BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > M3 (E90 / E92 / E93) > Regional Forums > Canada
 
BPM Sport
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      11-25-2011, 07:25 PM   #1
Mr. ///M3 RD
Major General
Mr. ///M3 RD's Avatar
Canada
149
Rep
7,863
Posts

 
Drives: E350 & 280 SL on Weekends :)
Join Date: May 2010
Location: GTA, Ontario - Canada

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Tire Pressure Monitoring System on our M3

Can someone tell me if on the e9x the TPMS is installed within the rim/tire or external to the rim/tire on our Canadian M3's

I ask this question since on my former e89 Z4 35i the TPMS was external i.e not part of the rim/tires and I used my winter/tire set without any problems. I found out then that the US cars had the TPMS as part of the wheel/tires whereas the Canadian cars had them external to the wheel/tires.

I am hoping the same holds true for the M3 otherwise I will have to sell my existing winter tire wheel set.

My plans are to use the winter tire set on my new 2012 M3 and I just like to be sure that I will not be driving around all winter with the tire pressure monitoring system lights on.

Thanks in advance,

Cheers,

Rolf-Dieter
__________________
Cheers, Rolf-Dieter

Life will take us to some interesting places, fortunately The ///M3 will too with a many of us know this very well
---> Click here for some good stuff I found
Appreciate 0
      11-25-2011, 10:44 PM   #2
redline9001
Captain
redline9001's Avatar
Canada
7
Rep
656
Posts

 
Drives: E92 M3, MDX, Titan
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Calgary, Canada

iTrader: (0)

not a part of the rim and tire,
__________________
2011 E92 M3 | JEREZ BLACK | EXTENDED BAMBOO NOVILLO | EXECUTIVE PKG | M-DRIVE | EDC | M-DCT
MODS | KW S/O | HRE P40SC | Akra Evo |ESS Akra Tune | BMC drop in | StopTech Trophies | TMS Pulley | LUX V3
Appreciate 0
      11-25-2011, 10:48 PM   #3
schnell325
Bored at work....
schnell325's Avatar
Canada
43
Rep
3,875
Posts

 
Drives: '08 M3,'11 335xi
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: BC

iTrader: (5)

^^ ding ding!!
__________________
'08 M3: AA G2L3, Catless X-Pipe & Sig Series Rear. AP rods. TC Kline EDC Coil Overs. MRF Alum Sub Frame Bushings. TMS Delrin Diff'l Bushings. BFI Motor Mounts. Recaro PP. BMW Perf Steering Wheel. P3 Gauge. PS Overflow Kit. APEX ARC-8 18"x9.5"/10.5". Conti Slicks 275/35F 305/30R. Stoptech Pads/SS Lines. Cantrell Brake Ducts.
http://5252motorsports.blogspot.ca/2...3-sleeper.html
Appreciate 0
      11-26-2011, 03:32 PM   #4
BMW Fanatic
Banned
Canada
61
Rep
3,314
Posts

 
Drives: slow
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Calgary

iTrader: (11)

You got it ^. Picked up my winter rim/tire set and didn't require TPMS on my 2011.75. Pretty sure this is just a Canadian thing though, saves about $250~ which can't be a bad thing.
Appreciate 0
      11-26-2011, 03:45 PM   #5
redline9001
Captain
redline9001's Avatar
Canada
7
Rep
656
Posts

 
Drives: E92 M3, MDX, Titan
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Calgary, Canada

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BMW Fanatic View Post
You got it ^. Picked up my winter rim/tire set and didn't require TPMS on my 2011.75. Pretty sure this is just a Canadian thing though, saves about $250~ which can't be a bad thing.
no it is M3 thing
__________________
2011 E92 M3 | JEREZ BLACK | EXTENDED BAMBOO NOVILLO | EXECUTIVE PKG | M-DRIVE | EDC | M-DCT
MODS | KW S/O | HRE P40SC | Akra Evo |ESS Akra Tune | BMC drop in | StopTech Trophies | TMS Pulley | LUX V3
Appreciate 0
      11-26-2011, 04:01 PM   #6
Jaypod
Brigadier General
Jaypod's Avatar
No_Country
64
Rep
4,962
Posts

 
Drives: Frozen M3, AM V8V, 991 GT3
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (7)

Quote:
Originally Posted by redline9001 View Post
no it is M3 thing
No - TPMS Sensors are an American thing

ABS system is used in Canada (and the rest of the world I believe)
Appreciate 0
      11-27-2011, 06:49 PM   #7
BMWNTHZST
Enthusiast
BMWNTHZST's Avatar
Canada
18
Rep
1,018
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 E92 M3
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (25)

Garage List
In Canadian made cars the TPMS is located in the suspension not in the wheel.

TPMS are located in the wheels of US make cars.

Cheers!
__________________
2011 E70 X5 ///M Black Sapphire Metallic / Black
2008 E93 335i Black Sapphire Metallic / Saddle Brown
1997 840Ci Jet Black / Black
2004 E46 ///M3 Laguna Seca Blue / Black
2011 E92 ///M3 Alpine White / Black (gone but not forgotten )
Appreciate 0
      11-27-2011, 07:03 PM   #8
Mr. ///M3 RD
Major General
Mr. ///M3 RD's Avatar
Canada
149
Rep
7,863
Posts

 
Drives: E350 & 280 SL on Weekends :)
Join Date: May 2010
Location: GTA, Ontario - Canada

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Thank you all .... this confirms it is the same as on my former Z4

Cheers,

Rolf-Dieter
__________________
Cheers, Rolf-Dieter

Life will take us to some interesting places, fortunately The ///M3 will too with a many of us know this very well
---> Click here for some good stuff I found
Appreciate 0
      11-27-2011, 07:11 PM   #9
PhillyNate
ENTHUSIAST
PhillyNate's Avatar
United_States
25
Rep
2,039
Posts

 
Drives: 2014 Toyota GT-86
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Philadelphia

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaypod View Post
No - TPMS Sensors are an American thing

ABS system is used in Canada (and the rest of the world I believe)
Why the hell are we the only country with an actual sensor in the wheels? What possible benefit could this have? Which system is better? I think I know the answer to all of these questions but feel free to chime in anyway.
__________________

"what I'm driving here...is an ending." Jeremy Clarkson
2014 Whiteout Toyota GT-86 6mt(Presently enjoying WAY more than anticipated)
2011 Alpine White BMW M3 6mt ZCP Coupe(forced retirement 06/06/14)
2008 Alpine White BMW 328i 6mt Coupe(retired 06/21/11
)
Appreciate 0
      11-27-2011, 07:21 PM   #10
Mr. ///M3 RD
Major General
Mr. ///M3 RD's Avatar
Canada
149
Rep
7,863
Posts

 
Drives: E350 & 280 SL on Weekends :)
Join Date: May 2010
Location: GTA, Ontario - Canada

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhillyNate View Post
Why the hell are we the only country with an actual sensor in the wheels? What possible benefit could this have? Which system is better? I think I know the answer to all of these questions but feel free to chime in anyway.
Exterior I think would be better it would save the cost on the winter set to be so equipped or US delivered cars. Then on the US cars I believe it will pinpoint the actual tire that is low on pressure whereas on Canadian cars one has to check the pressure on each wheel to find out what wheel is low etc.

This is even more difficult (since one cannot see the problem without a pressure gauge) on Canadian cars running with Run-Flat Tires.
__________________
Cheers, Rolf-Dieter

Life will take us to some interesting places, fortunately The ///M3 will too with a many of us know this very well
---> Click here for some good stuff I found
Appreciate 0
      11-27-2011, 07:32 PM   #11
PhillyNate
ENTHUSIAST
PhillyNate's Avatar
United_States
25
Rep
2,039
Posts

 
Drives: 2014 Toyota GT-86
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Philadelphia

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rolf-Dieter View Post
Exterior I think would be better it would save the cost on the winter set to be so equipped or US delivered cars. Then on the US cars I believe it will pinpoint the actual tire that is low on pressure whereas on Canadian cars one has to check the pressure on each wheel to find out what wheel is low etc.

This is even more difficult (since one cannot see the problem without a pressure gauge) on Canadian cars running with Run-Flat Tires.
Thank you for your answer but on my last BMW(2008 328i) the sensor did not indicate which tire was low in my non-Idrive vehicle. Now I'm told that the M3 will indicate which tire is low whether you have Idrive or not. I'm skeptical because I just had a bad sensor and the system never indicated which TPMS sensor was bad. Which brings me back to my original questions.
__________________

"what I'm driving here...is an ending." Jeremy Clarkson
2014 Whiteout Toyota GT-86 6mt(Presently enjoying WAY more than anticipated)
2011 Alpine White BMW M3 6mt ZCP Coupe(forced retirement 06/06/14)
2008 Alpine White BMW 328i 6mt Coupe(retired 06/21/11
)
Appreciate 0
      11-27-2011, 08:00 PM   #12
Mr. ///M3 RD
Major General
Mr. ///M3 RD's Avatar
Canada
149
Rep
7,863
Posts

 
Drives: E350 & 280 SL on Weekends :)
Join Date: May 2010
Location: GTA, Ontario - Canada

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhillyNate View Post
Thank you for your answer but on my last BMW(2008 328i) the sensor did not indicate which tire was low in my non-Idrive vehicle. Now I'm told that the M3 will indicate which tire is low whether you have Idrive or not. I'm skeptical because I just had a bad sensor and the system never indicated which TPMS sensor was bad. Which brings me back to my original questions.
You might be quite correct. My former Z4 35i had no iDrive nor does my 11M3 that I will trade in tomorrow.

On my o9sDrive Z4 35i I also had a bad monitor they do fail quite often if they are external, I think BMW put them on the inside of the wheel (part of the air valve) on US cars because there are more cars being sold in the US then Canada and they may have had more complains about it (I only assume this not sure about it).

I therefore must assume at this point in time that only if one has the iDrive will one get this notification. I will know more about this once I take delivery tomorrow of my 12M3 and have a chance to review the manuals.
__________________
Cheers, Rolf-Dieter

Life will take us to some interesting places, fortunately The ///M3 will too with a many of us know this very well
---> Click here for some good stuff I found
Appreciate 0
      11-27-2011, 08:09 PM   #13
ThunderMoose
Captain
14
Rep
972
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 C2S and 2003 E46 M3
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: League City, TX

iTrader: (0)

I have no iDrive but my recollection is that the cluster display did in fact indicate which wheel was low.
Appreciate 0
      11-27-2011, 08:11 PM   #14
Jaypod
Brigadier General
Jaypod's Avatar
No_Country
64
Rep
4,962
Posts

 
Drives: Frozen M3, AM V8V, 991 GT3
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (7)

Quote:
Originally Posted by PhillyNate View Post
Why the hell are we the only country with an actual sensor in the wheels? What possible benefit could this have? Which system is better? I think I know the answer to all of these questions but feel free to chime in anyway.
I believe its mandated in the US to have TPM mounted in the wheels in the form of a pressure sensor. Whereas in Canada we do not have that mandate (and quite possibly pretty much the rest of the world) The ABS system is used in our case as a FTM. (based on individual wheel speed or rotation). Not sure which is best. I would think an actual pressure sensor would be quicker to warn the driver of a tire issue though.
Appreciate 0
      12-05-2011, 04:45 PM   #15
goldminer
Lieutenant
Canada
7
Rep
453
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 SG E92 M3, 6MT
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rolf-Dieter View Post
You might be quite correct. My former Z4 35i had no iDrive nor does my 11M3 that I will trade in tomorrow.

On my o9sDrive Z4 35i I also had a bad monitor they do fail quite often if they are external, I think BMW put them on the inside of the wheel (part of the air valve) on US cars because there are more cars being sold in the US then Canada and they may have had more complains about it (I only assume this not sure about it).

I therefore must assume at this point in time that only if one has the iDrive will one get this notification. I will know more about this once I take delivery tomorrow of my 12M3 and have a chance to review the manuals.
I have a 2011 M3 with i-drive. It has a picture of the car on one of the screens and so far shows all 4 wheels lit up in green. Manual says the car will indicate which one is flat by changing colour. Not hard to do really as they use the ABS sensors to find the flat tire. The effective rolling diameter of a flat tire is much less than an inflated tire. If the steering wheel is straight ahead and one wheel is turning faster than all the others it is likley going flat. ABS sensors are designed to measure differences in the rotational speed at all 4 wheels.
Appreciate 0
      12-05-2011, 04:47 PM   #16
THE TECH
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
THE TECH's Avatar
United_States
157
Rep
13,121
Posts


 
Drives: BPMsport 2012 E92 M3
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Kansas

iTrader: (45)

Garage List
Send a message via AIM to THE TECH Send a message via Skype™ to THE TECH
Slightly off-topic, but do the sensors need to be recoded if we change them?
__________________
Appreciate 0
      12-05-2011, 08:46 PM   #17
BMRLVR
Grease Monkey
BMRLVR's Avatar
Canada
39
Rep
2,337
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 E90 M3,1994 Euro E36 M3/4
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Fort McMurray, Alberta, Canada

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by THE TECH View Post
Slightly off-topic, but do the sensors need to be recoded if we change them?
The information in this thread is specific to Canada........ We don't use TPMS sensors up here. I am quite sure in the US the sensors do need to be coded when you put in new ones.
__________________
2011 E90 M3 ZCP - Individual Moonstone/Individual Amarone Extended/Individual Piano Black With Inlay:LINK!!!
1994 Euro E36 M3 Sedan - Daytona Violet/Mulberry:LINK!!!
Appreciate 0
      12-05-2011, 08:55 PM   #18
ThunderMoose
Captain
14
Rep
972
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 C2S and 2003 E46 M3
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: League City, TX

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by THE TECH View Post
Slightly off-topic, but do the sensors need to be recoded if we change them?
I don't think so. I got a new set of wheels with TPMS. I put them on. No faults. No resetting of the system.
Appreciate 0
      12-06-2011, 12:50 AM   #19
redline9001
Captain
redline9001's Avatar
Canada
7
Rep
656
Posts

 
Drives: E92 M3, MDX, Titan
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Calgary, Canada

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by THE TECH View Post
Slightly off-topic, but do the sensors need to be recoded if we change them?
My Infiniti had tpms in Canada so some cars do have it... I think it is more of a manufactor then country. They also needed to be recoded when changing rims.

I am pretty sure my mdx has tmps also. (edit). It has tpms... Found the part number online...

My Titan has tmps also cause I had one replaced
__________________
2011 E92 M3 | JEREZ BLACK | EXTENDED BAMBOO NOVILLO | EXECUTIVE PKG | M-DRIVE | EDC | M-DCT
MODS | KW S/O | HRE P40SC | Akra Evo |ESS Akra Tune | BMC drop in | StopTech Trophies | TMS Pulley | LUX V3
Appreciate 0
      12-06-2011, 08:59 AM   #20
Jaypod
Brigadier General
Jaypod's Avatar
No_Country
64
Rep
4,962
Posts

 
Drives: Frozen M3, AM V8V, 991 GT3
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (7)

Quote:
Originally Posted by redline9001 View Post
My Infiniti had tpms in Canada so some cars do have it... I think it is more of a manufactor then country. They also needed to be recoded when changing rims.

I am pretty sure my mdx has tmps also. (edit). It has tpms... Found the part number online...

My Titan has tmps also cause I had one replaced
If you think about the cars you mentioned and where there primary market is you will understand why those cars have TPMS sensors. There are definitely cars in Canada that come with TPMS sensors as a result of our neighbours to the south. In Canada we are not regulated to have actual sensors in the wheels. This thread was discussing the M3.
Appreciate 0
      12-06-2011, 12:57 PM   #21
BMRLVR
Grease Monkey
BMRLVR's Avatar
Canada
39
Rep
2,337
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 E90 M3,1994 Euro E36 M3/4
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Fort McMurray, Alberta, Canada

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaypod View Post
This thread was discussing the M3.
Exactly, I was only referring to the M3!!!


Quote:
Originally Posted by redline9001 View Post
My Infiniti had tpms in Canada so some cars do have it... I think it is more of a manufactor then country. They also needed to be recoded when changing rims.

I am pretty sure my mdx has tmps also. (edit). It has tpms... Found the part number online...

My Titan has tmps also cause I had one replaced
I am well aware that there are other cars in Canada that come with TPMS sensors, I didn't think you'd assume I was making a blanket statement to cover all vehicles in Canada. I guess sometimes you really have to spell things out
__________________
2011 E90 M3 ZCP - Individual Moonstone/Individual Amarone Extended/Individual Piano Black With Inlay:LINK!!!
1994 Euro E36 M3 Sedan - Daytona Violet/Mulberry:LINK!!!
Appreciate 0
      12-06-2011, 02:40 PM   #22
nitro
Private First Class
nitro's Avatar
Canada
2
Rep
144
Posts

 
Drives: 2010 E92 M3
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: TORONTO

iTrader: (0)

My evo had tpms sensors. I think the reason for that was bc mitsu made one version of the car for north america and so it had to conform to the stricter guideline (that being of the US). I hated the tpms bc you had to get another set for winters or run without them and see a warning light on constantly. Plus they were always malfunctioning.. especially when it was really cold out.
__________________
2010 jzb e92

Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:22 PM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST