BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > BIMMERPOST Universal Forums > Off-Topic Discussions Board
 
Evolve Automotive
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-03-2011, 01:57 PM   #1
jpsum
Major
jpsum's Avatar
United_States
47
Rep
1,089
Posts

 
Drives: 2010 TSX
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: New Haven area

iTrader: (4)

Apple failed me. Buying an alarm clock

Anyone know of an alarm clock that can run on AC as primary power source and internal battery as secondary? What I mean is a clock that can actually "operate" on either power, not just "remembering" the time under battery mode.
Appreciate 0
      01-03-2011, 02:06 PM   #2
TK-421
Registered Sex Offender
United_States
143
Rep
4,765
Posts

 
Drives: E46 M3 | 1JZ S13
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL

iTrader: (0)

literally every "everything" store like walmart and target will carry one
__________________
Stop putting stuff like painted reflectors and premium package in your signature. You're embarrassing.
Appreciate 0
      01-03-2011, 02:09 PM   #3
jpsum
Major
jpsum's Avatar
United_States
47
Rep
1,089
Posts

 
Drives: 2010 TSX
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: New Haven area

iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by TK-421 View Post
literally every "everything" store like walmart and target will carry one
All the ones that I've seen does not "operate" while on battery. It just remembers the time so when AC power comes back, you don't have to reset the time/alarm.
Appreciate 0
      01-03-2011, 02:10 PM   #4
Crimson92
Smiling Politely
Crimson92's Avatar
United_States
301
Rep
28,647
Posts

 
Drives: Like a boss
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Whales Vagina

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jpsum View Post
Anyone know of an alarm clock that can run on AC as primary power source and internal battery as secondary? What I mean is a clock that can actually "operate" on either power, not just "remembering" the time under battery mode.
you know there is a work around..

in reality its bullshit that this happened but it still worked.
Appreciate 0
      01-03-2011, 02:14 PM   #5
ragingclue
One cam is enough
ragingclue's Avatar
87
Rep
6,815
Posts

 
Drives: VF
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: mulletville

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crimson92 View Post
you know there is a work around..

in reality its bullshit that this happened but it still worked.
It was all over Engadget, ZDNet, etc... a while ago.

Apple should have done a better job of informing iPhone owners. But what do they care, really? No matter what goes wrong on the phone, their customer base is very solid, regardless of issues with the product or their callousness towards paying customers.

Their kool aid is strong. They will be ok.
Appreciate 0
      01-03-2011, 02:18 PM   #6
Crimson92
Smiling Politely
Crimson92's Avatar
United_States
301
Rep
28,647
Posts

 
Drives: Like a boss
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Whales Vagina

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ragingclue View Post
It was all over Engadget, ZDNet, etc... a while ago.

Apple should have done a better job of informing iPhone owners. But what do they care, really? No matter what goes wrong on the phone, their customer base is very solid, regardless of issues with the product or their callousness towards paying customers.

Their kool aid is strong. They will be ok.
This wont hurt them...the public doesnt really know about this little issue so it will get swept under the carpet much like the pdf exploit.


that being said, my windows phone rocks, but really needs an update.
Appreciate 0
      01-03-2011, 02:20 PM   #7
jpsum
Major
jpsum's Avatar
United_States
47
Rep
1,089
Posts

 
Drives: 2010 TSX
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: New Haven area

iTrader: (4)

I just can't take anymore chances. I fly a lot. I can't be worrying about missing a flight because Apple can't figure out day light saving or new years.
Appreciate 0
      01-03-2011, 02:20 PM   #8
TK-421
Registered Sex Offender
United_States
143
Rep
4,765
Posts

 
Drives: E46 M3 | 1JZ S13
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL

iTrader: (0)

you could download a clock app that has an alarm - mine does
__________________
Stop putting stuff like painted reflectors and premium package in your signature. You're embarrassing.
Appreciate 0
      01-03-2011, 02:21 PM   #9
BTM
Banned
United_States
172
Rep
10,314
Posts

 
Drives: A///MERICAN!!!
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: A///MERICA!!!

iTrader: (11)

Garage List
My alarm went off fine, either way I won't be renewing with ATT/iphone if the experience continues like this and the new products continue...the network sucks and once you're past the initial "cool apple" factor of the phone it really is more often a nuisance that drops calls and loses service as soon as you need to look something up than a productive device.
Appreciate 0
      01-03-2011, 02:25 PM   #10
ragingclue
One cam is enough
ragingclue's Avatar
87
Rep
6,815
Posts

 
Drives: VF
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: mulletville

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crimson92 View Post
This wont hurt them...the public doesnt really know about this little issue so it will get swept under the carpet much like the pdf exploit.


that being said, my windows phone rocks, but really needs an update.
Between the DST change alarm clock issue, and the New Years alarm clock issue, maybe they need to start revisiting basics before stuffing the cutting edge stuff in there.

Call me old-fashioned, but I rely on my cell phone very heavily for two things:

1) Make and retain calls.
2) Wake my ass up so I don't get fired.

The fact that these two elements were overlooked as much as they were is really indicative of where the phone market itself is headed.... Toy first, utility second.
Appreciate 0
      01-03-2011, 02:26 PM   #11
NYCGarbagePrince
Major
50
Rep
1,437
Posts

 
Drives: X6 50i
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: NYC

iTrader: (0)

Hahaha... Apple's stock hit an all time high today. Something tells me they are gonna be alright.
Appreciate 0
      01-03-2011, 02:31 PM   #12
jpsum
Major
jpsum's Avatar
United_States
47
Rep
1,089
Posts

 
Drives: 2010 TSX
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: New Haven area

iTrader: (4)

you guys are no help.
Appreciate 0
      01-03-2011, 02:34 PM   #13
Memphis1
Lieutenant Colonel
Memphis1's Avatar
United_States
33
Rep
1,843
Posts

 
Drives: Z4 SDrive 35i
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: CT

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ragingclue View Post
"Call me old-fashioned, but I rely on my cuckoo-clock very heavily"
fixed...
__________________
Appreciate 0
      01-03-2011, 02:46 PM   #14
OlivaresAnthony
Colonel
OlivaresAnthony's Avatar
United_States
26
Rep
2,097
Posts

 
Drives: E90 325i
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: San Diego, CA

iTrader: (6)

Garage List
2006 325i  [5.00]
2007 335i  [0.00]
You could just set your TV to turn on at a certain time and use that as an alarm.
__________________
E90 325i|Sparkling Graphite Metallic|Steptronic|Black Leatherette/Dark Burl Interior|OEM Alarm|35%Front/5%Rear Tint|RD LED License Plate Lights|Rear Fogs Activated|Debadged|Smoked Sidemarkers|Blacklines|Depo P90v2|Matte Black Grille|BMS PBX|AFE Drop In|Charcoal Filter Delete|Air Scoops| RM Silicone Intake Hose| Magnaflow 14815| 19" Avant Garde M310|Continental DWS|M3 Lip Spoiler
Appreciate 0
      01-03-2011, 02:47 PM   #15
Brunotheboxer
Brigadier General
Brunotheboxer's Avatar
United_States
79
Rep
3,003
Posts

 
Drives: 2014 Shelby GT500.
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Boston/Cape Cod

iTrader: (0)

Buy a pet rooster.
__________________


"...I maybe drunk, but you're ugly, and I can sober up..."
Appreciate 0
      01-03-2011, 03:06 PM   #16
Quick6EF
Lieutenant
Quick6EF's Avatar
23
Rep
488
Posts

 
Drives: E92 Space Gray
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Boston

iTrader: (0)

I use my cell and a backup alarm clock that I place across the room (to actually drag me out of bed)

In case anyone actually cares
__________________
Appreciate 0
      01-03-2011, 03:23 PM   #17
BrokenVert
Resident Kerbalnaut
BrokenVert's Avatar
United_States
148
Rep
10,077
Posts

 
Drives: Topless 135/Electric Boogaloo
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Fahrvergnügen/NY

iTrader: (0)

What are the dst alarm clock and new years alarm clock issues?

I have an iPhone and my daily alarms haven't been messed up at all

My biggest issue is that since the os4 update my 3GS will freeze and say I have service when I actually dont
__________________
Appreciate 0
      01-03-2011, 03:26 PM   #18
TK-421
Registered Sex Offender
United_States
143
Rep
4,765
Posts

 
Drives: E46 M3 | 1JZ S13
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BrokenVert View Post
What are the dsg alarm clock and new years alarm clock issues?

I have an iPhone and my daily alarms haven't been messed up at all
I'm beating you by 67 Gamerscore
__________________
Stop putting stuff like painted reflectors and premium package in your signature. You're embarrassing.
Appreciate 0
      01-03-2011, 03:28 PM   #19
BrokenVert
Resident Kerbalnaut
BrokenVert's Avatar
United_States
148
Rep
10,077
Posts

 
Drives: Topless 135/Electric Boogaloo
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Fahrvergnügen/NY

iTrader: (0)

Did you play graw or forza 2 to have an extra 2G?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TK-421 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrokenVert View Post
What are the dsg alarm clock and new years alarm clock issues?

I have an iPhone and my daily alarms haven't been messed up at all
I'm beating you by 67 Gamerscore
__________________
Appreciate 0
      01-03-2011, 03:28 PM   #20
Quick6EF
Lieutenant
Quick6EF's Avatar
23
Rep
488
Posts

 
Drives: E92 Space Gray
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Boston

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by TK-421 View Post
I'm beating you by 67 Gamerscore

check out this herbert (not you TK, the guy who reached 500k)


Legit: http://www.1milliongamerscore.com/

__________________
Appreciate 0
      01-03-2011, 03:36 PM   #21
TK-421
Registered Sex Offender
United_States
143
Rep
4,765
Posts

 
Drives: E46 M3 | 1JZ S13
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BrokenVert View Post
Did you play graw or forza 2 to have an extra 2G?
both lol but i have 970 in Forza 2, and 575 in graw. 1942 joint strike is what got me - 127/200 (while at a friend's house with my tag signed in)
__________________
Stop putting stuff like painted reflectors and premium package in your signature. You're embarrassing.
Appreciate 0
      01-03-2011, 03:50 PM   #22
ragingclue
One cam is enough
ragingclue's Avatar
87
Rep
6,815
Posts

 
Drives: VF
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: mulletville

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BrokenVert View Post
What are the dst alarm clock and new years alarm clock issues?

I have an iPhone and my daily alarms haven't been messed up at all
DST alarm fail

NYE Alarm fail

If you google either "DST iphone alarm fail" or "new year iphone alarm fail", you'll find plenty of info.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:40 PM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST