BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Cosmetic/Visual (Exterior + Interior) Modifications
 
ESS Tuning
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-09-2011, 04:41 PM   #1
MonteCarloM3
Banned
Uzbekistan
13

 
MonteCarloM3's Avatar
 
Drives: a shitty M3
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Uranus


Posts: 577
iTrader: (0)

question for those who have done the LCI tail light upgrade?

I purchased a set of the 2011 LED tail lights from EAS for $600 and they are almost here. Apparently there is now an additional $65 charge from EAS to give me the coding information so i can get it done locally.
Did i miss that there was an extra charge somewhere on m3post or their website? I assumed the coding information would be part of the deal. I also bought $2400 worth of tires/wheels/tpms etc from them at the same time.
i would have thought $3K included the coding, guess i'm a sucker.
thanks for the help!

Last edited by MonteCarloM3; 03-09-2011 at 04:59 PM.
Appreciate 0
      03-09-2011, 04:47 PM   #2
Joonsup
Lieutenant General
South Korea
194

 
Joonsup's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 M3, E30 325i
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Bay Area


Posts: 17,311
iTrader: (8)

Garage List
2008 BMW M3  [4.75]
Send a message via AIM to Joonsup
i remember i paid about $500 for the lights themselves and another $50 or so for the module and then the cost of coding from whoever in your area that can code
Appreciate 0
      03-09-2011, 05:26 PM   #3
Sean05
Putcha ang ganda...
Philippines
89

 
Sean05's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 MR E92 M3
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Los Angeles, Brea CA.


Posts: 5,331
iTrader: (9)

Send a message via Yahoo to Sean05
YEAP I paid 65 for the coding for my LCI to be honest theres is just no one in the area.. so i had no choice...
__________________
Appreciate 0
      03-09-2011, 05:45 PM   #4
MonteCarloM3
Banned
Uzbekistan
13

 
MonteCarloM3's Avatar
 
Drives: a shitty M3
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Uranus


Posts: 577
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sean05 View Post
YEAP I paid 65 for the coding for my LCI to be honest theres is just no one in the area.. so i had no choice...
EAS did it for you, or did you pay for the information on how to do it and then you got someone else with autologic to do it? or something else? maybe i am missing something here.
thanks!
Appreciate 0
      03-09-2011, 09:21 PM   #5
TomBMW
Second Lieutenant
United_States
7

 
TomBMW's Avatar
 
Drives: IB DCT e92 ///M3
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Miami Beach, FL


Posts: 241
iTrader: (1)

Which year M3s need the footwell module?
__________________
Appreciate 0
      03-09-2011, 09:22 PM   #6
MonteCarloM3
Banned
Uzbekistan
13

 
MonteCarloM3's Avatar
 
Drives: a shitty M3
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Uranus


Posts: 577
iTrader: (0)

thanks for the info. just wanted to check if there is anything special the coders need for this or if it's a simple thing to change for them.
cheers

Quote:
Originally Posted by BobsM3Coupe View Post
When I installed the lights, Tom at EAS included the coding because I purchased the lights from him. But I did take my car down to have him do it. It would probably cost more but a BMW dealer can now code the lights to the car so you don't get the bulb malfunction warnings. Otherwise most independents with the Autologic programmer should be able to do it.
Appreciate 0
      03-10-2011, 03:13 AM   #7
BobsM3Coupe
Captain
United_States
17

 
Drives: M3 Coupe
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: California


Posts: 862
iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MonteCarloM3 View Post
thanks for the info. just wanted to check if there is anything special the coders need for this or if it's a simple thing to change for them.
cheers
I believe the tech just has to know where to look on his programmer to code out the rear bulb malfunction feature.
Appreciate 0
      03-11-2011, 03:02 PM   #8
MonteCarloM3
Banned
Uzbekistan
13

 
MonteCarloM3's Avatar
 
Drives: a shitty M3
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Uranus


Posts: 577
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BobsM3Coupe View Post
I believe the tech just has to know where to look on his programmer to code out the rear bulb malfunction feature.
ok, so it's super easy for a shop that does autologic coding? just wanted to check and find out what coding is involved in doing this.

every time i ask EAS(who i bought the lights from) a question about that, they either don't respond, tell me the same thing over and over again which doesn't help, or tell me they want to charge me money. and i live in Canada!, like i'm going to drive down to california for that :P

those guys at EAS suck big time, i'll never order again from them.
Appreciate 0
      03-11-2011, 03:34 PM   #9
Sean05
Putcha ang ganda...
Philippines
89

 
Sean05's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 MR E92 M3
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Los Angeles, Brea CA.


Posts: 5,331
iTrader: (9)

Send a message via Yahoo to Sean05
Quote:
Originally Posted by MonteCarloM3 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by BobsM3Coupe View Post
I believe the tech just has to know where to look on his programmer to code out the rear bulb malfunction feature.
ok, so it's super easy for a shop that does autologic coding? just wanted to check and find out what coding is involved in doing this.

every time i ask EAS(who i bought the lights from) a question about that, they either don't respond, tell me the same thing over and over again which doesn't help, or tell me they want to charge me money. and i live in Canada!, like i'm going to drive down to california for that :P

those guys at EAS suck big time, i'll never order again from them.
Im not exactly sure what answer u want from them, not all can do it as previous thread that some are able to do it without swapping the module... Its not like heres what u can do, u need to have the right gadget to do do it and even dealers sometimes they dont know how to do it... Honestly they can tell u what to do but without autologic and the right coding u cant do shit... What do u expect tell u a step by step guide.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      03-11-2011, 03:37 PM   #10
Sean05
Putcha ang ganda...
Philippines
89

 
Sean05's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 MR E92 M3
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Los Angeles, Brea CA.


Posts: 5,331
iTrader: (9)

Send a message via Yahoo to Sean05
Also ur in Canada they need ur ECU to do the coding how do u expect them to do the coding... Shit just boggles my mind. U should have done ur research before purchasing
__________________
Appreciate 0
      03-11-2011, 06:54 PM   #11
Singletrack
4th down; 4th quarter? Renegade.
United_States
43

 
Singletrack's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 SSII E92 M3; 12 AW X5d
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Pittsburgh, PA


Posts: 3,817
iTrader: (3)

Actually, I had a similar experience. I bought the lights and they told me they would find a local autologic shop to code them. They did not, so I chased one down. Then they said they would tell the shop how to do it. They did not include any instructions or information for the local shop. When I asked them, they said they shop should be able to figure it out and they could call them if they could not. Not exactly what we had discussed. Especially bothersome since a shop is going to charge you by the hour and the coding literally takes about 15 minutes. Of course, if you don't know what you're doing, it could take hours.

I just ended up doing some research and now I'll be able to do the coding myself. Just search google for "bmw coding". Everything you need will be on the first page of results.
Appreciate 0
      03-11-2011, 07:26 PM   #12
tlp
Colonel
United_States
67

 
tlp's Avatar
 
Drives: '11 e92 M3 SG/FR
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Huntington Beach, CA


Posts: 2,042
iTrader: (6)

Garage List
2011 BMW e92 M3  [4.55]
You can try this.
  1. Install the lights
  2. Take it to the dealer and tell them the lights are flickering (Play dumb or if you have a good relationship with the SA give em a wink)
  3. They will do the retrofit coding
  4. If they are cool they will chalk it up to warranty


I did that back in the day with my e46M3 when I did the LED Retrofit and it worked like a charm. Didn't pay a cent for coding
__________________
My Coding Journal
Current - '11 e92 M3 SG/FR ZCP|ZCV|ZP2|2MK|494|415|6NR|752

Last edited by tlp; 03-11-2011 at 07:32 PM.
Appreciate 0
      03-11-2011, 08:07 PM   #13
MonteCarloM3
Banned
Uzbekistan
13

 
MonteCarloM3's Avatar
 
Drives: a shitty M3
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Uranus


Posts: 577
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sean05 View Post
Also ur in Canada they need ur ECU to do the coding how do u expect them to do the coding... Shit just boggles my mind. U should have done ur research before purchasing
holy crap, you're acting like coding is like unlocking the DNA code or something.
i've coded other cars myself with a laptop and a cable, it's pretty freaking easy. the key is to know what software modules need the adjustment.
i don't need FRM3, i have a 2010 duh...look below.
just some pointers on what software modules need to be coded is all i am asking for dummy.
i guess it's too much to ask for help around here, all i get are wise-asses who know nothing and talk a big game.

Last edited by MonteCarloM3; 03-11-2011 at 08:12 PM.
Appreciate 0
      03-11-2011, 08:10 PM   #14
MonteCarloM3
Banned
Uzbekistan
13

 
MonteCarloM3's Avatar
 
Drives: a shitty M3
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Uranus


Posts: 577
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Singletrack View Post
Actually, I had a similar experience. I bought the lights and they told me they would find a local autologic shop to code them. They did not, so I chased one down. Then they said they would tell the shop how to do it. They did not include any instructions or information for the local shop. When I asked them, they said they shop should be able to figure it out and they could call them if they could not. Not exactly what we had discussed. Especially bothersome since a shop is going to charge you by the hour and the coding literally takes about 15 minutes. Of course, if you don't know what you're doing, it could take hours.

I just ended up doing some research and now I'll be able to do the coding myself. Just search google for "bmw coding". Everything you need will be on the first page of results.
finally, some intelligence around here!
sounds like you have had the same experience. they still have not replied to my questions about this. they sure get back quick when you want to buy something though.
no big deal, there are lots of other suppliers on here who can hopefully provide better service.
Appreciate 0
      03-11-2011, 09:13 PM   #15
Sean05
Putcha ang ganda...
Philippines
89

 
Sean05's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 MR E92 M3
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Los Angeles, Brea CA.


Posts: 5,331
iTrader: (9)

Send a message via Yahoo to Sean05
Quote:
Originally Posted by MonteCarloM3 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sean05 View Post
Also ur in Canada they need ur ECU to do the coding how do u expect them to do the coding... Shit just boggles my mind. U should have done ur research before purchasing
holy crap, you're acting like coding is like unlocking the DNA code or something.
i've coded other cars myself with a laptop and a cable, it's pretty freaking easy. the key is to know what software modules need the adjustment.
i don't need FRM3, i have a 2010 duh...look below.
just some pointers on what software modules need to be coded is all i am asking for dummy.
i guess it's too much to ask for help around here, all i get are wise-asses who know nothing and talk a big game.
Oh my apologies im fawkin using my iphone so maybe u dont have one fawkin dummy I cant see ur sig... So if u said u have coded other cars u probably havent coded a BMW have u.... If it was that easy? Then everyone would have done it... Good luck on findin the software modules Like anyone is going to tell u... Why do u think EAS is not telling u or even at that NO one is going to tell u.... Just because u spent 2400 dollars u think they will tell u? I got nothin more to say... Business is business...
__________________
Appreciate 0
      03-11-2011, 11:32 PM   #16
MonteCarloM3
Banned
Uzbekistan
13

 
MonteCarloM3's Avatar
 
Drives: a shitty M3
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Uranus


Posts: 577
iTrader: (0)

exactly, I'll be taking my money elsewhere now and I'll also make sure others hear my experience.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:27 AM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST