BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Engine, Transmission, Exhaust, Drivetrain, ECU Software Modifications
 
GTB Performance
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      10-12-2009, 11:56 AM   #1
consolidated
Major
 
consolidated's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 M3
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Texas

Posts: 1,359
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Akrapovic CEL update

Information from Akrapovic this morning is that they are testing a "black box" solution for the US market. They will ship as soon as testing is complete. Happy to hear they are actually working a long term solution instead of another sensor simulator that's a crap shoot.
consolidated is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-12-2009, 12:20 PM   #2
Moxie
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Moxie's Avatar
 
Drives: AW 328d Touring/SG 335d
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Stuttgart

Posts: 1,846
iTrader: (11)

Quote:
Originally Posted by consolidated View Post
Information from Akrapovic this morning is that they are testing a "black box" solution for the US market. They will ship as soon as testing is complete. Happy to hear they are actually working a long term solution instead of another sensor simulator that's a crap shoot.
"Black Box Solution"?
Moxie is offline   Germany
0
Reply With Quote
      10-12-2009, 12:25 PM   #3
Nate@IND
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
Nate@IND's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Chicago

Posts: 9,891
iTrader: (19)

We just turned off the 02 sensors in the DME when installing the Akrapovic full system. Also for the US guys Dinan just released a racing middle exhaust software. This will take care of the 02 problem.
__________________
Nate@IND is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-12-2009, 12:31 PM   #4
J08M3
Major General
 
J08M3's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 M3 COUPE
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NEW YORK

Posts: 6,012
iTrader: (8)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nate@IND View Post
We just turned off the 02 sensors in the DME when installing the Akrapovic full system. Also for the US guys Dinan just released a racing middle exhaust software. This will take care of the 02 problem.
How do you pass inspection if you turn off the sensor?
__________________
J08M3 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-12-2009, 12:38 PM   #5
Ilia@IND
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
Ilia@IND's Avatar
 
Drives: F10 M5
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Chicago

Posts: 2,117
iTrader: (3)

Dinan software or Active software will disable the O2 sensors. Inspections in some states only scan the ECU for error codes, and none will show up with the appropriate software.
__________________
Ilia@IND is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-12-2009, 12:47 PM   #6
J08M3
Major General
 
J08M3's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 M3 COUPE
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NEW YORK

Posts: 6,012
iTrader: (8)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ilia@IND View Post
Dinan software or Active software will disable the O2 sensors. Inspections in some states only scan the ECU for error codes, and none will show up with the appropriate software.
You won't pass a readiness test with this software. So I guess it's only good in some states.
__________________
J08M3 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-12-2009, 12:54 PM   #7
Ilia@IND
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
Ilia@IND's Avatar
 
Drives: F10 M5
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Chicago

Posts: 2,117
iTrader: (3)

That's correct. Different states have different procedures.
__________________
Ilia@IND is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-12-2009, 01:26 PM   #8
STALKER
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 2008 E90 M3
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, ON

Posts: 3,601
iTrader: (5)

I purchased the Akra exhaust and Im gonna go the software route, to get the most power out the system.
But Im waiting for D/A software to come out.
__________________

2008 AW/FR E90 M3-SOLD
2013 991 C4S
STALKER is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-12-2009, 01:41 PM   #9
slipstream
Second Lieutenant
 
slipstream's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 LeMans Blue E90 M3
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: L.A.

Posts: 257
iTrader: (2)

This is great news. I just picked up the X-pipe/mid-pipe but am nervous about creating warranty problems by using a tune to fix the CEL. Keep us posted.
slipstream is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-12-2009, 01:43 PM   #10
Nate@IND
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
Nate@IND's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Chicago

Posts: 9,891
iTrader: (19)

Quote:
Originally Posted by STALKER View Post
I purchased the Akra exhaust and Im gonna go the software route, to get the most power out the system.
But Im waiting for D/A software to come out.
Is D/A coming out with software soon? That would be worth waiting for
__________________
Nate@IND is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-12-2009, 01:48 PM   #11
STALKER
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 2008 E90 M3
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, ON

Posts: 3,601
iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nate@IND View Post
Is D/A coming out with software soon? That would be worth waiting for
Last time I spoke to Sean, he said they were, but that was a while ago.
__________________

2008 AW/FR E90 M3-SOLD
2013 991 C4S
STALKER is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-12-2009, 01:49 PM   #12
leemik
Major
 
Drives: 2013 LRP M3 Coupe
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Quincy, MA

Posts: 1,317
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2013 BMW M3  [4.67]
This won't pass in Mass.. It checks for readiness
__________________
leemik is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-12-2009, 02:20 PM   #13
STALKER
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 2008 E90 M3
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, ON

Posts: 3,601
iTrader: (5)

What is a readiness test?
__________________

2008 AW/FR E90 M3-SOLD
2013 991 C4S
STALKER is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-12-2009, 02:45 PM   #14
H Bomb
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Drives: 08 M3
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: FL to NY

Posts: 1,679
iTrader: (4)

i have the dinan software with midpipe. awesome power gains and runs great with no check engine lights
__________________
Street- 08 E92 M3- Sparkling Graphite/ Fox Red/6sp
Track- 10 CRF 250-PR2 Race Motor/Ohlins TTX Susp
Hauler- 06 Ford Skyjacker F250 4WD
H Bomb is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-12-2009, 02:49 PM   #15
Omar@ActiveAutowerke
 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Miami

Posts: 1,783
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by STALKER View Post
What is a readiness test?
A check to see if all surveillance in the stock ECU are on..
Omar@ActiveAutowerke is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-12-2009, 02:54 PM   #16
STALKER
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 2008 E90 M3
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, ON

Posts: 3,601
iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Active Autowerke View Post
A check to see if all surveillance in the stock ECU are on..
Thanks.
__________________

2008 AW/FR E90 M3-SOLD
2013 991 C4S
STALKER is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-12-2009, 03:05 PM   #17
consolidated
Major
 
consolidated's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 M3
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Texas

Posts: 1,359
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nate@IND View Post
We just turned off the 02 sensors in the DME when installing the Akrapovic full system. Also for the US guys Dinan just released a racing middle exhaust software. This will take care of the 02 problem.
There are those, like myself, who don't want to run software until the warranty expires.

I can only guess the black box they refer to will be between the downstream of or replace the second sensor giving the DME the values it needs to not show a SES light.
consolidated is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-17-2009, 02:58 AM   #18
Eugene-TAIWAN
Brigadier General
 
Eugene-TAIWAN's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 M3 Coupe
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Taiwan

Posts: 3,098
iTrader: (4)

I am testing this in Taiwan for myself as my shop and I have got something that seems to work. I have been redlining the car for a week now and I am not getting and fault codes as for yet. but I will push my car hard again tonight and check it with the BT tool. If it doesn't show up on the scan tool I don't think it will show up at all. Its in expensive and can be done by yourself if your a handy guy.
__________________

Past: Gintani stage3 M3
present: Porsche 993RWB, 964RS America,996 cupcar, Panamera Turbo
waiting to be delivered 2015:
Porsche 991 GT3RS
Eugene-TAIWAN is offline   Taiwan
0
Reply With Quote
      10-17-2009, 07:00 AM   #19
Lemans_Blue_M
Automotive Industry Insider
 
Lemans_Blue_M's Avatar
 
Drives: Lemans Blue M3
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Texas

Posts: 1,948
iTrader: (0)

post-cat 02 simulators FTW.
__________________
The best is yet to come...
Lemans_Blue_M is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-17-2009, 08:37 AM   #20
Eugene-TAIWAN
Brigadier General
 
Eugene-TAIWAN's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 M3 Coupe
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Taiwan

Posts: 3,098
iTrader: (4)

Ya Bro,

I will do so I just want to make sure even more.
__________________

Past: Gintani stage3 M3
present: Porsche 993RWB, 964RS America,996 cupcar, Panamera Turbo
waiting to be delivered 2015:
Porsche 991 GT3RS
Eugene-TAIWAN is offline   Taiwan
0
Reply With Quote
      10-17-2009, 03:12 PM   #21
Checkcaptain
Captain
 
Drives: BMW M3 E92
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Germany

Posts: 945
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via MSN to Checkcaptain Send a message via Skype™ to Checkcaptain
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eugene-TAIWAN View Post
I am testing this in Taiwan for myself as my shop and I have got something that seems to work. I have been redlining the car for a week now and I am not getting and fault codes as for yet. but I will push my car hard again tonight and check it with the BT tool. If it doesn't show up on the scan tool I don't think it will show up at all. Its in expensive and can be done by yourself if your a handy guy.
CEL never shows, when you are pushing the car hard, cause O2 sensor is only affecting the ECU, when cruising with your car. If you track your car all year long you will never see CEL!
Checkcaptain is online now   Germany
0
Reply With Quote
      10-17-2009, 03:19 PM   #22
Moxie
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Moxie's Avatar
 
Drives: AW 328d Touring/SG 335d
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Stuttgart

Posts: 1,846
iTrader: (11)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Checkcaptain View Post
CEL never shows, when you are pushing the car hard, cause O2 sensor is only affecting the ECU, when cruising with your car. If you track your car all year long you will never see CEL!
Checkcaptain - Have you heard if Akrapovic is getting close to a solution for the CEL or providing 200 cell cats as mentioned in this thread?
Moxie is offline   Germany
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:05 AM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST