Bimmerpost for iOS has just been updated to version 3.8.9 with a host of new features and bug fixes. Try it out!
BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Suspension | Brakes | Chassis
 
House Motorsports
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      09-05-2010, 11:40 PM   #1
aus
Major General
United_States
125
Rep
7,478
Posts

Drives: Odysse
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Seal Beach, CA

iTrader: (5)

Guys with BBK or brake lines swapped... and a brake bedding question.

Did you have to take your car to the dealer to get them to flush the fluid?
I have a DCT if that makes a difference.

I remember when I test drove the 135, the one thing I really remember was the brake pedel felt firmer than the wife's 335.
I don't notice any difference with the BBK around town compared to stock.

Also, are you suppose to feel a difference after the pads/rotor's are bedded? It does seem grabbier (if that's a word), but it could be in my head too.
__________________
Let me get this straight... You are swapping out parts designed by some of the top engineers in the world because some guys sponsored by a company told you it's "better??" But when you ask the same guy about tracking, "oh no, I have a kid now" or "I just detailed my car." or "i just got new tires."
Appreciate 0
      09-06-2010, 05:43 PM   #2
kevin@bavarianx
Banned
United_States
12
Rep
812
Posts

Drives: E36 M3
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Brea, CA

iTrader: (3)

Send a message via AIM to kevin@bavarianx
There still could be some air in the lines unless your system has been bled correctly. The dealer could use their GT1 scanner and put your car into bleed mode to cycle the ABS system to get rid of the air but a pressure bleeder usually suffices. There is no difference after bed in other than the pads being more grabby after bedding in.
Appreciate 0
      09-06-2010, 06:42 PM   #3
rzm3
Moderator
rzm3's Avatar
232
Rep
4,605
Posts

Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: USA

iTrader: (14)

To fully bleed the entire system including ABS, you'd have to take it to the dealer.

However, most people I know just bleed the lines and that's it.
__________________
E92 M3 DCT
Appreciate 0
      09-06-2010, 11:35 PM   #4
aus
Major General
United_States
125
Rep
7,478
Posts

Drives: Odysse
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Seal Beach, CA

iTrader: (5)

Thanks guys.
It's not like it's a spongy or soft pedal, but it's not any firmer than before.

Just wondering if anyone had the dealer do the flush again after the BBK/lines install?
__________________
Let me get this straight... You are swapping out parts designed by some of the top engineers in the world because some guys sponsored by a company told you it's "better??" But when you ask the same guy about tracking, "oh no, I have a kid now" or "I just detailed my car." or "i just got new tires."

Last edited by aus; 09-07-2010 at 01:47 AM.
Appreciate 0
      01-29-2012, 08:24 PM   #5
persian54
Lieutenant General
persian54's Avatar
United_States
293
Rep
15,817
Posts

Drives: SL550. Prev: E93 M3/335i/Z435i
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: The Valley, SoCal

iTrader: (292)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rldzhao View Post
To fully bleed the entire system including ABS, you'd have to take it to the dealer.

However, most people I know just bleed the lines and that's it.
How much does the dealer generally charge for this?

Or would this even be entertained as part of the maintenance program?

I am up for a service pad change even though my pads are fine...maybe i can tell them to get paid for the pads, but don't do that work, and instead of a flush. haha. I know 99% this won't work
Appreciate 0
      01-30-2012, 06:32 AM   #6
marconi118
Captain
10
Rep
971
Posts

Drives: 06/07 e93 335i
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: europe

iTrader: (0)

maybe with the coding cable it is possible to activate the ABS in bleeding mode?
Appreciate 0
      01-31-2012, 09:43 AM   #7
persian54
Lieutenant General
persian54's Avatar
United_States
293
Rep
15,817
Posts

Drives: SL550. Prev: E93 M3/335i/Z435i
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: The Valley, SoCal

iTrader: (292)

I'm assuming a shop with Autologic could?

I know of a shop that I trust, and they have an Autologic.

But they're are pretty far...
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:08 PM.




m3post
m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST