BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > BIMMERPOST Universal Forums > Off-Topic Discussions Board
 
Lux Angel Eyes
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-28-2011, 04:44 PM   #23
JayKay335i
Banned
 
Drives: ///M323 DCT
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: North Dakota; its best DUHHHHHH

Posts: 5,047
iTrader: (1)

You could pick up 2 separate drives and a 2 drive enclosure, and run that in a raid configuration.
JayKay335i is offline   Egypt
0
Reply With Quote
      03-28-2011, 05:32 PM   #24
.:bHd:.
Major
 
.:bHd:.'s Avatar
 
Drives: E92 335i MT
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: So Cal

Posts: 1,149
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by hl0m4n View Post
^ what is the drive called as i can't seem to find it on newegg...

if the drive does fail, is there anyway to get the data on it back or is it completely gone?

im thinking i should get x2 500gb externals as to just one big 1.5tb drive.

i dont like the external drives with on/off switch cause i think each time you do it it puts a strain on the drive. i like wd as they turn on/off with the computer and when not in use just goes in sleep mode.
How much is your budget? You can get an enclosure that supports raid 1 and put two hard drives in there. One will always be making a copy of the other one.
__________________

.:bHd:. is offline   Armenia
0
Reply With Quote
      03-28-2011, 05:40 PM   #25
solefald
Nigerian Prince
 
solefald's Avatar
 
Drives: '11 F25
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: San Diego, CA

Posts: 2,171
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
'11 BMW F25  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by hl0m4n View Post
^ what is the drive called as i can't seem to find it on newegg...

if the drive does fail, is there anyway to get the data on it back or is it completely gone?

im thinking i should get x2 500gb externals as to just one big 1.5tb drive.

i dont like the external drives with on/off switch cause i think each time you do it it puts a strain on the drive. i like wd as they turn on/off with the computer and when not in use just goes in sleep mode.
How about a NAS?

http://www.synology.com/us/products/DS211+/index.php
__________________
solefald is offline   Vatican City State
0
Reply With Quote
      03-28-2011, 05:52 PM   #26
.:bHd:.
Major
 
.:bHd:.'s Avatar
 
Drives: E92 335i MT
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: So Cal

Posts: 1,149
iTrader: (0)

I guess this would be a good place to ask since I need to get one as well. What is a good enclosure that supports Raid 0 and has 4 HDD bays? I need it to edit videos and has to be very reliable.
__________________

.:bHd:. is offline   Armenia
0
Reply With Quote
      03-28-2011, 06:08 PM   #27
BimmerPod
Private First Class
 
Drives: e92 335i
Join Date: May 2009
Location: lost

Posts: 140
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by hl0m4n View Post
i have a 250gb wd external hard drive which i have used for 5 years and is finally full. i have had no issues with the drive whatso ever and still runs like a champ.

with these new 1tb+ external hard drives it really seems to be hit or miss and more size = more chances of something failing. im leaning towards wd again and their element 1.5tb hard drive for $70. only thing i don't like about it is there is no activity light.

i looked at fantom but really, the company aint that big and the drive doesn't seem to be reliable.

any recomendations/thoughts?
That 250gb drive you speak of...any pics of chelsea on there that you care to share?
BimmerPod is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-28-2011, 06:08 PM   #28
CollinsE90
Where my bitches
 
CollinsE90's Avatar
 
Drives: Cadillac coupe deville
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: street corner checking profits

Posts: 1,927
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BimmerPod View Post
That 250gb drive you speak of...any pics of chelsea on there that you care to share?
lol
__________________
CollinsE90 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-28-2011, 06:28 PM   #29
rodi
. . .
 
Drives: your FACE!
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Atlanta proper

Posts: 2,400
iTrader: (-1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by .:bHd:. View Post
I guess this would be a good place to ask since I need to get one as well. What is a good enclosure that supports Raid 0 and has 4 HDD bays? I need it to edit videos and has to be very reliable.
i wouldn't recommend editing video from a drive that isn't connected via SATA or eSATA. Though, FireWire800 is doable if you're using a fast codec native to your NLE. I use a G-Tech mobile (FW version) for editing ProRes encoded video with minimal lag.

Storing for retrieval on a per-project-basis is another thing. Just get anything and transfer your dailies overnight.
__________________
2009 135i | space grey | sport | navi | hifi | heated
dinan stage 2 software | bmw performance exhaust
kw v2 | hotchkis front sway | vmr v710

rodi is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-28-2011, 06:55 PM   #30
.:bHd:.
Major
 
.:bHd:.'s Avatar
 
Drives: E92 335i MT
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: So Cal

Posts: 1,149
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rodi View Post
i wouldn't recommend editing video from a drive that isn't connected via SATA or eSATA. Though, FireWire800 is doable if you're using a fast codec native to your NLE. I use a G-Tech mobile (FW version) for editing ProRes encoded video with minimal lag.

Storing for retrieval on a per-project-basis is another thing. Just get anything and transfer your dailies overnight.
I'm planing on connecting it using eSATA. Firewire800 is fine for 2 streams of HD footage, any more than that and you get lag. Since I'm editing 3-4 streams most of the time I need raid 0 and eSATA. I'm thinking of getting a 6Tb G-Raid but wanted to see if there's a better option.
__________________

.:bHd:. is offline   Armenia
0
Reply With Quote
      03-28-2011, 07:05 PM   #31
wvtlo
Private
 
Drives: 2003 Z4
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Suburbs of Philly, PA

Posts: 82
iTrader: (0)

There are two types of hard drives...ones that can fail and ones that will fail.

RAID ftw
__________________
2006 325xi | SGM :: SOLD
2003 Z4 | TiAG
wvtlo is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-28-2011, 07:28 PM   #32
Chewy734
Major General
 
Drives: 2006 BMW 330i ZPP, ZSP
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Minneapolis, MN

Posts: 6,774
iTrader: (15)

Quote:
Originally Posted by .:bHd:. View Post
I guess this would be a good place to ask since I need to get one as well. What is a good enclosure that supports Raid 0 and has 4 HDD bays? I need it to edit videos and has to be very reliable.
ReadyNAS. We've been using the ReadyNAS NV+ at work for mission-critical data, and it hasn't failed us in over 4 years. Not one problem. Recently we purchased a Qnap TS-859 Pro and it's been working great for us as well.
__________________

Currently for sale: N/A
Chewy734 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-28-2011, 08:19 PM   #33
solefald
Nigerian Prince
 
solefald's Avatar
 
Drives: '11 F25
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: San Diego, CA

Posts: 2,171
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
'11 BMW F25  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by .:bHd:. View Post
I'm planing on connecting it using eSATA. Firewire800 is fine for 2 streams of HD footage, any more than that and you get lag. Since I'm editing 3-4 streams most of the time I need raid 0 and eSATA. I'm thinking of getting a 6Tb G-Raid but wanted to see if there's a better option.
A photog friend of mine bought one of those LaCie Quadras with 8Tb.
http://www.lacie.com/us/products/product.htm?pid=11114

It looks sick and has full-on hardware RAID.

I set it up for him as hardware RAID0+1 and told him that his data is safe, but he only has usable 4Tb. A year goes by, and he forgets what I told him. One day he notices that he only has 4Tb, and goes all cowboy on his fucking DiskUtility. Starts formatting shit and deleting partitions.

After realizing that he has no fucking idea what he is doing, he calls me up and tells me to fix it. Apparently remembering that I told him that his data was safe. I had to explain to him that RAID is only there to protect from hardware failures, not human stupidity. After that I hung up the phone and laughed for about an hour.

Hardware itself it pretty bulletproof, though. Apparently he carries that thing with him all the time, for no apparent reason.


Or maybe its time to get the new MBP with Thunderbolt and some storage to match?
__________________

Last edited by solefald; 03-28-2011 at 08:54 PM.
solefald is offline   Vatican City State
0
Reply With Quote
      03-28-2011, 08:58 PM   #34
JayKay335i
Banned
 
Drives: ///M323 DCT
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: North Dakota; its best DUHHHHHH

Posts: 5,047
iTrader: (1)

I effing hate NAS. At the VERY LEAST, it should be hardwired.
JayKay335i is offline   Egypt
0
Reply With Quote
      03-28-2011, 09:02 PM   #35
solefald
Nigerian Prince
 
solefald's Avatar
 
Drives: '11 F25
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: San Diego, CA

Posts: 2,171
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
'11 BMW F25  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by JayKay335i View Post
I effing hate NAS. At the VERY LEAST, it should be hardwired.
explain?
__________________
solefald is offline   Vatican City State
0
Reply With Quote
      03-28-2011, 09:05 PM   #36
JayKay335i
Banned
 
Drives: ///M323 DCT
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: North Dakota; its best DUHHHHHH

Posts: 5,047
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by solefald View Post
explain?
Its a great idea. But so far everything I've tried is slow. Even wired it wasn't very fast. I have yet to try a standalone drive that gives any decent speed, in terms of home products. I know NAS is the way of the world, but I think its got come catching up to do in the consumer market.
JayKay335i is offline   Egypt
0
Reply With Quote
      03-28-2011, 09:29 PM   #37
solefald
Nigerian Prince
 
solefald's Avatar
 
Drives: '11 F25
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: San Diego, CA

Posts: 2,171
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
'11 BMW F25  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by JayKay335i View Post
Its a great idea. But so far everything I've tried is slow. Even wired it wasn't very fast. I have yet to try a standalone drive that gives any decent speed, in terms of home products. I know NAS is the way of the world, but I think its got come catching up to do in the consumer market.
Sorry man, but I have to kill this argument. Check out my screenshot.
I am downloading a 8.53 Gb file from my NAS onto my movie box.
See the progress bar? ETA for remaining 5Gb is about a minute.
On the right there is an iStat Menu that shows peak bandwidth of 79.3MB/sec.
This is almost 640Mbit/sec. Not too shabby. There is no way you could get anything like that with attached storage, unless it is FW800 or faster.

My NAS is Synology DS410, with RAID5 connected over gigabit ethernet.
Attached Images
  
__________________
solefald is offline   Vatican City State
0
Reply With Quote
      03-28-2011, 09:31 PM   #38
JayKay335i
Banned
 
Drives: ///M323 DCT
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: North Dakota; its best DUHHHHHH

Posts: 5,047
iTrader: (1)

How are you managing that? I've got a 1tb drive connected via USB and I'm lucky if I hit 20mbs. The last NAS drive I picked up was lucky to hit 5mbs.
JayKay335i is offline   Egypt
0
Reply With Quote
      03-28-2011, 09:38 PM   #39
solefald
Nigerian Prince
 
solefald's Avatar
 
Drives: '11 F25
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: San Diego, CA

Posts: 2,171
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
'11 BMW F25  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by JayKay335i View Post
How are you managing that? I've got a 1tb drive connected via USB and I'm lucky if I hit 20mbs. The last NAS drive I picked up was lucky to hit 5mbs.
Quality hardware and gigabit ethernet
But it works pretty damn well over 802.11n. Not as fast though.

Like with everything else, you get what you pay for. Do not for for something cheap. Go for something quality that you can use for a loooong time. I dropped $500 on the box and $300 on the drives. Total of 6Tb of usable capacity. This will last me for 3-4 years or so, and even then I could pop bigger drives in it.

It's 2011. Gigabit or GTFO.
__________________
solefald is offline   Vatican City State
0
Reply With Quote
      03-28-2011, 09:39 PM   #40
JayKay335i
Banned
 
Drives: ///M323 DCT
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: North Dakota; its best DUHHHHHH

Posts: 5,047
iTrader: (1)

Poor student. I'm on N till I move out of here.
JayKay335i is offline   Egypt
0
Reply With Quote
      03-28-2011, 09:58 PM   #41
hl0m4n
Brigadier General
 
hl0m4n's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NY

Posts: 4,839
iTrader: (41)

damn the raid enclousure with drives can get costly...

wouldn't it take double the time to copy a file in a raid external drive cause it has to copy it on 2 hard drives?

fuck technology sucks, i remember back in the day i spent $500 on a ati x850 xt pe when it fresh came out
__________________
Cars: 07 335i ► 09 328i ► 11 328xi ► 13 M3
Reviews: 335i Supersprint Exhaust, C/F Trim Wrap, Alcantara Boots, VMR V710, Saikou Michi OCC, Royal Steering Wheel
For Sale:
Want To Buy:
hl0m4n is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-28-2011, 10:15 PM   #42
solefald
Nigerian Prince
 
solefald's Avatar
 
Drives: '11 F25
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: San Diego, CA

Posts: 2,171
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
'11 BMW F25  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by hl0m4n View Post
damn the raid enclousure with drives can get costly...

wouldn't it take double the time to copy a file in a raid external drive cause it has to copy it on 2 hard drives?

fuck technology sucks, i remember back in the day i spent $500 on a ati x850 xt pe when it fresh came out
no. both drives write at the same time independently from each other.

how much are you looking to spend? anything decent would run at least $300.
__________________
solefald is offline   Vatican City State
0
Reply With Quote
      03-28-2011, 10:36 PM   #43
.:bHd:.
Major
 
.:bHd:.'s Avatar
 
Drives: E92 335i MT
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: So Cal

Posts: 1,149
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by solefald View Post
A photog friend of mine bought one of those LaCie Quadras with 8Tb.
http://www.lacie.com/us/products/product.htm?pid=11114

It looks sick and has full-on hardware RAID.

Or maybe its time to get the new MBP with Thunderbolt and some storage to match?
I wish they sold the enclosure separately it does look pretty sick.

As for the new MPB with Thunderbolt. It will take some time before they get macpro performance in a macbook lol Also there are only a handful of drives out now that support thunderbolt.
__________________

.:bHd:. is offline   Armenia
0
Reply With Quote
      03-28-2011, 11:29 PM   #44
.:bHd:.
Major
 
.:bHd:.'s Avatar
 
Drives: E92 335i MT
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: So Cal

Posts: 1,149
iTrader: (0)

This seems to be perfect for what I'm looking for but its a bit too expensive. Guess I gotta save up a little more lol

http://www.drobostore.com/store/drob...ctID.221448700
__________________

.:bHd:. is offline   Armenia
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
solefad is a bitch

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:12 PM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST