BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > M3 (E90 / E92 / E93) > General M3 Forum (E90 + E92 + E93)
 
GetBMWParts
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-23-2010, 03:22 AM   #23
Ant714
M3 4 Antwone
Ant714's Avatar
United_States
0
Rep
47
Posts

Drives: 2009 SG e92 M3
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Brea, CA

iTrader: (1)

I used to have the same error on my 2008 e92 M3. I would happen each time I came to a stop (or close to a stop). http://www.m3post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=296782.
I received the latest software updates, a faulty idle air hose was replaced because it was deteriorating and finally the gear selector switch was replaced.
I also got the "Engine Malfunction/Reduced Power" error while driving on the freeway twice.

In the end, BMWNA did a buyback.
Appreciate 0
      03-23-2010, 08:47 AM   #24
Grimey18
Registered
0
Rep
2
Posts

Drives: eMtReS
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: S Jersey

iTrader: (0)

mines in the dealership right now for this issue.
Appreciate 0
      03-29-2010, 10:51 PM   #25
sehrgut
Major
sehrgut's Avatar
26
Rep
1,033
Posts

Drives: emthree
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: socal

iTrader: (1)

I seem to have gotten similar problem right now before coming home but to pissed off to deal with it right now, will see how it works later tonight...sigh. DCT SUCKS ASS BIGTIME! Should have just gotten the effing GTR.
Appreciate 0
      08-31-2010, 10:31 PM   #26
warzilla
Lieutenant
warzilla's Avatar
United_States
51
Rep
559
Posts

Drives: M3
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: NYC

iTrader: (-1)

My car got the 'trans range N' message on the iDrive. Brought it to the dealer and they replaced the shifter. Took 1 day. Car was fine even when the message was on.
Appreciate 0
      10-10-2011, 01:37 PM   #27
Paardshoofd
New Member
Paardshoofd's Avatar
Netherlands
0
Rep
9
Posts

Drives: BMW M3 Coupe E92
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Alkmaar

iTrader: (0)

Angry Similar problem; warranty expired

Having the same problem. Started 2-3 months ago. After a sw update the problem was gone, until it reappeared last week. Now my dealer says they need to replace the shifter which, with a 1,5 day of work, costs almost 1600 euros.
However, my warranty expired 9 months ago and I've driven 43000 km, but I don't want to pay because a good product shouldn't break down in this timeframe and I have no control over how the dct works. So the problem can't by my fault!
Problem is that I have a US version but driving in Europe (Netherlands). Therefore warranty is 2 years instead of 4 years in the US. My dealer tried to get it repaired under some sort of warranty but got no as an answer from BMW.
Has anyone has a similar issue with expensive repairs just outside warranty and found a way not to have to pay for it.

Thanks.
Appreciate 0
      04-04-2014, 03:43 PM   #28
mbhaddad
New Member
0
Rep
18
Posts

Drives: AW e92 M3
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Indianpolis

iTrader: (0)

So the general fix is a software update and gear selector switch or does the whole shifter need to be replaced? Are there any diagnostic codes to look for?
Appreciate 0
      01-17-2018, 10:43 PM   #29
IK6SPEED
Colonel
IK6SPEED's Avatar
United_States
300
Rep
2,574
Posts

Drives: Z4 35IS
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Sacramento, CA

iTrader: (10)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mbhaddad View Post
So the general fix is a software update and gear selector switch or does the whole shifter need to be replaced? Are there any diagnostic codes to look for?
what is the fix for this error? anybody know what fixes it? software or hardware issue?
__________________
Stable: F22 M235I / E89 Z4 35IS / F30 330XI
Past: F80 ZCP /F30 335I /F30 328I /E90 335D /E90 328i
Appreciate 0
      01-21-2018, 11:45 PM   #30
ciannotta1385
Registered
0
Rep
2
Posts

Drives: 2012 BMW 135i M Sport
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Elmhurst, IL

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by IK6SPEED View Post
what is the fix for this error? anybody know what fixes it? software or hardware issue?
IK6SPEED did you resolve your problem? I had just brought my car into the dealer to fix an airbag recall and flex disc recall. They found that the oil housing gasket was leaking so I ended up bringing it to my indy mechanic and changed the upper and lower gaskets to be safe. On the drive home this popped up on the screen. Seems like something set it off can't just be coincidence.
Appreciate 0
      01-22-2018, 12:00 AM   #31
IK6SPEED
Colonel
IK6SPEED's Avatar
United_States
300
Rep
2,574
Posts

Drives: Z4 35IS
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Sacramento, CA

iTrader: (10)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ciannotta1385 View Post
IK6SPEED did you resolve your problem? I had just brought my car into the dealer to fix an airbag recall and flex disc recall. They found that the oil housing gasket was leaking so I ended up bringing it to my indy mechanic and changed the upper and lower gaskets to be safe. On the drive home this popped up on the screen. Seems like something set it off can't just be coincidence.
No i havent, i will try to get my transmission software reflashed/updated this week when i get my EDC coded out, really hoping its software and nothing hardware related. If it fixes it, i will post a reply if i dont forget.
__________________
Stable: F22 M235I / E89 Z4 35IS / F30 330XI
Past: F80 ZCP /F30 335I /F30 328I /E90 335D /E90 328i
Appreciate 0
      01-22-2018, 11:32 PM   #32
ciannotta1385
Registered
0
Rep
2
Posts

Drives: 2012 BMW 135i M Sport
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Elmhurst, IL

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by IK6SPEED View Post
No i havent, i will try to get my transmission software reflashed/updated this week when i get my EDC coded out, really hoping its software and nothing hardware related. If it fixes it, i will post a reply if i dont forget.
I brought mine to the indy today, he checked the codes and he said there was nothing to worry about. He cleared them and nothing came back up on my drive home. Not completely sure that cured it but I am hoping.
Appreciate 0
      01-24-2018, 08:20 PM   #33
IK6SPEED
Colonel
IK6SPEED's Avatar
United_States
300
Rep
2,574
Posts

Drives: Z4 35IS
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Sacramento, CA

iTrader: (10)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ciannotta1385 View Post
I brought mine to the indy today, he checked the codes and he said there was nothing to worry about. He cleared them and nothing came back up on my drive home. Not completely sure that cured it but I am hoping.
I had Alex @ Alpine re-flash my DCT to the 135is software and it seamed to make the code go away. Drove it 3 times since and hasn't reappeared. Hope that fixes it too.
__________________
Stable: F22 M235I / E89 Z4 35IS / F30 330XI
Past: F80 ZCP /F30 335I /F30 328I /E90 335D /E90 328i
Appreciate 1
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:39 AM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST