BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > BIMMERPOST Universal Forums > Off-Topic Discussions Board
 
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-02-2007, 07:37 PM   #1
bavarian19
General
 
bavarian19's Avatar
 
Drives: Car
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: VA

Posts: 18,809
iTrader: (23)

Microsoft Vista

Has anyone upgraded to Microsoft Vista yet? I am thinking about getting my hands on it, but I have not seen much in the way of real reviews yet...
bavarian19 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-02-2007, 07:55 PM   #2
ksfrogman
Major General
 
ksfrogman's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 330i 6MT
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Torrance, CA

Posts: 6,751
iTrader: (12)

Garage List
2006 330i  [0.00]
2006 330i  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to ksfrogman
Darn, I was excited. I thought you wanted to sell me your used version of Vista.
__________________
ksfrogman is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-02-2007, 07:57 PM   #3
FirstClass
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 328xi
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

Posts: 3,199
iTrader: (0)

Vista sucks big time. You're much better off with XP, though still worse than a *nix.
__________________
328xi Coupe, Montego Blue on Black with Alum, Step, Sport, Premium, CA, PDC, Cold Weather (Damn Pennsylvania winters)
Current Mods: Heavy right foot - Planned Mods: Lightweight right foot

Quote:
Originally Posted by jh valley View Post
shit, if i had that kind of money id buy a gtstreet for monday, an ascari a10 for tuesday, a DBS for wednesday and id just ride jessica alba the rest of the week.
FirstClass is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-02-2007, 08:07 PM   #4
canuck335i
Private with no class
 
canuck335i's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: North of Montreal

Posts: 649
iTrader: (0)

need a minimum of 1gig of ram to run it, only 2 of my 6 machines qualify for this to run properly, I have to go and try it to see if I like before getting it...
canuck335i is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      02-02-2007, 08:11 PM   #5
mayanh8
Second Lieutenant
 
mayanh8's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 335i Coupe
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: DE

Posts: 222
iTrader: (0)

Got the RTM version about 2 months ago. Been running with minimal problems. If you don't have a computer that can handle it, don't get it. Not sure why people are complaining.
mayanh8 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-02-2007, 08:12 PM   #6
mayanh8
Second Lieutenant
 
mayanh8's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 335i Coupe
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: DE

Posts: 222
iTrader: (0)

If your looking for a 64 bit OS that DOES suck, look no further than Windows x64.
mayanh8 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-02-2007, 08:12 PM   #7
bavarian19
General
 
bavarian19's Avatar
 
Drives: Car
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: VA

Posts: 18,809
iTrader: (23)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ksfrogman View Post
Darn, I was excited. I thought you wanted to sell me your used version of Vista.



Sorry... the mods on the market have all dried up... They went to some guy out in Cali...
bavarian19 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-02-2007, 08:13 PM   #8
bavarian19
General
 
bavarian19's Avatar
 
Drives: Car
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: VA

Posts: 18,809
iTrader: (23)

My computer is a full specced Dell XPS that I bought last year with all the goodies... My comp can meet the requirements.

Im just curious as to how it actually runs...
bavarian19 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-02-2007, 08:14 PM   #9
RaptorKTM
Colonel
 
RaptorKTM's Avatar
 
Drives: 1 M Coupe
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: San Diego

Posts: 2,366
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2011 BMW 1 M  [0.00]
I have it on my Dell XPS i got the free upgrade it runs really well for me. i like it but i prob wont convert my desktops. Windows vista is Mac with windows signature on it
RaptorKTM is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-03-2007, 12:26 AM   #10
FirstClass
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 328xi
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

Posts: 3,199
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mayanh8 View Post
Got the RTM version about 2 months ago. Been running with minimal problems. If you don't have a computer that can handle it, don't get it. Not sure why people are complaining.
Quote:
Originally Posted by bavarian19 View Post
My computer is a full specced Dell XPS that I bought last year with all the goodies... My comp can meet the requirements.

Im just curious as to how it actually runs...
It will run just fine, but it will slaughter your FPS compared to XP on the same machine. (I assume you bought an XPS for gaming)
__________________
328xi Coupe, Montego Blue on Black with Alum, Step, Sport, Premium, CA, PDC, Cold Weather (Damn Pennsylvania winters)
Current Mods: Heavy right foot - Planned Mods: Lightweight right foot

Quote:
Originally Posted by jh valley View Post
shit, if i had that kind of money id buy a gtstreet for monday, an ascari a10 for tuesday, a DBS for wednesday and id just ride jessica alba the rest of the week.
FirstClass is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-03-2007, 12:30 AM   #11
ages944
Captain
 
ages944's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 325i
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Chicago 'burbs

Posts: 990
iTrader: (0)

I'm running the Vista Inspirat Brickopack on my XP box...

Don't think I'll be getting the real deal DRM darling anytime soon though.
__________________
BMW : Sine qua non

Mods: Blacklines | Rear Seat Power Outlets | Rear Fog Lights | Ashtray Garage Door Opener
ages944 is offline   Poland
0
Reply With Quote
      02-03-2007, 12:45 AM   #12
Whispre
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2007 Montego Blue 328xi
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Bothell, WA

Posts: 124
iTrader: (0)

Titan quest runs better on my inspiron 9300 with vista than it did xpsp2

2gig ram here. using usually around 900-1200mb
Whispre is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-03-2007, 01:43 AM   #13
flush01
Major
 
Drives: 33m@%#ing5
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: toronto

Posts: 1,420
iTrader: (0)

been running 4weeks 24/7.... no issues, i like it
flush01 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-03-2007, 01:46 AM   #14
Gripster
Captain
 
Gripster's Avatar
 
Drives: F10 535 M-Sport
Join Date: May 2005
Location: San Diego

Posts: 919
iTrader: (5)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by bavarian19 View Post
Has anyone upgraded to Microsoft Vista yet? I am thinking about getting my hands on it, but I have not seen much in the way of real reviews yet...
There's lot of info here. http://www.winsupersite.com/

It's more secure and has a ton of little usability features that make it overall a huge improvement over XP. I've been running the pre-release version (RC1) for a few months and it's gradually won me over. It's not a quantum leap over XP, but it should be significantly more stable and secure in the long run.

Question is will I buy it? I probably will once the beta expires, but since my primary computers are Macs, I can wait a little while.
__________________
2006 330i - ZSP/ZPP/ZCW/i-Drive/Steptronic Sold
Gripster is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-05-2007, 05:02 PM   #15
flush01
Major
 
Drives: 33m@%#ing5
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: toronto

Posts: 1,420
iTrader: (0)

i installed xp back... i like vista but there's nothing new...
flush01 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-05-2007, 05:21 PM   #16
SKBMW
Lieutenant Colonel
 
SKBMW's Avatar
 
Drives: Bicycle
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: 25 0′ 0″ N, 71 0′ 0″ W

Posts: 1,791
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via MSN to SKBMW
Does vista upgrade pack come with a CD key?
__________________
SKBMW is offline   No_Country
0
Reply With Quote
      02-05-2007, 05:37 PM   #17
BrianJA
Private
 
BrianJA's Avatar
 
Drives: '07 Audi RS4
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: NYC

Posts: 77
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BNR32 View Post
Does vista upgrade pack come with a CD key?
yes, its on the back of the part that folds out and holds the DVDs.
BrianJA is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-05-2007, 05:58 PM   #18
UncleWede
Long Time Admirer, First Time Owner
 
UncleWede's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 325i Arctic
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Oxnard, CA

Posts: 2,294
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by FirstClass View Post
. . . *nix.
+1
UncleWede is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-05-2007, 06:10 PM   #19
Buffalo_Bush
Private First Class
 
Drives: 07 E92 335i
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: CA

Posts: 106
iTrader: (0)

its will offer many advantages over xp once all the compatability issues are worked out and all software is writen for 64bit and dual or quad core processors. right now it will run fine on some machines but many will have issues. some reviews i have read said it would be wise to wait for the first service pack.
Buffalo_Bush is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-05-2007, 06:48 PM   #20
UncleWede
Long Time Admirer, First Time Owner
 
UncleWede's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 325i Arctic
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Oxnard, CA

Posts: 2,294
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Buffalo_Bush View Post
it would be wise to wait for the first service pack.
Which, I think, is already scheduled for release in March of this year? I like to push the envelope in some areas, but not with my business computers. There, I will stick with "State of the Shelf"
UncleWede is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-05-2007, 07:21 PM   #21
astra
Brigadier General
 
astra's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW 325Ci Individual
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Sydney

Posts: 3,748
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Send a message via MSN to astra
Quote:
Originally Posted by SoCalRS4 View Post
Windows vista is Mac with windows signature on it
then i am definately not getting it! all those bright colours and icons that bulge when you move the cursor over them make me dizzy...
__________________
astra is offline   Australia
0
Reply With Quote
      02-05-2007, 07:24 PM   #22
bavarian19
General
 
bavarian19's Avatar
 
Drives: Car
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: VA

Posts: 18,809
iTrader: (23)

I think Im going to wait for right now. I have XP Media Edition and it does me fine for now...

This way, many of the bugs can get worked out... Maybe summertime Ill get around to getting it... Plus I would assume it would be cheaper then...
bavarian19 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:11 PM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST