BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Suspension | Brakes | Chassis
 
ESS Tuning
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-04-2015, 03:33 PM   #1
tbone28
vvvvvvvvvvvvvv
tbone28's Avatar
United_States
65
Rep
2,136
Posts

Drives: ^^^^^
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Bay Area, CA

iTrader: (13)

Brake pad warning Reset

Trying to figure out what's going on here...

Service light for rear brake pads (running Brembo) came on, but pads are still almost new (~80%). We looked at the sensors, which looked undamaged. We compared them to new sensors and they looked identical.

We swapped out the sensors anyway, but the service light did not reset. Put the old sensors back in and manually reset the indicator light via the stalk. New countdown showed 37k miles to next break service. All seemed fine...

Fast forward 4 days, and the service indicator now shows rear brake service is due in 8k miles.

What did we do wrong?
Appreciate 0
      03-04-2015, 06:10 PM   #2
jjw2331
First Lieutenant
jjw2331's Avatar
10
Rep
339
Posts

Drives: 2011 JtBlk e92 M3
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Michigan

iTrader: (5)

Hey there, I had a similar situation with my brake sensor. I believe you have to use new sensors. You can't use the old sensors (I think the computer remembers somehow). I tried exactly what you did once and the light came back. The only fix that worked for me was using a brand new sensor and resetting the light manually after putting in a new sensor.
Appreciate 0
      03-04-2015, 08:42 PM   #3
surlynkid
Major
surlynkid's Avatar
13
Rep
1,200
Posts

Drives: 2013 E92 M3
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: League City, TX

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
You do not have to replace the sensors. All they are is a piece of wire in the plastic. Wear thru the plastic, cut the wire and you no longer have continuity. If you don't do that you can use them forever. I don't use mine. I remove them from the pad and zip tie them out of the way. You are getting a condition based warning. The car thinks you have driven enough miles that they must need to be checked. Irritates the crap out of me. Just clear it and be on your way.
__________________
Stoptech 380mm/355mm | Pagid RS-29 | Akrapovic EVO - CF tips | Benvo Tune | MS UDP | AA air filter | Apex EC-7 18x10 square 275/35-18 NT01 | Turner Race Studs | GT4 Brake Cooling | GT4 Power Steering Cooling | Performance Steering Wheel | CF Mirror Caps | CF Spoiler | Varis System 1 Full CF Diffuser | Extended Paddle Shifters | Schroth Quick Fit Pro | Turner Steering Rack Stops | Vorshlag Camber Plates | AiM Solo DL
Appreciate 0
      03-04-2015, 08:58 PM   #4
jjw2331
First Lieutenant
jjw2331's Avatar
10
Rep
339
Posts

Drives: 2011 JtBlk e92 M3
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Michigan

iTrader: (5)

^^^ or you can do that
Appreciate 0
      03-04-2015, 10:28 PM   #5
FNG
First Lieutenant
FNG's Avatar
7
Rep
387
Posts

Drives: The Bus
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: HNL

iTrader: (1)

How do you reset it?
Appreciate 0
      03-04-2015, 11:06 PM   #6
1MOREMOD
2015 Track Days - 3|Ridge 1:52:24|Pacific 1:35:72
1MOREMOD's Avatar
United_States
238
Rep
14,004
Posts

Drives: Race car->
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: check your mirrors

iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by surlynkid View Post
You do not have to replace the sensors. All they are is a piece of wire in the plastic. Wear thru the plastic, cut the wire and you no longer have continuity. If you don't do that you can use them forever. I don't use mine. I remove them from the pad and zip tie them out of the way. You are getting a condition based warning. The car thinks you have driven enough miles that they must need to be checked. Irritates the crap out of me. Just clear it and be on your way.
That's what I did as well. Just check them manually.
Appreciate 0
      03-04-2015, 11:21 PM   #7
Dr.Mark
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
36
Posts

Drives: 2011 BMW M3 Coupe
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: St. Louis

iTrader: (1)

My countdown went to zero after a visit to the dealer. They claim it is because I have aftermarket track pads. I checked before the dealer and I had about 10,000 mi on both front and rear per the inboard computer. I had 4 track days on the pads so they still have about 6mm in front. I plan to zip tie the sensors, but now I get brake warnings for immediate service when I drive the car. Can I somehow just reset the warning or do I need to replace the sensors. They still look fine. Damn the stealership!
Appreciate 0
      03-04-2015, 11:30 PM   #8
1MOREMOD
2015 Track Days - 3|Ridge 1:52:24|Pacific 1:35:72
1MOREMOD's Avatar
United_States
238
Rep
14,004
Posts

Drives: Race car->
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: check your mirrors

iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr.Mark View Post
My countdown went to zero after a visit to the dealer. They claim it is because I have aftermarket track pads. I checked before the dealer and I had about 10,000 mi on both front and rear per the inboard computer. I had 4 track days on the pads so they still have about 6mm in front. I plan to zip tie the sensors, but now I get brake warnings for immediate service when I drive the car. Can I somehow just reset the warning or do I need to replace the sensors. They still look fine. Damn the stealership!
Dealer will reset it for you. Mine did.
Appreciate 0
      03-04-2015, 11:51 PM   #9
surlynkid
Major
surlynkid's Avatar
13
Rep
1,200
Posts

Drives: 2013 E92 M3
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: League City, TX

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
You can reset it yourself. There is a thread on it. It involves pushing the stalk button and other such silliness.

Dealer will likely want $$ if it is out of warranty.
__________________
Stoptech 380mm/355mm | Pagid RS-29 | Akrapovic EVO - CF tips | Benvo Tune | MS UDP | AA air filter | Apex EC-7 18x10 square 275/35-18 NT01 | Turner Race Studs | GT4 Brake Cooling | GT4 Power Steering Cooling | Performance Steering Wheel | CF Mirror Caps | CF Spoiler | Varis System 1 Full CF Diffuser | Extended Paddle Shifters | Schroth Quick Fit Pro | Turner Steering Rack Stops | Vorshlag Camber Plates | AiM Solo DL
Appreciate 0
      03-05-2015, 12:05 AM   #10
tbone28
vvvvvvvvvvvvvv
tbone28's Avatar
United_States
65
Rep
2,136
Posts

Drives: ^^^^^
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Bay Area, CA

iTrader: (13)

Key in on position and wait for all the warnings dings to go away. Hold the odometer reset button until the yellow triangle comes up. After that use the scroll on the bc stalk to choose what you want to reset. Once you find it hold bc and it'll reset
Appreciate 0
      03-05-2015, 02:01 PM   #11
roastbeef
Major
roastbeef's Avatar
United_States
36
Rep
1,148
Posts

Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Orange County, CA

iTrader: (1)

Had to reset mine about four times before it was time for new pads.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      03-05-2015, 03:24 PM   #12
tbone28
vvvvvvvvvvvvvv
tbone28's Avatar
United_States
65
Rep
2,136
Posts

Drives: ^^^^^
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Bay Area, CA

iTrader: (13)

I reset them again yesterday. Now, the countdown is 28k miles before service. So it goes from 37k, to 8k, to 28k. Talk about random.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:23 AM.




m3post
m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST