BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > M3 (E90 / E92 / E93) > General M3 Forum (E90 + E92 + E93)
 
Lux Angel Eyes
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-12-2010, 02:16 PM   #1
UltimateBMW
Brigadier General
UltimateBMW's Avatar
105
Rep
3,287
Posts

 
Drives: MP4
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South

iTrader: (0)

One-Touch Turn Signal

Is there any way to make the one-touch turn signal blink 4 times, instead of the default 3?

Call it a quirk, if you will, but I feel like the standard 3 blinks is just too short since I usually initiate the turn signal well before I begin to merge lanes.

I do realize the obvious fix is to just hold the one-touch in place. And I'm not above doing this. Just curious if there is a hidden setting that can be tweaked.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      05-12-2010, 02:36 PM   #2
FruitCake
Banned
Taiwan
38
Rep
1,680
Posts

 
Drives: '10 E92 M3
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Los Angeles

iTrader: (19)

I think its been discussed before but no you cannot
Appreciate 0
      05-12-2010, 02:41 PM   #3
kpneverdies
First Lieutenant
United_States
8
Rep
354
Posts

 
Drives: AW M3 E92 2010
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Hawaii

iTrader: (0)

what year and model m3 are you driving?
i drive e92 2010, but i don't have those 3 blinks, mine blinks when i either hold it down or click it down.
Appreciate 0
      05-12-2010, 03:00 PM   #4
Doctor J
Captain
Doctor J's Avatar
Canada
14
Rep
723
Posts

 
Drives: 2010 E93 M3 DCT
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Vancouver BC

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by UltimateBMW View Post
Is there any way to make the one-touch turn signal blink 4 times, instead of the default 3?

Call it a quirk, if you will, but I feel like the standard 3 blinks is just too short since I usually initiate the turn signal well before I begin to merge lanes.

I do realize the obvious fix is to just hold the one-touch in place. And I'm not above doing this. Just curious if there is a hidden setting that can be tweaked.
the 3 clicks is meant for highway/autobahn speed lane changes

just push down harder and turn the signal on and then it will click as many times as you like. press again to stop
__________________
2010 BMW M3 vert with DCT & Akra
Appreciate 0
      05-12-2010, 03:00 PM   #5
aajami
Brigadier General
aajami's Avatar
United_States
65
Rep
4,084
Posts

 
Drives: Space Gray '09 E92 M3
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Manhattan Beach, CA

iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by kpneverdies View Post
what year and model m3 are you driving?
i drive e92 2010, but i don't have those 3 blinks, mine blinks when i either hold it down or click it down.
You may need iDrive to enable this, though it's possible to turn on this feature through the stalk too.
__________________
'09 E92 M3: Space Gray, Black, Carbon Leather | ZTP 2MK ZPP 2MT 6FL | link 1 / link 2
Mods: M Performance exhaust | ZCP retrofit | Euro airbox | GTS DCT flash | 240J ECU flash | LCI Euro taillights | CRT lip | OEM alarm retrofit | Space Gray bumper plugs | BMW Performance: Mk. II spoiler / Mk. II non-electronic steering wheel / mirror caps / front grilles / side gills / intake louvers / emblem
Appreciate 0
      05-12-2010, 03:01 PM   #6
nitro
Private First Class
nitro's Avatar
Canada
2
Rep
144
Posts

 
Drives: 2010 E92 M3
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: TORONTO

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by kpneverdies View Post
what year and model m3 are you driving?
i drive e92 2010, but i don't have those 3 blinks, mine blinks when i either hold it down or click it down.
?. weird. i have a 2010 as well and it blinks 3 times with one press. I was actually wondering if we could change that as well on the way into work today. 3 blinks just seems to short (blinker turns off right as i initiate the lane change).. 4 would be perfect. heh heh.......
Appreciate 0
      05-12-2010, 03:07 PM   #7
FruitCake
Banned
Taiwan
38
Rep
1,680
Posts

 
Drives: '10 E92 M3
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Los Angeles

iTrader: (19)

you set it up in the iDrive settings under lighting
Appreciate 0
      05-12-2010, 03:16 PM   #8
besiktas
Ultimate Driver for the Ultimate Driving Machine
United_States
31
Rep
1,016
Posts

 
Drives: BMW M3 E92
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by kpneverdies View Post
what year and model m3 are you driving?
i drive e92 2010, but i don't have those 3 blinks, mine blinks when i either hold it down or click it down.
i have 2010 e92 it blinks 3 times go to idrive settings to adjust it
__________________

BMW M3 E92 - Silverstone II
BPM Sport Stage II Tune + Test Pipes, GTS DCT Tune
Appreciate 0
      05-12-2010, 03:21 PM   #9
UltimateBMW
Brigadier General
UltimateBMW's Avatar
105
Rep
3,287
Posts

 
Drives: MP4
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by FruitCake View Post
you set it up in the iDrive settings under lighting
Great! Thanks for the quick reply.

I'll check it out later once I get out of work. I checked earlier through the settings but perhaps I didn't look close enough.

As for this topic being discussed, I did a quick search and only found topics on older model retrofits. My question was specific towards a 2011 e92 M3, sorry about not clarifying that when it was most pertinent.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      05-12-2010, 03:22 PM   #10
UltimateBMW
Brigadier General
UltimateBMW's Avatar
105
Rep
3,287
Posts

 
Drives: MP4
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Doctor J View Post
the 3 clicks is meant for highway/autobahn speed lane changes

just push down harder and turn the signal on and then it will click as many times as you like. press again to stop
Thanks for the reply, but the 2nd function on the turn signal lever is a bit obvious. In specific I wanted the 3 clicks to become 4 clicks. So the one touch action had a greater blinker 'uptime'. All in addition to the standard signal functionality provided via the 2nd notch.

I should note though, that without turning, in order to stop the full-on turn signal it requires a motion towards the opposite direction.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      05-12-2010, 05:09 PM   #11
duk
///M
United_States
42
Rep
2,967
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 AW/FR 6MT E92
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: San Jose, CA

iTrader: (0)

i think u can have it go up to 3 blinks
__________________
2011 AW/FR 6MT E92 | Powered by Premier | Alekshop | ESS |
Rok n Peace Clothing: www.roknpeace.com

Appreciate 0
      05-12-2010, 07:01 PM   #12
MonteCarloM3
Banned
MonteCarloM3's Avatar
Uzbekistan
13
Rep
577
Posts

 
Drives: a shitty M3
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Uranus

iTrader: (0)

your choices are the following:

push lightly - 1 blink
program with iDrive to do: - 3 blinks
push past resistance, blinks forever.
that's it
Appreciate 0
      05-12-2010, 07:47 PM   #13
thegeneral101
Colonel
United_States
30
Rep
2,302
Posts

 
Drives: '13 M3 LRE,'13 750Li
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Miami/Michigan

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MonteCarloM3 View Post
your choices are the following:

push lightly - 1 blink
program with iDrive to do: - 3 blinks
push past resistance, blinks forever.
that's it

correct end of story
__________________
Appreciate 0
      05-12-2010, 08:16 PM   #14
ersin
Brigadier General
ersin's Avatar
United_States
42
Rep
4,068
Posts

 
Drives: 08 IB E92 M3
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Maryland

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by UltimateBMW View Post
I should note though, that without turning, in order to stop the full-on turn signal it requires a motion towards the opposite direction.
Hmm. I can motion in the same direction and it still stops. I do not have iDrive if that makes any difference.


Cheers.
__________________

I've been assimilated. 6MT/ZPP/18"/PS extended.
Appreciate 0
      05-13-2010, 06:39 AM   #15
kpneverdies
First Lieutenant
United_States
8
Rep
354
Posts

 
Drives: AW M3 E92 2010
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Hawaii

iTrader: (0)

what if i don't have the idrive? can i still change the setting?
Appreciate 0
      05-13-2010, 12:14 PM   #16
AMOCHOSTO
Major
AMOCHOSTO's Avatar
Canada
16
Rep
1,007
Posts

 
Drives: IB BB E90 M3
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Toronto.

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MonteCarloM3 View Post
your choices are the following:

push lightly - 1 blink
program with iDrive to do: - 3 blinks
push past resistance, blinks forever.
that's it
+ push lightly and hold until you don't need to signal anymore
__________________
E90 Interlagos Blue, (Winter Beater) Bamboo Beige, M-Drive, EDC, PDC, USB 6MT.
Mods to date; Curb rash, Scraped front spoiler, Installed RAC Monolite RG63 Silver
1984 Porsche 911 Carrera Coupe (ROW)

Appreciate 0
      05-13-2010, 01:56 PM   #17
ersin
Brigadier General
ersin's Avatar
United_States
42
Rep
4,068
Posts

 
Drives: 08 IB E92 M3
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Maryland

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by kpneverdies View Post
what if i don't have the idrive? can i still change the setting?
Yep. Use the wheel thingy on the blinker stalk to move through the menus that show up in the bottom portion of your instrument cluster. It won't work while your moving when you do this. Or maybe even the engine can't be running. Actually, it would be better to just .


Cheers.
__________________

I've been assimilated. 6MT/ZPP/18"/PS extended.
Appreciate 0
      05-13-2010, 01:57 PM   #18
ersin
Brigadier General
ersin's Avatar
United_States
42
Rep
4,068
Posts

 
Drives: 08 IB E92 M3
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Maryland

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by AMOCHOSTO View Post
+ push lightly and hold until you don't need to signal anymore
That only works when you have not set up the "3 blinks" option.


Cheers.
__________________

I've been assimilated. 6MT/ZPP/18"/PS extended.
Appreciate 0
      05-13-2010, 03:02 PM   #19
graider
Colonel
graider's Avatar
26
Rep
2,408
Posts

 
Drives: py/kiwi e46 m3
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: toronto

iTrader: (0)

i can't provide answer, but i think this 3 blinks feature is stupid.
Appreciate 0
      05-13-2010, 03:25 PM   #20
UltimateBMW
Brigadier General
UltimateBMW's Avatar
105
Rep
3,287
Posts

 
Drives: MP4
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ersin View Post
That only works when you have not set up the "3 blinks" option.


Cheers.
I believe it is possible. On my 2011, I can hold the stalk in the 'one-touch' position, and keep the blinker going. If you hold it well past the 3 blink, it will stop blinking once released.

It looks like I'd have to go in and change the code in idrive to change it from 3 blinks to more. Unfortunate.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      05-13-2010, 03:41 PM   #21
ersin
Brigadier General
ersin's Avatar
United_States
42
Rep
4,068
Posts

 
Drives: 08 IB E92 M3
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Maryland

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by UltimateBMW View Post
I believe it is possible. On my 2011, I can hold the stalk in the 'one-touch' position, and keep the blinker going. If you hold it well past the 3 blink, it will stop blinking once released.

It looks like I'd have to go in and change the code in idrive to change it from 3 blinks to more. Unfortunate.
Maybe a change to '08+ models. It doesn't work for me. But, I'll try it this evening. Maybe I'm not holding it far enough.


Cheers.
__________________

I've been assimilated. 6MT/ZPP/18"/PS extended.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:16 PM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST