BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Suspension | Brakes | Chassis
 
ESS Tuning
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-02-2014, 09:01 AM   #23
edwinm3
Lieutenant Colonel
 
edwinm3's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 MELBOURNE RED M3
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Doral

Posts: 1,727
iTrader: (8)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vacek View Post
Did this today and it worked like a charm !!

I took a wild guess and removed the rear passenger wheel, and jumped that sensor. I reset everything while only this one was jumped, and the red brake light reset nicely, along with the mileage for next service.

Plugged it back in, and all is great now.
Great!
__________________

Evolve Stage 2, GTS-DCT Software, Akrapovic Exhaust, AA Catless X Pipe, AA Geen Air filter, AA Pulley, Stoptech BBK, KW V3 Coilovers
"If it feels like it's on rails, you're not driving fast enough"
edwinm3 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-09-2014, 09:23 AM   #24
d0o0fy
Private
 
d0o0fy's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 E92 M3 ZCP
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Let's Go Pens

Posts: 66
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vacek View Post
Did this today and it worked like a charm !!

I took a wild guess and removed the rear passenger wheel, and jumped that sensor. I reset everything while only this one was jumped, and the red brake light reset nicely, along with the mileage for next service.

Plugged it back in, and all is great now.
Alright, I have tried several times now and still no luck, so I'm at a loss. I have tried resetting without changing anything on the sensors; obviously didn't work. Tried resetting while front right was jumped; didn't worked. Tried putting back the sensors in the stock pads (they are usually tied to the control arms) and reset; didn't work either.

The sensors (fronts and back) look good and don't seem damaged or anything.

I learned my lessons and will reset before the counter runs down next time, but it got down REALLY fast!

Anybody have any idea?
d0o0fy is online now   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-09-2014, 12:01 PM   #25
alex1988
Captain
 
alex1988's Avatar
 
Drives: Asian Cutties
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Vancouver, BC

Posts: 714
iTrader: (8)

Quote:
Originally Posted by d0o0fy View Post
Alright, I have tried several times now and still no luck, so I'm at a loss. I have tried resetting without changing anything on the sensors; obviously didn't work. Tried resetting while front right was jumped; didn't worked. Tried putting back the sensors in the stock pads (they are usually tied to the control arms) and reset; didn't work either.

The sensors (fronts and back) look good and don't seem damaged or anything.

I learned my lessons and will reset before the counter runs down next time, but it got down REALLY fast!

Anybody have any idea?
you sure you jumped the right wires? "disconnect the sensor and jump the two wires on the harness connector that the sensor connects to"...
You need to take out the two wires inside the harness connector and jump them.
alex1988 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-09-2014, 12:13 PM   #26
d0o0fy
Private
 
d0o0fy's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 E92 M3 ZCP
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Let's Go Pens

Posts: 66
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by alex1988
Quote:
Originally Posted by d0o0fy View Post
Alright, I have tried several times now and still no luck, so I'm at a loss. I have tried resetting without changing anything on the sensors; obviously didn't work. Tried resetting while front right was jumped; didn't worked. Tried putting back the sensors in the stock pads (they are usually tied to the control arms) and reset; didn't work either.

The sensors (fronts and back) look good and don't seem damaged or anything.

I learned my lessons and will reset before the counter runs down next time, but it got down REALLY fast!

Anybody have any idea?
you sure you jumped the right wires? "disconnect the sensor and jump the two wires on the harness connector that the sensor connects to"...
You need to take out the two wires inside the harness connector and jump them.
Yup that's what I did. Disconnected the white connector from inside the little black box in the front wheel well and shorted it with a jumper wire.
d0o0fy is online now   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-12-2014, 03:25 PM   #27
edwinm3
Lieutenant Colonel
 
edwinm3's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 MELBOURNE RED M3
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Doral

Posts: 1,727
iTrader: (8)

Quote:
Originally Posted by d0o0fy
Quote:
Originally Posted by alex1988
Quote:
Originally Posted by d0o0fy View Post
Alright, I have tried several times now and still no luck, so I'm at a loss. I have tried resetting without changing anything on the sensors; obviously didn't work. Tried resetting while front right was jumped; didn't worked. Tried putting back the sensors in the stock pads (they are usually tied to the control arms) and reset; didn't work either.

The sensors (fronts and back) look good and don't seem damaged or anything.

I learned my lessons and will reset before the counter runs down next time, but it got down REALLY fast!

Anybody have any idea?
you sure you jumped the right wires? "disconnect the sensor and jump the two wires on the harness connector that the sensor connects to"...
You need to take out the two wires inside the harness connector and jump them.
Yup that's what I did. Disconnected the white connector from inside the little black box in the front wheel well and shorted it with a jumper wire.
That should do the trick, it works on all years
__________________

Evolve Stage 2, GTS-DCT Software, Akrapovic Exhaust, AA Catless X Pipe, AA Geen Air filter, AA Pulley, Stoptech BBK, KW V3 Coilovers
"If it feels like it's on rails, you're not driving fast enough"
edwinm3 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-14-2014, 02:55 PM   #28
d0o0fy
Private
 
d0o0fy's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 E92 M3 ZCP
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Let's Go Pens

Posts: 66
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by edwinm3 View Post
That should do the trick, it works on all years
I think I'm too thick to make this happen. I've tried I don't know how many times now, that damn thing still won't reset!

Here is my jump wire at the sensor connector, and I'm 100% sure that the circuit is bridged.



I bought one (yep just one I'm a cheap bastard) new sensor and connected it at the front right. Performed the reset procedure on the instrument cluster, and I still end up with the damned dashes! I guess my next option is either to buy the complete set of sensors to replace my perfectly good sensors or let my dealer deal with this whole mess.

Any other ideas?
d0o0fy is online now   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-16-2014, 02:16 AM   #29
alex1988
Captain
 
alex1988's Avatar
 
Drives: Asian Cutties
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Vancouver, BC

Posts: 714
iTrader: (8)

Quote:
Originally Posted by d0o0fy View Post
I think I'm too thick to make this happen. I've tried I don't know how many times now, that damn thing still won't reset!

Here is my jump wire at the sensor connector, and I'm 100% sure that the circuit is bridged.



I bought one (yep just one I'm a cheap bastard) new sensor and connected it at the front right. Performed the reset procedure on the instrument cluster, and I still end up with the damned dashes! I guess my next option is either to buy the complete set of sensors to replace my perfectly good sensors or let my dealer deal with this whole mess.

Any other ideas?
Use a small screw driver to push the two wires out of the white connector and jump them.
alex1988 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-01-2014, 05:14 PM   #30
M3PO
Colonel
 
M3PO's Avatar
 
Drives: '08 IB E92
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: OC

Posts: 2,721
iTrader: (6)

Hey guys, I just did this procedure of shorting out the rear sensor harness and it appeared to work...for a while.

About 2500 miles later, I am got a yellow warning saying that the rear brakes needed to be serviced in 1000 miles, then 800, then 600. It's counting down faster than the distance I am driving.

Time for a new sensor?
__________________
2008 IB E92 M3| BBS | KW | Arkym | Platte Forme A.G. | Active Autowerke | K&N | Fabspeed | Dinan | Evolve-R
M3PO is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-02-2014, 06:45 AM   #31
edwinm3
Lieutenant Colonel
 
edwinm3's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 MELBOURNE RED M3
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Doral

Posts: 1,727
iTrader: (8)

^try doing all three corners at the same time. A new sensor is never needed unless it's damaged or worn out.
__________________

Evolve Stage 2, GTS-DCT Software, Akrapovic Exhaust, AA Catless X Pipe, AA Geen Air filter, AA Pulley, Stoptech BBK, KW V3 Coilovers
"If it feels like it's on rails, you're not driving fast enough"
edwinm3 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-05-2014, 01:25 AM   #32
roastbeef
Captain
 
roastbeef's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Orange County, CA

Posts: 738
iTrader: (0)

damn, just found this thread after i made a new thread about it. think the dealer would take advice from a customer to reset all three sensors at the same time?
__________________
roastbeef is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-05-2014, 12:05 PM   #33
edwinm3
Lieutenant Colonel
 
edwinm3's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 MELBOURNE RED M3
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Doral

Posts: 1,727
iTrader: (8)

Quote:
Originally Posted by roastbeef View Post
think the dealer would take advice from a customer to reset all three sensors at the same time?
dealer? doubt it, they'll stick you with new sensors
__________________

Evolve Stage 2, GTS-DCT Software, Akrapovic Exhaust, AA Catless X Pipe, AA Geen Air filter, AA Pulley, Stoptech BBK, KW V3 Coilovers
"If it feels like it's on rails, you're not driving fast enough"
edwinm3 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-07-2014, 07:23 PM   #34
M3PO
Colonel
 
M3PO's Avatar
 
Drives: '08 IB E92
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: OC

Posts: 2,721
iTrader: (6)

Quote:
Originally Posted by edwinm3 View Post
^try doing all three corners at the same time. A new sensor is never needed unless it's damaged or worn out.
Shit, getting the whole car up in the air at once is a bitch. Between my lip, skirts, the jack pads, and ride height, it's damn near impossible.

I need to check to make sure there isn't any wear on the sensor.
__________________
2008 IB E92 M3| BBS | KW | Arkym | Platte Forme A.G. | Active Autowerke | K&N | Fabspeed | Dinan | Evolve-R
M3PO is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-07-2014, 08:31 PM   #35
edwinm3
Lieutenant Colonel
 
edwinm3's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 MELBOURNE RED M3
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Doral

Posts: 1,727
iTrader: (8)

Quote:
Originally Posted by M3PO
Quote:
Originally Posted by edwinm3 View Post
^try doing all three corners at the same time. A new sensor is never needed unless it's damaged or worn out.
Shit, getting the whole car up in the air at once is a bitch. Between my lip, skirts, the jack pads, and ride height, it's damn near impossible.

I need to check to make sure there isn't any wear on the sensor.
Double check the sensors for damage also
__________________

Evolve Stage 2, GTS-DCT Software, Akrapovic Exhaust, AA Catless X Pipe, AA Geen Air filter, AA Pulley, Stoptech BBK, KW V3 Coilovers
"If it feels like it's on rails, you're not driving fast enough"
edwinm3 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:00 PM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST