BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > BIMMERPOST Universal Forums > Professional Motorsport Racing Discussion (ALMS, DTM, Formula 1, Grand-AM, Le Mans, IRL, WRC, etc..)
 
INDustry distribution
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-15-2011, 04:13 AM   #1
UltimateBMW
Brigadier General
UltimateBMW's Avatar
105
Rep
3,287
Posts

 
Drives: MP4
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South

iTrader: (0)

F1 goes HD.

Now I just need a feed.

http://www.formula1.com/news/headlin...1/1/11634.html
__________________
Appreciate 0
      01-15-2011, 05:35 AM   #2
MontegoblueE92
Captain
MontegoblueE92's Avatar
20
Rep
958
Posts

 
Drives: It Like He Stole It
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: M-Town

iTrader: (0)

Just because SPEED has announced it yet doesn't mean they won't make the switch. There's still two months till the first race.
Appreciate 0
      01-15-2011, 11:01 AM   #3
O-cha
Brigadier General
O-cha's Avatar
81
Rep
4,729
Posts

 
Drives: Mcoupe
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: In front of you

iTrader: (2)

Send a message via AIM to O-cha
it was in hd.....
__________________
Appreciate 0
      01-15-2011, 03:12 PM   #4
Jaffster
New Member
0
Rep
9
Posts

 
Drives: Black
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: US

iTrader: (0)

I think some races were not in HD, proposed is Every race to be covered in HD.
Appreciate 0
      01-15-2011, 03:17 PM   #5
BrokenVert
Resident Kerbalnaut
BrokenVert's Avatar
United_States
148
Rep
10,076
Posts

 
Drives: Topless 135/Electric Boogaloo
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Fahrvergnügen/NY

iTrader: (0)

HD!
__________________
Appreciate 0
      01-15-2011, 04:03 PM   #6
MontegoblueE92
Captain
MontegoblueE92's Avatar
20
Rep
958
Posts

 
Drives: It Like He Stole It
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: M-Town

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by O-cha View Post
it was in hd.....
You're absolutely right! That's why it is the headline on the F1 site, so they can let everyone know they're doing the same thing they've been doing. Common sense fail on your part.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaffster View Post
I think some races were not in HD, proposed is Every race to be covered in HD.
No races have been in HD, ever. F1 records in HD but FOM downgrades it before it is released to broadcasters. One of the many idiotic things Ecclestone is at the helm of.
Appreciate 0
      01-15-2011, 04:37 PM   #7
Kyoshi71
Colonel
Kyoshi71's Avatar
35
Rep
2,528
Posts

 
Drives: 2010 M3 Coupe
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New York

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by O-cha View Post
it was in hd.....
+1
__________________
"But resist we much; we must; and we will much; about that be committed."
~Rev. Al Sharpton


2010 E92 M3|Silverstone II|M-DCT|NCSW|2MT|ZCW|ZPP|ZTP|302|507|Gas Guzzler Tax
Appreciate 0
      01-15-2011, 05:48 PM   #8
MontegoblueE92
Captain
MontegoblueE92's Avatar
20
Rep
958
Posts

 
Drives: It Like He Stole It
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: M-Town

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Formula 1 will be broadcast for the first time in true 'native' high definition this year, after Sky Germany announced on Tuesday its improved coverage plans for 2011.

AUTOSPORT revealed in November that Formula 1 chiefs were close to giving the green-light to full HD coverage of the sport this year - and had even ordered the equipment it would need to do so.

Sky would not be able to offer true HD coverage of F1 if Formula 1's own official feed was not broadcast in high definition - so its announcement suggests that Formula One Management has informed them that it is ready with its ambitions.

A number of broadcasters have shown F1 on their own HD channels – but this has previously been simply an upscaled version of the Standard Definition signal for improved picture clarity.
So no, you have never seen a race in HD.
Appreciate 0
      01-15-2011, 10:33 PM   #9
escobar929
Brigadier General
escobar929's Avatar
53
Rep
4,309
Posts

 
Drives: M235i
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Hollywood, FL

iTrader: (13)

Garage List
2015 M235i  [0.00]
this is great news, for those of you who think you've been watching it in HD, you're in for real treat, cause its gonna look completely diff in real HD, not the up-converted SD we've been watching
Appreciate 0
      02-02-2011, 05:56 PM   #10
dnvrdrvr
Captain Obvious
dnvrdrvr's Avatar
United_States
8
Rep
798
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 Carbon X5M
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Denver, CO

iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by UltimateBMW View Post
Now I just need a feed.
So, uh... I have no idea if this is againast any type of forum rule (so mods, go easy please!), but I happen to work for DIRECTV, which of course has a dedicated HD channel for SPEED. If you haven't been a customer for over two years you can sign up under my Friends & Family deal. Flyer with info attached.

FF_Offer.pdf

Actually if this isn't against the rules, I may post this in a general thread for more folks to take advantage of. Anyone know if it's a no-no?
__________________
Just a girl and her 550 ponies...
www.mw3motorsports.com
Appreciate 0
      02-02-2011, 06:10 PM   #11
Jaypod
Brigadier General
Jaypod's Avatar
No_Country
64
Rep
4,962
Posts

 
Drives: Frozen M3, AM V8V, 991 GT3
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (7)

^^ If you could hook me up with DIRECTV in Canada that would be great....
Appreciate 0
      02-02-2011, 06:17 PM   #12
dnvrdrvr
Captain Obvious
dnvrdrvr's Avatar
United_States
8
Rep
798
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 Carbon X5M
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Denver, CO

iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaypod View Post
^^ If you could hook me up with DIRECTV in Canada that would be great....
I would if I could! The only advice I can give there is that you should move to Mexico. They get it there for some reason... (OK, the reason has to do with where the satellites orbit, but that's a boring reason.)
__________________
Just a girl and her 550 ponies...
www.mw3motorsports.com
Appreciate 0
      02-02-2011, 06:36 PM   #13
Jaypod
Brigadier General
Jaypod's Avatar
No_Country
64
Rep
4,962
Posts

 
Drives: Frozen M3, AM V8V, 991 GT3
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (7)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dnvrdrvr View Post
I would if I could! The only advice I can give there is that you should move to Mexico. They get it there for some reason... (OK, the reason has to do with where the satellites orbit, but that's a boring reason.)

Oh no issue with signal - that isnt the problem. In Canada the CRTC wont let us have it due to Canadian content restraints. I tried to see I could buy one and bring it across, but because I had a CDN Credit Card and Address they said no!
Appreciate 0
      02-03-2011, 08:28 AM   #14
KingOfJericho
Major General
KingOfJericho's Avatar
United_States
95
Rep
5,195
Posts

 
Drives: Yes
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: CT

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2010 135i Coupe  [2.63]
Quote:
Originally Posted by MontegoblueE92 View Post
Just because SPEED has announced it yet doesn't mean they won't make the switch. There's still two months till the first race.
SPEED announced almost the same day that they would be carrying the HD feed...
__________________
The views and opinions expressed in this post are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Bimmerpost.

2010 S4 Current | 2010 BMW 135i Retired | 2006 Lotus Exige Retired
Appreciate 0
      02-03-2011, 11:53 AM   #15
dnvrdrvr
Captain Obvious
dnvrdrvr's Avatar
United_States
8
Rep
798
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 Carbon X5M
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Denver, CO

iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaypod View Post
Oh no issue with signal - that isnt the problem. In Canada the CRTC wont let us have it due to Canadian content restraints. I tried to see I could buy one and bring it across, but because I had a CDN Credit Card and Address they said no!
Just asked around and you are correct. It seems Dish has an exclusive agreement with the Canadian Gov't. They also have satellites in differing orbits than we do to support any of you brave enough to live waaaay up north. In Toronto you wouldn't have that issue tho.

...starting to wonder if modeling our healthcare after the canuks isn't a slippery slope to not being able to watch F1 in HD!
__________________
Just a girl and her 550 ponies...
www.mw3motorsports.com
Appreciate 0
      02-03-2011, 01:30 PM   #16
UltimateBMW
Brigadier General
UltimateBMW's Avatar
105
Rep
3,287
Posts

 
Drives: MP4
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South

iTrader: (0)

My preference would be a BBC1 HD feed. Since I prefer their commentary.

I know about torrents, but I'd like to find a legal way since I enjoy F1 and don't mind supporting it.

Thing is, it seems BBC really doesn't like for us colonists to watch their television. Don't think any satellite service can even pick up the BBC HD feed.

I haven't really looked deep into Sky yet, but I think that is also restricted.

If someone had a Racing Underground invite, that would be nice. But doesn't solve my legal concern.
__________________
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:00 PM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST