BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > M3 (E90 / E92 / E93) > New and Preowned M3 Pricing, Ordering, Tracking / European Delivery / Dealer Reviews

E92-lighting

03-09-2011, 01:39 AM   #1
esk8mw
Private
Rep

Drives: 2011 e90 m3

Chicago resident - lease vs. buy vs. Owner's Choice??

I'm a prospective first-time car buyer in Chicago and looking for the best deal available from an "investment" standpoint. Assume I'm a buyer who can swing any of the options below and has a credit score around 800.

LEASING - I've been reading about the lease laws in Illinois and it appears that, as a Chicago resident, I am in the envious position of being in the single worst place in the country to lease a car. Chicago sales tax is at 10.25% and Illinois residents must pay sales tax on the ENTIRE COST of the car when leasing, not just the depreciation. Better yet, if we decide to buy at the end of the lease term, we are taxed AGAIN on the residual value. It is my understanding that there is no escape from this sales tax (even with ED?) because it is based on where you register the car, not where you bought it. (Did I mention state income taxes just increased from 3% to 5% for 2011?) Did I miss anything? If not, I think this effectively throws leasing out the window as an option.

BUYING - The best rate available right now for 60 month financing on an E90 is 1.9%, right? Is there any way to obtain a better rate? I know leases have MSDs to lower the MF, but I wasn't sure if BMW had some sort of a similar mechanism for financing arrangements. Obviously, with rates this low I wouldn't plan on putting any money down. At 1.9% (or lower?) this seems like a vastly superior option to leasing and it would be an easy decision if not for...