BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > BIMMERPOST Universal Forums > Off-Topic Discussions Board > Video + PC Gaming / Computing
 
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      08-23-2011, 10:03 PM   #1
mr.e90
Captain
 
Drives: E90
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Cali

Posts: 698
iTrader: (9)

Anyone fix pc's

So last night I was using my Dell laptop and was working fine. I shut off after a while and when I went to turn it on today it says on screen "primary hard drive not found". I took it geek squad and they said better to buy new one. Only bad thing is all my files are in my Dell. Can anyone try up fix this or should I give up?
mr.e90 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-23-2011, 10:44 PM   #2
JohnL135I
Donkey Kong King
 
JohnL135I's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Boss 302
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Sahuarita, AZ

Posts: 1,129
iTrader: (3)

I guess the question would be did your hard drive crash/die, or did you have a bios failure.

My recommendation would be to remove the hard drive and try and find a way to read it (external hard drive adapter, etc). If its readable, you can transfer your data...if its crashed, then your out of luck.
__________________
JohnL135I is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-23-2011, 10:46 PM   #3
dchef
New Member
 
Drives: 2008 E92 Conv 335i
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Puerto Rico

Posts: 8
iTrader: (0)

Sounds like your HDD is malfunctioning

How old is your Dell ? If you turn it facedown, can you see the HDD? If its an old PC you may well kiss your data goodbye. Very few people doe extract the info ,but at a 1000$$$ .
dchef is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-23-2011, 10:52 PM   #4
mr.e90
Captain
 
Drives: E90
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Cali

Posts: 698
iTrader: (9)

I think it just died all of a sudden. My Dell is about 5 yrs old. Never had any problems until today =(..I can see it
mr.e90 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-23-2011, 11:02 PM   #5
cloakster
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2012 VW GLI
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Toronto, Ontario

Posts: 398
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnL135I View Post
I guess the question would be did your hard drive crash/die, or did you have a bios failure.

My recommendation would be to remove the hard drive and try and find a way to read it (external hard drive adapter, etc). If its readable, you can transfer your data...if its crashed, then your out of luck.
This.

Though, since it is 5 years old, trying to get any data off of it that you need and buying a new laptop would not be a bad idea.
cloakster is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      08-23-2011, 11:35 PM   #6
mr.e90
Captain
 
Drives: E90
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Cali

Posts: 698
iTrader: (9)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cloakster View Post
This.

Though, since it is 5 years old, trying to get any data off of it that you need and buying a new laptop would not be a bad idea.
Yes my thought exactly. Just want go extract data and then new laptop. I just need help with that since I'm not a computer guy
mr.e90 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-24-2011, 08:47 AM   #7
ragingclue
One cam is enough
 
ragingclue's Avatar
 
Drives: VF
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: mulletville

Posts: 6,774
iTrader: (1)

Remove the hard drive from the laptop and get a 2.5" external enclosure with a USB interface. Then hook that up to another computer and if the hard drive cooperates, you'll be able to access everything on it.
ragingclue is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-24-2011, 09:46 AM   #8
ABQ325i
Private First Class
 
ABQ325i's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 E60 535i + 06 E90 330i
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Albuquerque

Posts: 158
iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2008 535i  [0.00]
2006 330i  [0.00]
Before you purchase your enclosure you need to find out if you hard drive is SATA or IDE.

SATA looks like this, and is found on the later Dell laptops:



IDE looks like this, and is found on the older Dell laptops:



Dell also used hard drive adapters for IDE drives which look like this:



Be careful when removing the adapter as you do not want to bend the pins.

Buy the enclosure to match the hard drive.

Also, it wouldn't be too expensive to put in a new hard drive in and re-install windows so that you could sell it and recoup some money from it.
ABQ325i is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-24-2011, 10:04 AM   #9
E90SoFlo
Banned
 
Drives: E90 335i
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Naples, FL

Posts: 2,675
iTrader: (9)

ShouldhavegotaMAC.jpeg


>_<
E90SoFlo is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-24-2011, 10:42 AM   #10
cloakster
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2012 VW GLI
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Toronto, Ontario

Posts: 398
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by E90SoFlo View Post
ShouldhavegotaMAC.jpeg
Mac's use the same harddrives inside, so having a mac wouldn't change anything.
cloakster is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      08-24-2011, 10:45 AM   #11
MadDog
Careful, I Bite.....
 
MadDog's Avatar
 
Drives: 2006 325i
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: S.F. Bay Area

Posts: 504
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2006 325i  [3.75]
Quote:
Originally Posted by ABQ325i View Post
Before you purchase your enclosure you need to find out if you hard drive is SATA or IDE.

SATA looks like this, and is found on the later Dell laptops:



IDE looks like this, and is found on the older Dell laptops:



Dell also used hard drive adapters for IDE drives which look like this:



Be careful when removing the adapter as you do not want to bend the pins.

Buy the enclosure to match the hard drive.

Also, it wouldn't be too expensive to put in a new hard drive in and re-install windows so that you could sell it and recoup some money from it.



Never saw an IDE drive that had that type of pins. All of the ones I've seen looked like this:
Attached Images
 
MadDog is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-24-2011, 11:09 AM   #12
ragingclue
One cam is enough
 
ragingclue's Avatar
 
Drives: VF
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: mulletville

Posts: 6,774
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cloakster View Post
Mac's use the same harddrives inside, so having a mac wouldn't change anything.
Generally, yeah, there's no magical mac hardware component factory.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MadDog View Post
Never saw an IDE drive that had that type of pins. All of the ones I've seen looked like this:
Isn't your pic of a 3.5"?
ragingclue is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-24-2011, 11:17 AM   #13
FDfranklin
d[-_-]b
 
FDfranklin's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 LeMans Blue 135i
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Tampa, Fl

Posts: 780
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by E90SoFlo View Post
ShouldhavegotaMAC.jpeg


>_<
This idiot...


__________________
FDfranklin is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-24-2011, 12:34 PM   #14
ABQ325i
Private First Class
 
ABQ325i's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 E60 535i + 06 E90 330i
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Albuquerque

Posts: 158
iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2008 535i  [0.00]
2006 330i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by MadDog View Post
Never saw an IDE drive that had that type of pins. All of the ones I've seen looked like this:
Yours is a desktop hard drive and the OP has a laptop hard drive, that is why they look different.
ABQ325i is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-25-2011, 07:44 PM   #15
Alpha_Zulu
Private First Class
 
Alpha_Zulu's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 Z4 35is, Alpine White
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Miami, Florida

Posts: 162
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
IT Guy here.

Your hard drive probably crashed. Like what several others have suggest, getting an enclosure or a SATA/IDE to USB adapter is your best bet.

I use the following product at work to retrieve data off of IDE and SATA drives

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...0usb%20adapter

It's $20, not too much and it saves a bunch of headache. If your hard drive is completely FUBARed you're up the creek. However having one of those adapters/enclosures isn't a bad idea.

Also, someone else said that the pins look different. The OPs hard drive is a laptop drive, the pins on a IDE are different from the 3.5" drives.



And yes buying a new laptop is a good idea. Get your data, get a new laptop and also get an external drive to backup your data regularly.

Did Geek Squad charge you for looking at the laptop?
Alpha_Zulu is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-26-2011, 01:26 AM   #16
ItsHectic
But your honour it's my Affluenza I swear!
 
Drives: 135i, A200
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: NSW

Posts: 529
iTrader: (0)

Another IT guys here.

If there is no elemental damage to the actual disks which there shouldn't be (flood, fire, magnets) then a full recovery should be possible.

I have heard of cases where computers get flood damage and a good amount of data is recovered by professionals. This sounds like a typical computer failure, might be the HDD, might be the bios/motherboard.

I wouldnt consider your data lost so dont stress.
__________________
135i M Sport DCT. BSM/Oyster/GP trim. FBO Cobb, Bilstein EDC coilovers, M3 bushings, PSS.
Knowledge of the Tapa Tapa Tapa street race start.
ItsHectic is offline   Australia
0
Reply With Quote
      08-26-2011, 10:39 AM   #17
FDfranklin
d[-_-]b
 
FDfranklin's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 LeMans Blue 135i
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Tampa, Fl

Posts: 780
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JustMe View Post
Another IT guys here.

If there is no elemental damage to the actual disks which there shouldn't be (flood, fire, magnets) then a full recovery should be possible.

I have heard of cases where computers get flood damage and a good amount of data is recovered by professionals. This sounds like a typical computer failure, might be the HDD, might be the bios/motherboard.

I wouldnt consider your data lost so dont stress.
Still going to cost a decent amount of money to recover the data if you don't know how to do it yourself.
__________________
FDfranklin is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-26-2011, 06:48 PM   #18
Alpha_Zulu
Private First Class
 
Alpha_Zulu's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 Z4 35is, Alpine White
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Miami, Florida

Posts: 162
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by FDfranklin View Post
Still going to cost a decent amount of money to recover the data if you don't know how to do it yourself.
If you allow yourself to get ripped off, yes it will cost a lot.
Alpha_Zulu is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-26-2011, 07:13 PM   #19
KGB7
Crazy Russian Bastard
 
KGB7's Avatar
 
Drives: 01 740i sport
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Siberian Prison

Posts: 824
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by FDfranklin View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by JustMe View Post
Another IT guys here.

If there is no elemental damage to the actual disks which there shouldn't be (flood, fire, magnets) then a full recovery should be possible.

I have heard of cases where computers get flood damage and a good amount of data is recovered by professionals. This sounds like a typical computer failure, might be the HDD, might be the bios/motherboard.

I wouldnt consider your data lost so dont stress.
Still going to cost a decent amount of money to recover the data if you don't know how to do it yourself.
If hdd is dead you won't be able to recover data your self. Hdd has to be taken apart in a dust free room.
__________________
B
M
W
KGB7 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-26-2011, 09:38 PM   #20
FDfranklin
d[-_-]b
 
FDfranklin's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 LeMans Blue 135i
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Tampa, Fl

Posts: 780
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alpha_Zulu View Post
If you allow yourself to get ripped off, yes it will cost a lot.
A lot of money can vary from person to person, a good friend of mine does forensic IT work for the govt and his last on the side job was 600$ for 400gigs of data off of a crashed drive for a mutual friend. Ive never personally had a drive crash on me so I don't know other prices but that's more than I would want to spend.
__________________
FDfranklin is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-26-2011, 09:41 PM   #21
FDfranklin
d[-_-]b
 
FDfranklin's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 LeMans Blue 135i
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Tampa, Fl

Posts: 780
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by KGB7 View Post
If hdd is dead you won't be able to recover data your self. Hdd has to be taken apart in a dust free room.
Some of us have access to labs designated for forensic work
__________________
FDfranklin is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-26-2011, 11:08 PM   #22
KGB7
Crazy Russian Bastard
 
KGB7's Avatar
 
Drives: 01 740i sport
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Siberian Prison

Posts: 824
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by FDfranklin View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by KGB7 View Post
If hdd is dead you won't be able to recover data your self. Hdd has to be taken apart in a dust free room.
Some of us have access to labs designated for forensic work
Thanks for sharing.
__________________
B
M
W
KGB7 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:28 AM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST