BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Cosmetic/Visual (Exterior + Interior) Modifications
 
Race Precision Motorsport
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      06-15-2010, 08:11 AM   #155
GregW / Oregon
Commander-In-Chief
 
Drives: 2015 M4 Coupe, 2012 ML350
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Lake Oswego, OR

Posts: 7,547
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Bulb check

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cloud View Post
so if the halogen reverse lamp goes out will there be a bulb error?
Good question. I'm not too concerened with the reverse lights, but will the front lights still be checked or are all bulb checks idsabled?
__________________

Greg Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
2015 M4 Coupe - Silverstone/Sakhir/CF
2012 ML350
GregW / Oregon is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-15-2010, 10:59 AM   #156
aajami
Brigadier General
 
aajami's Avatar
 
Drives: Space Gray '09 E92 M3
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Manhattan Beach, CA

Posts: 4,019
iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by GregW / Oregon View Post
Good question. I'm not too concerened with the reverse lights, but will the front lights still be checked or are all bulb checks idsabled?
Tom has said previously that they only disable BulbCheck for the rears, not the headlights.
__________________
'09 E92 M3: Space Gray, Black, Carbon Leather | ZTP 2MK ZPP 2MT 6FL | link 1 / link 2
Mods: M Performance exhaust | ZCP retrofit | Euro airbox | GTS DCT flash | 240J ECU flash | LCI Euro taillights | CRT lip | OEM alarm retrofit | Space Gray bumper plugs | BMW Performance: Mk. II spoiler / Mk. II non-electronic steering wheel / mirror caps / front grilles / side gills / intake louvers / emblem
aajami is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-15-2010, 11:09 AM   #157
tom @ eas
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Anaheim, CA

Posts: 10,269
iTrader: (13)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by aajami View Post
Tom has said previously that they only disable BulbCheck for the rears, not the headlights.
Correct.
__________________
tom @ eas is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-15-2010, 03:19 PM   #158
GregW / Oregon
Commander-In-Chief
 
Drives: 2015 M4 Coupe, 2012 ML350
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Lake Oswego, OR

Posts: 7,547
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
FRM footwell module location

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom @ eas View Post
The FRM is located under the glovebox, 2 torx screws are holding on the cover.
Be advised it is on the driver's side, not passenger's (at least on my '08). My tech spent a lot of time tearing the right side apart and putting it back together. :-)
__________________

Greg Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
2015 M4 Coupe - Silverstone/Sakhir/CF
2012 ML350
GregW / Oregon is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-15-2010, 03:45 PM   #159
m328ci
Private First Class
 
m328ci's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 330i, E92 M3
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bangkok

Posts: 156
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by GregW / Oregon View Post
Be advised it is on the driver's side, not passenger's (at least on my '08). My tech spent a lot of time tearing the right side apart and putting it back together. :-)
mine is on the driver side as well
__________________
E92 M3 -Pearl Grey/FR -ESS VT2-575, OS Giken Super LSD, Ericsson Full bodykit, BBS LM-R 20" Ericsson specs, Brembo GT 380mm F&R, KW V3, Akrapovic Evolution, BMW Performance steering wheel
m328ci is offline   Thailand
0
Reply With Quote
      06-15-2010, 05:56 PM   #160
GregW / Oregon
Commander-In-Chief
 
Drives: 2015 M4 Coupe, 2012 ML350
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Lake Oswego, OR

Posts: 7,547
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Portland installation

I installed my lights last Saturday. Had the FRM-3 installed and coding done today at an indpendent BMW shop in Portland that has not worked on many newer cars. They were able to download the proper program from Autologic in England. Finding the damn module location was the hard part, as early information on this forum was wrong (it's on the driver's side footwell).

Coding seemed to go fine, but when the car was moved to the lot, it errored out again. Hooking it back up to the Autologic inititiated a different quick program tha got things working. Only issues I see so far are I have an SES light on and the "auto up" for the windows is not working. I'm sure those a correctable.

This ended up being far more expensive than I bargained for, but the pain will go away soon!

__________________

Greg Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
2015 M4 Coupe - Silverstone/Sakhir/CF
2012 ML350

Last edited by GregW / Oregon; 06-20-2010 at 11:29 AM.
GregW / Oregon is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-15-2010, 07:02 PM   #161
BobsM3Coupe
Captain
 
Drives: M3 Coupe
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: California

Posts: 862
iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cloud View Post
so if the halogen reverse lamp goes out will there be a bulb error?
When I looked over the LED tail lights prior to installation, I noticed that there is what looks like a halogen bulb on the 2 small tail light sections that go in the trunk lid. I think they are the Brake Force Display bulbs that are halogen and not LED.

Tom, correct me if I'm wrong.
BobsM3Coupe is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-15-2010, 07:19 PM   #162
tom @ eas
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Anaheim, CA

Posts: 10,269
iTrader: (13)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by GregW / Oregon View Post
Be advised it is on the driver's side, not passenger's (at least on my '08). My tech spent a lot of time tearing the right side apart and putting it back together. :-)
Quote:
Originally Posted by m328ci View Post
mine is on the driver side as well
My mistake guys - Junction Box Electronics (JBE) is on the passenger side, Footwell (FRM) is on the driver's.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BobsM3Coupe View Post
When I looked over the LED tail lights prior to installation, I noticed that there is what looks like a halogen bulb on the 2 small tail light sections that go in the trunk lid. I think they are the Brake Force Display bulbs that are halogen and not LED.

Tom, correct me if I'm wrong.
Inner trunk lamps are not covered under coding - they remain halogen like pre-LCI.
__________________
tom @ eas is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-15-2010, 07:25 PM   #163
GregW / Oregon
Commander-In-Chief
 
Drives: 2015 M4 Coupe, 2012 ML350
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Lake Oswego, OR

Posts: 7,547
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by BobsM3Coupe View Post
When I looked over the LED tail lights prior to installation, I noticed that there is what looks like a halogen bulb on the 2 small tail light sections that go in the trunk lid. I think they are the Brake Force Display bulbs that are halogen and not LED.

Tom, correct me if I'm wrong.
The trunk halogens are the rear fogs.
Attached Images
 
__________________

Greg Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
2015 M4 Coupe - Silverstone/Sakhir/CF
2012 ML350

Last edited by GregW / Oregon; 06-15-2010 at 07:54 PM.
GregW / Oregon is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-16-2010, 01:09 AM   #164
BobsM3Coupe
Captain
 
Drives: M3 Coupe
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: California

Posts: 862
iTrader: (4)

Inner trunk lamps are not covered under coding - they remain halogen like pre-LCI.[/quote]

So after coding the LCI E92 lights to the car, if one of the BFD (inner trunk bulbs) burns out, will the I-Drive info screen throw up a warning that the bulb is defective?
BobsM3Coupe is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-16-2010, 08:16 AM   #165
GregW / Oregon
Commander-In-Chief
 
Drives: 2015 M4 Coupe, 2012 ML350
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Lake Oswego, OR

Posts: 7,547
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Rear light monitoring w/ LEDs

Quote:
Originally Posted by BobsM3Coupe View Post
So after coding the LCI E92 lights to the car, if one of the BFD (inner trunk bulbs) burns out, will the I-Drive info screen throw up a warning that the bulb is defective?
I haven't tested that, but that seems to be what Tom is saying. That assumes you have activated the fog lights with the appropriate switch and had that coded, which is a whole other process (see separate thread: http://www.m3post.com/forums/showthr...t=rear+fog+DIY).
__________________

Greg Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
2015 M4 Coupe - Silverstone/Sakhir/CF
2012 ML350
GregW / Oregon is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-16-2010, 11:18 AM   #166
tom @ eas
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Anaheim, CA

Posts: 10,269
iTrader: (13)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by BobsM3Coupe View Post
Inner trunk lamps are not covered under coding - they remain halogen like pre-LCI.
So after coding the LCI E92 lights to the car, if one of the BFD (inner trunk bulbs) burns out, will the I-Drive info screen throw up a warning that the bulb is defective?

I haven't checked the inners to see if they were covered under BulbCheck or not, dcoding will not change this outcome.
__________________
tom @ eas is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-17-2010, 04:35 AM   #167
GregW / Oregon
Commander-In-Chief
 
Drives: 2015 M4 Coupe, 2012 ML350
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Lake Oswego, OR

Posts: 7,547
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Coding issues

Two issues after having my coding done (not by EAS) - 1) I can't open my trunk, either with the inside button, the outside handle or the remote; 2) auto up function on the widows is not working.
__________________

Greg Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
2015 M4 Coupe - Silverstone/Sakhir/CF
2012 ML350

Last edited by GregW / Oregon; 06-20-2010 at 11:27 AM.
GregW / Oregon is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-17-2010, 04:56 AM   #168
m328ci
Private First Class
 
m328ci's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 330i, E92 M3
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bangkok

Posts: 156
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by GregW / Oregon View Post
Two issues after having my coding done (not by EAS) - 1) I can't open my trunk, either with the inside button, the outside handle or the remote; 2) auto up function on the widows is not workin.
Greg,
Some errors will disappeared. please have them recode it for couple times. Mine took 3 times to get all errors out.
All windows and several settings have to be set again in setting function by using i-drive.
__________________
E92 M3 -Pearl Grey/FR -ESS VT2-575, OS Giken Super LSD, Ericsson Full bodykit, BBS LM-R 20" Ericsson specs, Brembo GT 380mm F&R, KW V3, Akrapovic Evolution, BMW Performance steering wheel
m328ci is offline   Thailand
0
Reply With Quote
      06-17-2010, 04:58 AM   #169
m328ci
Private First Class
 
m328ci's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 330i, E92 M3
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bangkok

Posts: 156
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom @ eas View Post
My mistake guys - Junction Box Electronics (JBE) is on the passenger side, Footwell (FRM) is on the driver's.



Inner trunk lamps are not covered under coding - they remain halogen like pre-LCI.
Tom,
I almost rip the whole car to find the FRM location. Spent like couple hours. lol
__________________
E92 M3 -Pearl Grey/FR -ESS VT2-575, OS Giken Super LSD, Ericsson Full bodykit, BBS LM-R 20" Ericsson specs, Brembo GT 380mm F&R, KW V3, Akrapovic Evolution, BMW Performance steering wheel
m328ci is offline   Thailand
0
Reply With Quote
      06-17-2010, 05:07 AM   #170
GregW / Oregon
Commander-In-Chief
 
Drives: 2015 M4 Coupe, 2012 ML350
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Lake Oswego, OR

Posts: 7,547
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by m328ci View Post
Greg,
Some errors will disappeared. please have them recode it for couple times. Mine took 3 times to get all errors out.
All windows and several settings have to be set again in setting function by using i-drive.
I didn't find a setting for auto up windows? I did reset the turn signals for triple flash.
__________________

Greg Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
2015 M4 Coupe - Silverstone/Sakhir/CF
2012 ML350
GregW / Oregon is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-17-2010, 11:30 AM   #171
tom @ eas
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Anaheim, CA

Posts: 10,269
iTrader: (13)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by GregW / Oregon View Post
Two issues after having my coding done (not by EAS) - 1) I can't open my trunk, either with the inside button, the outside handle or the remote; 2) auto up function on the widows is not workin.
US vehicles do not have auto up windows (only EU or using remoteKEY+), unless you're referring to the 1/4" drop on coupes when the door is closed. If this is the case, your tech skipped the Initialization step for the windows after programming.

The trunk should have nothing to do with the FRM.
__________________
tom @ eas is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-17-2010, 11:53 AM   #172
aajami
Brigadier General
 
aajami's Avatar
 
Drives: Space Gray '09 E92 M3
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Manhattan Beach, CA

Posts: 4,019
iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom @ eas View Post
US vehicles do not have auto up windows (only EU or using remoteKEY+), unless you're referring to the 1/4" drop on coupes when the door is closed. If this is the case, your tech skipped the Initialization step for the windows after programming.

The trunk should have nothing to do with the FRM.
I think Greg is referring to the functionality of the window switches inside the car: One click for manual window control, two clicks for auto window up/down.
__________________
'09 E92 M3: Space Gray, Black, Carbon Leather | ZTP 2MK ZPP 2MT 6FL | link 1 / link 2
Mods: M Performance exhaust | ZCP retrofit | Euro airbox | GTS DCT flash | 240J ECU flash | LCI Euro taillights | CRT lip | OEM alarm retrofit | Space Gray bumper plugs | BMW Performance: Mk. II spoiler / Mk. II non-electronic steering wheel / mirror caps / front grilles / side gills / intake louvers / emblem
aajami is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-17-2010, 12:22 PM   #173
tom @ eas
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Anaheim, CA

Posts: 10,269
iTrader: (13)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by aajami View Post
I think Greg is referring to the functionality of the window switches inside the car: One click for manual window control, two clicks for auto window up/down.
That could also be related to window initialization
__________________
tom @ eas is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-17-2010, 01:18 PM   #174
GregW / Oregon
Commander-In-Chief
 
Drives: 2015 M4 Coupe, 2012 ML350
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Lake Oswego, OR

Posts: 7,547
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Auto up windows

Quote:
Originally Posted by aajami View Post
I think Greg is referring to the functionality of the window switches inside the car: One click for manual window control, two clicks for auto window up/down.
Yes, it's a brief movement of the switch for partial closure and moving the switch to its limit stop will activate "auto close". Mine worked fine until the coding.
__________________

Greg Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
2015 M4 Coupe - Silverstone/Sakhir/CF
2012 ML350
GregW / Oregon is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-17-2010, 02:11 PM   #175
tom @ eas
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Anaheim, CA

Posts: 10,269
iTrader: (13)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by GregW / Oregon View Post
Yes, it's a brief movement of the switch for partial closure and moving the switch to its limit stop will activate "auto close". Mine worked fine until the coding.
I spoke with Eric yesterday on this matter, he's now aware of what needs to be corrected.
__________________
tom @ eas is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-17-2010, 08:55 PM   #176
GregW / Oregon
Commander-In-Chief
 
Drives: 2015 M4 Coupe, 2012 ML350
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Lake Oswego, OR

Posts: 7,547
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Issues after coding

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom @ eas View Post
US vehicles do not have auto up windows (only EU or using remoteKEY+), unless you're referring to the 1/4" drop on coupes when the door is closed. If this is the case, your tech skipped the Initialization step for the windows after programming.

The trunk should have nothing to do with the FRM.
You are incorrect on the first item, but correct on the second. I found out the trunk issue.

Okay, trivia question - how many people knew there was a switch in the car that disables all trunk access via inside switch, outside handle, remote or key switch?? Well, there is in the glove box on the left side. Apparently when my installer disassembled the glove box side looking for the footwell module the switch got slid to the left. Trunk no worky! I was actually going to check the fuse for the locking circuit when I found it.
__________________

Greg Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
2015 M4 Coupe - Silverstone/Sakhir/CF
2012 ML350
GregW / Oregon is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:57 PM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST