BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Engine, Transmission, Exhaust, Drivetrain, ECU Software Modifications
 
GetBMWParts
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      08-08-2013, 01:36 PM   #1
Mr.MichaelM3
First Lieutenant
Mr.MichaelM3's Avatar
United_States
9
Rep
352
Posts

Drives: 2015 AW F80 M3
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Dirty Jersey

iTrader: (0)

Ess 550 27e4 Vac Pressure Sensor?

Hey guys maybe someone else can chime in on this. My car went into limp mode today on my way to work and couldnt go passed 35mph. (very dangerous driving on the highway). Anyways I am getting code 27E4 and just ordered a new vacuum pressure sensor hopefully it will fix the issue. Anyone else with the ESS kit experience the same issue? I am fully catless and my car is at the dealership overnight. Any help is much appreciated
__________________
2010 E90 M3 ESS-vt1 550 SOLD but never forgotten

2015 F80 M3: JB4 and MPE
Appreciate 0
      08-08-2013, 02:30 PM   #2
creaminz
Major General
creaminz's Avatar
United_States
254
Rep
7,711
Posts

Drives: E90 LCI
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: So. Cal

iTrader: (33)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.MichaelM3 View Post
Hey guys maybe someone else can chime in on this. My car went into limp mode today on my way to work and couldnt go passed 35mph. (very dangerous driving on the highway). Anyways I am getting code 27E4 and just ordered a new vacuum pressure sensor hopefully it will fix the issue. Anyone else with the ESS kit experience the same issue? I am fully catless and my car is at the dealership overnight. Any help is much appreciated
I got the same code!! Brake vacumm pressure sensor right?? Let me know if that fixes your problem! I also have fully catless, VT1-550kit! And i know car goes into limp mode to protect from further damage but man it is scary when happens while you are driving on freeway! Do you have part number for the sensor by any chance??
Appreciate 0
      08-08-2013, 02:42 PM   #3
tom @ eas
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
tom @ eas's Avatar
United_States
1653
Rep
13,504
Posts


Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Anaheim, CA

iTrader: (16)

Garage List
2010 BMW M3  [5.00]
2015 BMW M4  [3.50]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.MichaelM3 View Post
Hey guys maybe someone else can chime in on this. My car went into limp mode today on my way to work and couldnt go passed 35mph. (very dangerous driving on the highway). Anyways I am getting code 27E4 and just ordered a new vacuum pressure sensor hopefully it will fix the issue. Anyone else with the ESS kit experience the same issue? I am fully catless and my car is at the dealership overnight. Any help is much appreciated
Do you have a BBK or have had a brake service performed lately? The brake fluid reservoir is right above the sensor and excess fluid can drip onto the sensor - shorting it out.

Quote:
Originally Posted by creaminz View Post
I got the same code!! Brake vacumm pressure sensor right?? Let me know if that fixes your problem! I also have fully catless, VT1-550kit! And i know car goes into limp mode to protect from further damage but man it is scary when happens while you are driving on freeway! Do you have part number for the sensor by any chance??
Sent you a PM earlier, here's the sensor I'm referring to:



E92N M3 Power brake unit depression
http://www.realoem.com/bmw/showparts...27&hg=34&fg=27

#12 is what's needed (PN 34302283605), this comes with the line. Kind of a PITA to get to, but can be replaced in under an hour - easier if you change the sensor only.

Look for any moisture on the sensor to see if its being shorted out.
__________________
Tom G. | european auto source (eas)
email: tom@europeanautosource.com · web: www.europeanautosource.com · tel 866.669.0705 · ca: 714.369.8524 x22

GET DAILY UPDATES ON OUR BLOG · FACEBOOK · YOUTUBE · FLICKR · INSTAGRAM
Appreciate 1
      08-08-2013, 02:50 PM   #4
creaminz
Major General
creaminz's Avatar
United_States
254
Rep
7,711
Posts

Drives: E90 LCI
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: So. Cal

iTrader: (33)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom @ eas View Post
Do you have a BBK or have had a brake service performed lately? The brake fluid reservoir is right above the sensor and excess fluid can drip onto the sensor - shorting it out.



Sent you a PM earlier, here's the sensor I'm referring to:



E92N M3 Power brake unit depression
http://www.realoem.com/bmw/showparts...27&hg=34&fg=27

#12 is what's needed (PN 34302283605), this comes with the line. Kind of a PITA to get to, but can be replaced in under an hour - easier if you change the sensor only.

Look for any moisture on the sensor to see if its being shorted out.
Awesome! Thanks again Tom! I will order the new sensor to see if that cures will! Woohooo!!!
Appreciate 0
      08-08-2013, 02:58 PM   #5
sales@ESSTuning
sales@ESSTuning's Avatar
202
Rep
3,154
Posts

Drives: ESS M3 / M4
Join Date: May 2007
Location: AZ

iTrader: (6)

Quote:
Originally Posted by creaminz View Post
Awesome! Thanks again Tom! I will order the new sensor to see if that cures will! Woohooo!!!
Also check the connections and the hose to make sure there are no restrictions.
Appreciate 0
      08-08-2013, 03:05 PM   #6
creaminz
Major General
creaminz's Avatar
United_States
254
Rep
7,711
Posts

Drives: E90 LCI
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: So. Cal

iTrader: (33)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roman@ESS View Post
Also check the connections and the hose to make sure there are no restrictions.
Will do sir! Sensor should be here tomorrow, back to full powwwwerrrr!!!!~~~~
Appreciate 0
      08-08-2013, 04:03 PM   #7
Mr.MichaelM3
First Lieutenant
Mr.MichaelM3's Avatar
United_States
9
Rep
352
Posts

Drives: 2015 AW F80 M3
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Dirty Jersey

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by creaminz View Post
I got the same code!! Brake vacumm pressure sensor right?? Let me know if that fixes your problem! I also have fully catless, VT1-550kit! And i know car goes into limp mode to protect from further damage but man it is scary when happens while you are driving on freeway! Do you have part number for the sensor by any chance??





THANK GOD im not the only one! My master technician at work is doing it all for me. We VOR'd the part since we did not have in stock and it'll be done first thing tomorrow morning. I will keep you posted on if it fixes the problem! TOM at eas is correct tho. The sensor had brake fluid all over the friggin place because I just got brakes done about 1200 miles ago. Thanks guys so much for your help!
__________________
2010 E90 M3 ESS-vt1 550 SOLD but never forgotten

2015 F80 M3: JB4 and MPE
Appreciate 0
      08-08-2013, 04:30 PM   #8
creaminz
Major General
creaminz's Avatar
United_States
254
Rep
7,711
Posts

Drives: E90 LCI
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: So. Cal

iTrader: (33)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.MichaelM3 View Post
THANK GOD im not the only one! My master technician at work is doing it all for me. We VOR'd the part since we did not have in stock and it'll be done first thing tomorrow morning. I will keep you posted on if it fixes the problem! TOM at eas is correct tho. The sensor had brake fluid all over the friggin place because I just got brakes done about 1200 miles ago. Thanks guys so much for your help!
awesome! Yeah i just put on bbk about 1500 miles ago as well. We might have found the solution
Appreciate 0
      08-10-2013, 06:08 PM   #9
creaminz
Major General
creaminz's Avatar
United_States
254
Rep
7,711
Posts

Drives: E90 LCI
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: So. Cal

iTrader: (33)

Replaced the sensor and now car does not throw any codes!!!
Appreciate 0
      08-10-2013, 06:21 PM   #10
klammer
Brigadier General
49
Rep
3,246
Posts

Drives: 11 spc gry m3 e90, 07 X5
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: chicago

iTrader: (0)

I've had a brake booster issue that made the car run like it was about to fall apart. Drove like shit and couldn't accelerate at all... fixed about 2 years ago, not a problem since then. Was amazed how a brake issue made the engine and car run like crap, but that was it


pee ess: I'm NA
__________________
mods: akra evo, dinan 3.45 diff, ess akra tune, dinan stg.3, Alcon bbk, HRE P40
Appreciate 0
      08-10-2013, 06:50 PM   #11
tom @ eas
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
tom @ eas's Avatar
United_States
1653
Rep
13,504
Posts


Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Anaheim, CA

iTrader: (16)

Garage List
2010 BMW M3  [5.00]
2015 BMW M4  [3.50]
Awesome - thanks for following up guys!
__________________
Tom G. | european auto source (eas)
email: tom@europeanautosource.com · web: www.europeanautosource.com · tel 866.669.0705 · ca: 714.369.8524 x22

GET DAILY UPDATES ON OUR BLOG · FACEBOOK · YOUTUBE · FLICKR · INSTAGRAM
Appreciate 0
      08-10-2013, 06:55 PM   #12
creaminz
Major General
creaminz's Avatar
United_States
254
Rep
7,711
Posts

Drives: E90 LCI
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: So. Cal

iTrader: (33)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom @ eas View Post
Awesome - thanks for following up guys!
Tom! Thank YOU for helping me figure this out! And I was amazed by the customer service by Roman@ESS & AJ@ESS, they reply back Quick!! This is another good example why people should choose ESS S/C!
Appreciate 1
      08-10-2013, 10:24 PM   #13
Bubbles
Brigadier General
Bubbles's Avatar
Cayman Islands
118
Rep
3,564
Posts

Drives: Green Bastard
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bishop Bend

iTrader: (3)

I've burned out two of those sensors, they are placed in the worse spot just underneath the brake reservoir. Good looking out Tom.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      11-02-2014, 11:45 AM   #14
GTB/ZR-1
Lieutenant
GTB/ZR-1's Avatar
10
Rep
523
Posts

Drives: Pending...
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Central, FL

iTrader: (17)

Bringing this back from the dead...

Just had a BBK installed & experienced this 27E4 code this morning. I cleared the code, took a short drive & it didn't re-appear, so I'm not sure if this issue will now be chronic.

The car is still under warranty--BUT, seeing that the BBK caused(?) the issue--am I on my own to replace it, if it has actually failed?


TIA
__________________
* '11.75 E90/DCT LMB--DE Weapon (SOLD)
* '15 Z51 C7 Corvette--SCCA Solo/DE Weapon
* '09 Nissan GT-R (Gone)
* '90 Corvette ZR-1 (Fast)
Appreciate 0
      10-04-2015, 02:30 PM   #15
Blue Gumby
New Member
0
Rep
19
Posts

Drives: 2009 MX-5
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Brooklyn

iTrader: (0)

I am in the same situation and going to replace the vacuum sensor. Do you have to remove the reservoir and master cylinder to get to the sensor? I'm looking at it and looks tight. Any help would be appreciated.
Appreciate 0
      10-05-2015, 02:46 PM   #16
W Cole
Major
75
Rep
1,075
Posts

Drives: 2009 M3
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Newport Coast, CA

iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blue Gumby View Post
I am in the same situation and going to replace the vacuum sensor. Do you have to remove the reservoir and master cylinder to get to the sensor? I'm looking at it and looks tight. Any help would be appreciated.
I haven't done mine yet. I cleared the code and it hasn't come back on. But someone told me you go through the wheel well.
Appreciate 0
      10-05-2015, 05:56 PM   #17
Blue Gumby
New Member
0
Rep
19
Posts

Drives: 2009 MX-5
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Brooklyn

iTrader: (0)

I took off the fender liner and there's no way to even see the sensor. I'm thinking the master cylinder has to come out. There's no way to loosen the torx screw to remove the sensor.
Appreciate 0
      01-20-2016, 08:55 PM   #18
Titan_br
Private
Titan_br's Avatar
Brazil
4
Rep
73
Posts

Drives: M3 E92 with AA Stage 3 SC
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2011 BMW M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by creaminz View Post
I got the same code!! Brake vacumm pressure sensor right?? Let me know if that fixes your problem! I also have fully catless, VT1-550kit! And i know car goes into limp mode to protect from further damage but man it is scary when happens while you are driving on freeway! Do you have part number for the sensor by any chance??
How did you fix it?

I have active autowerk super charger, and the problem just came after I installed meth kit (new controler from aem), but i already had meth before.
Appreciate 0
      01-21-2016, 12:52 PM   #19
Patrón
4th ///M
Patrón's Avatar
United_States
138
Rep
1,289
Posts

Drives: ESS 625 DCT
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: San Antonio, TX

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Titan_br View Post
How did you fix it?

I have active autowerk super charger, and the problem just came after I installed meth kit (new controler from aem), but i already had meth before.
several posts are saying change out the sensor , part #12 in the post with the part number link.
__________________
ESS-TUNNING/FORGELINE/DINAN
Appreciate 0
      06-07-2016, 09:42 PM   #20
sixapalooza
Registered
sixapalooza's Avatar
United_States
0
Rep
1
Posts

Drives: 2011 M3 Sedan - Space Gray
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Knoxville, TN

iTrader: (0)

I too have been dealing with this fault code, I trying to figure out if there is a way to replace the sensor without pulling the master cylinder. Has anyone done this?
Appreciate 0
      07-23-2016, 07:03 PM   #21
joneffingvo
Second Lieutenant
United_States
39
Rep
294
Posts

Drives: 12 C63 AMG Coupe
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Tempe, AZ

iTrader: (0)

Dropped the dog off at the groomers today and as i was sitting at the light i got a CEL (engine malfunction reduced power) and i about shit myself got home and pulled these codes:

// 1) 2B57 Motor emergency programm activated
// 2) 27E3 INDEX_211_INJ
// 3) 2796 Motor emergency programm activated

Guess i'll be ordering this sensor also... lol
__________________
Appreciate 0
      11-12-2016, 05:43 PM   #22
Bolos
Private
8
Rep
91
Posts

Drives: 2011 M3 Saloon Competition
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: California

iTrader: (0)

Where is it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by W Cole View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blue Gumby View Post
I am in the same situation and going to replace the vacuum sensor. Do you have to remove the reservoir and master cylinder to get to the sensor? I'm looking at it and looks tight. Any help would be appreciated.
I haven't done mine yet. I cleared the code and it hasn't come back on. But someone told me you go through the wheel well.
Where is this part and is it in multiple locations on the car?
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:08 AM.




m3post
m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST