BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Wash, Wax, Detail, Cosmetic Maintenance & Repairs

European Auto Source

06-08-2011, 04:26 PM   #1
Prince_of_Persia
Colonel

Drives: 6MT E92 M3

Car Polisher

Ok , I know this thread will be moved to detailing section shortly, but I want to get some answer before it is moved since most of the users visit here often.

I am new to detailing and I usually take my car to touchless Car Wash. I paid $140 last time for polishing and I prefer to do it myself from now on. Washing the car in my garage is out of the question since I live in a Condo, so what can I do myself?

I guess polishing does not need to have access to water or anything so it can be done anywhere, right ? (Sorry, again I know I am such a noob in polishing,...). Should i go ahead and buy something like this?
http://www.autogeek.net/dw849.html
Or any other suggestion?
What else do you guys use for maintaining/cleaning your car? (that doesn't need to have access to water since my condo underground parking doesn't have it)

I appreciate any help.

Cheers

AW|FR 6MT E92 ///M3
Prince_of_Persia is offline   Canada
      06-08-2011, 04:57 PM   #2
kibosh
Private First Class

Drives: 2011.5 E92

Check out Griot's Garage: Polisher Link

They also have some how-to videos.

I'm no expert detailer but I like the Griot's orbital.
      06-08-2011, 05:03 PM   #3
KTM505SX
Lieutenant

Drives: 11 E92M3 ZCP 13 Ford Raptor SC

Well,Polishing should be done right after claying the paint,which is done right after washing without any driving in between.So If you do not have a place to wash the car at home,then clay,polish and wax is gonna be hard to do..unless you bring the car home and do a complete wipe down after the wash..