BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > BIMMERPOST Universal Forums > Off-Topic Discussions Board > Video + PC Gaming / Computing
 
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-07-2011, 04:29 PM   #23
DougLikesBMW
Fapmin
 
DougLikesBMW's Avatar
 
Drives: '03 E46 330Ci
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Plano, Texas

Posts: 2,659
iTrader: (0)

64gig SSD is too small for having OS + games...you really need the 128gig.

But for those interested here is a 64gig for $75:
http://slickdeals.net/forums/showthread.php?t=2820637
DougLikesBMW is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-07-2011, 04:33 PM   #24
skinrock
Agent Smith
 
skinrock's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Fusion AWD
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: The Matrix

Posts: 2,860
iTrader: (9)

Garage List
2007 335i  [3.45]
I was looking at this: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820227660
skinrock is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-07-2011, 04:53 PM   #25
NBRider88
I gave her my heart, she gave me crabs
 
NBRider88's Avatar
 
Drives: 06' 330i
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: OC :]

Posts: 142
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by skinrock View Post
Def. a nice one, but fyi it's PCI-E so you wont be able to use your mobo for crossfire later on like you wanted to...
NBRider88 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-07-2011, 05:35 PM   #26
skinrock
Agent Smith
 
skinrock's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Fusion AWD
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: The Matrix

Posts: 2,860
iTrader: (9)

Garage List
2007 335i  [3.45]
Quote:
Originally Posted by NBRider88 View Post
Def. a nice one, but fyi it's PCI-E so you wont be able to use your mobo for crossfire later on like you wanted to...
Why not? The mobo is setup as:

PCI-E 16
PCI-E 1
PCI-E 4
PCI-E 16
PCI
PCI

I'll check when I get home, but I'm almost positive the card only covers two slots, so the PCI-E 4 should still be accessible.
skinrock is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-07-2011, 05:46 PM   #27
NBRider88
I gave her my heart, she gave me crabs
 
NBRider88's Avatar
 
Drives: 06' 330i
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: OC :]

Posts: 142
iTrader: (2)

Ah I thought it was PCI-E 16, it's PCI-E 4, you have 1 slot for it available. Will be fine to xfire the GPU's in the two PCIE-16 slots, and have the pci-e 4 open

Did not look at the connector on the SSD close enough!
NBRider88 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-07-2011, 08:19 PM   #28
skinrock
Agent Smith
 
skinrock's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Fusion AWD
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: The Matrix

Posts: 2,860
iTrader: (9)

Garage List
2007 335i  [3.45]
Ya, it will be really tight, but should fit. Less cables, too.
skinrock is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-08-2011, 01:51 AM   #29
kHong
New Member
 
Drives: The best car
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Bloomington, IN

Posts: 5
iTrader: (0)

nice nice
kHong is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-08-2011, 02:26 AM   #30
skinrock
Agent Smith
 
skinrock's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Fusion AWD
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: The Matrix

Posts: 2,860
iTrader: (9)

Garage List
2007 335i  [3.45]
Well I'm a little late, but I just played Crysis for the first time. It is able to do Ultra High at 2560x1440 and 4x AA, not a solid 60 fps, but maybe 30-50 average (not sure if there is a debug mode to display it). Either way, the game is still beautiful and runs smooth. I have a feeling Crysis 2 will kick its ass, but if I go crossfire, I should get a solid 30 fps at the same settings.
skinrock is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-08-2011, 08:05 AM   #31
Freakazoid
Captain
 
Freakazoid's Avatar
 
Drives: Saturn Redline
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Pittsburgh

Posts: 967
iTrader: (0)

putting the OS on a normal drive and the games on a SSD I *feel* wouldn't be the wisest idea. (unless it's linux or something). Don't forget that windows is still doing crap in the background and will be your weakest link.

I have both on my SSD, but that's also because after I beat games I typically uninstall and just archive off the save games. I don't keep 'em around.
As mentioned above, you could always bump up to a 120 though, but that largely depends on what you're looking for. 120 is a bit more expensive than 60...but if you'd use it, it's a good way to go
Freakazoid is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-08-2011, 04:43 PM   #32
UltimateBMW
Brigadier General
 
UltimateBMW's Avatar
 
Drives: MP4
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South

Posts: 3,287
iTrader: (0)

I'll add that the newest gen of Intel SSD's is about to hit the market, the Intel 320 Series SSD. The die size is 25nm, and they are suppost to be faster and cheaper than current offerings. (Though cheaper is relative with SSD's.)

http://www.anandtech.com/show/4244/intel-ssd-320-review
__________________
UltimateBMW is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-08-2011, 09:11 PM   #33
skinrock
Agent Smith
 
skinrock's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Fusion AWD
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: The Matrix

Posts: 2,860
iTrader: (9)

Garage List
2007 335i  [3.45]
Quote:
Originally Posted by UltimateBMW View Post
I'll add that the newest gen of Intel SSD's is about to hit the market, the Intel 320 Series SSD. The die size is 25nm, and they are suppost to be faster and cheaper than current offerings. (Though cheaper is relative with SSD's.)

http://www.anandtech.com/show/4244/intel-ssd-320-review
Hmm, so I read up on the OCZ ones after reading that, and it sounds like they are really fast on paper, but might not be the best choice? But I don't get why the new Intels aren't Sata III.
skinrock is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-10-2011, 12:45 PM   #34
HPFREAK
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Drives: 09 135 CPE
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Socal

Posts: 1,870
iTrader: (8)

So I broke down and bught a custom rig yesterday at Fry's. They were having some sales on processors, ram and HDD. GOt about 60 bucks in rebates as well.

Specs:

i7 2600(was going to do an i7 960 but there was no price diff)
Asus Sabertooth P67 mobo
Western Dig Caviar Black 1T HDD
8gb Corsair 1600 XMS Ram
Antec liquid cooler
Asus DVD/RW
XFX 6950(1st gen that can be flashed to a 6970) I will add another 6970 later
Silverstone Raven 2 Full Tower
Win 7 Pro
Coolermaster 750w
And cool Green light for inside the case.Got to have some sparkle.lol

I was going to get an SSD but he told me to wait until the fall since they expect them to get cheaper and you will get more memory. 80g for 150 is a bit much for not enough. He said I would need around 120g for the OS plus office, and future updates as well as storing a few games on it and having a regular HDD for other data.

Getting a Logitech G500 mouse as well.

Had them do the build since I have no time and it only costs 90 bucks and they do the burn in and benchmarking. I am hopefully picking it up today, and will get some pics later.

I spent more than I set out to, but figured it was worth it.

The guy also urgred me to buy their Mobo and processor protection for 3 years for only 44 bucks. He said if they fry they will replace it for free and with the current version of what you had. Pretty decent deal. Best buy wants almost 300 for a similar deal and they suck at life when it comes to fixing PC's. I listen to Leo Laporte the tech guy and he always tell people never to take their PC's to best buy.

Last edited by HPFREAK; 04-12-2011 at 11:48 AM.
HPFREAK is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-10-2011, 12:55 PM   #35
eclipsisNA
Colonel
 
eclipsisNA's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Estoril 328i M Sport
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Beverly Hills, CA

Posts: 2,932
iTrader: (6)

Garage List
2014 BMW 428i  [3.88]
Quote:
Originally Posted by UltimateBMW View Post
I'll add that the newest gen of Intel SSD's is about to hit the market, the Intel 320 Series SSD. The die size is 25nm, and they are suppost to be faster and cheaper than current offerings. (Though cheaper is relative with SSD's.)

http://www.anandtech.com/show/4244/intel-ssd-320-review
Anand said the 320 is a disappointment IIRC? The Vertex 3 240 is going to be the king of SSDs when it's released in a few weeks.
eclipsisNA is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-12-2011, 08:50 AM   #36
1
Captain
 
Drives: 991TTs
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Earth

Posts: 977
iTrader: (0)

nice rig, enjoy!!

look at Crucial's C300 SSDs too, i believe they are the fastest on the market atm. they also released a newer C400, although they seemed to have made it a more energy efficient drive with slightly less performance than the C300, so maybe they will be releasing another drive in the near future with better performance.

also if i remember correctly, that PCI SSD someone posted has no TRIM support, and from my understanding that could be a problem for some if the drive starts to reach is max capacity.
1 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-13-2011, 12:56 PM   #37
HPFREAK
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Drives: 09 135 CPE
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Socal

Posts: 1,870
iTrader: (8)

Ok so PC gaming with a mouse and keyboard has got to be the worst thing ever for your hands. After an hour of playing my hands ached so bad that I had to stop. The controllers are far better for comfort and am using my xbox controller for Just cause 2. Forget about trying to drive a car or fly and sircraft in this game with the keyboard. For shit sake you dont play flight sims or racing games with a mouse a keyboard. Yes you can be more accurate with the mouse but moving the character is to slow and tedious with the keyboard and mouse.

How in the world are you guys doing this without your hands going crippled?
HPFREAK is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-13-2011, 01:33 PM   #38
Freakazoid
Captain
 
Freakazoid's Avatar
 
Drives: Saturn Redline
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Pittsburgh

Posts: 967
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by HPFREAK View Post
Ok so PC gaming with a mouse and keyboard has got to be the worst thing ever for your hands. After an hour of playing my hands ached so bad that I had to stop. The controllers are far better for comfort and am using my xbox controller for Just cause 2. Forget about trying to drive a car or fly and sircraft in this game with the keyboard. For shit sake you dont play flight sims or racing games with a mouse a keyboard. Yes you can be more accurate with the mouse but moving the character is to slow and tedious with the keyboard and mouse.

How in the world are you guys doing this without your hands going crippled?
minus simulators I think its all in how you grew up....

e.g. console games kill my hands 10x faster than my desktop games do
Freakazoid is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-13-2011, 01:58 PM   #39
ragingclue
One cam is enough
 
ragingclue's Avatar
 
Drives: VF
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: mulletville

Posts: 6,774
iTrader: (1)

There's a reason why there are gaming mice and keyboards....
ragingclue is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-13-2011, 03:07 PM   #40
1
Captain
 
Drives: 991TTs
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Earth

Posts: 977
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Freakazoid View Post
minus simulators I think its all in how you grew up....

e.g. console games kill my hands 10x faster than my desktop games do
+1


Quote:
Originally Posted by HPFREAK View Post
Ok so PC gaming with a mouse and keyboard has got to be the worst thing ever for your hands. After an hour of playing my hands ached so bad that I had to stop. The controllers are far better for comfort and am using my xbox controller for Just cause 2. Forget about trying to drive a car or fly and sircraft in this game with the keyboard. For shit sake you dont play flight sims or racing games with a mouse a keyboard. Yes you can be more accurate with the mouse but moving the character is to slow and tedious with the keyboard and mouse.

How in the world are you guys doing this without your hands going crippled?
well for flight games you're going to need a joystick, i have a $50 one that i've been using since BF2, its wireless and works well. for driving games you can use the keyboard and mouse but if thats too uncomfortable you could always get a steering wheel with the pedals.

for FPS games and whatever else you could always get something more ergonomic, something like this, and just program all the controls. pair it with a good gaming mouse and you should be good to go.
1 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-13-2011, 05:39 PM   #41
HPFREAK
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Drives: 09 135 CPE
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Socal

Posts: 1,870
iTrader: (8)

That is a pretty cool setup. I may get that. I have aa DFGT for driving games but will eventually get a Fanatec GT3 providing they fix all the heating issues with fan failures. Cheap china made crap right now. It is too hard to change between a wheel and kyeboard/mouse during a game like Just Cause 2. I am just using my xbox controller for it right now.

I have a good gaming mouse with the Logitech G9x but i may switch it out for the G500. I also have a mouse pad with wrist pad. My next big purchase is going to be a good monitor like an Asus MS246 or a Dell 2410. Need good color along with fast response times. TN panels appear to be the best besides good old CRT's. My Sammy 40"LCD is just too laggy for gaming I have found. One of the reasons I get my but kicked in MW2 and BO. I am seeing things after they have happened all the time. Killcam tells the tail everytime.

I want to get a fun flight sim soon. I will need to get some real feeling and looking controls for it though so I cna truely enjoy it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1 View Post
+1




well for flight games you're going to need a joystick, i have a $50 one that i've been using since BF2, its wireless and works well. for driving games you can use the keyboard and mouse but if thats too uncomfortable you could always get a steering wheel with the pedals.

for FPS games and whatever else you could always get something more ergonomic, something like this, and just program all the controls. pair it with a good gaming mouse and you should be good to go.
HPFREAK is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-13-2011, 06:26 PM   #42
DougLikesBMW
Fapmin
 
DougLikesBMW's Avatar
 
Drives: '03 E46 330Ci
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Plano, Texas

Posts: 2,659
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1 View Post
well for flight games you're going to need a joystick, i have a $50 one that i've been using since BF2, its wireless and works well. for driving games you can use the keyboard and mouse but if thats too uncomfortable you could always get a steering wheel with the pedals.

for FPS games and whatever else you could always get something more ergonomic, something like this, and just program all the controls. pair it with a good gaming mouse and you should be good to go.
Link to joystick please?
DougLikesBMW is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-13-2011, 07:29 PM   #43
1
Captain
 
Drives: 991TTs
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Earth

Posts: 977
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by DougLikesBMW View Post
Link to joystick please?
looks like its been discontinued

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16826102205
1 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-14-2011, 12:34 AM   #44
DougLikesBMW
Fapmin
 
DougLikesBMW's Avatar
 
Drives: '03 E46 330Ci
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Plano, Texas

Posts: 2,659
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1 View Post
Fuuuuaaaark.

All the best joysticks get discontinued....I want a new Sidewinder. I've had the same one since I was like 8...I am now 21.

DougLikesBMW is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:18 AM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST