BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Wheels + Tires Sponsored by The Tire Rack
  TireRack

KEEP M3POST ALIVE BY DOING YOUR TIRERACK SHOPPING FROM THIS BANNER LINK!
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-21-2018, 07:08 PM   #1
ghostofsenna
Private First Class
United_States
51
Rep
175
Posts

Drives: 2011.75 Interlagos E90 ZCP M3
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Chicago, IL

iTrader: (1)

Have you coded out your TPMS?

Who relies on their TPMS? I keep a tire pressure gauge in my trunk and check every so often (2 - 3 months, or when I switch wheel sets). I am thinking about coding out my TPMS as I am looking to get a new set of tires.

Why? Well, with each set of wheels I collect I have to add the TPMS modules and I feel that I take care of this manually. My car is a 2011 and don't the TPMS module batteries eventually die or wear out? What is there useful life? Hoping I can avoid an unnecessary dash light and a trip to the tire mounter/purchase of another set of TPMS modules.

Any considerations that I am not thinking of?
__________________
2011.75 E90 M3 ZCP, 6sp
Interlagos Blue / Black w/ Red Inserts
Appreciate 0
      02-21-2018, 11:18 PM   #2
AnotherM3
Lieutenant
AnotherM3's Avatar
United_States
29
Rep
437
Posts

Drives: 2008 AW e92 M3
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: South San Francisco, CA

iTrader: (13)

Thought about it. Macht and Schnell have a module to plug and play. It can't just be coded out from what I researched.
Appreciate 1
      02-21-2018, 11:25 PM   #3
so0fresh
Private
United_States
19
Rep
68
Posts

Drives: BMW M3
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Long Beach,CA

iTrader: (0)

ive got mine coded out by Alex@alpine. no issues
Appreciate 0
      02-22-2018, 01:57 AM   #4
yidgyi
///M
yidgyi's Avatar
United_States
110
Rep
434
Posts

Drives: 2013 E92 M3 ZCP
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Northern VA

iTrader: (0)

Got mine coded out when I removed EDC. Just unplug the modules after coding for both TPMS & EDC if I'm remembering correctly.
__________________
'13 E92 M3 ZCP | Gintani | Vorsteiner | Toyo | Custom Full Exhaust | BC Racing | Apex Racing | aFe | oneighty |

Follow me on IG: dre.m3
Appreciate 0
      02-22-2018, 05:09 AM   #5
codinge90
Lieutenant
codinge90's Avatar
74
Rep
437
Posts

Drives: e92 M3
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: San Diego

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by so0fresh View Post
ive got mine coded out by Alex@alpine. no issues
Did you unplug the tpms module before he did the coding?
Appreciate 0
      02-22-2018, 08:16 AM   #6
ghostofsenna
Private First Class
United_States
51
Rep
175
Posts

Drives: 2011.75 Interlagos E90 ZCP M3
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Chicago, IL

iTrader: (1)

Do the TPMS sensors actually wear out? Or is that a rumor I picked up on the forum?
__________________
2011.75 E90 M3 ZCP, 6sp
Interlagos Blue / Black w/ Red Inserts
Appreciate 0
      02-22-2018, 12:23 PM   #7
ghostofsenna
Private First Class
United_States
51
Rep
175
Posts

Drives: 2011.75 Interlagos E90 ZCP M3
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Chicago, IL

iTrader: (1)

Macht Schnell TPMS Delete Module: https://www.turnermotorsport.com/p-2...RoC5_UQAvD_BwE

Product Details
Tire Pressure Monitoring System (TPMS) is an electronic system designed to monitor the air pressure inside all the pneumatic tires on all BMWs manufactured since 2006. Within a predetermined pressure level, a RF signal (433mHz) is sent to each of the receivers located in the wheel wells. These systems report an error message to the driver when pressure is low.

Battery-powered Radio Frequency based TPMS have several disadvantages. Batteries eventually become exhausted and represent a maintenance cost to the consumer. Batteries are chemical systems with lifetimes that unfortunately perform very poorly in extreme temperature environments typical of North America and European climates and in aerospace applications. In order to conserve battery life and to conform to various country's communications authority standards for short range radio communications, the power levels of battery powered TPMS are kept very low. As a consequence of these very low power levels, the construction of certain steel belted radial replacement tires and vehicle metallic geometries can block the low power signal transmission paths.

The so-called total cost of ownership for direct systems is much higher than for indirect systems due to battery and wheel changes and broken/damaged parts. Replacement TPMS sensors from your local dealer can be in excess of $300USD/set with the lithium batteries mounted in the sensors with a 5-6 year shelf life. Aftermarket sensors are not generally reliable. For those that have multiple tire sets for the track, this is simply not practical.

This TPMS/RDC Emulation Module installs in less than 15 minutes and will fully emulate a full-pressure TPMS signal. The module can be activated/deactivated by lifting up on the driver’s side window switch for +5 seconds with the key off.

Macht Schnell Macht Schnell TPMS/RDC Emulation Module features:
- The ability to run racing tires/wheels or other environments in which TPMS sensors are not compatible
- Compatible with iDrive and non-iDrive systems
- Easy 15-minute installation process with no wire cutting
- Proper emulation of the TPMS/RDC monitoring system
- No dealer visits or coding required after installation
- Completely removable at any time
__________________
2011.75 E90 M3 ZCP, 6sp
Interlagos Blue / Black w/ Red Inserts
Appreciate 0
      02-22-2018, 01:18 PM   #8
D1ESEL
Second Lieutenant
United_States
114
Rep
251
Posts

Drives: 05 330i ZHP/11.5 ZCP E90
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Woodbury, MN

iTrader: (1)

Doesn't BPM do remote coding for this?
__________________
-Chris
2011.75 Jerez ZCP Stripper - 2003 330i ZHP 6MT Silver Gray - 2006 M3 6MT Vert Titanium Silver - 2017 TRD Pro 4Runner
Instagram: CCOHO93
Appreciate 0
      02-22-2018, 01:58 PM   #9
so0fresh
Private
United_States
19
Rep
68
Posts

Drives: BMW M3
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Long Beach,CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by codinge90 View Post
Did you unplug the tpms module before he did the coding?
yeah he did.
Appreciate 0
      02-22-2018, 08:04 PM   #10
SYT_Shadow
///M Powered for Life
SYT_Shadow's Avatar
United_States
1711
Rep
3,293
Posts

Drives: 11 E90M,13 ZCP E92M, 12 X5
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Greenwich, CT

iTrader: (1)

You can code tpms out yourself

I've removed it from both M3's although I've left it active on the X5

I have like 6 sets of wheels for the M3's. I'm definitely not going to have that many tpms systems floating around!
Appreciate 0
      02-22-2018, 08:28 PM   #11
The-Traveler
Second Lieutenant
51
Rep
230
Posts

Drives: E92 M3 & E90 330I
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (0)

Could someone send me a picture of how the TPMS screen looks in your iDrive? I have a 2011.5 M3 but it's Canadian and it didn't come with TPMS only RPA. This system knows when you have a flat by comparing rotation speeds of individual wheels.

I know I can code the regular TPMS on but I'm not sure if I need any other modules besides the sensors.

I don't see this as a pain the way you guys do, and I think constant monitoring of pressures for each wheel would be something I want to retrofit.

Thanks.
Appreciate 0
      02-23-2018, 03:12 PM   #12
ghostofsenna
Private First Class
United_States
51
Rep
175
Posts

Drives: 2011.75 Interlagos E90 ZCP M3
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Chicago, IL

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by SYT_Shadow View Post
You can code tpms out yourself

I've removed it from both M3's although I've left it active on the X5

I have like 6 sets of wheels for the M3's. I'm definitely not going to have that many tpms systems floating around!
How do you code it out yourself?

Exactly, I am not going to keep adding TPMS to my wheels... pointless for me as well.
__________________
2011.75 E90 M3 ZCP, 6sp
Interlagos Blue / Black w/ Red Inserts
Appreciate 0
      02-23-2018, 03:20 PM   #13
SYT_Shadow
///M Powered for Life
SYT_Shadow's Avatar
United_States
1711
Rep
3,293
Posts

Drives: 11 E90M,13 ZCP E92M, 12 X5
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Greenwich, CT

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ghostofsenna View Post
How do you code it out yourself?

Exactly, I am not going to keep adding TPMS to my wheels... pointless for me as well.
I couldn't tell you... coding is a bit of a PITA, but all the guides are out there!
Appreciate 0
      02-23-2018, 03:41 PM   #14
codinge90
Lieutenant
codinge90's Avatar
74
Rep
437
Posts

Drives: e92 M3
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: San Diego

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ghostofsenna View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by SYT_Shadow View Post
You can code tpms out yourself

I've removed it from both M3's although I've left it active on the X5

I have like 6 sets of wheels for the M3's. I'm definitely not going to have that many tpms systems floating around!
How do you code it out yourself?

Exactly, I am not going to keep adding TPMS to my wheels... pointless for me as well.
Coding is the pretty straight forward part if you've handled ncs expert, the difficult part is actually locating the tpms module to unplug. On different years it's in different locations (at least for the e92 3 series, not sure about M3's). Most of the time it's in the trunk liner that's actually kinda hard to get to. But once that's unplugged the actual coding part is pretty easy. There's plenty of guides on the forums
Appreciate 0
      02-27-2018, 06:48 PM   #15
slicer
Brigadier General
slicer's Avatar
United_States
418
Rep
4,786
Posts

Drives: '13 E92 M3
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Santa Barbara, CA

iTrader: (32)

I battled with transferring pressure monitors from wheel to wheel in the past. Finally decided to code it out and life is a lot easier for a guy who has multiple sets of wheels. I used Alex at Alpine. He has done a lot of coding for me and I definitely recommend him.
__________________
'13 E92 M3 - Alpine Wht - Ohlins TTX, Fall-Line / SPL Suspension Arms, Eibach Sways, MRF Solid SF Bush, AP Racing Brakes (Essex), Cobra Seats w/BK Mount, Akrapovic GT4, CSF Cooling, VPhreaks Battery, OE M3 GTS - Lip and Interior, M235ir Wing, Varis Diffuser, BBS E88
'17 F31 M-Sport - 513M Wheels, H&R Springs
'Instagram - @slicer_m
Appreciate 0
      03-29-2018, 10:41 AM   #16
TigerTater
Private
TigerTater's Avatar
25
Rep
92
Posts

Drives: 2005 330i ZHP
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Baton Rouge

iTrader: (0)

Bumping this. Got new wheels and want to code them out. I have an 09 e90 lci car with the old style sensors and no iDrive anyways so never got much use out of the stock tpms. Any idea where they are located in my year model?

I've seen threads about changing the VO and coding certain parameters...mostly on e90 post and an x series thread
Appreciate 0
      03-29-2018, 01:24 PM   #17
///M3Fresh
First Lieutenant
82
Rep
385
Posts

Drives: E90 M3
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Las Vegas

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by TigerTater View Post
Bumping this. Got new wheels and want to code them out. I have an 09 e90 lci car with the old style sensors and no iDrive anyways so never got much use out of the stock tpms. Any idea where they are located in my year model?

I've seen threads about changing the VO and coding certain parameters...mostly on e90 post and an x series thread
The plug is on the passenger side of the car in the trunk, behind the carpet. Its not too difficult to get to. I believe its 2-3 torx screws but if you have tiny fingers you may be able to access the plug. IIRC the module has two plugs and you need to access the one that is towards the front not the one closer to you. Its been a few years since I coded/unplugged mine.
__________________

2009 E90 M3 DCT IB Slick top | Eisenmann Race | Custom X-Pipe | StopTech BBK | Evolve Tuning | TRS Custom Lighting | Apex Racing | Custom Carbon Fiber Rear Diffuser | Carbon Fiber High Kick Spoiler
Appreciate 1
      03-29-2018, 01:33 PM   #18
furry
Enlisted Member
5
Rep
32
Posts

Drives: E39 M5
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: NJ

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ///M3Fresh View Post
The plug is on the passenger side of the car in the trunk, behind the carpet. Its not too difficult to get to. I believe its 2-3 torx screws but if you have tiny fingers you may be able to access the plug. IIRC the module has two plugs and you need to access the one that is towards the front not the one closer to you. Its been a few years since I coded/unplugged mine.
Do you know where it would be located for a 2011 E90? I heard its somewhere near the rear subframe but not certain. I've been having intermittent issues and dont feel like chasing down TMPS sensors between 2 sets of wheels and buying a new module for a system that doesnt even read out tire pressures on the iDrive.

Thx
Appreciate 0
      03-29-2018, 02:25 PM   #19
///M3Fresh
First Lieutenant
82
Rep
385
Posts

Drives: E90 M3
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Las Vegas

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by furry View Post
Do you know where it would be located for a 2011 E90? I heard its somewhere near the rear subframe but not certain. I've been having intermittent issues and dont feel like chasing down TMPS sensors between 2 sets of wheels and buying a new module for a system that doesnt even read out tire pressures on the iDrive.

Thx
From memory again, its should be in the rear passenger fender. Just covered up by a cover with two plastic pins. For reference of what the newer "cheap" module looks like. And the bracket that holds its. Much easier to get to IMO.

http://www.realoem.com/bmw/enUS/show...35#36136794373
__________________

2009 E90 M3 DCT IB Slick top | Eisenmann Race | Custom X-Pipe | StopTech BBK | Evolve Tuning | TRS Custom Lighting | Apex Racing | Custom Carbon Fiber Rear Diffuser | Carbon Fiber High Kick Spoiler
Appreciate 0
      04-02-2018, 02:19 PM   #20
furry
Enlisted Member
5
Rep
32
Posts

Drives: E39 M5
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: NJ

iTrader: (0)

thanks I'll take a look there!
Appreciate 0
      04-04-2018, 10:42 AM   #21
Ngilbe36
Second Lieutenant
Ngilbe36's Avatar
United_States
255
Rep
289
Posts

Drives: 2011 E90 M3 IB
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Troy, MI

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2011 BMW E90 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by furry View Post
Do you know where it would be located for a 2011 E90? I heard its somewhere near the rear subframe but not certain. I've been having intermittent issues and dont feel like chasing down TMPS sensors between 2 sets of wheels and buying a new module for a system that doesnt even read out tire pressures on the iDrive.

Thx
"Chasing down TPMS sensors" is not actually that difficult. I have one set of 220Ms from a 2008 and another from my 2011. $200 from tirerack and you can just swap the new TPMS onto the old wheels and it all syncs up automatically. PM me if you need more details.
Appreciate 0
      04-04-2018, 11:20 AM   #22
tdott
Major
412
Rep
1,432
Posts

Drives: M3
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: FL / T.Dot

iTrader: (2)

Best option is to code out RDC (TPMS) and remove the module.

Then code to enable FTM (Flat Tire Monitor) which uses the abs sensors. Rest of the world uses FTM, only US law requires the TPMS sensors in the wheel.
__________________
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:52 PM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST