BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > BIMMERPOST Universal Forums > Off-Topic Discussions Board > Video + PC Gaming / Computing
 
Evolve Automotive
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      09-01-2010, 02:46 PM   #1
lopealle
Resident Black Guy
Zimbabwe
59

 
lopealle's Avatar
 
Drives: Lion
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Federal Way, WA


Posts: 2,245
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2006 M5  [5.00]
Question External Hard Drive

Ladies and Gentlemen I have an issue with an external hard drive i received. It is a Lacie 500GB. The issues it that when its connected to my lap top it make the audible sound that its there but it doesnt show up. How do I get it to show up on my computer? I was thinking maybe i need a new enclosure. If so which one do I get? Any advice would be awesome thanks.

Deaon
Appreciate 0
      09-01-2010, 03:50 PM   #2
Railgun
Major
United Kingdom
16

 
Railgun's Avatar
 
Drives: FD, CBR600RR, R56 JCW
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: London


Posts: 1,367
iTrader: (2)

Send a message via ICQ to Railgun Send a message via AIM to Railgun Send a message via MSN to Railgun Send a message via Yahoo to Railgun Send a message via Skype™ to Railgun
USB, FW, eSATA? Has it already been formatted? What OS? More details needed.
Appreciate 0
      09-01-2010, 04:03 PM   #3
lopealle
Resident Black Guy
Zimbabwe
59

 
lopealle's Avatar
 
Drives: Lion
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Federal Way, WA


Posts: 2,245
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2006 M5  [5.00]
im using usb, im running windows 7. when i click on the my computer it doesnt show the hard drive but when i go into hardware it there but its no info is availiable on it though. and it tells me its working properly. and i dont know how to format it without being able to access it on my computer
Appreciate 0
      09-04-2010, 01:23 PM   #4
Railgun
Major
United Kingdom
16

 
Railgun's Avatar
 
Drives: FD, CBR600RR, R56 JCW
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: London


Posts: 1,367
iTrader: (2)

Send a message via ICQ to Railgun Send a message via AIM to Railgun Send a message via MSN to Railgun Send a message via Yahoo to Railgun Send a message via Skype™ to Railgun
Go to the control panel --> admin tools --> computer management --> disk management. If it sees it there, you may just need to create a new partition on it. Once done, you can format it and you should be good to go.
Appreciate 0
      09-08-2010, 07:23 AM   #5
lopealle
Resident Black Guy
Zimbabwe
59

 
lopealle's Avatar
 
Drives: Lion
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Federal Way, WA


Posts: 2,245
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2006 M5  [5.00]
now how do i go about choosing a new case for it? i know that there is (2) 250gb hard drives inside but how do i go about finding and external case to fit it?
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:05 PM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST