BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Coding / ConnectedDrive / Audio-Video / Electronics / Bluetooth / I-Drive & Nav
 
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      09-12-2009, 08:34 AM   #1
srcstc
Major
United_States
52
Rep
1,363
Posts

Drives: 2016 Camaro 2SS
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NJ

iTrader: (9)

Question anybody know what this is under the driver's side dash?

It's got 2 optical cables going to it.


Appreciate 0
      09-12-2009, 10:11 AM   #2
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
610
Rep
12,208
Posts

Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

Diagnostic and programming optical port...
Appreciate 0
      09-13-2009, 11:06 AM   #3
srcstc
Major
United_States
52
Rep
1,363
Posts

Drives: 2016 Camaro 2SS
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NJ

iTrader: (9)

Mine doesn't have any optical cables connected to it.
Appreciate 0
      09-13-2009, 11:11 AM   #4
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
610
Rep
12,208
Posts

Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

Quote:
Originally Posted by srcstc View Post
Mine doesn't have any optical cables connected to it.
Is that photo yours? I see the two cables there...
Appreciate 0
      09-13-2009, 11:20 AM   #5
srcstc
Major
United_States
52
Rep
1,363
Posts

Drives: 2016 Camaro 2SS
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NJ

iTrader: (9)

No I found that on someone's thread and remembered when I had my panel off that there was an empty socket there. I thought it looked odd.
Appreciate 0
      09-13-2009, 11:20 AM   #6
srcstc
Major
United_States
52
Rep
1,363
Posts

Drives: 2016 Camaro 2SS
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NJ

iTrader: (9)

I assume that's for cars with logic7?
Appreciate 0
      09-13-2009, 11:55 AM   #7
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
610
Rep
12,208
Posts

Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

Not necessarily, that means that yours have a port like that under the glovebox...
Appreciate 0
      09-13-2009, 06:40 PM   #8
srcstc
Major
United_States
52
Rep
1,363
Posts

Drives: 2016 Camaro 2SS
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NJ

iTrader: (9)

Thanks. Is it wired to the headunit then?
Appreciate 0
      09-13-2009, 07:29 PM   #9
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
610
Rep
12,208
Posts

Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

Quote:
Originally Posted by srcstc View Post
Thanks. Is it wired to the headunit then?
It is "wired" (it is a port) to the OEM MOST ring... http://www.interfacebus.com/MOST_Bus_Interface.html
Appreciate 0
      10-13-2009, 08:52 PM   #10
srcstc
Major
United_States
52
Rep
1,363
Posts

Drives: 2016 Camaro 2SS
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NJ

iTrader: (9)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technic View Post
Not necessarily, that means that yours have a port like that under the glovebox...
Ok, I checked the panel under the glovebox and it's not there. Is it possible they removed it on MY09+?


Rich
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:22 PM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST