BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Wheels + Tires Sponsored by The Tire Rack
  TireRack

KEEP M3POST ALIVE BY DOING YOUR TIRERACK SHOPPING FROM THIS BANNER LINK!
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      10-30-2009, 08:47 AM   #1
pds22
Private
2
Rep
95
Posts

 
Drives: E70 X5d
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: USA

iTrader: (0)

New TPMS sensor?!

Swapped out my 19" OEM wheels/tires for 18" OEM wheels/tires that I bought from another member. Included TPMS.

But TPMS wouldn't reset after changing so took it to dealer this morning to see what might be wrong.

Well apparently the TPMS sensors has changed for 2010 M3s according to dealer. And previous TPMS sensors are not compatible. New TPMS sensor BMW part# is 36-10-6-790-054 for M3s with build date after 9/09 according to BMW dealer parts desk.

Has this happened before with other model years? Find it difficult to believe that things have changed so that everybody with 2010 M3s would need new TPMS sensors if they swapped wheels.
Appreciate 0
      10-30-2009, 09:10 AM   #2
pds22
Private
2
Rep
95
Posts

 
Drives: E70 X5d
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: USA

iTrader: (0)

Confirm TPMS sensor change for 2010 M3s. Double checked with 2 other dealers. Same comments.

New BMW part# 36-10-6-790-054

Previous model year TPMS sensors will not reset and function with 2010 M3s.
Appreciate 0
      11-09-2009, 01:14 AM   #3
bavarianx
Colonel
bavarianx's Avatar
United_States
93
Rep
2,057
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 X5 4.4i
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Orange County, CA

iTrader: (18)

Send a message via AIM to bavarianx
Yes, all the new 3er including M3 for 2010 have a new sensor that does NOT work with earlier vehicles. The new system has 1 reciever instead of the 4 (one per fender) the previous models had.
Appreciate 0
      11-15-2009, 07:17 PM   #4
Kenyon
Lieutenant
10
Rep
441
Posts

 
Drives: M3
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NYC / LA

iTrader: (13)

Wow, thanks so much for this info because I was looking to pick up some TPMS for my LM-R's and I have a 2010 M
Appreciate 0
      11-15-2009, 10:10 PM   #5
elp_jc
Brigadier General
United_States
79
Rep
4,910
Posts

 
Drives: .
Join Date: May 2008
Location: .

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bavarianx View Post
The new system has 1 reciever instead of the 4 (one per fender) the previous models had.
Makes sense. It was kind of stupid to have 4 sensors when system does not report individual tires. Or does it? I know it does not report tire pressures for sure (it should), but wish it tells you the tire that is low. At least with '10s you have less electronics around. Good info.
Appreciate 0
      11-16-2009, 02:26 PM   #6
King Tut
NASA SpecE30 Racer
King Tut's Avatar
United_States
34
Rep
1,310
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 Honda S2000 TT3
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Gulf Breeze, FL

iTrader: (2)

Send a message via AIM to King Tut
Sounds like the new 2010 TPMS must have a stronger transmit signal to reach the single centrally located reciever.
__________________
King Tut
2012 BMW M3 Individual: Sold lsb.ridedomain.com
1987 BMW 325is SpecE30: spece30.ridedomain.com
2009 BMW M3 Coupe: Sold e92.ridedomain.com
Appreciate 0
      11-17-2009, 03:49 PM   #7
ben@tirerack
M3Post Supporting Vendor
17
Rep
885
Posts

 
Drives: 740i
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South Bend, IN

iTrader: (0)

Just a note, the '10 Mini uses the same sensor as the new 3's. Just in case anyone is scavenging
__________________
_______________________________________________



To credit the forum, click through one of the banners in my signature and the top of the page, or call me direct at 877.522.8473 ext 660. Email:ben@tirerack.com
Appreciate 0
      11-18-2009, 03:44 PM   #8
E90M3CDFR
First Lieutenant
United_States
21
Rep
303
Posts

 
Drives: E91 Sportwagon
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: NoVA

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by elp_jc View Post
Makes sense. It was kind of stupid to have 4 sensors when system does not report individual tires. Or does it? I know it does not report tire pressures for sure (it should), but wish it tells you the tire that is low. At least with '10s you have less electronics around. Good info.
When a tire is flat/low, the 2009's TPMS definitely tells you which one is the culprit both on the visual display (yellow tire flat) and with text warning/gong that tells you "Right front tire low" or something like that.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:21 PM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST