BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > BIMMERPOST Universal Forums > Off-Topic Discussions Board > Video + PC Gaming / Computing
 
OneEighty
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      08-06-2007, 08:44 PM   #1
sesegal99
Captain
sesegal99's Avatar
15
Rep
667
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 328I Coupe Sport
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NJ

iTrader: (1)

Computer is running slow...

Running Windows XP...on my Dell office computer. Who can give me some help on how to clean it up so it runs faster?
__________________
2009 328i Coupe Space Grey w/ Dakota LeatherSTEP, Sport Pkg. w Paddle Shifters, Prem. Pkg., Comfort Access, Grey Popler Trim, Heated Seats, Shadowline Trim, Xenon Adaptive Lights, GP Thunder Fogs, GP Thunder Angels, RE15mm Spacers, 35% Tint,OEM Alarm, Clear Corners, K&N, Strut Brace
Appreciate 0
      08-06-2007, 08:56 PM   #2
BMXtreme
Lieutenant Colonel
BMXtreme's Avatar
23
Rep
1,657
Posts

 
Drives: E60 535i
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Redmond, WA

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2006 330i  [0.00]
Maintain:
--------
defrag your drive
cleanup your temp folder
cleanup your browser cache
remove useless stuff from your desktop

Pay for optimization software and cross your fingers.


Upgrade:
--------
Buy a WD Raptor
Appreciate 0
      08-07-2007, 12:40 AM   #3
RyBMW
Major
RyBMW's Avatar
15
Rep
1,035
Posts

 
Drives: X5
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: NYC

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2012 BMW X5  [0.00]
2008 335i  [0.00]
Add more RAM.

Did you try restarting it? At my office, most of the employees leave their computer on for days or maybe even weeks or months without any restarts. They don't shut down their computers at the end of the day. They would complain that their computer is so slow. I would just tell them to restart it first to see if it helps.
__________________
New: 12 X5 xDrive35i Premium Alpine White/Cinn Brown

Old: 08 E92 335i|Space Gray/Coral Red/Gray Poplar

Old: 06 E90 330i|Black Sapphire/Black /Burl
Appreciate 0
      08-07-2007, 12:44 AM   #4
just4kickz
boku no namae ha...
United_States
134
Rep
11,038
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 BS 330i
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: S. Bay Area, CA + Newark, NJ + ChiCity + True Blue

iTrader: (11)

Garage List
2006 E90 330i  [0.00]
delete all your startups, edit your msedit so that only the crucial programs are running, make sure you dont have a virus by running scan before everything boots up... i forget what its called.

increasing your ram is always good... check your model # on ur dell to see if your motherboard can be expanded and get the max amount of ram... these days its hella cheap.
__________________
looking for a PreLCI Black Sapphire e90 front bumper without license plate holes

"Akimbo shotguns. Broken wrists anyone? And don't give me that 'it's just a game' bull****. Where the **** are my akimbo interventions then?! One scope on each eye mother****er!!"
Appreciate 0
      08-07-2007, 12:49 AM   #5
!Xoible
Banned
United_States
555
Rep
46,037
Posts

 
Drives: ....
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: .

iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2008 M3  [3.50]
2007 335i  [4.50]
2008 528i  [4.00]
2006 Infiniti - G35 ...  [4.00]
it's a combo of things. there's not magic PROcede to make this run faster.

You need to clean up your hard drive, defrag it, might need to add another gig of RAM or 2.

Make sure you delete stuff that you do not need, like temporary internet files. if you do so, you have to defrag for sure
Appreciate 0
      08-07-2007, 01:05 AM   #6
BMW F22
Major General
BMW F22's Avatar
United_States
216
Rep
8,401
Posts

 
Drives: ///M235i
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Around the Bay

iTrader: (8)

spyware
Appreciate 0
      08-07-2007, 01:28 AM   #7
koreez88
Всем привет ;)
Russian Federation
50
Rep
3,251
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 SG e90 335d
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: San Francisco, CA

iTrader: (11)

Send a message via Skype™ to koreez88
Don't bother cleaning up XP, just reformat.
Appreciate 0
      08-07-2007, 09:53 AM   #8
UncleWede
Long Time Admirer, First Time Owner
UncleWede's Avatar
United_States
51
Rep
2,376
Posts

 
Drives: E90 325i Arctic
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Oxnard, CA

iTrader: (0)

If you got the Dell out of the box, you need to go back, get the XP CD and the Diagnostics disk, then insert teh XP CD before the next boot, hit F-12, boot to CD, reinstall windows, and reformat teh hard drive when you do it. Dell sends SO MUCH BS software/trialware/garbage on their systems. I do this all day long. As soon as the system comes in, I get out the XP CD and boot to that, format the drive, then install the drivers. That way I get a clean boot of XP, then add office, whatever graphics programs, blah, blah, blah.
Appreciate 0
      08-07-2007, 09:56 AM   #9
tlester
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
39
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 328i Sport, Crimson Red
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Jacksonville, FL

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 328i Sport  [0.00]
Get a mac.
Appreciate 0
      08-07-2007, 10:02 AM   #10
GraphiteBrawler
Elton John Impersonator
GraphiteBrawler's Avatar
2
Rep
275
Posts

 
Drives: Graphite E92 335I coupe
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Doylestown, PA

iTrader: (0)

Spybot S&D

Spyware Blaster

AVG Free antiVirus

Google Web accelerator

install and run those, it should clean it up.

I have a registery cleaner around here somewhere, but I cant recall the name, let me try and find it.
__________________
'07 E92 335I : Sparkling Graphite /Steptronic W/paddles/Premium Package/Sport Package/Grey leather W/grey Poplar wood trim. 19" Iforged Essen, 20% tint, OEM front Lip
Appreciate 0
      08-07-2007, 10:53 AM   #11
ejazbmw
blahhh
ejazbmw's Avatar
94
Rep
6,350
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 E92 335i
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NJ/NY

iTrader: (7)

stop downloading porn
Appreciate 0
      08-07-2007, 08:23 PM   #12
BMXtreme
Lieutenant Colonel
BMXtreme's Avatar
23
Rep
1,657
Posts

 
Drives: E60 535i
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Redmond, WA

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2006 330i  [0.00]
AdAware SE is something u can try out first to get shitz out of your PC.
Appreciate 0
      08-07-2007, 08:45 PM   #13
03SG///M3
Lieutenant
18
Rep
579
Posts

 
Drives: 328
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: CT

iTrader: (0)

I have a computer related question: As of yesterday i can no longer connect the Xbox live. I can get online with my laptop which is strange. I've never had this happen before. I have a wireless setup with a router in the basement. The router doesn't seem to recognize the ethernet cables (3) connected - the ethernet lights are not lit. My xbox live is saying the ethernet cable is not connected.

I called Comcast and they say the connection is fine... Any idea's?? Are my ethernet cables fried?
Appreciate 0
      08-08-2007, 11:55 AM   #14
UncleWede
Long Time Admirer, First Time Owner
UncleWede's Avatar
United_States
51
Rep
2,376
Posts

 
Drives: E90 325i Arctic
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Oxnard, CA

iTrader: (0)

Hard to "fry" Ethernet cables. Is your laptop getting online via wireless? If so, either the ethernet connections have been turned off in the router, or the router is fried.
Comcast only sees the connection of the router on their side, not internal to your house.

Take the laptop down there, plug it in via an ethernet cable, and see if you get lights. . .
Appreciate 0
      08-08-2007, 02:24 PM   #15
03SG///M3
Lieutenant
18
Rep
579
Posts

 
Drives: 328
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: CT

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by UncleWede View Post
Hard to "fry" Ethernet cables. Is your laptop getting online via wireless? If so, either the ethernet connections have been turned off in the router, or the router is fried.
Comcast only sees the connection of the router on their side, not internal to your house.

Take the laptop down there, plug it in via an ethernet cable, and see if you get lights. . .
Thanks for the help. Yes, i plugged the laptop into the ethernet ports and the green lights worked. I still can't connect to xbox live... it says wireless network not connected. I get online via wireless for my laptop and was getting online for xbox wireless but no longer...
Appreciate 0
      08-08-2007, 02:26 PM   #16
jbake
OG
jbake's Avatar
United_States
15
Rep
920
Posts

 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Valley Jo

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 335I  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by tlester View Post
Get a mac.
werd
__________________
Appreciate 0
      08-08-2007, 03:48 PM   #17
CnoteMD
Commander in Chief
CnoteMD's Avatar
United_States
16
Rep
1,035
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 BMW 535i
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Atlanta, GA

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2008 M5  [0.00]
2006 330i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by tlester View Post
Get a mac.
This is probably the best advice yet.

But if you aren't ready to go to a Mac, I would start by optimizing your computer and possibly adding additional RAM (at least 1GB, but preferably 2GB total).

Be sure to get any service updates Microsoft issues, and then make sure your virus software is up-to-date. Then download a program called "Spybot Search & Destroy". You will need to run that program every 2-3 days to make sure that all of your spyware is removed. Spyware and Trojans are the most likely cause of your problems. The problem is that even some of the best programs cannot remove all of them.

In the end, you may just have to format your hard drive and start from scratch. It was this annual format and start over ritual that finally led me to switching to Mac, and its the best decision I've ever made regarding computers.
__________________
2008 BMW 535i Space Gray, Black Leather, Dark Bamboo Trim| Sport Automatic with Paddles | Sport Package
2008 BMW M5 (gone, but not forgotten) Space Gray, Silverstone Merino Leather, Madeira Walnut Wood Trim | 7speed SMG | All options
Mods: Corsa Exhaust | RPI Ram Air Intake | H&R Sport Springs | Rogue Engineering 12mm spacers
Appreciate 0
      08-08-2007, 03:56 PM   #18
Victor.L3IchibanM3
Banned
United_States
33
Rep
375
Posts

 
Drives: '06 325i,'04 RX 330,'99Corolla
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: San Jose

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via AIM to Victor.L3IchibanM3 Send a message via Yahoo to Victor.L3IchibanM3
Don't download porn
Appreciate 0
      08-08-2007, 05:54 PM   #19
achien
AC
Canada
28
Rep
2,378
Posts

 
Drives: E90 Post Members Crazy
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada

iTrader: (0)

Buy a new computer, save you time on figuring out what works and what doesn't.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sesegal99 View Post
Running Windows XP...on my Dell office computer. Who can give me some help on how to clean it up so it runs faster?
__________________
Your Supreme Leader
Appreciate 0
      08-08-2007, 06:31 PM   #20
hl0m4n
Brigadier General
hl0m4n's Avatar
United_States
386
Rep
4,861
Posts

 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NY

iTrader: (42)

is this a laptop?
Appreciate 0
      08-09-2007, 11:44 AM   #21
mds82
Major General
mds82's Avatar
128
Rep
5,858
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 325xi
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: South Central Connecticut

iTrader: (40)

Garage List
Send a message via AIM to mds82 Send a message via Yahoo to mds82
Quote:
Originally Posted by ejazbmw View Post
stop downloading porn
oops.......
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:31 AM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST