BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > M3 (E90 / E92 / E93) > General M3 Forum (E90 + E92 + E93)
 
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-02-2011, 12:10 AM   #1
brandonwuwux3
Captain
 
Drives: Jet black E92 m3 DCT
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: SOCAL 626

Posts: 703
iTrader: (2)

adaptive headlight error?

anyone know what this is? i just got the warning light today, help appreciated
brandonwuwux3 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-02-2011, 07:33 AM   #2
elm3
M3 Lover
 
elm3's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 e92 M3 Interlagos Blue
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Canton, GA.

Posts: 1,857
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
I think that it means that your headlights won't turn when you turn your steering wheel like they supposed to do.
__________________
'09 E92 ///M3 Interlagos Blue, 6MT, Silver Novillo Leather, CF Trim, Premium Package, Technology Package, Cold Weather Package, Premium Sound, 19" Wheels, Moonroof-Toy/ '14 335i, Sport Line, Premium Package, Technology Package, 19" wheels, Heated Seats - Daily Driver/ '04 Yamaha R1 - Toy/ '06 Yamaha Raptor 350-Toy

Last edited by elm3; 03-02-2011 at 10:16 AM.
elm3 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-02-2011, 09:18 AM   #3
SchnellM3
Digger
 
SchnellM3's Avatar
 
Drives: 03 E46 M3, 09 E92 M3, 09 X6 50
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Pa

Posts: 2,616
iTrader: (5)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by elm3 View Post
I think that it means that your headlight won't turn when you turn your steering wheel like they supposed to do.
I agree with this but wonder if it also effects how the lights level themselves as well? I assume that it is all in one system but am not a 100% sure on how they work. Should be a warranty fix
__________________
2009 E92 M3 /// Melbourne Red /// Fox Red /// M DKG

Full Innotech Exhaust - DINAN Intake - IND Engine Bay Appearance - IND Hand Stitched Boot Covers - and much more....
SchnellM3 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-02-2011, 10:16 AM   #4
elm3
M3 Lover
 
elm3's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 e92 M3 Interlagos Blue
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Canton, GA.

Posts: 1,857
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by SchnellM3 View Post
I agree with this but wonder if it also effects how the lights level themselves as well? I assume that it is all in one system but am not a 100% sure on how they work. Should be a warranty fix
My understanding, and I can be wrong here, that the headlights will level without the light switch being on the Active selection. But you might be right, it could be all together in one system. Either way, I would take it to the dealer, it is still under warranty.
__________________
'09 E92 ///M3 Interlagos Blue, 6MT, Silver Novillo Leather, CF Trim, Premium Package, Technology Package, Cold Weather Package, Premium Sound, 19" Wheels, Moonroof-Toy/ '14 335i, Sport Line, Premium Package, Technology Package, 19" wheels, Heated Seats - Daily Driver/ '04 Yamaha R1 - Toy/ '06 Yamaha Raptor 350-Toy
elm3 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-02-2011, 10:34 AM   #5
mot
Banned
 
Drives: e92 AW M3 6MT
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Bay Area, California

Posts: 941
iTrader: (8)

For a problem like this or something similar, would the dealer blame you for having an aftermarket AE kit (assuming you do)? I am just curious. Tia.
mot is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-02-2011, 10:58 AM   #6
elm3
M3 Lover
 
elm3's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 e92 M3 Interlagos Blue
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Canton, GA.

Posts: 1,857
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by mot View Post
For a problem like this or something similar, would the dealer blame you for having an aftermarket AE kit (assuming you do)? I am just curious. Tia.
I would not think so, they will have to really justified that the malfunction was due to the AEs. If in doubt, I would just put the stock ones on until they figured out what went wrong. Just my two cents.
__________________
'09 E92 ///M3 Interlagos Blue, 6MT, Silver Novillo Leather, CF Trim, Premium Package, Technology Package, Cold Weather Package, Premium Sound, 19" Wheels, Moonroof-Toy/ '14 335i, Sport Line, Premium Package, Technology Package, 19" wheels, Heated Seats - Daily Driver/ '04 Yamaha R1 - Toy/ '06 Yamaha Raptor 350-Toy
elm3 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-02-2011, 04:21 PM   #7
WillC310
Lieutenant
 
Drives: A car
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Los Angeles

Posts: 422
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mot View Post
For a problem like this or something similar, would the dealer blame you for having an aftermarket AE kit (assuming you do)? I am just curious. Tia.
I wouldn't put it past a dealer. BMW has gotten really stingy lately...
WillC310 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-02-2011, 11:02 PM   #8
BMWBoss
Lieutenant
 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: New Jersey

Posts: 474
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2008 BMW M3  [0.00]
I used to get this error message from time to time when I had my 335, but it would eventually go away once I stopped and restarted the car.
BMWBoss is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-16-2011, 09:27 AM   #9
py0413
Major
 
py0413's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 M5
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: BC

Posts: 1,178
iTrader: (2)

mine came on last fall but was gone after restarting next morning. now it came back on last night and I did restart the car a few times, but didn't seem to go away this time. I guess it's time to visit dealership again@@ sigh...
__________________
Must stop eating..............
py0413 is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      03-18-2011, 05:40 AM   #10
aka_phox
Captain
 
aka_phox's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 M3 Convertilble
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Italy

Posts: 607
iTrader: (0)

Mine did the same thing less than a month after I had mine. If it doesnt go away, like others have mentioned, take it to the dealer. My dealer changed out the adaptive light controller. That might be the issue. But if it comes back Again, it maybe be something in your area that is setting it off. This is also what happened to me... I drive thru the Air Force base and had this error come up twice inthe same place. Probably some interfearance on base; radar or something.
aka_phox is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:00 AM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST