Drives: Harrop M3 / F10 M5 / F82 M4
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SoCal

iTrader: (9)

Garage List
2015 BMW M3  [0.00]
2015 BMW M5  [0.00]
2008 BMW M3  [3.50]
2004 BMW M3  [0.00]
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Benvo
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisK View Post
I had an F30 loaner last weekend - Start/Stop was the most annoying, stupidest thing I have ever seen on a car. There is a jolt when the car restarts and you drive off. How is this good for the engine, trans, starter, etc.

No thanks.

Sorry Mike
I had an F30 also and it was absolutely awful, exactly what you described.

In my M3 (although I never use the feature and dislike it), it is buttery smooth on shut off and restart
__________________

-----| Like us on Facebook | Instagram || Tuning Information | Remote Coding |-----
----Visit us at www.BPMSport.com - Emotion. Driven. | Toll Free: (888) 557-5133----
Appreciate 0
      05-08-2013, 11:23 PM   #26
epbb
Private First Class
epbb's Avatar
8
Rep
163
Posts

Drives: 2010 M3
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SW FL

iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisK View Post
I had an F30 loaner last weekend - Start/Stop was the most annoying, stupidest thing I have ever seen on a car. There is a jolt when the car restarts and you drive off. How is this good for the engine, trans, starter, etc.

No thanks.

Sorry Mike
Agreed. The dealer gave me a 335i loaner while they try to fix the debacle they created with my car, and it also has this. Fortunately though, there's a little button on top of the starter button that you can hit to turn this feature off. Only thing is you have to do it every time you get in (Doesn't remember your last setting).
Appreciate 0
      05-08-2013, 11:35 PM   #27
Mike Benvo
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Mike Benvo's Avatar
United_States
446
Rep
5,793
Posts


Drives: Harrop M3 / F10 M5 / F82 M4
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SoCal

iTrader: (9)

Garage List
2015 BMW M3  [0.00]
2015 BMW M5  [0.00]
2008 BMW M3  [3.50]
2004 BMW M3  [0.00]
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Benvo
Quote:
Originally Posted by epbb
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisK View Post
I had an F30 loaner last weekend - Start/Stop was the most annoying, stupidest thing I have ever seen on a car. There is a jolt when the car restarts and you drive off. How is this good for the engine, trans, starter, etc.

No thanks.

Sorry Mike
Agreed. The dealer gave me a 335i loaner while they try to fix the debacle they created with my car, and it also has this. Fortunately though, there's a little button on top of the starter button that you can hit to turn this feature off. Only thing is you have to do it every time you get in (Doesn't remember your last setting).
Yup and the other thing that kept bothering me is the proximity to the start button, given the steering wheel blocks it in my seating position.

Makes you hit the wrong button sometime. It's just surprising to me that the new models are more abrupt than the 12 and 13 M's.
__________________

-----| Like us on Facebook | Instagram || Tuning Information | Remote Coding |-----
----Visit us at www.BPMSport.com - Emotion. Driven. | Toll Free: (888) 557-5133----
Appreciate 0
      05-09-2013, 11:49 AM   #28
///M Ryder
Grown Azz Man
///M Ryder's Avatar
United_States
122
Rep
2,832
Posts

Drives: GT4
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Sugar Land

iTrader: (7)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Benvo View Post
I had an F30 also and it was absolutely awful, exactly what you described.

In my M3 (although I never use the feature and dislike it), it is buttery smooth on shut off and restart
+1.......the feature is horrible on the F30 and works like magic in the M3. I've tried it a few times but I doubt it saves enough fuel for me to use all the time......Phil
__________________
2016 GT4.....Sapphire Blue Metallic, Platinum stitch Leather/Alcantara interior, Carbon Fiber Trim, PCM w/Nav, Guards Red Belts, 2 Zone Climate, Sport Chrono, LWB, Smokers Pack, Big Gas Tank, Light Design Pack, Bi-Xenon w/PDL, Auto Dim Mirror, Clear Side Markers...Mods coming soon!
Appreciate 0
      05-09-2013, 12:05 PM   #29
ChrisK
Major General
ChrisK's Avatar
United_States
153
Rep
5,064
Posts

Drives: '15 X1
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: IL

iTrader: (5)

Garage List
Well, I'm glad they did it right in the M3.
__________________
2017 2 LBB DCT Coming Soon!
2011 ///M3 AW DCT SOLD
2008 135i AW 6MT SOLD
2000 ///MZ3 EB SOLD
1998 Z3 AB SOLD
Appreciate 0
      06-06-2015, 05:22 PM   #30
ssshake
Private First Class
Canada
2
Rep
177
Posts

Drives: 328i coupe 2009
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Waterloo

iTrader: (0)

curious if you can say what options you coded to get this to work. Is this m3 compatible only or could it work on an e92 328i?
Appreciate 0
      06-07-2015, 03:22 AM   #31
anom3
Captain
46
Rep
657
Posts

Drives: 2007 M3
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Behind the wheel

iTrader: (0)

I doubt he will share that info. $$$

I coded it on my vehicle, added the button and it didn't work.

Maybe because I didn't really give it too much time to hit all the necessary "steps" before its activated.

As far as hardware:

A) DC-DC Converter that sits in the box with the DME + Some wires ran (mainly to JBE) - I think this can be ignored as long as you dont code your JBE to expect it to be there. Its mainly used so that your lights dont "dim" every time the car starts and stops.

B) Upgraded starter and alternator... Although these are not 100% needed.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ssshake View Post
curious if you can say what options you coded to get this to work. Is this m3 compatible only or could it work on an e92 328i?
__________________
07.07 Production E92 M3 :: Akrapovic XPipe + Rear End | BPMTune Stage 2 Tune | 3M 1080 Metallic Blue Wrap | Black BBS CH-R's | Michellin Pilot Super Sports | Performance Steering Wheel v2.0 | FLA Retrofit | CIC+Combox Retrofit | OEM Carbon Splitters | CF Gills | OEM Black Gloss Grills | MS-8 DSP + HD900/5 Amplifier + JL Audio 12" | LCI Tails Retrofit | Ultimate Clutch Pedal + Clutch Stop | Leatherz M5 Weighted Shift Knob | Much more...
Appreciate 0
      06-07-2015, 07:22 AM   #32
The-Traveler
Private
5
Rep
58
Posts

Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (0)

Mike, you can code the light to have memory and so it won't default to off every time, but it will remember your last preference each time you start the car.

I assume Integration updates give you that setting even though it's originally a 2008. (

Not sure why everyone is ripping on this feature! I mean sure it's a bit clunky, compared to some other designs (since it was not part of the original design,) but if you're trying to be economical it's nice not watching the L/100km inch up as you're sitting at a light.

I think it's a nice-to-have, considering how thirsty the S65 is.

Oh haha, I went to look up the code for you and found reference to it on your website. Never mind then.

http://www.bpmsport.com/Coding.pdf
Appreciate 0
      06-07-2015, 12:36 PM   #33
Flea7
Major
Flea7's Avatar
United_States
41
Rep
1,178
Posts

Drives: E92 M3 6MT/F48 X1
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Mill Creek WA

iTrader: (5)

It's just more wear and tear on the motor. We all know when a lot wear happens to a motor ....right? Why would you want to do it over and over again? It's not a hybrid.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      06-07-2015, 12:42 PM   #34
Mike Benvo
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Mike Benvo's Avatar
United_States
446
Rep
5,793
Posts


Drives: Harrop M3 / F10 M5 / F82 M4
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SoCal

iTrader: (9)

Garage List
2015 BMW M3  [0.00]
2015 BMW M5  [0.00]
2008 BMW M3  [3.50]
2004 BMW M3  [0.00]
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Benvo
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flea7 View Post
It's just more wear and tear on the motor. We all know when a lot wear happens to a motor ....right? Why would you want to do it over and over again? It's not a hybrid.
More wear and tear on the starter motor than anything else - but I did change my starter to the newer style which is supposedly much more robust than the non MSA version.
__________________

-----| Like us on Facebook | Instagram || Tuning Information | Remote Coding |-----
----Visit us at www.BPMSport.com - Emotion. Driven. | Toll Free: (888) 557-5133----
Appreciate 0
      06-07-2015, 01:05 PM   #35
Flea7
Major
Flea7's Avatar
United_States
41
Rep
1,178
Posts

Drives: E92 M3 6MT/F48 X1
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Mill Creek WA

iTrader: (5)

I guess it's still good to see what our cars are capable of and that people have choices.
Props to you on what you do.....me, I'm a electronic retard. That's why I needed you to help loading my program.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      06-07-2015, 04:33 PM   #36
anom3
Captain
46
Rep
657
Posts

Drives: 2007 M3
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Behind the wheel

iTrader: (0)

Want to share if this SHOULD work with just the button and coding?

I didn't really give it much of my time, and it was mid winter so I think the temps were too low for MSA to kick in.

So ware and tare aside, should this work without the DC-DC converter assuming I don't code the JBE to probe for it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Benvo View Post
More wear and tear on the starter motor than anything else - but I did change my starter to the newer style which is supposedly much more robust than the non MSA version.
__________________
07.07 Production E92 M3 :: Akrapovic XPipe + Rear End | BPMTune Stage 2 Tune | 3M 1080 Metallic Blue Wrap | Black BBS CH-R's | Michellin Pilot Super Sports | Performance Steering Wheel v2.0 | FLA Retrofit | CIC+Combox Retrofit | OEM Carbon Splitters | CF Gills | OEM Black Gloss Grills | MS-8 DSP + HD900/5 Amplifier + JL Audio 12" | LCI Tails Retrofit | Ultimate Clutch Pedal + Clutch Stop | Leatherz M5 Weighted Shift Knob | Much more...
Appreciate 0
      06-07-2015, 11:12 PM   #37
duvinclunk
Captain
duvinclunk's Avatar
United_States
41
Rep
843
Posts

Drives: 11 E90 M3 ZCP
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Salt Lake City

iTrader: (1)

Interesting retrofit. I'm like you: "I'd rather have a feature and not needed it then need a feature and not have it." Love the tech stuff.
Appreciate 0
      11-01-2015, 01:35 AM   #38
diezzler
New Member
0
Rep
9
Posts

Drives: 2007 335xi
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Maryland

iTrader: (0)

It's great that you were able to get this to work, but it would be even better if you would share the coding. I'm assuming you add the option to the vehicle order and the. Reflag a few modules to reflect the added option..
I have the button sitting in my center console (did a pdc and rear sunshade retrofit), but I'd love to get it working.
Thanks!
Appreciate 0
      11-03-2015, 08:13 PM   #39
crypticc
Captain
United Kingdom
29
Rep
891
Posts

Drives: e92 M3 DCT + Comp
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: London, UK

iTrader: (0)

Fyi You can change the coding so the button remembers last setting used before key last removed
Appreciate 0
      02-26-2016, 02:13 AM   #40
diezzler
New Member
0
Rep
9
Posts

Drives: 2007 335xi
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Maryland

iTrader: (0)

Hi mike,
Since you got the auto start/stop to work, I wanted to Ask for some help.
Did you buy the panel with or without the auto start feature (stupid question, but both come with the button, and I did buy the one WITH it, and my hill decent button is now acting wired - may work correctly once I getting the rite coding in).
What vehicle order option did you add? When I try $1cca I get an error.. Maybe +1cca, or something else?
Also what modules did you stock code/reset?

I know 2008+ cars have the msd81, maybe cause I have a 2007 335 with the msd80?
Or maybe it's the production date in the VO list?

Any help would be appreciated
Appreciate 0
      02-26-2016, 08:23 AM   #41
Sneaky Pete
Private First Class
17
Rep
117
Posts

Drives: 2013 M3 DCT
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Wild blue yonder

iTrader: (0)

As a side note....in Euro DCT cars the stop start only works in Auto D mode and is disabled in sequential manual mode.
Appreciate 0
      02-26-2016, 01:40 PM   #42
diezzler
New Member
0
Rep
9
Posts

Drives: 2007 335xi
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Maryland

iTrader: (0)

Maybe i'm being an idiot.. I've seen it as an option on the manual and dct cars, but not on the automatics. I have auto.. Is that why I can't get it to work?
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:38 AM.




m3post
m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST