BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Track / Autocross / Dragstrip / Driving Techniques
 
GetBMWParts
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      08-17-2011, 04:52 PM   #23
LateBraking
Brigadier General
LateBraking's Avatar
United_States
64
Rep
3,878
Posts

 
Drives: Reliable Cars
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Pacific Standard Time

iTrader: (27)

Here's one more photo I found stega. Front portion of the bar where it mounts near the seatbelt in an E92....For the rest, I'll need my car back first.



Too bad you're not in SoCal, I'd let you check it out in person all you wanted....
Appreciate 0
      08-17-2011, 05:02 PM   #24
stega
Captain
8
Rep
666
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 M3 E93
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Boca Raton, FL

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by LateBraking View Post
Here's one more photo I found stega. Front portion of the bar where it mounts near the seatbelt in an E92....For the rest, I'll need my car back first.



Too bad you're not in SoCal, I'd let you check it out in person all you wanted....
Thanks but I've seen that on Platte F's FB already.

I agree I wished I lived in CA or IL... all the best shops are there and the best M cars
Appreciate 0
      08-17-2011, 05:02 PM   #25
tom @ eas
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
tom @ eas's Avatar
United_States
329
Rep
10,632
Posts


 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Anaheim, CA

iTrader: (13)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by stega View Post
Not so sure on this.... I called Autopower when I ordered the cage and asked this exact question.
"is the sunroof bar any lower than the non-sunroof bar??" Because he asked if I had a sunroof.

He said no and that they have the option like that because for some cars the measurements of the bar are different. But for the E92 he said there is no difference.

Perhaps you have seen both variations in person for the E92 Tom???
I have both the e92 VS Motorsport and AE cages here.

The bars will not clear a sunroof-equipped M3, We've tried. Since then, our sunroof-equipped M3 has been traded in for new carbon roof M3, in which will be getting the VS cage and Recaro treatment next week. The quality on both is second to none, other than getting a custom-welded in cage.

I can get hoop measurements of the AE/VS bars if needed.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      08-17-2011, 05:05 PM   #26
LateBraking
Brigadier General
LateBraking's Avatar
United_States
64
Rep
3,878
Posts

 
Drives: Reliable Cars
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Pacific Standard Time

iTrader: (27)

Quote:
Originally Posted by stega View Post
Thanks but I've seen that on Platte F's FB already.

I agree I wished I lived in CA or IL... all the best shops are there and the best M cars
Convertible track car build, I'm eager to see if this comes together in a big way. Would be the first of its kind.
Appreciate 0
      08-17-2011, 05:10 PM   #27
stega
Captain
8
Rep
666
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 M3 E93
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Boca Raton, FL

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by LateBraking View Post
Convertible track car build, I'm eager to see if this comes together in a big way. Would be the first of its kind.
Yhea.. Gonna be a mission over here for the next month getting it all fitted and working properly. I hate being the first to do something. But this I had to do.

I am going to be right around coupe weight when I am all finished between the front seats, rear, full Akra GT4 system, Hood, Trunk, wheels, etc....
Appreciate 0
      08-17-2011, 05:37 PM   #28
rzm3
Moderator
rzm3's Avatar
224
Rep
4,603
Posts

 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: USA

iTrader: (14)

Keep in mind most roll bars will require drilling on your car and/or welding... in fact this is the only proper way to mount a roll bar/cage. To securely attach your harness you will also need to drill mounting holes on your car as well.
__________________
E92 M3 DCT - AiM EVO4 Data Logger / AiM SmartyCam HD / KW Competition 2-Way / OMP ARS Racing Seats / Brembo GT 365 / Pagid Yellow RS-29 / Rear Seats Delete
Appreciate 0
      08-17-2011, 06:14 PM   #29
LateBraking
Brigadier General
LateBraking's Avatar
United_States
64
Rep
3,878
Posts

 
Drives: Reliable Cars
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Pacific Standard Time

iTrader: (27)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rldzhao View Post
Keep in mind most roll bars will require drilling on your car and/or welding... in fact this is the only proper way to mount a roll bar/cage. To securely attach your harness you will also need to drill mounting holes on your car as well.
Can you imagine people using the magical 3M double sided tape to mount their roll bars/cages in their car? I think it's possible that someone out there somewhere in the world has done this, but....

Appreciate 0
      08-17-2011, 09:35 PM   #30
ring007
Major
ring007's Avatar
21
Rep
1,031
Posts

 
Drives: '10 GT3RS & '13 Cayenne GTS
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: ///Iowa

iTrader: (13)

You can get bolt in harnesses for your car and dont need a roll bar to install them. They bolt into the factory seatbelt anchor locations.

Quote:
Originally Posted by swartzentruber View Post
After my recent track weekend, my instructor strongly recommended harnesses (a recommendation I'd heard earlier from others), so I'm planning to take that advice. That means installing a roll bar for attaching the harnesses. For the R32, just about the only non-custom option I'm aware of are the Autopower bars. A few people on my thread there expressed dislike for the Autopower bars, although the one person who had installed one in his R32 said fitment was decent, and overall seemed pretty happy. Since Autopower makes bars/cages for a variety of cars, and this forum is fairly heavily trafficked (compared to many track forums), so I thought I'd open it up here to see if anyone had direct experience (positive/negative) with their bars and/or cages. I could still possibly go the custom route if I have to, but would prefer sticking with prebuilt if I can.

http://www.autopowerindustries.com/rollbars.asp
Appreciate 0
      08-18-2011, 08:31 AM   #31
stega
Captain
8
Rep
666
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 M3 E93
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Boca Raton, FL

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ring007 View Post
You can get bolt in harnesses for your car and dont need a roll bar to install them. They bolt into the factory seatbelt anchor locations.
Really??? Who makes these harnesses made for the E9x m3?? I see none.
Appreciate 0
      08-18-2011, 10:18 AM   #32
swartzentruber
Captain
United_States
9
Rep
608
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 E90 M3
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Chicago NW suburbs, IL

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ring007 View Post
You can get bolt in harnesses for your car and dont need a roll bar to install them. They bolt into the factory seatbelt anchor locations.
Also, this is for an R32. Unless you have signatures turned off, this shouldn't be that hard to spot (I also have an E90 M3 that I'll likely track at this point, which is why I'm on this forum). Anyway, I cannot use harnesses with the stock seats. They have a solid headrest that leaves no place to safely feed the shoulder straps through. For R32 guys, the only choices are either the minimalist solution of the CG-lock, or half (or full) roll cage install with new racing seats and harnesses. Seats and harnesses aren't that hard, but deciding what to do about the cage is hard. So far, my results are similar on this forum are similar to the R32 forum -- a few people that think Autopower bars are crap, and a few that have successfully installed them and are okay with them. Also, I've gotten an offer from VS motorsports to build me an M half cage, which I obviously don't need (though perhaps they can also do an R32 one). You'd think with the 50 iterations of suspension you could have an easier time finding a decent roll bar/cage, though I guess that tells us there are a lot more people that like to look like posers than actually run on the track regularly
__________________
2011 Jerez Black/Fox Red E90 M3 DCT, ZCP, ZCV, ZCW, ZP2, BMW Apps
2004 VW R32 (track car)
Appreciate 0
      08-18-2011, 11:19 AM   #33
LateBraking
Brigadier General
LateBraking's Avatar
United_States
64
Rep
3,878
Posts

 
Drives: Reliable Cars
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Pacific Standard Time

iTrader: (27)

Quote:
Originally Posted by stega View Post
Really??? Who makes these harnesses made for the E9x m3?? I see none.
I think he's talking about the Schroth quick-fits or those Schroth harnesses with looped ends, like this one.



I presume in this case you'd simply take out the bolts that attach to your stock seatbelt locations, then slip these ends in between your seatbelts and the bolts that hold your stock seatbelt equipment down.

Quote:
Originally Posted by swartzentruber View Post
So far, my results are similar on this forum are similar to the R32 forum -- a few people that think Autopower bars are crap, and a few that have successfully installed them and are okay with them.
I'll just say that I'm in the party that's okay with the AutoPower bars. They haven't snapped in half, flown off, or done anything else outrageous yet. I do like how the VS ones look as well though. Can't bash on either AE or VS as I've never tried either myself.
Appreciate 0
      08-18-2011, 11:52 AM   #34
tom @ eas
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
tom @ eas's Avatar
United_States
329
Rep
10,632
Posts


 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Anaheim, CA

iTrader: (13)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by LateBraking View Post
Can you imagine people using the magical 3M double sided tape to mount their roll bars/cages in their car? I think it's possible that someone out there somewhere in the world has done this, but....

We've actually had 1 M3 come in with seat belt receptacles zip-tied to the seat brackets. No joke.

Safety is one subject that's not to be screwed with.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      08-18-2011, 12:00 PM   #35
LateBraking
Brigadier General
LateBraking's Avatar
United_States
64
Rep
3,878
Posts

 
Drives: Reliable Cars
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Pacific Standard Time

iTrader: (27)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom @ eas View Post
We've actually had 1 M3 come in with seat belt receptacles zip-tied to the seat brackets. No joke.

Safety is one subject that's not to be screwed with.
Appreciate 0
      08-18-2011, 01:58 PM   #36
stega
Captain
8
Rep
666
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 M3 E93
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Boca Raton, FL

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom @ eas View Post
We've actually had 1 M3 come in with seat belt receptacles zip-tied to the seat brackets. No joke.

Safety is one subject that's not to be screwed with.
Thats fukin crazy... Some people are so dumb and lazy and just more lazy.
Appreciate 0
      08-18-2011, 02:00 PM   #37
stega
Captain
8
Rep
666
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 M3 E93
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Boca Raton, FL

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by LateBraking View Post
I think he's talking about the Schroth quick-fits or those Schroth harnesses with looped ends, like this one.



I presume in this case you'd simply take out the bolts that attach to your stock seatbelt locations, then slip these ends in between your seatbelts and the bolts that hold your stock seatbelt equipment down.



I'll just say that I'm in the party that's okay with the AutoPower bars. They haven't snapped in half, flown off, or done anything else outrageous yet. I do like how the VS ones look as well though. Can't bash on either AE or VS as I've never tried either myself.
Right but I thought Schroth never designed one for the E9x M3's...?

Last edited by stega; 08-18-2011 at 02:53 PM.
Appreciate 0
      08-18-2011, 02:08 PM   #38
tom @ eas
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
tom @ eas's Avatar
United_States
329
Rep
10,632
Posts


 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Anaheim, CA

iTrader: (13)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by stega View Post
Righgt but I thought Schroth never designed one for the E9x M3's...?
They haven't passed certification on the Quick Fit for e9x yet. HMS would be the ones to talk to since they distribute the Schroth lineup.

However, the Rallye 4 belts can be used providing there are mounting brackets for the lap portions of the belts.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      08-18-2011, 02:16 PM   #39
persian54
Lieutenant General
persian54's Avatar
United_States
285
Rep
15,812
Posts

 
Drives: SL550. Prev: E93 M3/335i/Z435i
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: The Valley, SoCal

iTrader: (291)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom @ eas View Post
We've actually had 1 M3 come in with seat belt receptacles zip-tied to the seat brackets. No joke.

Safety is one subject that's not to be screwed with.
wtf...
Appreciate 0
      08-18-2011, 02:42 PM   #40
LateBraking
Brigadier General
LateBraking's Avatar
United_States
64
Rep
3,878
Posts

 
Drives: Reliable Cars
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Pacific Standard Time

iTrader: (27)

Quote:
Originally Posted by persian54 View Post
wtf...
Weight savings. Zip ties lighter than bolts. LOL
Appreciate 0
      08-18-2011, 10:00 PM   #41
ring007
Major
ring007's Avatar
21
Rep
1,031
Posts

 
Drives: '10 GT3RS & '13 Cayenne GTS
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: ///Iowa

iTrader: (13)

Correct. There isnt a quick fit option for the e9x like the e46, but I have the Rallye 4 bolted to the oem seatbelt mounting locations. $350-ish for a front set (driver & passenger sides). They work great and take about an hour per side to install.

http://www.hmsmotorsport.com/store/s...allye/rallye-4

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom @ eas View Post
They haven't passed certification on the Quick Fit for e9x yet. HMS would be the ones to talk to since they distribute the Schroth lineup.

However, the Rallye 4 belts can be used providing there are mounting brackets for the lap portions of the belts.
Appreciate 0
      08-22-2011, 03:43 PM   #42
creaminz
Major General
creaminz's Avatar
United_States
188
Rep
7,713
Posts

 
Drives: E90 LCI
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: So. Cal

iTrader: (33)

Autopower doesnt have Rollbar/cage for E90 yet. They are looking for E90 to develope one though.

LateBraking,

What did you pay for your Rollbar if you dont mind me asking?
Btw, you have sick E92 M3, Form with lots of function
Appreciate 0
      08-22-2011, 04:07 PM   #43
LateBraking
Brigadier General
LateBraking's Avatar
United_States
64
Rep
3,878
Posts

 
Drives: Reliable Cars
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Pacific Standard Time

iTrader: (27)

Quote:
Originally Posted by creaminz View Post
Autopower doesnt have Rollbar/cage for E90 yet. They are looking for E90 to develope one though.

LateBraking,

What did you pay for your Rollbar if you dont mind me asking?
Btw, you have sick E92 M3, Form with lots of function
Thanks creaminz. As for what I paid, I've no idea. I got the roll bar along with a couple other items as part of store credit for a diffuser that I paid for which I never received. Loooooooooong story.
Appreciate 0
      09-07-2011, 01:39 PM   #44
stega
Captain
8
Rep
666
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 M3 E93
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Boca Raton, FL

iTrader: (3)

Got my cage/buckets in my e93.... So is that baller or what?? hehe


Pics: I need some better shots.. Once I am 100% complete I will take some better ones.



Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:30 AM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST