BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > BIMMERPOST Universal Forums > Off-Topic Discussions Board
 
GTB Performance
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-30-2010, 02:23 PM   #1
.:bHd:.
Major
.:bHd:.'s Avatar
Armenia
71
Rep
1,149
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335i MT
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: So Cal

iTrader: (0)

Any DJs or Sound Engineers here?

I'm about to buy my equipment and need some advice. Im getting pioneer CDJ 900s and a DJM 800 mixer. My question is how would I output to more than one amp? I'm most likely gonna run two amps. 1 for two speakers, and another for two subs. How would I run a cable from the mixer to both amps?

Thanks
__________________

Appreciate 0
      01-30-2010, 04:19 PM   #2
Gearcraft
misadventurer
Gearcraft's Avatar
Philippines
10
Rep
708
Posts

 
Drives: bubbie mystic blue whale
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: candied island

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by .:bHd:. View Post
I'm about to buy my equipment and need some advice. Im getting pioneer CDJ 900s and a DJM 800 mixer. My question is how would I output to more than one amp? I'm most likely gonna run two amps. 1 for two speakers, and another for two subs. How would I run a cable from the mixer to both amps?

Thanks
you would get a cross-over. what it basically does is split the signal from the mixer and give you an output for high and low frequency. a cross-over in its essence is just high pass and low pass filter but they overlap at one point.

you could also get away with just a splitter. but using a splitter you have all signal coming out of the highs and the subs which may not be desirable.

another option is to get a controller that is specific to your speakers. it is just a cross-over but optimized for your speakers.

some mixers will also give you a sub-woofer output. hope this helps.
__________________
325i I SP
Appreciate 0
      01-30-2010, 04:52 PM   #3
.:bHd:.
Major
.:bHd:.'s Avatar
Armenia
71
Rep
1,149
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335i MT
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: So Cal

iTrader: (0)

Thanks it did but it's a bit more complicated. My speakers have crossovers in them so it splits the highs and lows between itself since its two 15" inside. So I don't wanna just send the highs there.
__________________

Appreciate 0
      01-30-2010, 05:48 PM   #4
Gearcraft
misadventurer
Gearcraft's Avatar
Philippines
10
Rep
708
Posts

 
Drives: bubbie mystic blue whale
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: candied island

iTrader: (0)

i just checked the back of the mixer you are buying. here's my take on it...

i would get two XLR Y-splitter. one for the L and one for the R channel.

one end of the L and R channel would go to the amp for the main speakers.

the other end would go to the amp for the subs.

on the back of the main speakers. i would leave the cross-over to the option where i can either use it as a stereo if i want to use it as a stereo or switch it to highs if i want to use it as a high.

on the back of the subs, if it is a similar speaker, i would switch the cross-over to lows so i can use them just as subs.

some amps would also come with cross-overs so if the amp has one switch it appropriately too.

normally i would use a separate cross-over and minimize complications in splitting the signal. now... the only thing is that im not sure if the Y-splitter will give you a L and R channel or it will give you two identical signal. either way, this should still work but a bit confusing.

if this still does not help would you mind listing the amps and the speakers? i just need to see the outputs and the inputs behind them because there are so many ways to go around this.
__________________
325i I SP
Appreciate 0
      01-30-2010, 05:59 PM   #5
.:bHd:.
Major
.:bHd:.'s Avatar
Armenia
71
Rep
1,149
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335i MT
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: So Cal

iTrader: (0)

Nope not confusing at all. I think that's my best best too. I just checked again and think the mixer has two master outs. One of them is an RCA out and the other is the big one forgot what its called

What do you think? It says master 1 and master 2

__________________

Appreciate 0
      01-30-2010, 06:22 PM   #6
Gearcraft
misadventurer
Gearcraft's Avatar
Philippines
10
Rep
708
Posts

 
Drives: bubbie mystic blue whale
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: candied island

iTrader: (0)

Master 1 would be the better choice. the connection is called XLR. if you have a choice to use an XLR, use it because the third pin is a ground and it would give you a cleaner sound versus Master 2 which is your typical RCA out. plus, you paid for your mixer's features so the better thing to do is make use of them.
__________________
325i I SP
Appreciate 0
      01-30-2010, 08:44 PM   #7
huyner328
Former N54 Fanatic
36
Rep
1,915
Posts

 
Drives: Slow
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: NoVA

iTrader: (8)

Garage List
Send a message via AIM to huyner328
The harmonizer on that 800 is exxxxcellent.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      01-30-2010, 09:37 PM   #8
.:bHd:.
Major
.:bHd:.'s Avatar
Armenia
71
Rep
1,149
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335i MT
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: So Cal

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gearcraft View Post
Master 1 would be the better choice. the connection is called XLR. if you have a choice to use an XLR, use it because the third pin is a ground and it would give you a cleaner sound versus Master 2 which is your typical RCA out. plus, you paid for your mixer's features so the better thing to do is make use of them.
I guess that's what I'll do. You think the sound quality will drop cuz of the split though?

Quote:
Originally Posted by huyner328 View Post
The harmonizer on that 800 is exxxxcellent.
I think the best feature on it is the color effects for each channel. Had a chance to play with it at a friends house and thats when I was sold on it.
__________________

Appreciate 0
      01-30-2010, 10:57 PM   #9
Gearcraft
misadventurer
Gearcraft's Avatar
Philippines
10
Rep
708
Posts

 
Drives: bubbie mystic blue whale
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: candied island

iTrader: (0)

[quote=.:bHd:.;6631608]I guess that's what I'll do. You think the sound quality will drop cuz of the split though?

maybe... if it will, i doubt it would be significant just because you would most likely be pushing a really strong signal through the splitters.

i recommend that you use decent quality connectors though. if you can afford the monster cables get the monster cables. (they are hard to break plus you can bring them back to any music store like sam ash or guitar center and they will replace it without any questions in case you break them) alternatives would also work just check the build so you dont end up with cheap connections that will degrade the signal from your expensive mixer.
__________________
325i I SP
Appreciate 0
      01-31-2010, 12:13 AM   #10
.:bHd:.
Major
.:bHd:.'s Avatar
Armenia
71
Rep
1,149
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335i MT
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: So Cal

iTrader: (0)

[quote=Gearcraft;6631929]
Quote:
Originally Posted by .:bHd:. View Post
I guess that's what I'll do. You think the sound quality will drop cuz of the split though?

maybe... if it will, i doubt it would be significant just because you would most likely be pushing a really strong signal through the splitters.

i recommend that you use decent quality connectors though. if you can afford the monster cables get the monster cables. (they are hard to break plus you can bring them back to any music store like sam ash or guitar center and they will replace it without any questions in case you break them) alternatives would also work just check the build so you dont end up with cheap connections that will degrade the signal from your expensive mixer.
Haha ya I'm sending close to $7k on this I don't want the cheapest part ruining the whole thing..

Thanks for all the help man!
__________________

Appreciate 0
      01-31-2010, 03:42 AM   #11
Gearcraft
misadventurer
Gearcraft's Avatar
Philippines
10
Rep
708
Posts

 
Drives: bubbie mystic blue whale
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: candied island

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by .:bHd:. View Post

Haha ya I'm sending close to $7k on this I don't want the cheapest part ruining the whole thing..

Thanks for all the help man!
no problem! enjoy the gear and the music!
__________________
325i I SP
Appreciate 0
      02-01-2010, 01:25 PM   #12
T-MC-G
Captain
T-MC-G's Avatar
16
Rep
671
Posts

 
Drives: e90 325i
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Trier, Germany

iTrader: (5)

if you aren't running a pair of booth speakers can't you use those to feed into the sub amp? Then you will have independant sub volume control by adjusting the booth level on the mixer...
__________________

"tell me what you don't like about yourself..."
Appreciate 0
      02-01-2010, 02:23 PM   #13
.:bHd:.
Major
.:bHd:.'s Avatar
Armenia
71
Rep
1,149
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335i MT
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: So Cal

iTrader: (0)

That's a good idea as well. Gonna have to try it out and see what works best.
__________________

Appreciate 0
      02-01-2010, 03:13 PM   #14
Lloyd
Networking Geek
Lloyd's Avatar
United_States
6
Rep
334
Posts

 
Drives: 2014 Subaru STi 5dr
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Pembroke Pines, FL

iTrader: (2)

Send a message via AIM to Lloyd
dbx driveracks supposedly work well, would fit easily into a mobile amp rack. they also have many other additional features.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      02-01-2010, 04:48 PM   #15
AW335TT
Lieutenant
Armenia
16
Rep
491
Posts

 
Drives: a car
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: North Hollywood, CA

iTrader: (0)

what kind of speakers you using?? D&B audiotechnik FTW!! really pricey tho..
__________________
Appreciate 0
      02-01-2010, 05:15 PM   #16
Gearcraft
misadventurer
Gearcraft's Avatar
Philippines
10
Rep
708
Posts

 
Drives: bubbie mystic blue whale
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: candied island

iTrader: (0)

im not very familiar with DJ set-ups. im curious, what do you guys have in your rig?

to bhd...
if you are using really expensive speakers you might want to look into getting a compressor/limiter if you haven't. this will protect your speakers by keeping your dB under control. some of them come with noise gates which is useful for preventing mics from picking up ambient noise but if you dont use mics you might be able to get away with just the comp/limiter. also, it doesnt hurt to add a power conditioner/power strip/surge protector.
__________________
325i I SP
Appreciate 0
      02-01-2010, 06:47 PM   #17
.:bHd:.
Major
.:bHd:.'s Avatar
Armenia
71
Rep
1,149
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335i MT
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: So Cal

iTrader: (0)

I'm gonna get a pair of JBL JRX125s and JRX 118s subs. I'm not gonna have a mobile rack thing cuz the CDJs and the mixer are pretty big lol.
__________________

Appreciate 0
      02-01-2010, 09:18 PM   #18
AW335TT
Lieutenant
Armenia
16
Rep
491
Posts

 
Drives: a car
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: North Hollywood, CA

iTrader: (0)

you should get the srx728 dual 18 sub, that shit bumpss..
__________________
Appreciate 0
      02-02-2010, 12:43 AM   #19
.:bHd:.
Major
.:bHd:.'s Avatar
Armenia
71
Rep
1,149
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335i MT
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: So Cal

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by AW335TT View Post
you should get the srx728 dual 18 sub, that shit bumpss..
Dude I was gonna get better ones than that but it's huge. I'm gonna get a ram truck with a bed cover and that shit will not fit.
__________________

Appreciate 0
      02-02-2010, 01:13 AM   #20
AW335TT
Lieutenant
Armenia
16
Rep
491
Posts

 
Drives: a car
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: North Hollywood, CA

iTrader: (0)

how much are you looking to spend on speakers?
__________________
Appreciate 0
      02-02-2010, 01:33 PM   #21
.:bHd:.
Major
.:bHd:.'s Avatar
Armenia
71
Rep
1,149
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335i MT
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: So Cal

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by AW335TT View Post
how much are you looking to spend on speakers?
Well for the 2 seakers and 2 subs that I mentioned, I got a quote of around $1400 from guitar center. I think it's pretty good since the msrp on all of them together would be around 2gs. The gigs i'm gonna do in the beginning are gonna be around 200-300 people. This is plenty enough for that. Once i start making some money then I'll get better stuff. Don't wanna spend so much in the beginning.
__________________

Appreciate 0
      02-02-2010, 01:54 PM   #22
flyer333
GSS CORP.
flyer333's Avatar
Taiwan
20
Rep
1,599
Posts

 
Drives: E90/E93
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada

iTrader: (3)

does anyone here know where i can download acapellas for popular songs so i can remix them?
__________________

Don't teach a pig how to read, it's a waste of time and it annoys the pig.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:06 AM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST