BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Mechanical Maintenance: Break-in / Oil & Fluids / Servicing
 
Lux Angel Eyes
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-15-2011, 06:45 PM   #1
kouhii
Private
0
Rep
77
Posts

 
Drives: 09 E90M3DCT
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Silicon Valley

iTrader: (0)

Oil Level Sensor Error

My car was recently updated to DCT software 2.40.1(? the recall DCT) and had the oil changed at the dealer.

Took the car out for a few drive and noticed all the updates to I-Drive which was nice so I tried out the oil level sensor exact measurement in the vehicle info menu. Note that my oil temp is at the middle (warm 210F).

A note pop up saying, "The oil level measurement is inactiv due to sensor error. Please observe service interval for engine oil and have the system checked during the next oil change" and refuses to measure.

However, the oil level indicator at the instrument cluster area indicated the level to be above the OK arrow (almost full).

Besides this problem the car runs fine, have anyone experienced this before?

Last edited by kouhii; 03-15-2011 at 10:58 PM.
Appreciate 0
      03-15-2011, 08:26 PM   #2
chuckvic
Private First Class
1
Rep
135
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 M3 DCT Coupe
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: el paso

iTrader: (0)

damn, exact same problem as mine!! Took the car back tonite and they said it was a error between the sensor and the main computer and would take some time to troubleshoot. They added the usual 9L of oil so I feel for sure I have enough and its likley a sensor problem.

Lets stay in touch about what happens.

chuck

,
Appreciate 0
      03-15-2011, 08:27 PM   #3
chuckvic
Private First Class
1
Rep
135
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 M3 DCT Coupe
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: el paso

iTrader: (0)

I use the el paso delaer, who is looking at yours. when its fixed we need to be sure they are talking to each other about how the problem is resolved
Appreciate 0
      03-15-2011, 10:57 PM   #4
kouhii
Private
0
Rep
77
Posts

 
Drives: 09 E90M3DCT
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Silicon Valley

iTrader: (0)

Sorry can't give out details of dealer right now. I want them to have find the problem from an unbias point of view. So far the oil level check using the stalk seems to work but I am not sure which ones to trust. I did not have this problem prior to the oil change.

Will keep you updated.
Appreciate 0
      03-16-2011, 03:53 AM   #5
donovan
Brigadier General
donovan's Avatar
Germany
73
Rep
3,554
Posts

 
Drives: E92 m3 AW, light package
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: le' Murica

iTrader: (12)

Quote:
Originally Posted by chuckvic View Post
damn, exact same problem as mine!! Took the car back tonite and they said it was a error between the sensor and the main computer and would take some time to troubleshoot. They added the usual 9L of oil so I feel for sure I have enough and its likley a sensor problem.

Lets stay in touch about what happens.

chuck

,

wtf 9 liters?
__________________


e46 m3 Black
Too many mods
Appreciate 0
      03-16-2011, 06:34 AM   #6
Mjolnir
Second Lieutenant
5
Rep
264
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 M3 Le Mans Blue ZCP DCT
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Virginia

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by kouhii View Post
Sorry can't give out details of dealer right now. I want them to have find the problem from an unbias point of view. So far the oil level check using the stalk seems to work but I am not sure which ones to trust. I did not have this problem prior to the oil change.

Will keep you updated.
Or maybe if they shared information they could work toward fixing it. You know what they say about two heads.....
Appreciate 0
      03-16-2011, 01:26 PM   #7
elp_jc
Brigadier General
United_States
80
Rep
4,910
Posts

 
Drives: .
Join Date: May 2008
Location: .

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by donovan View Post
wtf 9 liters?
Mine took 9.3 to get to full the first time (1,200-mile service). And 9.5L when I sucked the filter housing dry the last time (DIY yearly change at 4K miles).
Appreciate 0
      03-17-2011, 06:57 PM   #8
kouhii
Private
0
Rep
77
Posts

 
Drives: 09 E90M3DCT
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Silicon Valley

iTrader: (0)

Fixed, they see the fault code through the scanner(?) and then did some reprogramming. Everything is back to normal now. It seems the feature is for newer models(?) that's my guess. Now I do not have that feature anymore.
BMW of Mountain View by the way.
Appreciate 0
      03-18-2011, 09:04 AM   #9
chuckvic
Private First Class
1
Rep
135
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 M3 DCT Coupe
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: el paso

iTrader: (0)

thanks for the info,will get mine fixed asap.

chuck
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:27 AM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST