BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Wheels + Tires Sponsored by The Tire Rack
  TireRack

KEEP M3POST ALIVE BY DOING YOUR TIRERACK SHOPPING FROM THIS BANNER LINK!
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      10-24-2011, 02:31 PM   #1
Twinbo
First Lieutenant
13

 
Twinbo's Avatar
 
Drives: ....
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Calgary


Posts: 359
iTrader: (0)

No TPMS message with winter setup

Background: I ordered my winter tire package from TireRack [b]without[b] TPMS and installed this past weekend.

After driving >100 kms I still do not show a warning indicator or anything else for that matter in the driver information screen (I do not have iDrive).

Usually it takes a while for the computer to "sense" a tire pressure change but I thought it would be quicker than 2+ days.

Any insight?
Appreciate 0
      10-24-2011, 03:17 PM   #2
ShadeD1
First Lieutenant
United_States
23

 
Drives: 2011 X5 xDrive 35i
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX


Posts: 331
iTrader: (0)

when I switch to my track wheels without TPMS I have the same thing, usually after the first session the low tire light will kick in and stay on till I put my street wheels back on.
Appreciate 0
      10-24-2011, 03:23 PM   #3
Jaypod
Brigadier General
No_Country
85

 
Jaypod's Avatar
 
Drives: Frozen M3, AM V8V, 991 GT3
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toronto


Posts: 4,951
iTrader: (7)

Is your car CDN or US? CDN cars do not use TPMS
Appreciate 0
      10-24-2011, 03:28 PM   #4
Twinbo
First Lieutenant
13

 
Twinbo's Avatar
 
Drives: ....
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Calgary


Posts: 359
iTrader: (0)

It's a Canadian car. That's the first I have heard of not having TPMS but if I don't I will be really happy. I hated it on my last car. Not to discount your advice Jay but can anyone else confirm this?
Appreciate 0
      10-24-2011, 03:30 PM   #5
Jaypod
Brigadier General
No_Country
85

 
Jaypod's Avatar
 
Drives: Frozen M3, AM V8V, 991 GT3
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toronto


Posts: 4,951
iTrader: (7)

Canadian Cars use the ABS system - I have a Canadian car and change my wheels our between street and track as do many other Canadian members. If you do a search you will see this has been discussed before.

EDIT - If you look on your stock summer wheels you will notice that they don't have TPMS stems.
Appreciate 0
      10-24-2011, 04:09 PM   #6
Cyrax91
Eat Sleep Rave Repeat
Greece
100

 
Cyrax91's Avatar
 
Drives: WRX STI & FP Green DBB WW Evo
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: NM


Posts: 1,553
iTrader: (17)

Damn you guys are lucky. TPMS suck.
__________________
WRX STI Hatchback - FP Green DBB WW Evo IX GSR tuned at 524whp
Appreciate 0
      10-24-2011, 04:16 PM   #7
Rekrul
Captain
37

 
Rekrul's Avatar
 
Drives: Space Gray e92 M3
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Purgatory


Posts: 799
iTrader: (1)

What would the harm be to not using TPMS? Besides an annoying light?
Appreciate 0
      10-24-2011, 05:43 PM   #8
Twinbo
First Lieutenant
13

 
Twinbo's Avatar
 
Drives: ....
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Calgary


Posts: 359
iTrader: (0)

Thanks Jaypod. Didn't mean to disagree with you just wanted to be clear. Cheers to no TPMS
Appreciate 0
      10-24-2011, 06:08 PM   #9
tony093
First Lieutenant
5

 
Drives: E92 AW M3
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Linden, NJ


Posts: 314
iTrader: (0)

i'm getting my my next M from Canada....
Appreciate 0
      10-24-2011, 07:55 PM   #10
w00tw00t
Lieutenant Colonel
United_States
75

 
w00tw00t's Avatar
 
Drives: a fun car..
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Issaquah, WA


Posts: 1,636
iTrader: (11)

lucky... I had to hardwire in a tpms emulator .... to get rid of the dumb tpms error..
Appreciate 0
      10-25-2011, 02:42 AM   #11
persian54
Lieutenant General
United_States
642

 
persian54's Avatar
 
Drives: SL550. Prev: E93 M3/335i/Z435i
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: The Valley, SoCal


Posts: 15,806
iTrader: (291)

Quote:
Originally Posted by w00tw00t View Post
lucky... I had to hardwire in a tpms emulator .... to get rid of the dumb tpms error..
I just live with it lol
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:04 PM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST