BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > BIMMERPOST Universal Forums > Off-Topic Discussions Board > Video + PC Gaming / Computing
 
Lux Angel Eyes
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-24-2010, 09:55 AM   #1
Makushr1
Lieutenant
 
Makushr1's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 335i Sedan Auto
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Texas

Posts: 480
iTrader: (2)

Just built my computer, what next?

I just finished putting together my computer. Windows 7 pro, i7 960, asus p6t, 6 gigs 1600 ram, radeon 5850.

It's up and running, except the internet since my other wireless adapter doesnt work with windows 7 (buying another one this afternoon). Is there anything I should be doing to make sure it's running its best? I don't want to OC it right now, but I think I've heard that the memory doesn't automatically run at it's fastest unless you tweak something, is that true? Anything else I should do to max the memory, processor, graphics?

Thanks guys.
__________________
2008 Montego Blue E90 ll Custom K&N Dual Cone Intake ll Aluminum OEM Pedals ll 25% Tint ll M3 Spoiler

To Do (Cosmetic): Black Line lights, Lux 4.0 Angel Eyes, 19" CSL HyperBlack
To Do (Performance): Exhaust (still undecided which brand), SSTT, FMIC (unsure what type)
Makushr1 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-24-2010, 11:13 AM   #2
chinoxs203
Major
 
chinoxs203's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 E92 335xi AW
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: CT

Posts: 1,352
iTrader: (7)

FMIC, and DPs

memory will only run as fast as the slowest chip. so if you have all the same you would be fine. you may want to check your bios too see what speed its running.
__________________

FOR SALE:
Dropbox - please
chinoxs203 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-27-2010, 10:19 AM   #3
Makushr1
Lieutenant
 
Makushr1's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 335i Sedan Auto
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Texas

Posts: 480
iTrader: (2)

Not that anyone cares, but I'm having problems at startup. It says it doesn't detect my hard drive, which leads me to believe I got a bad disk. But, it wont let me get into the bios at all, which may mean it's a mobo problem. Who knows. Going to try and plug the disk into a different SATA port to see if something is wrong with SATA 4 (where it's currently plugged). If that doesn't work, I'll go buy a new HD and see if it's really the disk or if it's the motherboard.

Mwave assembled and tested the mobo/cpu. I'm going to be pissed if it's the mobo, since I paid extra to make sure it works.
__________________
2008 Montego Blue E90 ll Custom K&N Dual Cone Intake ll Aluminum OEM Pedals ll 25% Tint ll M3 Spoiler

To Do (Cosmetic): Black Line lights, Lux 4.0 Angel Eyes, 19" CSL HyperBlack
To Do (Performance): Exhaust (still undecided which brand), SSTT, FMIC (unsure what type)
Makushr1 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-27-2010, 10:52 AM   #4
ragingclue
One cam is enough
 
ragingclue's Avatar
 
Drives: VF
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: mulletville

Posts: 6,774
iTrader: (1)

You would be able to enter the BIOS even with a bad hard disk.

Does the P6T have dual CMOS chips? I'm not familiar with ASUS mobos at the upper end.
ragingclue is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:36 PM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST