BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > BIMMERPOST Universal Forums > Off-Topic Discussions Board
 
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-30-2011, 09:58 PM   #1
Chrisrw
First Lieutenant
10
Rep
322
Posts

Drives: 335i
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Canada

iTrader: (4)

Apple TV, What a waste of my money...

So I have slowly been turned into an Apple guy. Everything they sell is easy to use, and fairly straightforward... Until today. I just got a new Apple TV unit. The unit allows me to spend money buying things but then I can't watch them. It is completely unable to connect to the iTunes store... And of course Apple has NO tech support... Can't even begin to explain how pissed off I am.

Anyone else have one of these and hate it or love it?
__________________

07 335i / Black on Red / Sport / Premium / 19'' Rims / Matte Black 18'' Winters / Vishnu / DCI / CF wrap / HID AE / OEM lip / H&R race / Titek / HKS
Appreciate 0
      01-30-2011, 10:11 PM   #2
aretardedorange
Banned
43
Rep
609
Posts

Drives: E60
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Empire State

iTrader: (6)

Not sure about the TV but my macbook trackpad is sagging towards the right... quality sucks when it comes to Apple. The dvd drive in my macbook can't even burn media.
Appreciate 0
      01-30-2011, 10:14 PM   #3
khaye1
Colonel
khaye1's Avatar
Philippines
44
Rep
2,733
Posts

Drives: '15 MG/SO M4
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: San Diego

iTrader: (8)

are you sure you have your network setup correctly?
__________________
Appreciate 0
      01-30-2011, 10:18 PM   #4
chango335
Lieutenant
chango335's Avatar
12
Rep
567
Posts

Drives: 2009 E90 LCI 335xdrive M Sport
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2007 E92 335  [0.00]
I have 3 Apple TV's (1 old gen, 2 new gen) and they are all running perfectly. Setting up is extremely easy as well...you must have made an error somewhere when trying to connect to iTunes. I've been streaming music and movies from my iPad and iPhone to the AppleTV just to try out the new features and they work flawlessly.
__________________
2007 AW BMW E92 335 M Sport (Retired)
2009 AW BMW LCI E90 335 xdrive M Sport
2010 Silver BMW LCI E90 328 xdrive (Retired)
2013 Sapphire Black BMW X3 2.8i
Appreciate 0
      01-30-2011, 10:20 PM   #5
FDfranklin
d[-_-]b
FDfranklin's Avatar
25
Rep
780
Posts

Drives: 2011 LeMans Blue 135i
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Tampa, Fl

iTrader: (1)

I'm not trendy enough to own one
__________________
Appreciate 0
      01-30-2011, 11:10 PM   #6
JayKay335i
Banned
Egypt
84
Rep
5,047
Posts

Drives: ///M323 DCT
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: North Dakota; its best DUHHHHHH

iTrader: (1)

It actually sounds like a reasonably good idea if you dont want to buy a ps3/xbox for streaming media. Apple loves to sell products which have sole purposes of you purchasing more shit from apple. What type of media formats can you stream to that thing? Any converting functions? Is it just mp4, mp3, and avi? I mean itunes cant even support my 4-12gig movies, regardless of the format.
Appreciate 0
      01-30-2011, 11:25 PM   #7
Chrisrw
First Lieutenant
10
Rep
322
Posts

Drives: 335i
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Canada

iTrader: (4)

Don't know how I can set it up wrong... I plugged it in and entered my apple ID account... That's all there is to do. I've even reset the entire unit and started from scratch again.

Everything else I've had from apple was great... but seems that this thing sucks.

When I turn it on... I only have four headings :

MOVIES / INTERNET / COMPUTERS / SETTINGS

Where the crap are the rest of em??

CHANGO: When you set your up did you have just the four to start?
__________________

07 335i / Black on Red / Sport / Premium / 19'' Rims / Matte Black 18'' Winters / Vishnu / DCI / CF wrap / HID AE / OEM lip / H&R race / Titek / HKS
Appreciate 0
      01-30-2011, 11:28 PM   #8
TK-421
Registered Sex Offender
United_States
149
Rep
4,765
Posts

Drives: E46 M3 | 1JZ S13
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL

iTrader: (0)

I've been living mine since I first plugged it in. I'm actually using it now to watch james and the giant peach
Appreciate 0
      01-30-2011, 11:32 PM   #9
Chrisrw
First Lieutenant
10
Rep
322
Posts

Drives: 335i
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Canada

iTrader: (4)

Oh, and the FUUKin Apple remote makes my Macbook do stupid sh!t when I'm trying to use the Apple TV. Like start playing music or movies. This entire thing is a stupid piece of sh!t.
__________________

07 335i / Black on Red / Sport / Premium / 19'' Rims / Matte Black 18'' Winters / Vishnu / DCI / CF wrap / HID AE / OEM lip / H&R race / Titek / HKS
Appreciate 0
      01-31-2011, 03:26 AM   #10
bluespeed117
Lieutenant Colonel
bluespeed117's Avatar
United_States
27
Rep
1,529
Posts

Drives: e90 328i
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: so-cal

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 e90 328i  [0.00]
im not sure where your problems lay but my uncle brought his apple tv to my house, plugged it in, accessed my wi-fi, and started watching movies off of netflix in no time.
__________________
Muffler Delete/ Tien S-tech Springs / De-badged /BBS LM Reps 19"/ Nexen tires/DTM M5 Front bumper/ Injen Intake/Blacklines/M-tech Rear/Custom Muffler Tips.... More mods to come
Appreciate 0
      01-31-2011, 06:33 AM   #11
NYCGP
WTF are you looking at?
NYCGP's Avatar
59
Rep
1,561
Posts

Drives: Bandwagon
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Jungle

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chrisrw View Post
When I turn it on... I only have four headings :

MOVIES / INTERNET / COMPUTERS / SETTINGS

Hmmmm.... you're right. I guess you don't have any way of trouble shooting the problems you have. From the sound of it... You plugged it in and hit the power button. I can't imagine what else you would possibly need to do to get your AppleTV to work.
Appreciate 0
      01-31-2011, 09:04 AM   #12
Feyd
Major
Feyd's Avatar
62
Rep
1,241
Posts

Drives: a DEEZZULL
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Chicago, IL

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chrisrw View Post
Oh, and the FUUKin Apple remote makes my Macbook do stupid sh!t when I'm trying to use the Apple TV. Like start playing music or movies. This entire thing is a stupid piece of sh!t.
Okay... quit acting like a fucking victim, no one cares.

http://support.apple.com/kb/ht1619

I too have 3 apple TVs (all current generation). One connected directly to a router and the other two connected wirelessly. They've all worked flawlessly since the first day and I didn't have one bit of difficulty.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Chrisrw View Post
And of course Apple has NO tech support... Can't even begin to explain how pissed off I am.

If you can bring yourself to stop whining like a little bitch long enough, you can go here http://www.apple.com/ and click on the giant fucking "SUPPORT" button at the right of the menu bar. All answers lie within.

Appreciate 0
      01-31-2011, 09:09 AM   #13
escobar929
Brigadier General
escobar929's Avatar
58
Rep
4,374
Posts

Drives: M235i
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Hollywood, FL

iTrader: (14)

Garage List
2015 M235i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chrisrw View Post
Oh, and the FUUKin Apple remote makes my Macbook do stupid sh!t when I'm trying to use the Apple TV. Like start playing music or movies. This entire thing is a stupid piece of sh!t.
you have to pair the remote the device you want to use it w/

you cant blame the product when its not being used properly
Appreciate 0
      01-31-2011, 10:51 AM   #14
MisterSkiMask
Lieutenant Colonel
43
Rep
1,954
Posts

Drives: I Can not say
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: you must not know

iTrader: (0)

I have an old Apple TV, it is not perfect, I occasionally have to re-boot it. I definitely like it, and have found apple support to be good.
Appreciate 0
      01-31-2011, 11:05 AM   #15
JayKay335i
Banned
Egypt
84
Rep
5,047
Posts

Drives: ///M323 DCT
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: North Dakota; its best DUHHHHHH

iTrader: (1)

OP no read manual!
Appreciate 0
      01-31-2011, 11:10 AM   #16
quagmire
I am Gundam
quagmire's Avatar
33
Rep
1,166
Posts

Drives: 2014 Cadillac ATS 3.6 AWD
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: USA

iTrader: (0)

I bought my parents a 1st-gen 160 GB Apple TV and they love it. The only problem they have had with it is that where it is in the house, the WiFi reception sucks so uploading pictures to it was extremely slow. But now that my brother setup a range extender, everything is working perfectly.
Appreciate 0
      01-31-2011, 01:00 PM   #17
Freakazoid
Captain
Freakazoid's Avatar
38
Rep
967
Posts

Drives: Saturn Redline
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Pittsburgh

iTrader: (0)

true apple owner fashion
Appreciate 0
      01-31-2011, 01:12 PM   #18
TK-421
Registered Sex Offender
United_States
149
Rep
4,765
Posts

Drives: E46 M3 | 1JZ S13
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Feyd View Post
Okay... quit acting like a fucking victim, no one cares.

http://support.apple.com/kb/ht1619

I too have 3 apple TVs (all current generation). One connected directly to a router and the other two connected wirelessly. They've all worked flawlessly since the first day and I didn't have one bit of difficulty.






If you can bring yourself to stop whining like a little bitch long enough, you can go here http://www.apple.com/ and click on the giant fucking "SUPPORT" button at the right of the menu bar. All answers lie within.

OWNED
Appreciate 0
      01-31-2011, 02:45 PM   #19
Chrisrw
First Lieutenant
10
Rep
322
Posts

Drives: 335i
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Canada

iTrader: (4)

Oh ya, I sure got owned by someone telling me to go to the settings (which I've done) and by clicking on a "support" link which I have done as well. I even emailed Apple... Their response.."well... It's should work."

So far so good... Oh well.
__________________

07 335i / Black on Red / Sport / Premium / 19'' Rims / Matte Black 18'' Winters / Vishnu / DCI / CF wrap / HID AE / OEM lip / H&R race / Titek / HKS
Appreciate 0
      01-31-2011, 03:10 PM   #20
Feyd
Major
Feyd's Avatar
62
Rep
1,241
Posts

Drives: a DEEZZULL
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Chicago, IL

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chrisrw View Post
I even emailed Apple... Their response.."well... It's should work."
Sounds like its either bum equipment, or user error if that was their response. Either way, ranting about it in OT isn't the solution.
Appreciate 0
      01-31-2011, 03:41 PM   #21
NYCGP
WTF are you looking at?
NYCGP's Avatar
59
Rep
1,561
Posts

Drives: Bandwagon
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Jungle

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Feyd View Post
Sounds like its either bum equipment, or user error if that was their response. Either way, ranting about it in OT isn't the solution.
Feyd's right... Ranting in the OT is for our entertainment. If a solution appears it was merely accidental.
Appreciate 0
      01-31-2011, 03:57 PM   #22
solefald
Nigerian Prince
solefald's Avatar
Vatican City State
80
Rep
2,171
Posts

Drives: '11 F25
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: San Diego, CA

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
'11 BMW F25  [0.00]
this screams "user error" all over it. maybe you should RTFM before you come out and start blaming shit on someone else...
__________________
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:33 PM.




m3post
m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST