BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > BIMMERPOST Universal Forums > Off-Topic Discussions Board
 
Lux Angel Eyes
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      11-08-2006, 01:07 PM   #1
jerrygarcia
Lieutenant
 
Drives: 335 sedan eventually
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Houston

Posts: 491
iTrader: (0)

Got my drive, now what... (computer guys)

I got the new drive and enclosure, plugged it into my computer and nothing happened. Checked under my computer and everything, nothing. I mean the drive is on and running, i just cant get to it... HELP
jerrygarcia is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-08-2006, 01:13 PM   #2
mds82
Major General
 
mds82's Avatar
 
Drives: 2006 325xi
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: South Central Connecticut

Posts: 5,837
iTrader: (40)

Garage List
Send a message via AIM to mds82 Send a message via Yahoo to mds82
ok you need a little more details there. It sounds like you got an external hard drive and an enclosure.

Did you hook the hard drive up right in the enclosure - Power and data.
How does it conenct to the comptuer - USB, Firewire
do you hear the drive spin up when you power it on.
Go into the device manager and search for new hardware. PM me if you need help
__________________

19" Breyton Race GTS Matt Grey, Eisenmann 4x70 Exhaust with SR Pipes. Vorsteiner Hood, Bilstein Shocks, CFEverywhere, mtec rear,
Carbon Fiber Headlights
mds82 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-08-2006, 01:58 PM   #3
thd13
Major
 
thd13's Avatar
 
Drives: A07 330i
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Murrland

Posts: 1,417
iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2006 330i  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to thd13
Is there any software required?
__________________
My other ride is your mom.
thd13 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-08-2006, 02:36 PM   #4
leeJ
Private
 
leeJ's Avatar
 
Drives: ...
Join Date: May 2006
Location: frisco, ca

Posts: 54
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by thd13
Is there any software required?
yep, some of the HD's requires to install their software first.
leeJ is offline   Peru
0
Reply With Quote
      11-08-2006, 03:12 PM   #5
just4kickz
boku no namae ha...
 
Drives: 2006 BS 330i
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: S. Bay Area, CA + Newark, NJ + ChiCity + True Blue

Posts: 11,037
iTrader: (11)

Garage List
2006 E90 330i  [0.00]
usually if you have a new computer and a new hard drive (as in both items are current) you should be able to plug&play. the cd's that come with a hard drive are normally programs that make the hard drive easier to use... but of course many people wont bother cause its PLUG&PLAY yada. anyways... external hard drives arent the most reliable... so if ur computer does not indicate that there is an external HD, i'd return to the store and ask them to check if the HD is functional.
__________________
looking for a PreLCI Black Sapphire e90 front bumper without license plate holes

"Akimbo shotguns. Broken wrists anyone? And don't give me that 'it's just a game' bull****. Where the **** are my akimbo interventions then?! One scope on each eye mother****er!!"
just4kickz is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-08-2006, 03:16 PM   #6
BMW E90
Major General
 
BMW E90's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 335i
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Around the Bay

Posts: 8,213
iTrader: (8)

Quote:
Originally Posted by just4kickz
usually if you have a new computer and a new hard drive (as in both items are current) you should be able to plug&play. the cd's that come with a hard drive are normally programs that make the hard drive easier to use... but of course many people wont bother cause its PLUG&PLAY yada. anyways... external hard drives arent the most reliable... so if ur computer does not indicate that there is an external HD, i'd return to the store and ask them to check if the HD is functional.

what he said...it should b plug-n-play. if not, check to see if the HDD works...
BMW E90 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-08-2006, 03:51 PM   #7
jerrygarcia
Lieutenant
 
Drives: 335 sedan eventually
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Houston

Posts: 491
iTrader: (0)

I bought an internal 3.5inch hard drive and an enclosure. I hooked everything up, I hear something whirring, but it may just be the fan that came with the enclosure. I think im just gonna call the place that I bought it from.
jerrygarcia is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-08-2006, 04:28 PM   #8
jerrygarcia
Lieutenant
 
Drives: 335 sedan eventually
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Houston

Posts: 491
iTrader: (0)

I went in and unplugged the fan just to check and see if the hard drive itself was working, it is operating. Also, I went into my device manager and it indicates a "USB 2.0 storage device" so im assuming the computer knows its there, it just wont show up under my computer. I bought the damn thing to put my music on because the hard drive on my laptop is out of space. My computer is a toshiba with windows xp. Hope this helps

Thanks guys i am am not technically inclined at all...
jerrygarcia is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-08-2006, 05:23 PM   #9
just4kickz
boku no namae ha...
 
Drives: 2006 BS 330i
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: S. Bay Area, CA + Newark, NJ + ChiCity + True Blue

Posts: 11,037
iTrader: (11)

Garage List
2006 E90 330i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by jerrygarcia
I bought an internal 3.5inch hard drive and an enclosure. I hooked everything up, I hear something whirring, but it may just be the fan that came with the enclosure. I think im just gonna call the place that I bought it from.
SO ITS AN INTERNAL HARD DRIVE?

Assuming you hooked up the power source and the cable thing (i forget what theyr called), the last step is to switch the neutral setting of the hard drive to secondary or primary (depends on whether its linked to thethe secondary or primary position of that cable). Then you need to format the hard drive.... thats about it.
__________________
looking for a PreLCI Black Sapphire e90 front bumper without license plate holes

"Akimbo shotguns. Broken wrists anyone? And don't give me that 'it's just a game' bull****. Where the **** are my akimbo interventions then?! One scope on each eye mother****er!!"
just4kickz is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-08-2006, 07:18 PM   #10
jerrygarcia
Lieutenant
 
Drives: 335 sedan eventually
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Houston

Posts: 491
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by just4kickz
SO ITS AN INTERNAL HARD DRIVE?

Assuming you hooked up the power source and the cable thing (i forget what theyr called), the last step is to switch the neutral setting of the hard drive to secondary or primary (depends on whether its linked to thethe secondary or primary position of that cable). Then you need to format the hard drive.... thats about it.
It is an internal hard drive. How do i switch it from neutral to secondary or primary? Also, how do i format it?
jerrygarcia is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-08-2006, 07:41 PM   #11
SoYank
Major General
 
SoYank's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 E90 335i MT
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Brighton, Colorado

Posts: 7,496
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Send a message via Yahoo to SoYank Send a message via Skype™ to SoYank
If it's an internal drive why did you get an enclosure? Just open the main case and install it there. No need for external power bricks, two cables funning every which way. Now if you don't haver space inside the case, now that's a different story.

With the external enclosures you need to ensure the jumper switches on the hard drive are set as the instructions say (you did read the instructions, didn't you? ).
Have you loaded the drivers? Some enclosure models require their own driver, others are just plug and play.
Does your operating system support USB? I know that sounds silly but how old is the computer?
Does the BIOS recognize the size of the hard drive? I tried to install a 200GB internal drive but my BIOS didn't recognize it because the BIOS was too old.
__________________
2009 E90 335i Montego Blue Black Leather Burl Walnut 6MT US Spec
SatNav ZPP ZCW 6FL TPMS iDrive PDC HWS Xenons BMW Assist Power Rear Sunshade Logic 7
European Taillights Rear Foglamp OEM Alarm PicoTray DataToys XM-DVR Multi-view Processor
Quaife ATB LSD Short Shift Knob Hartge Anti-Roll Bars AP Racing Front Brakes 19" Style 269
SoYank is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-08-2006, 09:18 PM   #12
just4kickz
boku no namae ha...
 
Drives: 2006 BS 330i
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: S. Bay Area, CA + Newark, NJ + ChiCity + True Blue

Posts: 11,037
iTrader: (11)

Garage List
2006 E90 330i  [0.00]
do you know what I mean by primary or secondary drive?

the IDE jumper (the thing long thing that connects to the motherboard) has two inserts... one at the end (PRIMARY) and one in the middle (SECONDARY)

if you have a primary drive (cd drive, hard drive, something else), then you connect the middle input to your drive

LOOK ON THE PICTURE BELOW. there should be a sticker on your hard drive which tells you where to place the little black object in the middle of the jumper to make the hard drive a SECONDARY OR PRIMARY drive.

*YOU DO NOT NEED DRIVERS FOR INTERNAL HARDDRIVES


__________________
looking for a PreLCI Black Sapphire e90 front bumper without license plate holes

"Akimbo shotguns. Broken wrists anyone? And don't give me that 'it's just a game' bull****. Where the **** are my akimbo interventions then?! One scope on each eye mother****er!!"
just4kickz is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-08-2006, 11:06 PM   #13
jerrygarcia
Lieutenant
 
Drives: 335 sedan eventually
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Houston

Posts: 491
iTrader: (0)

Its primary, and i hooked it up right, it was pretty easy. Just put the big one in the big slot, the smaller one in the smaller slot, etc. I mean the drive is working, my computer dings when i plug the usb cable in and dings when i take it out, acknowleging that the drive is there, I just cant access the damn thing...
jerrygarcia is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-08-2006, 11:32 PM   #14
just4kickz
boku no namae ha...
 
Drives: 2006 BS 330i
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: S. Bay Area, CA + Newark, NJ + ChiCity + True Blue

Posts: 11,037
iTrader: (11)

Garage List
2006 E90 330i  [0.00]
internal hard drives use usb? are you sure its not an external hard drive. external hard drives use usb.
__________________
looking for a PreLCI Black Sapphire e90 front bumper without license plate holes

"Akimbo shotguns. Broken wrists anyone? And don't give me that 'it's just a game' bull****. Where the **** are my akimbo interventions then?! One scope on each eye mother****er!!"
just4kickz is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-08-2006, 11:33 PM   #15
just4kickz
boku no namae ha...
 
Drives: 2006 BS 330i
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: S. Bay Area, CA + Newark, NJ + ChiCity + True Blue

Posts: 11,037
iTrader: (11)

Garage List
2006 E90 330i  [0.00]
can you take a picture of your drive... it would make things so much easier.
__________________
looking for a PreLCI Black Sapphire e90 front bumper without license plate holes

"Akimbo shotguns. Broken wrists anyone? And don't give me that 'it's just a game' bull****. Where the **** are my akimbo interventions then?! One scope on each eye mother****er!!"
just4kickz is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-09-2006, 07:22 AM   #16
CraigG
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: 1993 Toyota MR-2 Turbo
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Boca Raton, FL

Posts: 34
iTrader: (0)

He bought an internal HD and bought an external case for it to avoid paying the premium for external HD's.

Mine came with a driver, when you plug it into the computer and hear the USB 'dun-dun' it doesn't pop up with anything?
__________________
I r oph topicness.
CraigG is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-09-2006, 07:56 AM   #17
txusa03
Major General
 
Drives: TS330iPPSP6MT
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Planet Earth

Posts: 6,567
iTrader: (2)

what is the name of the drive you bought and can we see photo pls...Also, if it is used as an external drive, I don't think you should set it as primary. In addition, if this is an internal hard drive that is enclosed in an external case, I think some sort of formatting is needed. When formating, be very carefull. Do not format drive C or D if the operating system is on it. To format, you click on start, settings, control panel, administrative tools, computer management, storage, disk management. under disk management, you should already see System(C and possibly DATA(D if you have a second partition. Now, you need to look for the new unformatted drive and go from there. You can go to google and do a search on formatting in XP and you should have more reading sources to reference. GL.

Be careful and never format C or D...
__________________
under construction!
txusa03 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-09-2006, 09:03 AM   #18
gmcwv
Private First Class
 
Drives: '06 330i Sport
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Northern WV

Posts: 112
iTrader: (0)

jerrygarcia,

The reason you can't see your drive is because you need to format it...as for what to pin setting to set the hard drive...put it on cable select or primary. Follow the steps below to format your hard drive (assumes that you are using win xp)

Start Menu
Right Click on My Computer
Choose Manage
In the Computer Mangement Window go to Disk Management
Here you ought to see your C drive (disk 0) then you ought to see your new usb drive (disk 1)
Right click on the drive properites (the long side on the right side) and choose format.
NFTS file system, choose to give it a letter or a name and tell it to quick format.

There might be a few other options I can't remember off the top of my head but if you have any questions just post here or PM me. Sorry it took me so long to post...I usually don't check back here after 5 pm est
gmcwv is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-09-2006, 11:41 AM   #19
jerrygarcia
Lieutenant
 
Drives: 335 sedan eventually
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Houston

Posts: 491
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by gmcwv
jerrygarcia,

The reason you can't see your drive is because you need to format it...as for what to pin setting to set the hard drive...put it on cable select or primary. Follow the steps below to format your hard drive (assumes that you are using win xp)

Start Menu
Right Click on My Computer
Choose Manage
In the Computer Mangement Window go to Disk Management
Here you ought to see your C drive (disk 0) then you ought to see your new usb drive (disk 1)
Right click on the drive properites (the long side on the right side) and choose format.
NFTS file system, choose to give it a letter or a name and tell it to quick format.

There might be a few other options I can't remember off the top of my head but if you have any questions just post here or PM me. Sorry it took me so long to post...I usually don't check back here after 5 pm est
The thing is it wont let me format, its a option when i right click, i just cant click it. You know how its black when you can click it and grey when you cant, well it is grey. I hope this help, this is just confusing me...
jerrygarcia is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-09-2006, 11:46 AM   #20
thd13
Major
 
thd13's Avatar
 
Drives: A07 330i
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Murrland

Posts: 1,417
iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2006 330i  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to thd13
Quote:
Originally Posted by leeJ
yep, some of the HD's requires to install their software first.
Right, I knew that. I was basically asking him if he has installed any required drivers.
__________________
My other ride is your mom.
thd13 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-09-2006, 11:48 AM   #21
txusa03
Major General
 
Drives: TS330iPPSP6MT
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Planet Earth

Posts: 6,567
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jerrygarcia
The thing is it wont let me format, its a option when i right click, i just cant click it. You know how its black when you can click it and grey when you cant, well it is grey. I hope this help, this is just confusing me...
do you have administrative rights on your laptop? Go to User Account in Control Panel and click on your user name and see if you are the computer administrator.
__________________
under construction!
txusa03 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-09-2006, 01:54 PM   #22
gmcwv
Private First Class
 
Drives: '06 330i Sport
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Northern WV

Posts: 112
iTrader: (0)

You should be able to format an external drive as a regular user double check to make sure your not trying to format you disk 0 (your local disk, C: drive). Send a screen shot if you can. You may want to double check and see if you have admin rights and if not try it as an admin user (wouldn't be the first time I'm wrong). Let us know how it goes.
gmcwv is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:31 PM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST