BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Coding / ConnectedDrive / Audio-Video / Electronics / Bluetooth / I-Drive & Nav
 
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-10-2010, 06:48 PM   #1
bknight
Lieutenant
United_States
18

 
bknight's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Manhattan, NYC


Posts: 592
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2010 M3  [0.00]
2008 E92 335i  [5.00]
2010 iDrive navigation wants me to get off at every exit!

Has anyone else with a 2010 model experienced consistent navigation problems whereby the system tells you to take the next exit from an interstate and then just loop around and get right back on the interstate again?

My system does this to me constantly on the NJ Turnpike. For example, I'll be heading south from NYC for a 100+ mile journey on the Turnpike. My navigation will tell me to get off at every exit possible and then, if you look at the map view that shows your route highlighted in white, it just wants you to loop around/do a u-turn and then get right back on the highway. There is no sense to this, and none of the exits present any form of reasonable route alternative. And then it does the same thing coming home going northbound. Had this happen on three trips.

This is happening to me on fast route, efficient route or short route.

I had a 2008 335i before this and the nav system on idrive never did anything like this.

Will be taking it in for 1200 mile service next week anyway and will mention this, but wondering if anyone else has experienced this. Thanks.
__________________
2010 E92 M3 || Akrapovic Slip-on | MS Air Filter | MS 15/12 Spacers | V1 Hardwire
Appreciate 0
      01-10-2010, 07:33 PM   #2
mazda3ndp
Lieutenant
United_States
40

 
Drives: E93 M3
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Bergen NJ


Posts: 583
iTrader: (8)

Send a message via AIM to mazda3ndp
my 08 m3 is fine, my mom has a 09 335i and she complains of similar issues but I never really pay attention because shes not very tech savvy so I chalked it up to her error somehow, maybe I will pay more attention next time she complains
Appreciate 0
      01-10-2010, 07:56 PM   #3
///M Rakete
Rocket Scientist
United_States
16

 
///M Rakete's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW 2010 M3 Coupe
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: California


Posts: 856
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bknight View Post
Has anyone else with a 2010 model experienced consistent navigation problems whereby the system tells you to take the next exit from an interstate and then just loop around and get right back on the interstate again?

My system does this to me constantly on the NJ Turnpike. For example, I'll be heading south from NYC for a 100+ mile journey on the Turnpike. My navigation will tell me to get off at every exit possible and then, if you look at the map view that shows your route highlighted in white, it just wants you to loop around/do a u-turn and then get right back on the highway. There is no sense to this, and none of the exits present any form of reasonable route alternative. And then it does the same thing coming home going northbound. Had this happen on three trips.

This is happening to me on fast route, efficient route or short route.

I had a 2008 335i before this and the nav system on idrive never did anything like this.

Will be taking it in for 1200 mile service next week anyway and will mention this, but wondering if anyone else has experienced this. Thanks.
Is "Avoid toll roads" selected?
__________________
2010 BMW M3 Coupe M-DCT w/Tech-EDC, BMW M Performance Exhaust, BPM: Stage I / Euro MDM / DCT / Steering, Space Gray / Fox Red Extended, and a Trunk Monkey known as "Der Stig", plus the daily driver...
2011 BMW 135i M Sport DCT, w/BMW Performance Power Kit, Exhaust, and Brake Rotors, Space Gray / Coral Red, known as "Stiggie" with an outlaw F20 "M135i" badge.
Appreciate 0
      01-10-2010, 08:32 PM   #4
bknight
Lieutenant
United_States
18

 
bknight's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Manhattan, NYC


Posts: 592
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2010 M3  [0.00]
2008 E92 335i  [5.00]
^^thanks for both the replies.

i'm going to check whether the avoid toll roads option is selected next time i take the car out (living in manhattan it is garaged a few blocks away and i'm feeling too cold to go out and check it now!). i will report back.
__________________
2010 E92 M3 || Akrapovic Slip-on | MS Air Filter | MS 15/12 Spacers | V1 Hardwire
Appreciate 0
      01-11-2010, 08:10 AM   #5
quality_sound
8 tracks of madness
United_States
44

 
Drives: Slowly
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: At home


Posts: 2,731
iTrader: (1)

It could also be an "avoid highway" or "avoid city streets" thing.
Appreciate 0
      01-11-2010, 08:14 AM   #6
135iUSN
135i is fun at 155mph
United_States
32

 
135iUSN's Avatar
 
Drives: 135i Alpine White / Terra
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: CVG


Posts: 1,367
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Sounds like that to me some click box is checked in error.
__________________
'09 135i / Dinan Stage 2 / Alpine White w/Terracotta / High Gloss Black Trim / ZCW / ZPP / ZSP w/313's / CA / PDC / Step & Paddle Shift / iDrive / iPod-USB / Perf Kidney Grills / LCI Tails / Passport 9500ix / M Floor Mats
'14 RAM 1500 Crew / eco diesel
Appreciate 0
      01-11-2010, 09:57 PM   #7
bknight
Lieutenant
United_States
18

 
bknight's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Manhattan, NYC


Posts: 592
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2010 M3  [0.00]
2008 E92 335i  [5.00]
So I went into the car and checked. All the "avoid" options are unchecked, so it is definitely not one of those causing the problem (and a bit of a relief in a way, as I would have felt like a complete fool if that had been the answer!).

Couple of other things to note. Firstly, I programmed in the same route from my garage and used the interactive map to scroll all the way through the highlighted white route. It was not suggesting I do the ridiculous exit, loop around/u-turn, back on the highway thing.

Secondly, I remember yesterday that when I got on the Turnpike, the arrow display was initially showing for me to stay on the Turnpike for 54 miles (which was exactly correct for my route). It's only when it gets near an exit that it gets all excited and suggests I get off the Turnpike and then get back on it again.

I'm concluding for now that this is some sort of bug affecting the NJ Turnpike in particular, since this has not happened for me programming routes on the Long Island Expressway or Garden State Parkway.

I will mention it to the Dealer and post back anything useful I hear.

In the meantime, grateful for any other thoughts people might have. Thanks for the replies above.
__________________
2010 E92 M3 || Akrapovic Slip-on | MS Air Filter | MS 15/12 Spacers | V1 Hardwire
Appreciate 0
      01-11-2010, 11:56 PM   #8
///M Rakete
Rocket Scientist
United_States
16

 
///M Rakete's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW 2010 M3 Coupe
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: California


Posts: 856
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bknight View Post
So I went into the car and checked. All the "avoid" options are unchecked, so it is definitely not one of those causing the problem (and a bit of a relief in a way, as I would have felt like a complete fool if that had been the answer!).

Couple of other things to note. Firstly, I programmed in the same route from my garage and used the interactive map to scroll all the way through the highlighted white route. It was not suggesting I do the ridiculous exit, loop around/u-turn, back on the highway thing.

Secondly, I remember yesterday that when I got on the Turnpike, the arrow display was initially showing for me to stay on the Turnpike for 54 miles (which was exactly correct for my route). It's only when it gets near an exit that it gets all excited and suggests I get off the Turnpike and then get back on it again.

I'm concluding for now that this is some sort of bug affecting the NJ Turnpike in particular, since this has not happened for me programming routes on the Long Island Expressway or Garden State Parkway.

I will mention it to the Dealer and post back anything useful I hear.

In the meantime, grateful for any other thoughts people might have. Thanks for the replies above.
Is it possible that Dynamic Destination Guidance is selected? It will reroute you based on the traffic ahead but the system will not point out traffic obstructions on the original route.
__________________
2010 BMW M3 Coupe M-DCT w/Tech-EDC, BMW M Performance Exhaust, BPM: Stage I / Euro MDM / DCT / Steering, Space Gray / Fox Red Extended, and a Trunk Monkey known as "Der Stig", plus the daily driver...
2011 BMW 135i M Sport DCT, w/BMW Performance Power Kit, Exhaust, and Brake Rotors, Space Gray / Coral Red, known as "Stiggie" with an outlaw F20 "M135i" badge.
Appreciate 0
      01-13-2010, 10:33 AM   #9
bknight
Lieutenant
United_States
18

 
bknight's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Manhattan, NYC


Posts: 592
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2010 M3  [0.00]
2008 E92 335i  [5.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by ///M Rakete View Post
Is it possible that Dynamic Destination Guidance is selected? It will reroute you based on the traffic ahead but the system will not point out traffic obstructions on the original route.
I checked and that also is not selected.

Something is really weird about it - if it was telling me, for example, to take a State route rather than the interstate it would at least make sense on a certain level. But telling me right before an exit to come off and then, on the highlighted white route, showing me I have to loop around the exit roads and re-join the interstate in the same direction, it just seems kind of off! Anyway, will talk to the Dealer and see if there is anything else this could be. Thanks for the replies.
__________________
2010 E92 M3 || Akrapovic Slip-on | MS Air Filter | MS 15/12 Spacers | V1 Hardwire
Appreciate 0
      02-27-2010, 07:01 PM   #10
koxal
Her Zaman Her Yerde
United_States
57

 
koxal's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 SG F10 M5
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: North Jersey


Posts: 1,142
iTrader: (7)

Garage List
2010 BMW M3  [0.00]
2013 BMW M5  [0.00]
i have exactly the same problem and already been to dealer and problem still exists.
Appreciate 0
      02-27-2010, 08:32 PM   #11
bknight
Lieutenant
United_States
18

 
bknight's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Manhattan, NYC


Posts: 592
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2010 M3  [0.00]
2008 E92 335i  [5.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by koxal View Post
i have exactly the same problem and already been to dealer and problem still exists.
hey man, i replied to your PM - the problem still exists. something about the NJ Turnpike doesn't seem to agree with the latest navigation system.
__________________
2010 E92 M3 || Akrapovic Slip-on | MS Air Filter | MS 15/12 Spacers | V1 Hardwire
Appreciate 0
      02-27-2010, 08:39 PM   #12
koxal
Her Zaman Her Yerde
United_States
57

 
koxal's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 SG F10 M5
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: North Jersey


Posts: 1,142
iTrader: (7)

Garage List
2010 BMW M3  [0.00]
2013 BMW M5  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by bknight View Post
hey man, i replied to your PM - the problem still exists. something about the NJ Turnpike doesn't seem to agree with the latest navigation system.
i went to the dealer last week, they reinstalled the navigation software and reset the settings... they said, it should be ok after that but i still experience the same problem...

i really cant rely on my navi anymore and dont know what to do.. i guess, i have to take it to the dealer again but i am not sure if there is anything they can do to fix this problem.
Appreciate 0
      02-28-2010, 01:05 AM   #13
immiketoo
Colonel
134

 
immiketoo's Avatar
 
Drives: Smoothly
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Chicago Burbs


Posts: 2,873
iTrader: (0)

You'd better listen to her, or she'll report you to the dealer! Seriously, that's an awful problem to have. Maybe the dealer can downgrade your operating system?
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by double eagle View Post
Thickness feels good to me and my hands aren't that big.
Appreciate 0
      02-28-2010, 01:09 AM   #14
PIMP "E"
Colonel
Germany
55

 
PIMP "E"'s Avatar
 
Drives: AW 2011 M3
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: ft. lauderdale fl, in mannheim germany


Posts: 2,493
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2011 M3  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to PIMP "E"
sense the 11 models are out you should be able to upgrade the hard drive
__________________
MONEY IS THE SAIL TO MY BOAT
Appreciate 0
      02-28-2010, 08:59 AM   #15
koxal
Her Zaman Her Yerde
United_States
57

 
koxal's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 SG F10 M5
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: North Jersey


Posts: 1,142
iTrader: (7)

Garage List
2010 BMW M3  [0.00]
2013 BMW M5  [0.00]
My question is, why this is not fixed last week when I was at the dealer for this problem?

I guess, they dont have a new software yet...

or they dont really aware of this problem and god knows how long it will take for them to fix this???
Appreciate 0
      02-28-2010, 10:55 AM   #16
Trier Germany
Banned
Luxembourg
39

 
Drives: 2009 E-90 M3 space gray
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Deutschland KreisTrier auf Autobahn 64 & Tucson AZ


Posts: 1,085
iTrader: (1)

Man your Nav seems to have a mind of it's own. Hope you get it fixed that would bother the living shit out of me.
Appreciate 0
      02-28-2010, 08:57 PM   #17
///M Rakete
Rocket Scientist
United_States
16

 
///M Rakete's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW 2010 M3 Coupe
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: California


Posts: 856
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by koxal View Post
My question is, why this is not fixed last week when I was at the dealer for this problem?

I guess, they dont have a new software yet...

or they dont really aware of this problem and god knows how long it will take for them to fix this???
It may not be a navigation software issue. It sounds like a map data issue and that doesn't come from BMW. I say "map data" because if it doesn't behave this way on any other similar highway and everyone else with the same map data version has the same problem then that likely leaves the navigation system's interpretation of this particular stretch of highway. My guess is that whoever digitized this highway incorrectly flagged the exit/off ramp junctions as having the "mainline" exit causing a rejoin instead of the "mainline" proceeding straight.

You might want to contact Navteq and report the issue and see if others have or they are aware of it.
__________________
2010 BMW M3 Coupe M-DCT w/Tech-EDC, BMW M Performance Exhaust, BPM: Stage I / Euro MDM / DCT / Steering, Space Gray / Fox Red Extended, and a Trunk Monkey known as "Der Stig", plus the daily driver...
2011 BMW 135i M Sport DCT, w/BMW Performance Power Kit, Exhaust, and Brake Rotors, Space Gray / Coral Red, known as "Stiggie" with an outlaw F20 "M135i" badge.
Appreciate 0
      02-28-2010, 11:13 PM   #18
koxal
Her Zaman Her Yerde
United_States
57

 
koxal's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 SG F10 M5
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: North Jersey


Posts: 1,142
iTrader: (7)

Garage List
2010 BMW M3  [0.00]
2013 BMW M5  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by ///M Rakete View Post
It may not be a navigation software issue. It sounds like a map data issue and that doesn't come from BMW. I say "map data" because if it doesn't behave this way on any other similar highway and everyone else with the same map data version has the same problem then that likely leaves the navigation system's interpretation of this particular stretch of highway. My guess is that whoever digitized this highway incorrectly flagged the exit/off ramp junctions as having the "mainline" exit causing a rejoin instead of the "mainline" proceeding straight.

You might want to contact Navteq and report the issue and see if others have or they are aware of it.
looks like you are right. let me check if navteq had any complains regarding to this problem.. thanks.
Appreciate 0
      03-08-2010, 08:16 PM   #19
Radiation Joe
Veni Vidi Vici
United_States
59

 
Radiation Joe's Avatar
 
Drives: '11 JB/BBe-6sp-e90
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Macungie PA


Posts: 2,749
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2011 e90 M3-Sold  [4.25]
2003 RS6 - Sold  [0.00]
2009 e90 M3 - Gone  [0.00]
2003 M3 SOLD  [0.00]
old 2002  [5.00]
Nav systems hate New Jersey. In two different cars, my girlfriend and I both get sent randomly off of the turnpike. It's happened to me in other places, but never as bad as New Jersey. My nav is 2009, btw. I suggest you move.

Just remember, it's free to get into New Jersey, you have to pay to get out.
Appreciate 0
      03-08-2010, 09:15 PM   #20
roller
Private First Class
6

 
roller's Avatar
 
Drives: E92
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: OC, CA


Posts: 164
iTrader: (0)

This has happened to me before also. It told me to exit the highway only to make a big detour to get back on the highway. There wasn't even any heavy traffic.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Radiation Joe View Post
Just remember, it's free to get into New Jersey, you have to pay to get out.
ain't that the truth.

Last edited by roller; 03-08-2010 at 09:30 PM.
Appreciate 0
      03-08-2010, 09:46 PM   #21
koxal
Her Zaman Her Yerde
United_States
57

 
koxal's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 SG F10 M5
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: North Jersey


Posts: 1,142
iTrader: (7)

Garage List
2010 BMW M3  [0.00]
2013 BMW M5  [0.00]
in my sitution, it wants me to get off at every exit...

for example, i am at exit 13 and my destination is at exit 6 on nj turnpike. gps tells me to get off at every exits between 13 and 6. the weird thing is, it then puts me back to turnpike right after every exit.
Appreciate 0
      03-09-2010, 02:02 AM   #22
BobsM3Coupe
Captain
United_States
36

 
Drives: M3 Coupe
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: California


Posts: 862
iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Radiation Joe View Post
Nav systems hate New Jersey. In two different cars, my girlfriend and I both get sent randomly off of the turnpike. It's happened to me in other places, but never as bad as New Jersey. My nav is 2009, btw. I suggest you move.

Just remember, it's free to get into New Jersey, you have to pay to get out.
New York is the same way.

My friend in NY told me that he sold a home in Yonkers, NY and had to pay Yonkers a 1.5% (of the sale price) home transfer fee just for selling a home in Yonkers and not buying another one in that city. For instance, on a home sold for $400,000, the seller would have to pay the city $6,000. Then I believe the county (Westchester) got another 0.5% and then NY State also got 0.4%.

Boy it certainly gets expensive when folks want to move out of NY State.

I guess thats how they make up for their relatively low vehicle registration fees.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:43 PM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST