BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > BIMMERPOST Universal Forums > General BMW News and Cars Discussion
 
ESS Tuning
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      11-29-2011, 11:54 AM   #1
MisterSkiMask
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Drives: I Can not say
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: you must not know

Posts: 1,940
iTrader: (0)

Changing your own battery

BIMMERPOST
     Featured on BIMMERPOST.com
So, what is the consensus? I have read about batteries blowing up (Iím sure they were not the correct battery), and common sense suggests that it should not be an issue if you put in an O.E. battery or equal.

I have hardly driven my M5 in the past month and a half and the battery needs to be replaced.

Thoughts?
(waits for 'I'll drive your M5')
MisterSkiMask is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-29-2011, 07:41 PM   #2
Elie335
ايلي ٣٣٥ هاهاها
 
Elie335's Avatar
 
Drives: Vorsteiner e92
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Leb

Posts: 1,446
iTrader: (1)

hardly? you meant barely ?

nobody cares to drive your M5 tough.
__________________
Elie335 is offline   St Pierre and Miquelon
0
Reply With Quote
      11-29-2011, 10:09 PM   #3
MisterSkiMask
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Drives: I Can not say
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: you must not know

Posts: 1,940
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Elie335 View Post
hardly? you meant barely ?

nobody cares to drive your M5 tough.
I meant what I said, and in this context they basically mean the same thing.

If anyone is interested, I spoke to a BMW tech today. He said that you can replace your battery with the exact same new battery (in this case 850cca) with no programming, but any other battery will require an hours worth of programming.

Unfortunately for me, is they discontinued the original battery and replaced it with a 900cca battery which, according to him, requires programming (an additional $160, and more importantly a PITA)
MisterSkiMask is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-30-2011, 03:31 AM   #4
Elie335
ايلي ٣٣٥ هاهاها
 
Elie335's Avatar
 
Drives: Vorsteiner e92
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Leb

Posts: 1,446
iTrader: (1)

if you are changing your battery to another one with the same AMP ( BRAND doesn't matter ), ( 80 AMP to 80 AMP ) you do NOT need to get it coded, as your alternator will still charge the new battery as the same older one. (80 AMP in this case )

but if you change your battery to a bigger/smaller AMP bettery, you need to get it coded/registered to " tell " the alternator the proper AMP of the newer battery, so it doesn't over charge / under charge which will cause the malfunction of the battery in term of longevity.

and hell, $160 for coding the battery is extra raping from the stealerships, search around there's some threads over here shows how to code your car bettery VIA BT cable, there's no hassle and it takes 2 minutes MAX.

Last edited by Elie335; 11-30-2011 at 08:31 AM.
Elie335 is offline   St Pierre and Miquelon
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:56 AM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST