BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > M3 (E90 / E92 / E93) > Regional Forums > UK
 
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-10-2011, 10:04 AM   #1
Flapps
Private First Class
Flapps's Avatar
United Kingdom
4
Rep
185
Posts

 
Drives: E93 Vert, Silverstone II DCT.
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Bedfordshire, UK

iTrader: (0)

Satnav update discs

Has anyone purchased a Satnav update disc from the many companies online and how have they found them?

I'm considering buying a disc with the full postcode option and speed camera location, but hesitant to do so through fear of buggering up the original installation. I have the professional system and the car has a build date of July 2008.

Flapps
__________________
I'm a agnostic insomniac dyslexic...I lay awake all night wondering if there really is a dog!!!!
Appreciate 0
      02-11-2011, 09:01 AM   #2
Ant Man
Major
England
17
Rep
1,043
Posts

 
Drives: E92 M3 Jerez black / Fox red
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: East Anglia

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flapps View Post
Has anyone purchased a Satnav update disc from the many companies online and how have they found them?

I'm considering buying a disc with the full postcode option and speed camera location, but hesitant to do so through fear of buggering up the original installation. I have the professional system and the car has a build date of July 2008.

Flapps

I had the same fear. I bought from rustymidget, the one who advertises on this site as bmwsatnavdiscs or navman or something.

To be honest the 7 digit PC is OK, not brilliant but speed cameras are GOOD.

It's just a data disc and does not interfere with the operating system.

Overall, very pleased with updated mapping and features.
Appreciate 0
      03-30-2011, 01:32 AM   #3
AM3
Enlisted Member
AM3's Avatar
United Kingdom
0
Rep
46
Posts

 
Drives: E92 M3 Coupe DCT White / red
Join Date: May 2010
Location: West Midlands UK

iTrader: (0)

Satnav discs - New question, appreciate help

I did the same or my 58 M3 with idrive professional. Got a disc from Rusty which works well but there seems to be one problem
There is an annoying squeeky noise from the dvd drive when the disc is playing which is like all the time when one is driving.
Taking the disc out stops the noise, replacing it with the original stops the noise.
BMW charge 175 for an updated disc with a trading in the old one
Rusty's disc came at 30 or 35
Any ideas chaps

A

Last edited by AM3; 03-30-2011 at 01:34 AM. Reason: Asking a question
Appreciate 0
      03-30-2011, 01:37 AM   #4
KadeSdad
Colonel
KadeSdad's Avatar
42
Rep
2,072
Posts

 
Drives: E350 CDI Sport Cabriolet
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: UK

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by AM3 View Post
I did the same or my 58 M3 with idrive professional. Got a disc from Rusty which works well but there seems to be one problem
There is an annoying squeeky noise from the dvd drive when the disc is playing which is like all the time when one is driving.
Taking the disc out stops the noise, replacing it with the original stops the noise.
BMW charge 175 for an updated disc with a trading in the old one
Rusty's disc came at 30 or 35
Any ideas chaps

A
Its because of cheap quality discs as I had the same problem!
Appreciate 0
      03-30-2011, 09:38 AM   #5
M3-FAST
Defected to the dark side.....
M3-FAST's Avatar
England
84
Rep
5,791
Posts

 
Drives: BMW M5 LCi
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Stafford, UK

iTrader: (11)

Garage List
could you not re-burn it onto a decent quality DVD-RW?
Appreciate 0
      03-31-2011, 06:05 PM   #6
s99ane
Private First Class
s99ane's Avatar
2
Rep
111
Posts

 
Drives: e92 M3
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Madchester uk

iTrader: (0)

Yup the answer is to burn onto quality disc and no noise issue.
__________________
E92 M3 COUPE JEREZ BLACK HAMMAN SIDE SKIRTS AND DIFFUSER REMUS RACE
Appreciate 0
      05-16-2011, 05:24 AM   #7
markjord
Second Lieutenant
markjord's Avatar
United Kingdom
2
Rep
285
Posts

 
Drives: M3 E92 2007 Jerez Black
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Wellingborough

iTrader: (0)

Don't you need a dual layer or whatever you call it burner to do this? Mine makes a racket too.
Appreciate 0
      05-16-2011, 12:46 PM   #8
ibanezking
Weekend Rockstar
ibanezking's Avatar
England
11
Rep
728
Posts

 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Leigh, Lancs

iTrader: (1)

so has anyone asked the guy to see if he will put the same software on a better quality disc...........????

........ surely his customers are "right" and need to be "pleased".......???
__________________
E92 M3 - Interlagos Blue and Black everything else!!!
Appreciate 0
      05-16-2011, 01:19 PM   #9
creepy coupe
Major General
creepy coupe's Avatar
98
Rep
8,173
Posts

 
Drives: M235i
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: UK

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2009 335i  [0.00]
I wouldn't bother with the upgrade, if it's for speed cameras, as there's no audible warning one's approaching, just an icon on the map screen.
Appreciate 0
      06-08-2011, 06:34 PM   #10
V8MBO
Private
V8MBO's Avatar
0
Rep
63
Posts

 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

iTrader: (0)

yup, the no audible warning is a p - i - a! i was hoping it would have this but no..
Still a good disc though, my mrs tends to keep a eye on it if we are on a run, my eye is on the pogo!!!

good for the price though !
Appreciate 0
      06-23-2012, 04:07 AM   #11
Sailorbaz
Enlisted Member
Sailorbaz's Avatar
Ireland
0
Rep
44
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 E90 M3 & 2004 M3 CSL
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Northern Ireland

iTrader: (0)

Sorry to raise an old thread but I've just started looking at updating my 2008 Sat Nav and refuse to give BMW 175 for an update DVD.

Reason I ask is my Sat Nav can fail now and again, when I have to stop and start the car and I'm wondering if it's the DVD (OEM). Since the car has AUC warranty, I will probably take it to BMW first and ask them to check it out but I'm offshore at the moment and just browsing the forums for updates. Maybe BMW will give me a new (Updated) disc foc under warranty... :-D

Anyone had any good experiences since this thread was last discussed in Sept 2011?
__________________

2004 M3 CSL with Supersprint and E90 M3!
Worldwide M3 CSL Register based in the UK
Appreciate 0
      07-02-2012, 11:59 AM   #12
M4KingUK
Lieutenant
4
Rep
435
Posts

 
Drives: E93
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

bump
Appreciate 0
      07-03-2012, 07:28 AM   #13
New_m3
Second Lieutenant
5
Rep
241
Posts

 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sailorbaz View Post
Sorry to raise an old thread but I've just started looking at updating my 2008 Sat Nav and refuse to give BMW 175 for an update DVD.

Reason I ask is my Sat Nav can fail now and again, when I have to stop and start the car and I'm wondering if it's the DVD (OEM). Since the car has AUC warranty, I will probably take it to BMW first and ask them to check it out but I'm offshore at the moment and just browsing the forums for updates. Maybe BMW will give me a new (Updated) disc foc under warranty... :-D

Anyone had any good experiences since this thread was last discussed in Sept 2011?
Its likely that its a scratched on damaged disk. Try cleaning the underneath of the dvd and see if that helps.
Appreciate 0
      07-04-2012, 01:55 AM   #14
ibanezking
Weekend Rockstar
ibanezking's Avatar
England
11
Rep
728
Posts

 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Leigh, Lancs

iTrader: (1)

buy a new one from ebay for 10 - i did....... and it works fine, plus you get speed cameras

But you will NOT get 7 digit postcode if all you had was 5 digit
__________________
E92 M3 - Interlagos Blue and Black everything else!!!
Appreciate 0
      07-04-2012, 02:29 AM   #15
Sailorbaz
Enlisted Member
Sailorbaz's Avatar
Ireland
0
Rep
44
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 E90 M3 & 2004 M3 CSL
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Northern Ireland

iTrader: (0)

I've tried cleaning it but no luck. Admittedly not a thorough clean, might try the whole fine polish, toothpaste theory and see if I can get it working.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ibanezking View Post
buy a new one from ebay for 10 - i did....... and it works fine, plus you get speed cameras

But you will NOT get 7 digit postcode if all you had was 5 digit
Really need the 7 digits living in Northern Ireland, there are no 5 or 6 postcodes. What about one from these boys?

http://dvdmapupdates.com/?p=244
or
http://www.satnav-updates.com/2012-l...v-disc-7-p.asp
__________________

2004 M3 CSL with Supersprint and E90 M3!
Worldwide M3 CSL Register based in the UK
Appreciate 0
      07-04-2012, 03:38 AM   #16
ibanezking
Weekend Rockstar
ibanezking's Avatar
England
11
Rep
728
Posts

 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Leigh, Lancs

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sailorbaz View Post
I've tried cleaning it but no luck. Admittedly not a thorough clean, might try the whole fine polish, toothpaste theory and see if I can get it working.



Really need the 7 digits living in Northern Ireland, there are no 5 or 6 postcodes. What about one from these boys?

http://dvdmapupdates.com/?p=244
or
http://www.satnav-updates.com/2012-l...v-disc-7-p.asp
As far as i'm aware(someone correct meif i'm wrong) but the issue is with the software/hardware in the earlier E9*'s that can't cope with 7 digit codes regardless of what disc you put in it
__________________
E92 M3 - Interlagos Blue and Black everything else!!!
Appreciate 0
      07-04-2012, 04:05 AM   #17
Sailorbaz
Enlisted Member
Sailorbaz's Avatar
Ireland
0
Rep
44
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 E90 M3 & 2004 M3 CSL
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Northern Ireland

iTrader: (0)

No, I HAVE 7-Digit postcodes available at the moment. I don't want to put in a copy DVD and loose that functionality.

I had a problem with a OEM Nav unit in a VW before, it could only give us 6 digit postcodes but after installing the latest DVD we had the full 7 digit bad boys, was well chuffed. Bought the DVD off Ebay too, VW were wanting 140 or something silly for it.
__________________

2004 M3 CSL with Supersprint and E90 M3!
Worldwide M3 CSL Register based in the UK
Appreciate 0
      07-04-2012, 07:26 AM   #18
ibanezking
Weekend Rockstar
ibanezking's Avatar
England
11
Rep
728
Posts

 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Leigh, Lancs

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sailorbaz View Post
No, I HAVE 7-Digit postcodes available at the moment. I don't want to put in a copy DVD and loose that functionality.

I had a problem with a OEM Nav unit in a VW before, it could only give us 6 digit postcodes but after installing the latest DVD we had the full 7 digit bad boys, was well chuffed. Bought the DVD off Ebay too, VW were wanting 140 or something silly for it.
the new disc will just give updated maps/cameras............ how many digit postcode you have will stay with the car
__________________
E92 M3 - Interlagos Blue and Black everything else!!!
Appreciate 0
      07-26-2012, 02:16 PM   #19
needleworks
New Member
0
Rep
10
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 M3
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Scotland

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ibanezking View Post
buy a new one from ebay for 10 - i did....... and it works fine, plus you get speed cameras

But you will NOT get 7 digit postcode if all you had was 5 digit
Do the ebay ones actually come on a disc, or do you have to download/burn them yourself?
Appreciate 0
      07-27-2012, 02:24 AM   #20
dar2008
Major
United Kingdom
20
Rep
1,019
Posts

 
Drives: e93 M3 Convertible!
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Bromley, UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by needleworks View Post
Do the ebay ones actually come on a disc, or do you have to download/burn them yourself?
Send me a PM. I can run you off a disc with the 2012 maps and speed cameras (but not the 7digit postcodes). I'll do it for less than eBay...
__________________
It's arrived, e93 M3 Convertible: M-DCT, JzB / extended BB, and most of the options.
Appreciate 0
      07-27-2012, 05:48 AM   #21
needleworks
New Member
0
Rep
10
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 M3
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Scotland

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dar2008 View Post
Send me a PM. I can run you off a disc with the 2012 maps and speed cameras (but not the 7digit postcodes). I'll do it for less than eBay...
Thanks mate, I'm just waiting on my PM's being activated, should be in the next couple of days, so I'll be in touch soon.
Appreciate 0
      07-29-2012, 01:05 PM   #22
M4KingUK
Lieutenant
4
Rep
435
Posts

 
Drives: E93
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

I purchased one from EBAY for my car and the it claimed to give me 5 digit post code but it didn't so i got a refund. The seller even sent another DVD to me and that didn't work either. I'm guessing my 09 plate M3 Nav Unit is limited to 4 digits ??
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:07 PM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST