BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Coding / ConnectedDrive / Audio-Video / Electronics / Bluetooth / I-Drive & Nav
 
Strasse Wheels
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-26-2012, 09:56 PM   #45
kmarei
Major General
kmarei's Avatar
Egypt
130
Rep
6,481
Posts

 
Drives: 1988 E30 M3 Evo II
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Reston, VA

iTrader: (33)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by aresh View Post
i would use some sort of slope for refined bass and lose the infrasonic unless your aiming for mids, just my 2 cents
I think you misread the pics
I'm using 24db slope
And I am not using the infrasonic

I did test my sub with the infra sonic on and some test tones
And I was losing too much in the 20-30hz notes
Which are actually my favourite
__________________
This user has been banned from the 4 series forum because he doesn't sing its merits like the admins want us all to

Appreciate 0
      03-26-2012, 09:59 PM   #46
kmarei
Major General
kmarei's Avatar
Egypt
130
Rep
6,481
Posts

 
Drives: 1988 E30 M3 Evo II
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Reston, VA

iTrader: (33)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by THE TECH View Post
I have a brand new, third LC2i sitting that I can use. I was just wondering if the LC6i was of any higher quality and/or could handle more input voltage over the LC2i.
As far as I know
They are pretty much identical
__________________
This user has been banned from the 4 series forum because he doesn't sing its merits like the admins want us all to

Appreciate 0
      03-26-2012, 10:06 PM   #47
THE TECH
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
THE TECH's Avatar
United_States
157
Rep
13,122
Posts


 
Drives: BPMsport 2012 E92 M3
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Kansas

iTrader: (45)

Garage List
Send a message via AIM to THE TECH Send a message via Skype™ to THE TECH
Quote:
Originally Posted by kmarei View Post
As far as I know
They are pretty much identical
I figured as much but was just hoping there might be another, better option.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      03-27-2012, 03:38 AM   #48
alpina527
Banned
United Kingdom
15
Rep
638
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 E92 M3 DCT JZB/FR
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: London, England

iTrader: (1)

My LC2i and JL400/4 is set almost the same as kmerai. Mine is running through the main channels, not the bass channel.

It's the premium system with Technic harness and simply powering a pair of SWS-8s. It all runs cool with no glitches at all.

This might sound dumb, but have you checked the speaker outputs from the Technic harness.?

When I got mine, it had an old diagram of the wire configuration out of the harness and into the amp which was wrong. This gave me all sorts of problems. Once he sent me the revised wiring it's been perfect.

Perhaps Technic could post up a fool proof diagram of the four speaker wires.
Appreciate 0
      03-27-2012, 04:20 AM   #49
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
171
Rep
11,181
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by kmarei View Post
As far as I know
They are pretty much identical
The LC6i does not have the AccuBass feature.
__________________
-2015 F30 320i, Imperial/Oyster, 8AT: August 2014 ED
-2012 E92 M3 Jerez Black/Rust Brown, M-DCT: Gone
-2008 E90 M3 Melbourne Red/Bamboo, 6MT: Gone
-2007 MK5 GTI United Grey/Grey, DSG: Gone
-2004 E46 M3 Carbon Black/Cinnamon, 6MT: Gone
Appreciate 0
      03-27-2012, 04:22 AM   #50
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
171
Rep
11,181
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by alpina527 View Post
My LC2i and JL400/4 is set almost the same as kmerai. Mine is running through the main channels, not the bass channel.

It's the premium system with Technic harness and simply powering a pair of SWS-8s. It all runs cool with no glitches at all.

This might sound dumb, but have you checked the speaker outputs from the Technic harness.?

When I got mine, it had an old diagram of the wire configuration out of the harness and into the amp which was wrong. This gave me all sorts of problems. Once he sent me the revised wiring it's been perfect.

Perhaps Technic could post up a fool proof diagram of the four speaker wires.
The diagram mistake was in the underseat woofer pigtail and that was resolved after you pointed it out in the diagram.

The pigtail is not used in either case here...
__________________
-2015 F30 320i, Imperial/Oyster, 8AT: August 2014 ED
-2012 E92 M3 Jerez Black/Rust Brown, M-DCT: Gone
-2008 E90 M3 Melbourne Red/Bamboo, 6MT: Gone
-2007 MK5 GTI United Grey/Grey, DSG: Gone
-2004 E46 M3 Carbon Black/Cinnamon, 6MT: Gone
Appreciate 0
      03-27-2012, 04:27 AM   #51
alpina527
Banned
United Kingdom
15
Rep
638
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 E92 M3 DCT JZB/FR
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: London, England

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technic View Post
The diagram mistake was in the underseat woofer pigtail and that was resolved after you pointed it out in the diagram.

The pigtail is not used in either case here...
Aah. Sorry Technic. I got my wires crossed (literally).
Appreciate 0
      03-27-2012, 05:35 PM   #52
broaudio
Registered
0
Rep
1
Posts

 
Drives: Awesome
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Seattle, WA

iTrader: (0)

LC2i Misconceptions...

Quote:
Originally Posted by ILSMKU View Post
Hey all,

For some reason, LC2i keeps loosing volume. I have a sub and AMP connected to my LC2i and the BASS hits when I first set it up, but over time my BASS disappears to the point my seat subs make more noise than my 12" JL sub.

If I crank up the LC2i gain, it will sound better, but a few days later, it will drop in volume again to the point my seat subs are louder. Being Ive run into this twice now has me wondering if this thing can really handle the volt spikes coming off the EPS system.

Interestingly enough a buddy of mine who also has an LC2i with a sub and amp in a E92 just told me his is doing the same thing.


Has anyone else experienced this with an LC2i? Its frustrating.

Thanks!
Hello. Are you using signal sensing or are you providing a remote input to this unit? The inputs on the LC2i can take up to 400W so I highly, highly, doubt you're over driving the unit. As always, output levels up on the LC2i and gains down on the amp. If the bass seems to come on and off it could be due to two reasons:

A) The factory amp isn't sensing a load on the sub line which is causing it to stop outputting. This is easily fixed.

B) Signal sensing isn't working correctly in this car and you should try a remote input. Easy fix.

- Please check the input specifications on your amplifiers to make sure you aren't feeding the after market amp too much voltage.

I am more than happy to clarify what this unit can do for you. If you have a problem with the LC2i in your installation, send me a direct message, and I will help.

Have a good day
Appreciate 0
      03-27-2012, 05:56 PM   #53
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
171
Rep
11,181
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by broaudio View Post
Hello. Are you using signal sensing or are you providing a remote input to this unit? The inputs on the LC2i can take up to 400W so I highly, highly, doubt you're over driving the unit. As always, output levels up on the LC2i and gains down on the amp. If the bass seems to come on and off it could be due to two reasons:

A) The factory amp isn't sensing a load on the sub line which is causing it to stop outputting. This is easily fixed.

B) Signal sensing isn't working correctly in this car and you should try a remote input. Easy fix.

- Please check the input specifications on your amplifiers to make sure you aren't feeding the after market amp too much voltage.

I am more than happy to clarify what this unit can do for you. If you have a problem with the LC2i in your installation, send me a direct message, and I will help.

Have a good day
Hi

I would guess that you are from Audiocontrol, correct?

In these two particular cases a dedicated remote turn on signal is being fed into the LC2i. What you are saying is that the GTO jumper must be set to OFF if a dedicated remote line is used, correct?
__________________
-2015 F30 320i, Imperial/Oyster, 8AT: August 2014 ED
-2012 E92 M3 Jerez Black/Rust Brown, M-DCT: Gone
-2008 E90 M3 Melbourne Red/Bamboo, 6MT: Gone
-2007 MK5 GTI United Grey/Grey, DSG: Gone
-2004 E46 M3 Carbon Black/Cinnamon, 6MT: Gone
Appreciate 0
      03-27-2012, 07:43 PM   #54
kmarei
Major General
kmarei's Avatar
Egypt
130
Rep
6,481
Posts

 
Drives: 1988 E30 M3 Evo II
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Reston, VA

iTrader: (33)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by broaudio View Post
Hello. Are you using signal sensing or are you providing a remote input to this unit? The inputs on the LC2i can take up to 400W so I highly, highly, doubt you're over driving the unit. As always, output levels up on the LC2i and gains down on the amp. If the bass seems to come on and off it could be due to two reasons:

A) The factory amp isn't sensing a load on the sub line which is causing it to stop outputting. This is easily fixed.

B) Signal sensing isn't working correctly in this car and you should try a remote input. Easy fix.

- Please check the input specifications on your amplifiers to make sure you aren't feeding the after market amp too much voltage.

I am more than happy to clarify what this unit can do for you. If you have a problem with the LC2i in your installation, send me a direct message, and I will help.

Have a good day
We'd love to be using the signal sensing feature
If it worked
It doesn't detect anything with 150 watts per channel surging through its veins
__________________
This user has been banned from the 4 series forum because he doesn't sing its merits like the admins want us all to

Appreciate 0
      03-27-2012, 08:00 PM   #55
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
171
Rep
11,181
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by kmarei View Post
We'd love to be using the signal sensing feature
If it worked
It doesn't detect anything with 150 watts per channel surging through its veins
Did you set the GTO jumper to OFF?
__________________
-2015 F30 320i, Imperial/Oyster, 8AT: August 2014 ED
-2012 E92 M3 Jerez Black/Rust Brown, M-DCT: Gone
-2008 E90 M3 Melbourne Red/Bamboo, 6MT: Gone
-2007 MK5 GTI United Grey/Grey, DSG: Gone
-2004 E46 M3 Carbon Black/Cinnamon, 6MT: Gone
Appreciate 0
      03-27-2012, 08:03 PM   #56
kmarei
Major General
kmarei's Avatar
Egypt
130
Rep
6,481
Posts

 
Drives: 1988 E30 M3 Evo II
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Reston, VA

iTrader: (33)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Technic View Post
Did you set the GTO jumper to OFF?
I tried off, on, I tried taking a signal from the front speakers, from the underseat subs
Nothing
__________________
This user has been banned from the 4 series forum because he doesn't sing its merits like the admins want us all to

Appreciate 0
      03-27-2012, 08:11 PM   #57
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
171
Rep
11,181
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by kmarei View Post
I tried off, on, I tried taking a signal from the front speakers, from the underseat subs
Nothing
So your LC2i is stable with the external remote signal regardless of the GTO jumper setting?
__________________
-2015 F30 320i, Imperial/Oyster, 8AT: August 2014 ED
-2012 E92 M3 Jerez Black/Rust Brown, M-DCT: Gone
-2008 E90 M3 Melbourne Red/Bamboo, 6MT: Gone
-2007 MK5 GTI United Grey/Grey, DSG: Gone
-2004 E46 M3 Carbon Black/Cinnamon, 6MT: Gone
Appreciate 0
      03-27-2012, 08:14 PM   #58
kmarei
Major General
kmarei's Avatar
Egypt
130
Rep
6,481
Posts

 
Drives: 1988 E30 M3 Evo II
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Reston, VA

iTrader: (33)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Technic View Post
So your LC2i is stable with the external remote signal regardless of the GTO jumper setting?
Well after giving up on the GTO feature
It's been set to off ever since
And I'm now giving it a remote in signal from the tr-4 triggered by the thin black wire
I followed your advice and uses the think black wire, vs having the remote in wire hooked up to direct power

But yes it's stable
No issues
no volume changes or anything
I have accubass set to minimum as per your suggestion
And this is going into the xd600/1 powering my 13tw5
__________________
This user has been banned from the 4 series forum because he doesn't sing its merits like the admins want us all to

Appreciate 0
      03-27-2012, 08:52 PM   #59
THE TECH
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
THE TECH's Avatar
United_States
157
Rep
13,122
Posts


 
Drives: BPMsport 2012 E92 M3
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Kansas

iTrader: (45)

Garage List
Send a message via AIM to THE TECH Send a message via Skype™ to THE TECH
Quote:
Originally Posted by broaudio View Post
Hello. Are you using signal sensing or are you providing a remote input to this unit? The inputs on the LC2i can take up to 400W so I highly, highly, doubt you're over driving the unit. As always, output levels up on the LC2i and gains down on the amp. If the bass seems to come on and off it could be due to two reasons:

A) The factory amp isn't sensing a load on the sub line which is causing it to stop outputting. This is easily fixed.

B) Signal sensing isn't working correctly in this car and you should try a remote input. Easy fix.

- Please check the input specifications on your amplifiers to make sure you aren't feeding the after market amp too much voltage.

I am more than happy to clarify what this unit can do for you. If you have a problem with the LC2i in your installation, send me a direct message, and I will help.

Have a good day
This seems to contradict what I thought we were supposed to be doing. I thought it was down on the LC2i and up on the amp so that the amp would be controlling things and not the LC2i.

I am wondering if we are indeed giving the aftermarket amp too much voltage. How can that be tested?
__________________
Appreciate 0
      03-28-2012, 05:56 AM   #60
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
171
Rep
11,181
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by THE TECH View Post
This seems to contradict what I thought we were supposed to be doing. I thought it was down on the LC2i and up on the amp so that the amp would be controlling things and not the LC2i.

I am wondering if we are indeed giving the aftermarket amp too much voltage. How can that be tested?
http://www.m3post.com/forums/showpos...7&postcount=70
__________________
-2015 F30 320i, Imperial/Oyster, 8AT: August 2014 ED
-2012 E92 M3 Jerez Black/Rust Brown, M-DCT: Gone
-2008 E90 M3 Melbourne Red/Bamboo, 6MT: Gone
-2007 MK5 GTI United Grey/Grey, DSG: Gone
-2004 E46 M3 Carbon Black/Cinnamon, 6MT: Gone
Appreciate 0
      03-28-2012, 06:40 AM   #61
Bubbles
Brigadier General
Bubbles's Avatar
Cayman Islands
86
Rep
3,559
Posts

 
Drives: Green Bastard
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bishop Bend

iTrader: (3)

For what it's worth, I am using an old JL cleansweep with no issue. I had a few issues with passive locs burning up. Swapped amps and dusted off an old cleansweep I've had no issues for a while now.
__________________

Last edited by Bubbles; 03-28-2012 at 12:30 PM.
Appreciate 0
      03-28-2012, 08:11 AM   #62
THE TECH
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
THE TECH's Avatar
United_States
157
Rep
13,122
Posts


 
Drives: BPMsport 2012 E92 M3
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Kansas

iTrader: (45)

Garage List
Send a message via AIM to THE TECH Send a message via Skype™ to THE TECH
Quote:
Originally Posted by Technic View Post
Guess I just remembered wrong.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      03-28-2012, 08:16 AM   #63
THE TECH
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
THE TECH's Avatar
United_States
157
Rep
13,122
Posts


 
Drives: BPMsport 2012 E92 M3
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Kansas

iTrader: (45)

Garage List
Send a message via AIM to THE TECH Send a message via Skype™ to THE TECH
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bubbles View Post
For what it's worth, I am using an old JL cleansweep with no issue. I had a few issues with passive locs burning up. Swapped amps and dusted off an old cleansweep I had with no issues for a while now.
You have EPS?
__________________
Appreciate 0
      03-28-2012, 09:12 AM   #64
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
171
Rep
11,181
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by THE TECH View Post
You have EPS?
He does...
__________________
-2015 F30 320i, Imperial/Oyster, 8AT: August 2014 ED
-2012 E92 M3 Jerez Black/Rust Brown, M-DCT: Gone
-2008 E90 M3 Melbourne Red/Bamboo, 6MT: Gone
-2007 MK5 GTI United Grey/Grey, DSG: Gone
-2004 E46 M3 Carbon Black/Cinnamon, 6MT: Gone
Appreciate 0
      03-28-2012, 09:13 AM   #65
THE TECH
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
THE TECH's Avatar
United_States
157
Rep
13,122
Posts


 
Drives: BPMsport 2012 E92 M3
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Kansas

iTrader: (45)

Garage List
Send a message via AIM to THE TECH Send a message via Skype™ to THE TECH
Quote:
Originally Posted by Technic View Post
He does...
What are your thoughts on the Cleansweep then?
__________________
Appreciate 0
      03-28-2012, 09:35 AM   #66
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
171
Rep
11,181
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by THE TECH View Post
What are your thoughts on the Cleansweep then?
As an active LOC for just adding subs, the Cleansweep is overboard as it is first a de-EQ processor and second a LOC. There's no need to de-EQ the woofer outputs as they are not EQ and not full range.

However, I can see why it is working with the EPS as it supports up to 30V RMS/42V peak inputs.
__________________
-2015 F30 320i, Imperial/Oyster, 8AT: August 2014 ED
-2012 E92 M3 Jerez Black/Rust Brown, M-DCT: Gone
-2008 E90 M3 Melbourne Red/Bamboo, 6MT: Gone
-2007 MK5 GTI United Grey/Grey, DSG: Gone
-2004 E46 M3 Carbon Black/Cinnamon, 6MT: Gone
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:01 AM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST