BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > BIMMERPOST Universal Forums > Off-Topic Discussions Board
 
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-04-2010, 02:41 PM   #1
mJ335
Amateur Post Whore
 
mJ335's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 E90 SparkLiN G. 335i
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: SocaL

Posts: 3,037
iTrader: (17)

Garage List
2007 e90 335i  [0.00]
The Blue Screen

Does anyone know how to fix this problem?
These days, everytime I boot my computer, after 3 or so minutes I get a blue screen saying it's gonna shut down to prevent further damage to the computer and automatically restarts. There is mainly two reasons:

1. MEMORY_MANAGEMENT

2. IRQ_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL

Last week I took it to the computer shop and had the hard drive formatted and installed a fresh new Windows Vista, but the problem persists.. can anyone
__________________
Go WiTh ThE FLoW.

|BL|RS|PIAA|CFE|CFMC|SSM|CFG|CFDP|ABG|M6|AFE|MTECH |RPI|JB+|CSLT|KWSC|
mJ335 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-04-2010, 02:50 PM   #2
DrockNJ
New Member
 
DrockNJ's Avatar
 
Drives: 2006 325i
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Dirty Jersey

Posts: 8
iTrader: (0)

fix it by buying a Mac..../
DrockNJ is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-04-2010, 03:12 PM   #3
ibeclueless
What
 
ibeclueless's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 328xi
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Quincy, MA

Posts: 9,334
iTrader: (1)

sounds like you need a new harddrive
__________________
E92 328xi Space Gray
Aero Lip | M3 Side Skirts | CF Performance Spoiler | ACS Roof | Gloss Black Grilles | LUX H8 Angels | BMW Performance Exhaust

My E92 Photos
ibeclueless is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-04-2010, 03:20 PM   #4
Memphis1
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Memphis1's Avatar
 
Drives: Z4 SDrive 35i
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: CT

Posts: 1,843
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ibeclueless View Post
sounds like you need a new harddrive
+1, the reformatting doesn't help, and you could've done that yourself for free.
__________________
Memphis1 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-04-2010, 03:32 PM   #5
KingOfJericho
Major General
 
KingOfJericho's Avatar
 
Drives: Yes
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: CT

Posts: 5,047
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2010 135i Coupe  [2.63]
Mac FTW.
__________________
The views and opinions expressed in this post are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Bimmerpost.

2010 S4 Current | 2010 BMW 135i Retired | 2006 Lotus Exige Retired
KingOfJericho is online now   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-04-2010, 03:32 PM   #6
E36_325i
Private First Class
 
E36_325i's Avatar
 
Drives: E36 325i + '06 M3
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Indianapolis

Posts: 142
iTrader: (0)

Bad RAM, I promise. There are memory test applications out there you can download to test this. Just google it.
__________________
'06 M3 | Jet/Cinn | ZPP | Xenons | NAV | Military Sales.
E36_325i is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-04-2010, 03:34 PM   #7
mJ335
Amateur Post Whore
 
mJ335's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 E90 SparkLiN G. 335i
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: SocaL

Posts: 3,037
iTrader: (17)

Garage List
2007 e90 335i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by memphis2012 View Post
+1, the reformatting doesn't help, and you could've done that yourself for free.
I wish I could've.. but on startup it said "INSERT SYSTEM DISK AND PRESS ENTER" and I didn't have a system disk.. so had to go to a local computer shop and have it fixed.. feels like I paid $20 for nothing one of the members said the same exact thing.. that I need a new hard drive.. any other suggestions?

I researched online and some ppl downloaded Registry Booster and got the problem fixed.. did anyone try that?
__________________
Go WiTh ThE FLoW.

|BL|RS|PIAA|CFE|CFMC|SSM|CFG|CFDP|ABG|M6|AFE|MTECH |RPI|JB+|CSLT|KWSC|
mJ335 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-04-2010, 03:36 PM   #8
mJ335
Amateur Post Whore
 
mJ335's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 E90 SparkLiN G. 335i
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: SocaL

Posts: 3,037
iTrader: (17)

Garage List
2007 e90 335i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by E36_325i View Post
Bad RAM, I promise. There are memory test applications out there you can download to test this. Just google it.
Do you have a program or name of program that you mainly use? I just don't trust downloading from random sites..
__________________
Go WiTh ThE FLoW.

|BL|RS|PIAA|CFE|CFMC|SSM|CFG|CFDP|ABG|M6|AFE|MTECH |RPI|JB+|CSLT|KWSC|
mJ335 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-04-2010, 03:38 PM   #9
ragingclue
One cam is enough
 
ragingclue's Avatar
 
Drives: VF
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: mulletville

Posts: 6,774
iTrader: (1)

goto
control panel>
system>
advanced tab>
startup and recovery - settings>
under the title - system failure
untick - automatically restart

now when it crashes - it will not restart and the blue screen should stay on the screen
post the info on the screen it will give the errorcodes and a filename, if caused by a driver.

-----or-----

Start menu
Type in "eventvwr.msc" - no quotes to run the event viewer
Under Windows Logs>
System
Check for any messages other than those labeled "Information". Particularly look for any that show Error
ragingclue is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-04-2010, 03:39 PM   #10
ragingclue
One cam is enough
 
ragingclue's Avatar
 
Drives: VF
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: mulletville

Posts: 6,774
iTrader: (1)

Reminds me a lot of the BSOD I get when I OC my RAM too high.
ragingclue is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-04-2010, 03:46 PM   #11
ragingclue
One cam is enough
 
ragingclue's Avatar
 
Drives: VF
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: mulletville

Posts: 6,774
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mJ335 View Post
Do you have a program or name of program that you mainly use? I just don't trust downloading from random sites..
memtest
ragingclue is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-04-2010, 03:49 PM   #12
mJ335
Amateur Post Whore
 
mJ335's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 E90 SparkLiN G. 335i
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: SocaL

Posts: 3,037
iTrader: (17)

Garage List
2007 e90 335i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by ragingclue View Post
goto
control panel>
system>
advanced tab>
startup and recovery - settings>
under the title - system failure
untick - automatically restart

now when it crashes - it will not restart and the blue screen should stay on the screen
post the info on the screen it will give the errorcodes and a filename, if caused by a driver.

-----or-----

Start menu
Type in "eventvwr.msc" - no quotes to run the event viewer
Under Windows Logs>
System
Check for any messages other than those labeled "Information". Particularly look for any that show Error
Thank you! I've done the first option.. but the funny thing is, after a few crashes/blue screen in the way beginning (when I FIRST turn on my computer in the morning), the computer runs fine the whole day! So.. I'll definitely take note of the errorcodes and filename tomorrow morning when it starts crashing on me again..
__________________
Go WiTh ThE FLoW.

|BL|RS|PIAA|CFE|CFMC|SSM|CFG|CFDP|ABG|M6|AFE|MTECH |RPI|JB+|CSLT|KWSC|
mJ335 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-04-2010, 03:49 PM   #13
Alexander
Mad tyte EuR0 style boooi <--- Joke
 
Alexander's Avatar
 
Drives: E30, E85, MKVI
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Deal's Gap

Posts: 2,472
iTrader: (0)

Mac's are too expensive for what you get.

I have an ASUS G50V and a Mac Book Pro. Asus wins....
Alexander is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-04-2010, 03:54 PM   #14
Alexander
Mad tyte EuR0 style boooi <--- Joke
 
Alexander's Avatar
 
Drives: E30, E85, MKVI
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Deal's Gap

Posts: 2,472
iTrader: (0)

Mac's are too expensive for what you get.

I have an ASUS G50V and a Mac Book Pro. Asus wins....
Alexander is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-04-2010, 04:07 PM   #15
jpsum
Major
 
jpsum's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 TSX
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: New Haven area

Posts: 1,089
iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by DrockNJ View Post
fix it by buying a Mac..../

So when your BMW breaks down, do you go buy a toyota or a honda too?
jpsum is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-04-2010, 04:11 PM   #16
ragingclue
One cam is enough
 
ragingclue's Avatar
 
Drives: VF
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: mulletville

Posts: 6,774
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jpsum View Post
So when your BMW breaks down, do you go buy a toyota or a honda too?
well, reasons like this are why the general public will say stuff like "get a mac".

If you learn your way around a Windows based PC, you'll get far more out of it than you would ever get out of a Mac, not to mention for far less money (except for video editing).

Upon getting a BSOD, your typical American would either pay a "professional" ridiculous amounts of money to fix it, or decide they need a new computer. That's not very cost-effective. The resources around for troubleshooting problems are vast and many, but most Americans won't take the time or make the effort to do anything about it themselves.
ragingclue is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-04-2010, 04:20 PM   #17
mJ335
Amateur Post Whore
 
mJ335's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 E90 SparkLiN G. 335i
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: SocaL

Posts: 3,037
iTrader: (17)

Garage List
2007 e90 335i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by ragingclue View Post
memtest
Okayy I just downloaded and tested this, and during the memtest, the computer crashed on me again!!! I think you're on the dot ragingclue.. looks like there are issues with my RAM..

The error code was: IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL

and the file name was

STOP: 0x0000000A (0x20004038, 0x00000006, 0x00000000, 0x81A57994)

hmm.. does that mean something?lol
__________________
Go WiTh ThE FLoW.

|BL|RS|PIAA|CFE|CFMC|SSM|CFG|CFDP|ABG|M6|AFE|MTECH |RPI|JB+|CSLT|KWSC|
mJ335 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-04-2010, 04:24 PM   #18
jpsum
Major
 
jpsum's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 TSX
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: New Haven area

Posts: 1,089
iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mJ335 View Post
Okayy I just downloaded and tested this, and during the memtest, the computer crashed on me again!!! I think you're on the dot ragingclue.. looks like there are issues with my RAM..

The error code was: IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL

and the file name was

STOP: 0x0000000A (0x20004038, 0x00000006, 0x00000000, 0x81A57994)

hmm.. does that mean something?lol

How many sticks of memory are there? If there are more than one stick, you could try to remove one and run with it. If it is the bad one that you removed, it would run fine.
jpsum is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-04-2010, 04:38 PM   #19
ragingclue
One cam is enough
 
ragingclue's Avatar
 
Drives: VF
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: mulletville

Posts: 6,774
iTrader: (1)

In all fairness, I was not the first to suggest that RAM was the issue.

Is any of your hardware overclocked?

Those hex numbers indicate the address which was trying to be read, the IRQ level, the fact that it's a READ, and the address of the instruction itself, which means nothing really lol....

I'd say give it a shot with a stick at a time; run memtest like that and see if one stick passes while the other fails.
ragingclue is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-04-2010, 04:44 PM   #20
mJ335
Amateur Post Whore
 
mJ335's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 E90 SparkLiN G. 335i
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: SocaL

Posts: 3,037
iTrader: (17)

Garage List
2007 e90 335i  [0.00]
It's an HP AMD with 3Gig RAM.. I think there are three 1gig RAM installed.. honestly I don't even know where it is located lol I guess I'll take a look.. but gotta run some errands I'll update u guys by tomorrow! Really appreciate your help by the way!!!
__________________
Go WiTh ThE FLoW.

|BL|RS|PIAA|CFE|CFMC|SSM|CFG|CFDP|ABG|M6|AFE|MTECH |RPI|JB+|CSLT|KWSC|
mJ335 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-04-2010, 04:55 PM   #21
mJ335
Amateur Post Whore
 
mJ335's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 E90 SparkLiN G. 335i
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: SocaL

Posts: 3,037
iTrader: (17)

Garage List
2007 e90 335i  [0.00]
What is Hyper-V and where can I find it? I researched further and some said they uninstalled this "Hyper-V" and it stopped crashing..
__________________
Go WiTh ThE FLoW.

|BL|RS|PIAA|CFE|CFMC|SSM|CFG|CFDP|ABG|M6|AFE|MTECH |RPI|JB+|CSLT|KWSC|
mJ335 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-04-2010, 04:59 PM   #22
ragingclue
One cam is enough
 
ragingclue's Avatar
 
Drives: VF
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: mulletville

Posts: 6,774
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mJ335 View Post
It's an HP AMD with 3Gig RAM.. I think there are three 1gig RAM installed.. honestly I don't even know where it is located lol I guess I'll take a look.. but gotta run some errands I'll update u guys by tomorrow! Really appreciate your help by the way!!!
Interesting. How old is it? An AMD with 3 GB? Or do you maybe have 32-bit and it's really 4GB?
ragingclue is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:56 PM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST