BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Cosmetic/Visual (Exterior + Interior) Modifications

GTB Performance

05-16-2011, 08:46 AM   #1
DaveHutchinson
Private

Drives: GT-R

Advice please, dealer messed up ZCP spoiler install

Hi guys,

I installed a ZCP rear spoiler on my Jet Black M3 a few weeks back using 3M tape. I was pretty happy with my job given I've never done anything like this before but since my car was due for a service and I had some betalink, I figured I'd let my dealer install the rear spoiler more securely.

Long story short, they hand the car back to me with betalink everywhere, leaking out from all the edges. Not only this, the right hand side isn't fitted correctly and it's lifted from the top of the trunk slightly leaving a gap. To finish it off, they've scratched the trunk on the right hand side somehow while trying to get the 3M tape I put on off the car. Given that I'd already done all the hard work for them by removing the original spoiler, I fail to see how this has happened. In attempts to remove some of the betalink, they've also scored the clearcoat all around the spoiler.

Now, I've got most of the betalink off the car now but I'm still not happy with the results. I took the car back to the dealer who sent it to their body shop to 'fix' it. Well, I get the car back TWO weeks later and they've done nothing at all. All the scratches are there still and all they've done is put sealant in the alcoved part of the spoiler to cover up some of the mess. In addition, during the first visit, they scratched one of my wheels while changing the tire out.