BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > BIMMERPOST Universal Forums > Off-Topic Discussions Board > Photography/Videography
 
rolloface
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-18-2012, 11:31 AM   #3081
The1
Major General
 
Drives: white 135
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: KW ontario/vancouver temporarily

Posts: 5,127
iTrader: (0)

Mark, did you have the camera jammed up agaist your face or just placed against it? One hand under to stabilize?
The1 is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      04-18-2012, 11:57 AM   #3082
dcstep
Brigadier General
 
Drives: '09 Cpe Silverstone FR 6MT
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Colorado

Posts: 4,927
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2009 M3  [4.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by M_Six View Post
No, I was just being a dunce. I went to f11 to get a nice deep DOF, but that brought me to 1/60 SS at ISO 100. I should have bumped the ISO to 400 and got a faster SS. For the macros I just need to get a tarp or something else to lay on so I can hold the camera steady.
1/60 should have been fast enough for hand holding, with good technique. For scenics, I'd rather shoot at ISO 100 and pull out the tripod if needed. Still, even without IS, you should be able to hand hold for a static subject.

Dave
__________________
dcstep is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-18-2012, 11:59 AM   #3083
The1
Major General
 
Drives: white 135
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: KW ontario/vancouver temporarily

Posts: 5,127
iTrader: (0)

Depending on forcal length too thoug.
The1 is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      04-18-2012, 12:13 PM   #3084
dcstep
Brigadier General
 
Drives: '09 Cpe Silverstone FR 6MT
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Colorado

Posts: 4,927
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2009 M3  [4.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by The1 View Post
Depending on forcal length too thoug.
Yeah, like this 500mm shot hand held at 1/250-sec.:


Curious yearling. by dcstep, on Flickr

The lens DOES have IS.
__________________
dcstep is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-18-2012, 12:22 PM   #3085
M_Six
Free Thinker
 
M_Six's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 MB C300 4matic
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Foothills of Mt Level

Posts: 4,999
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chewy734 View Post
ahh... well, at least your way is much cheaper. Still pondering the 5D2?
I'm on the fence. I had a refurbed MkII in my cart at the Canon Store the other day. It would have been just under $1500 shipped with the coupons they had running. But I just can't justify that expenditure right now.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dcstep View Post
1/60 should have been fast enough for hand holding, with good technique. For scenics, I'd rather shoot at ISO 100 and pull out the tripod if needed. Still, even without IS, you should be able to hand hold for a static subject.

Dave
Yeah, normally that works ok. I mean the shots weren't too fuzzy, but I was trying to crop quite a bit so I really needed some serious sharpness. And I was having the hardest time holding still this morning. I needed the higher SS.

Quote:
Originally Posted by The1 View Post
Depending on forcal length too thoug.
These were probably 60mm or so. The SS I had should have been enough, except as I said above, I was not too steady this morning.


Crap! Just checked my lens. I had shut the IS off the other day when I was shooting from the tripod with the stacked filters and never turned it back on. D'oh!!
__________________
Mark
Flickr

"The $0.99 menu was put on this Earth for a good damn reason." -Weebl
M_Six is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-18-2012, 01:22 PM   #3086
dcstep
Brigadier General
 
Drives: '09 Cpe Silverstone FR 6MT
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Colorado

Posts: 4,927
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2009 M3  [4.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by M_Six View Post
...

Crap! Just checked my lens. I had shut the IS off the other day when I was shooting from the tripod with the stacked filters and never turned it back on. D'oh!!
That'll do it.
__________________
dcstep is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-18-2012, 10:47 PM   #3087
M_Six
Free Thinker
 
M_Six's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 MB C300 4matic
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Foothills of Mt Level

Posts: 4,999
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Better light this afternoon *and* IS turned on.

Corn Begins



__________________
Mark
Flickr

"The $0.99 menu was put on this Earth for a good damn reason." -Weebl
M_Six is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-21-2012, 04:31 PM   #3088
M_Six
Free Thinker
 
M_Six's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 MB C300 4matic
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Foothills of Mt Level

Posts: 4,999
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Got my Katzeye yesterday and installed it today. Do not try this without a good lighted magnifying lens if your eyesight isn't really good. I have a so-so lighted magnifier and it was a royal pain trying to see what I was doing.

That said, I did eventually get it installed properly and I think if I have to do it again, it would be easier. I'm fairly happy with the results. Below are some comparison images with 100% crops.

Auto focus and 100% crop.






Manual focus and 100% crop





One more manual focus with crop.



__________________
Mark
Flickr

"The $0.99 menu was put on this Earth for a good damn reason." -Weebl
M_Six is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-22-2012, 01:25 AM   #3089
rodi
. . .
 
Drives: your FACE!
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Atlanta proper

Posts: 2,400
iTrader: (-1)

what did you put it in, Mark? does it have a split-prism/micro-collar?
i got a Brightscreen one for my D3, since Katzeye didn't make on for that cam. Althought i got a katzeye for my ex-girlfriend's D40 years ago that worked wonderfully.
i wish someone will make a split-prism screen for the 5D3 and still keep all the AF features/VF display.
__________________
2009 135i | space grey | sport | navi | hifi | heated
dinan stage 2 software | bmw performance exhaust
kw v2 | hotchkis front sway | vmr v710

rodi is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-22-2012, 08:43 AM   #3090
Chewy734
Major General
 
Drives: 2006 BMW 330i ZPP, ZSP
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Minneapolis, MN

Posts: 6,792
iTrader: (15)

I heard the 5D3 has a fixed focusing screen that you can't replace, unlike the 5D2. Correct me if I'm wrong...
__________________

Currently for sale: N/A
Chewy734 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-22-2012, 09:37 AM   #3091
M_Six
Free Thinker
 
M_Six's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 MB C300 4matic
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Foothills of Mt Level

Posts: 4,999
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by rodi View Post
what did you put it in, Mark? does it have a split-prism/micro-collar?
i got a Brightscreen one for my D3, since Katzeye didn't make on for that cam. Althought i got a katzeye for my ex-girlfriend's D40 years ago that worked wonderfully.
i wish someone will make a split-prism screen for the 5D3 and still keep all the AF features/VF display.
It's in the T1i. It's the split-prism/micro-collar. I thought the split-prism part would be the most useful, but I'm finding the micro-collar is easier and more accurate in many cases. Unless there is a sharp vertical line in the image, the split-prism isn't of much use.

I ordered a Roki 85mm f1.4 to see how the longer focus throw works. The problem with my existing lenses is the point between OOF and sharp focus is a tiny movement of the ring. Something with a longer throw would make it easier to adjust to a really fine focus, I think.
__________________
Mark
Flickr

"The $0.99 menu was put on this Earth for a good damn reason." -Weebl
M_Six is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-24-2012, 11:00 AM   #3092
M_Six
Free Thinker
 
M_Six's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 MB C300 4matic
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Foothills of Mt Level

Posts: 4,999
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
I picked up a Roki 85mm f1.4. It has a really nice, long focus throw. Super easy to MF this thing. Love the DOF wide open.

__________________
Mark
Flickr

"The $0.99 menu was put on this Earth for a good damn reason." -Weebl
M_Six is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-24-2012, 11:15 AM   #3093
The1
Major General
 
Drives: white 135
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: KW ontario/vancouver temporarily

Posts: 5,127
iTrader: (0)

nice. should have some good fun with that piece.
The1 is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      04-24-2012, 11:17 AM   #3094
M_Six
Free Thinker
 
M_Six's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 MB C300 4matic
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Foothills of Mt Level

Posts: 4,999
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
It's amazing how cheap Roki MF lenses are considering the build quality. Next up is the 14mm f2.8 I think.
__________________
Mark
Flickr

"The $0.99 menu was put on this Earth for a good damn reason." -Weebl
M_Six is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-24-2012, 11:26 AM   #3095
The1
Major General
 
Drives: white 135
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: KW ontario/vancouver temporarily

Posts: 5,127
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by M_Six View Post
It's amazing how cheap Roki MF lenses are considering the build quality. Next up is the 14mm f2.8 I think.
are they EF mounts or EF-S only?

14 is nice and wide!
The1 is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      04-24-2012, 11:34 AM   #3096
dcstep
Brigadier General
 
Drives: '09 Cpe Silverstone FR 6MT
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Colorado

Posts: 4,927
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2009 M3  [4.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chewy734 View Post
I heard the 5D3 has a fixed focusing screen that you can't replace, unlike the 5D2. Correct me if I'm wrong...
I'll be happy if, like with the 7D, you can put an electronic grid in the viewfinder. I use that a lot to make sure that horizons are straight and also as a compositional guide.

Dave
__________________
dcstep is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-24-2012, 11:38 AM   #3097
dcstep
Brigadier General
 
Drives: '09 Cpe Silverstone FR 6MT
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Colorado

Posts: 4,927
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2009 M3  [4.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by M_Six View Post
I picked up a Roki 85mm f1.4. It has a really nice, long focus throw. Super easy to MF this thing. Love the DOF wide open.
Nice bokeh.
__________________
dcstep is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-24-2012, 11:39 AM   #3098
M_Six
Free Thinker
 
M_Six's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 MB C300 4matic
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Foothills of Mt Level

Posts: 4,999
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by The1 View Post
are they EF mounts or EF-S only?

14 is nice and wide!
Good question. I know the 8mm FE is APS-C only. Not sure about the 85mm.

The mount is EF, but I'm not sure about the image circle size.
__________________
Mark
Flickr

"The $0.99 menu was put on this Earth for a good damn reason." -Weebl
M_Six is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-24-2012, 11:39 AM   #3099
M_Six
Free Thinker
 
M_Six's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 MB C300 4matic
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Foothills of Mt Level

Posts: 4,999
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcstep View Post
I'll be happy if, like with the 7D, you can put an electronic grid in the viewfinder. I use that a lot to make sure that horizons are straight and also as a compositional guide.

Dave
I love the grid in the 7D. Mine stays on all the time. Very easy to keep a straight horizon.
__________________
Mark
Flickr

"The $0.99 menu was put on this Earth for a good damn reason." -Weebl
M_Six is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-24-2012, 11:41 AM   #3100
The1
Major General
 
Drives: white 135
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: KW ontario/vancouver temporarily

Posts: 5,127
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by M_Six View Post
Good question. I know the 8mm FE is APS-C only. Not sure about the 85mm.

The mount is EF, but I'm not sure about the image circle size.
has it got a red marker dot or a white one? or since it's not a canon specific lens, they likely don't do that...
The1 is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      04-24-2012, 11:43 AM   #3101
The1
Major General
 
Drives: white 135
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: KW ontario/vancouver temporarily

Posts: 5,127
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dcstep View Post
I'll be happy if, like with the 7D, you can put an electronic grid in the viewfinder. I use that a lot to make sure that horizons are straight and also as a compositional guide.

Dave
that grid is a nice touch, it isn't too intrusive.

on my 5DII I use 2 of the focus points as my bearings for lining up the horizons, but as on the 7D, the camera only shows the active focus point, I need to rely on the grid more

(I could be wring, it's been a few days since I touched my 7D)
The1 is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      04-24-2012, 12:10 PM   #3102
M_Six
Free Thinker
 
M_Six's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 MB C300 4matic
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Foothills of Mt Level

Posts: 4,999
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by The1 View Post
has it got a red marker dot or a white one? or since it's not a canon specific lens, they likely don't do that...
Red dot, but the 8mm FE has a red dot, too.

I just checked Rokinon's site. The 35mm f1.4 and up will work on FF. The 8mm and 14mm are APS-C only.
__________________
Mark
Flickr

"The $0.99 menu was put on this Earth for a good damn reason." -Weebl

Last edited by M_Six; 04-24-2012 at 12:16 PM.
M_Six is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:00 AM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST