BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Coding / ConnectedDrive / Audio-Video / Electronics / Bluetooth / I-Drive & Nav
 
BPM Sport
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      11-15-2009, 10:26 PM   #1
d_dot
4 * General
d_dot's Avatar
United_States
16
Rep
646
Posts

 
Drives: F12 M6,Audi R8 Lambo Gallardo
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Tri-State

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via AIM to d_dot
Replace subs diy

does anyone know of one?
__________________
Nissan GT-R (Sold) E92 M3 + 335 (sold) F10 535 (sold) When Driving Nice Whips It Helps To Have Nice Kix!
Appreciate 0
      11-16-2009, 11:50 AM   #2
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
174
Rep
11,205
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by d_dot View Post
does anyone know of one?
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=163804
Appreciate 0
      11-20-2009, 06:06 PM   #3
d_dot
4 * General
d_dot's Avatar
United_States
16
Rep
646
Posts

 
Drives: F12 M6,Audi R8 Lambo Gallardo
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Tri-State

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via AIM to d_dot
where can i find a remote wire in the rear of the car so the amp will turn off when i turn the car off?
__________________
Nissan GT-R (Sold) E92 M3 + 335 (sold) F10 535 (sold) When Driving Nice Whips It Helps To Have Nice Kix!

Last edited by d_dot; 11-20-2009 at 11:25 PM.
Appreciate 0
      11-21-2009, 04:06 AM   #4
roller
Private First Class
roller's Avatar
3
Rep
164
Posts

 
Drives: E92
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: OC, CA

iTrader: (0)

It should be pin 10 of the HiFi amp harness. I'm not sure on the enhanced premium sound but it should also be a thin black wire.

Apparently sometimes the wire does not output a 12V current but instead outputs a 6V current or something. If that's the case just use a variable voltage trigger like the PAC TR-7.
Appreciate 0
      11-21-2009, 10:15 AM   #5
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
174
Rep
11,205
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by d_dot View Post
where can i find a remote wire in the rear of the car so the amp will turn off when i turn the car off?
http://www.m3post.com/forums/showpos...7&postcount=18

The Metra 71-9003 (left connector below) is the Quadralock connector plugged in the back of the iDrive computer. You can clearly see in the illustration below the number 13 in the face of this connector. That's the wire to tap for OEM remote signal:

Appreciate 0
      11-21-2009, 11:50 PM   #6
roller
Private First Class
roller's Avatar
3
Rep
164
Posts

 
Drives: E92
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: OC, CA

iTrader: (0)

Technic to the rescue!

I noticed you mentioned pin 10 of the amp harness in another thread. Does that still work as a remote?
Appreciate 0
      11-22-2009, 02:30 PM   #7
d_dot
4 * General
d_dot's Avatar
United_States
16
Rep
646
Posts

 
Drives: F12 M6,Audi R8 Lambo Gallardo
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Tri-State

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via AIM to d_dot
where is the dash harness located?
__________________
Nissan GT-R (Sold) E92 M3 + 335 (sold) F10 535 (sold) When Driving Nice Whips It Helps To Have Nice Kix!
Appreciate 0
      11-22-2009, 06:32 PM   #8
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
174
Rep
11,205
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by roller View Post
Technic to the rescue!

I noticed you mentioned pin 10 of the amp harness in another thread. Does that still work as a remote?
Pin 10 is at the HiFi amp connector. The Premium OEM amp (Top HiFi) does not have a remote signal at its connector, as it is a MOST digital amp (it turns on by a digital message).

Pin 13 at the Quadralock is remote in all OEM sound systems as it is the antenna amplifier turn on signal.
Appreciate 0
      11-22-2009, 06:33 PM   #9
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
174
Rep
11,205
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by d_dot View Post
where is the dash harness located?
Disregard that dash harness connector pictured. It does not apply to anything that you want to work on.
Appreciate 0
      11-23-2009, 08:54 AM   #10
d_dot
4 * General
d_dot's Avatar
United_States
16
Rep
646
Posts

 
Drives: F12 M6,Audi R8 Lambo Gallardo
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Tri-State

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via AIM to d_dot
Quote:
Originally Posted by Technic View Post
Disregard that dash harness connector pictured. It does not apply to anything that you want to work on.
hey thx a million without your help i think i would prolly still be in the car now trying to figure stuff out. but its all in and what a difference the woofer upgrade makes.
__________________
Nissan GT-R (Sold) E92 M3 + 335 (sold) F10 535 (sold) When Driving Nice Whips It Helps To Have Nice Kix!
Appreciate 0
      11-23-2009, 05:24 PM   #11
roller
Private First Class
roller's Avatar
3
Rep
164
Posts

 
Drives: E92
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: OC, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technic View Post
Pin 10 is at the HiFi amp connector. The Premium OEM amp (Top HiFi) does not have a remote signal at its connector, as it is a MOST digital amp (it turns on by a digital message).

Pin 13 at the Quadralock is remote in all OEM sound systems as it is the antenna amplifier turn on signal.
Ah gotcha, thanks!
Appreciate 0
      11-25-2009, 04:42 PM   #12
quality_sound
8 tracks of madness
United_States
31
Rep
2,731
Posts

 
Drives: Slowly
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: At home

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technic View Post
Pin 10 is at the HiFi amp connector. The Premium OEM amp (Top HiFi) does not have a remote signal at its connector, as it is a MOST digital amp (it turns on by a digital message).

Pin 13 at the Quadralock is remote in all OEM sound systems as it is the antenna amplifier turn on signal.
I'm sure you've already tested it but does that lead turn off when you're on a source other than the tuner? Just want to make sure. Gotta start gathering my notes.
Appreciate 0
      11-25-2009, 04:57 PM   #13
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
174
Rep
11,205
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by quality_sound View Post
I'm sure you've already tested it but does that lead turn off when you're on a source other than the tuner? Just want to make sure. Gotta start gathering my notes.
No, it is on as long as the radio is on, a door/trunk is opened and 20 minutes after any of those are off/closed.
Appreciate 0
      11-25-2009, 05:40 PM   #14
quality_sound
8 tracks of madness
United_States
31
Rep
2,731
Posts

 
Drives: Slowly
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: At home

iTrader: (1)

Hmmmm. I may have to use the high level inputs to turn the B1 on instead. Do you know if the HU will still output Voltage on the speaker outputs or if it sends a signal when you unlock the car? The RNS-510 does and because of that it makes a pop when you start the car. Really want to avoid that this time around.
Appreciate 0
      11-25-2009, 05:55 PM   #15
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
174
Rep
11,205
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by quality_sound View Post
Hmmmm. I may have to use the high level inputs to turn the B1 on instead. Do you know if the HU will still output Voltage on the speaker outputs or if it sends a signal when you unlock the car? The RNS-510 does and because of that it makes a pop when you start the car. Really want to avoid that this time around.
Yes it does.

If you are getting an M3 then you should use the low level inputs of the bit one.1 anyways as the OEM HU/iDrive ouputs are low level balanced. Even the new high level ouputs in the MY2010 1- and 3-Series base Stereo system can be input into the low level port of the bit one.1 without any clipping.

That's the way I've been running my bit one while I'm doing the 09 iDrive swap in my '08 M3. My CIC is set by default to be a base Stereo system so it outputs the same 15W per channel. The bit one.1 summing and "de-EQ" processing works as well thru the RCA inputs.

The OEM remote signal turns on the bit one.1 and the bit one.1 remote out turns the two amplifiers in my system without any pops.
Appreciate 0
      11-26-2009, 02:52 AM   #16
quality_sound
8 tracks of madness
United_States
31
Rep
2,731
Posts

 
Drives: Slowly
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: At home

iTrader: (1)

That's great news! Yes, I put down my deposit last night and I head over Friday to finalize the order and the loan. They have a December slot so hopefully I won't be waiting too long.
Appreciate 0
      11-26-2009, 03:03 AM   #17
Donbona
Lieutenant Colonel
Donbona's Avatar
United Kingdom
40
Rep
1,668
Posts

 
Drives: E93 M3 DCT 2008
Join Date: May 2009
Location: London UK

iTrader: (0)

I had a 10inch Alpine sub recently fitted into the rear armrest/ski hatch.
Works very well with no loss of space.
Will take photos if wanted??
__________________
M3 E93 DCT, Space Grey,BC HB29 Forged Deep Concave Wheels, Ericsson Amuse F/R Bumper, Evolve Full Exhaust System, INTRAX Coilovers, STOPTECH BBK, Performance Steering Wheel,Custom Red/Black Leather Seats,///M3 ||Bimmerpost M3 Car Of The Month May - 2010SOLD
2010 R35 GTR
Appreciate 0
      11-26-2009, 04:15 AM   #18
Tio///M
///M South Lead
Tio///M's Avatar
United_States
14
Rep
863
Posts

 
Drives: Jerez Blk / Fox Red Ext
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: In Miami Serving all of SoFLA

iTrader: (2)

Send a message via MSN to Tio///M Send a message via Yahoo to Tio///M
Quote:
Originally Posted by Technic View Post
Yes it does.

If you are getting an M3 then you should use the low level inputs of the bit one.1 anyways as the OEM HU/iDrive ouputs are low level balanced. Even the new high level ouputs in the MY2010 1- and 3-Series base Stereo system can be input into the low level port of the bit one.1 without any clipping.

That's the way I've been running my bit one while I'm doing the 09 iDrive swap in my '08 M3. My CIC is set by default to be a base Stereo system so it outputs the same 15W per channel. The bit one.1 summing and "de-EQ" processing works as well thru the RCA inputs.

The OEM remote signal turns on the bit one.1 and the bit one.1 remote out turns the two amplifiers in my system without any pops.

Man you're just so full of info, what exactly do you do bro? I think like several years back you gave me the schmatics on the E46 HK setup...just wanna thank you for being a real supportive enthusiast!!
__________________
///AA ///Challenge ///MS ///EAS ///OEM ///H&R ///

MFlight!! .......NOW
///M SOUTH
on Facebook!!
FOR SALE!!
Appreciate 0
      11-26-2009, 05:03 AM   #19
quality_sound
8 tracks of madness
United_States
31
Rep
2,731
Posts

 
Drives: Slowly
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: At home

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Donbona View Post
I had a 10inch Alpine sub recently fitted into the rear armrest/ski hatch.
Works very well with no loss of space.
Will take photos if wanted??
Probably wouldn't be a bad idea so the younger guys can see you don't have to have a trunk full of subs to get good bass.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tio///M View Post
Man you're just so full of info, what exactly do you do bro? I think like several years back you gave me the schmatics on the E46 HK setup...just wanna thank you for being a real supportive enthusiast!!
He's been like this on every forum I've seen him on (3 or 4) and it's always been extremely helpful. He's good people.
Appreciate 0
      11-26-2009, 05:07 AM   #20
Donbona
Lieutenant Colonel
Donbona's Avatar
United Kingdom
40
Rep
1,668
Posts

 
Drives: E93 M3 DCT 2008
Join Date: May 2009
Location: London UK

iTrader: (0)

Its great, it is totally hidden unless you pull the armrest down.
Pics below

Quote:
Originally Posted by quality_sound View Post
Probably wouldn't be a bad idea so the younger guys can see you don't have to have a trunk full of subs to get good bass.



He's been like this on every forum I've seen him on (3 or 4) and it's always been extremely helpful. He's good people.
Attached Images
  
__________________
M3 E93 DCT, Space Grey,BC HB29 Forged Deep Concave Wheels, Ericsson Amuse F/R Bumper, Evolve Full Exhaust System, INTRAX Coilovers, STOPTECH BBK, Performance Steering Wheel,Custom Red/Black Leather Seats,///M3 ||Bimmerpost M3 Car Of The Month May - 2010SOLD
2010 R35 GTR
Appreciate 0
      11-26-2009, 05:52 AM   #21
quality_sound
8 tracks of madness
United_States
31
Rep
2,731
Posts

 
Drives: Slowly
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: At home

iTrader: (1)

How does it sound? I think I might do something like that with a 13TW5 rather than a pair of them facing the rear. Nice and shallow too.
Appreciate 0
      11-26-2009, 08:10 AM   #22
Donbona
Lieutenant Colonel
Donbona's Avatar
United Kingdom
40
Rep
1,668
Posts

 
Drives: E93 M3 DCT 2008
Join Date: May 2009
Location: London UK

iTrader: (0)

Sounds great but I also have a seperate Alpine reference amplifier with it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by quality_sound View Post
How does it sound? I think I might do something like that with a 13TW5 rather than a pair of them facing the rear. Nice and shallow too.
__________________
M3 E93 DCT, Space Grey,BC HB29 Forged Deep Concave Wheels, Ericsson Amuse F/R Bumper, Evolve Full Exhaust System, INTRAX Coilovers, STOPTECH BBK, Performance Steering Wheel,Custom Red/Black Leather Seats,///M3 ||Bimmerpost M3 Car Of The Month May - 2010SOLD
2010 R35 GTR
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:43 PM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST