BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Engine, Transmission, Exhaust, Drivetrain, ECU Software Modifications
 
Steve Thomas BMW
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      09-10-2009, 04:27 PM   #1
askiles
Major
askiles's Avatar
23
Rep
1,164
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 M3 Sedan - Alpine White
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Phoenix, AZ

iTrader: (2)

Engine Malfunction: Reduced Power...BIG PROBLEMS!!!

Hey guys, I see that one other person on the board recently had the same malfunction light come on. The problem is, mine was accompanied by a stumbling engine, and it just would not drive worth crap. The engine was REALLY running on reduced power. It was towed 40 miles to my local BMW dealership (my office is far away) and to this day, they still have not nailed the problem. The first part that they replaced was the VANOS solenoid, which did not fix the problem. They said there is about 15 difference error codes coming up, so they were hoping this would fix all of them. NOPE. It just so happened that the regional head of tech was by today to look at this, and he said that it looks like they may need to replace the entire VANOS assembly!!! They are going to have it for awhile, and at this point, no one knows exactly what is wrong, or what needs to be done to make the car usable again! This really blows my mind. It is like this car is so far advanced, BMW does not know how to fix it. I just thought I would share.

-Andy
__________________
2008 M3 Sedan- Alpine White
Appreciate 0
      09-10-2009, 04:33 PM   #2
tom @ eas
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
tom @ eas's Avatar
United_States
328
Rep
10,632
Posts


 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Anaheim, CA

iTrader: (13)

Garage List
Are you running an aftermarket tune?

Also list any other mods, if any.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      09-10-2009, 04:53 PM   #3
askiles
Major
askiles's Avatar
23
Rep
1,164
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 M3 Sedan - Alpine White
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Phoenix, AZ

iTrader: (2)

I am, but I don't think it has anything to do with it. I have been running an ESS tune now for many months with no problems at all. The only mods I have are the tune and an AFE filter...well wheels but those don't count. I have just been driving my car like a daily driver recently, nothing crazy. I do drive 40 miles each way to work, and it happened after I drove out there, of course. It could not happen in town!

-Andy
__________________
2008 M3 Sedan- Alpine White
Appreciate 0
      09-10-2009, 05:00 PM   #4
tom @ eas
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
tom @ eas's Avatar
United_States
328
Rep
10,632
Posts


 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Anaheim, CA

iTrader: (13)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by askiles View Post
I am, but I don't think it has anything to do with it. I have been running an ESS tune now for many months with no problems at all. The only mods I have are the tune and an AFE filter...well wheels but those don't count. I have just been driving my car like a daily driver recently, nothing crazy. I do drive 40 miles each way to work, and it happened after I drove out there, of course. It could not happen in town!

-Andy
I would suggest reading this thread: http://www.m3post.com/forums/showthr...ne+malfunction

A similar issue happened with the PowerChip SW, I believe the issue was already rectified. Filter is unlikely to cause any codes.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      09-10-2009, 06:00 PM   #5
askiles
Major
askiles's Avatar
23
Rep
1,164
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 M3 Sedan - Alpine White
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Phoenix, AZ

iTrader: (2)

I am not sure if they checked the ICV at all. I could suggest that for them. My problem is different from the Powerchip problem. I was never revving the engine that high. Like I said, it is a daily driver, and was used just like a normal car, nothing crazy. Plus, I have had the ESS tune for a long time now, and those problems happened right after they received their tune.

-Andy
__________________
2008 M3 Sedan- Alpine White
Appreciate 0
      09-10-2009, 06:03 PM   #6
tom @ eas
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
tom @ eas's Avatar
United_States
328
Rep
10,632
Posts


 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Anaheim, CA

iTrader: (13)

Garage List
Listing the specific codes/descriptions received would put a lot of speculation to rest.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      09-10-2009, 06:10 PM   #7
Lemans_Blue_M
Automotive Industry Insider
Lemans_Blue_M's Avatar
United_States
19
Rep
1,948
Posts

 
Drives: Lemans Blue M3
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Texas

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom @ eas View Post
Listing the specific codes/descriptions received would put a lot of speculation to rest.
+1

Please list all the engine fault codes present on the ECU when this occurred.
__________________
The best is yet to come...
Appreciate 0
      09-10-2009, 08:46 PM   #8
Eugene-TAIWAN
Brigadier General
Eugene-TAIWAN's Avatar
Taiwan
79
Rep
3,113
Posts

 
Drives: E92 M3 Coupe
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Taiwan

iTrader: (4)

I have recently gotten something like this.

I DSC lights came on . I went back to the dealer to see what was going on. And they told me it was my DSC ECU that had a malfuction. I notice there was a drop in power out on my car. I thought it was my exhaust people NOT have the right set up which made my car felt slow. But now Slower. Do anyone if this is also a problem. But i must say prior to my dash board lighting up like X-mas lights I did spend 1 full day at the race track with the MDM on so I don't know if this has cause the problems as well.

please input.
__________________

Past: Gintani stage3 M3
present: Porsche 993RWB, 964RS America,996 cupcar, 964 turbo 3.6, 991C4S, i3 in September
Appreciate 0
      09-10-2009, 09:33 PM   #9
askiles
Major
askiles's Avatar
23
Rep
1,164
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 M3 Sedan - Alpine White
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Phoenix, AZ

iTrader: (2)

They did not give me the codes, and I did not have a drop in power until the malfunction came up. Nothing before hand pointed to a problem about to occur.

-Andy
__________________
2008 M3 Sedan- Alpine White
Appreciate 0
      09-10-2009, 09:49 PM   #10
///V\3Dude
I Drive Slow To Save Gas :D
///V\3Dude's Avatar
United_States
12
Rep
464
Posts

 
Drives: 08 M3, MY11 STi
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: I <3 NY

iTrader: (2)

I had this problem with my car to, it happened twice, one was The ICV- and the second time was a fuel selenoid. I Hope they find the problem for you.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      09-10-2009, 10:20 PM   #11
Eugene-TAIWAN
Brigadier General
Eugene-TAIWAN's Avatar
Taiwan
79
Rep
3,113
Posts

 
Drives: E92 M3 Coupe
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Taiwan

iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by askiles View Post
They did not give me the codes, and I did not have a drop in power until the malfunction came up. Nothing before hand pointed to a problem about to occur.

-Andy
Oh boy, its a tuff one then. I will then see after my DSC is fix. Maybe I will get more power back.
__________________

Past: Gintani stage3 M3
present: Porsche 993RWB, 964RS America,996 cupcar, 964 turbo 3.6, 991C4S, i3 in September
Appreciate 0
      09-10-2009, 10:21 PM   #12
Eugene-TAIWAN
Brigadier General
Eugene-TAIWAN's Avatar
Taiwan
79
Rep
3,113
Posts

 
Drives: E92 M3 Coupe
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Taiwan

iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ///V\3Dude View Post
I had this problem with my car to, it happened twice, one was The ICV- and the second time was a fuel selenoid. I Hope they find the problem for you.
What is are the fault codes?
__________________

Past: Gintani stage3 M3
present: Porsche 993RWB, 964RS America,996 cupcar, 964 turbo 3.6, 991C4S, i3 in September
Appreciate 0
      09-11-2009, 01:47 AM   #13
Ca$hOnly
Major
Ca$hOnly's Avatar
United_States
20
Rep
1,078
Posts

 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: In ur fridge, eatin ur foodz

iTrader: (5)

Did the dealer ask you if you have a tune?
__________________
Appreciate 0
      09-11-2009, 02:19 AM   #14
mixja
Captain
United_States
19
Rep
783
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 E90 DCT Silverstone
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Beverly Hils, CA

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eugene-TAIWAN View Post
I have recently gotten something like this.

I DSC lights came on . I went back to the dealer to see what was going on. And they told me it was my DSC ECU that had a malfuction. I notice there was a drop in power out on my car. I thought it was my exhaust people NOT have the right set up which made my car felt slow. But now Slower. Do anyone if this is also a problem. But i must say prior to my dash board lighting up like X-mas lights I did spend 1 full day at the race track with the MDM on so I don't know if this has cause the problems as well.

please input.
Try resetting your ECU - disconnect ground from battery in boot of the car, leave it for 30 minutes, then hold down the brake for 60 seconds. Reconnect the battery...

I was experienced reduced power after a day at the track, resetting ECU cured it...
Appreciate 0
      09-11-2009, 02:26 AM   #15
Eugene-TAIWAN
Brigadier General
Eugene-TAIWAN's Avatar
Taiwan
79
Rep
3,113
Posts

 
Drives: E92 M3 Coupe
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Taiwan

iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mixja View Post
Try resetting your ECU - disconnect ground from battery in boot of the car, leave it for 30 minutes, then hold down the brake for 60 seconds. Reconnect the battery...

I was experienced reduced power after a day at the track, resetting ECU cured it...

OK I will try that. do hold the brake and connect the battery at the same time?
__________________

Past: Gintani stage3 M3
present: Porsche 993RWB, 964RS America,996 cupcar, 964 turbo 3.6, 991C4S, i3 in September
Appreciate 0
      09-11-2009, 02:31 AM   #16
mixja
Captain
United_States
19
Rep
783
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 E90 DCT Silverstone
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Beverly Hils, CA

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eugene-TAIWAN View Post
OK I will try that. do hold the brake and connect the battery at the same time?
No, you hold down the brake to make sure you discharge everything completely. Then afterwards you can reconnect the battery...
Appreciate 0
      09-11-2009, 02:55 AM   #17
Eugene-TAIWAN
Brigadier General
Eugene-TAIWAN's Avatar
Taiwan
79
Rep
3,113
Posts

 
Drives: E92 M3 Coupe
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Taiwan

iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mixja View Post
No, you hold down the brake to make sure you discharge everything completely. Then afterwards you can reconnect the battery...
Thanks! I will give it a shot.
__________________

Past: Gintani stage3 M3
present: Porsche 993RWB, 964RS America,996 cupcar, 964 turbo 3.6, 991C4S, i3 in September
Appreciate 0
      09-12-2009, 12:42 AM   #18
///V\3Dude
I Drive Slow To Save Gas :D
///V\3Dude's Avatar
United_States
12
Rep
464
Posts

 
Drives: 08 M3, MY11 STi
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: I <3 NY

iTrader: (2)

Dealer, Never Gave me the codes, they fixed it, and Gave the keys back.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      09-12-2009, 09:47 AM   #19
Eugene-TAIWAN
Brigadier General
Eugene-TAIWAN's Avatar
Taiwan
79
Rep
3,113
Posts

 
Drives: E92 M3 Coupe
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Taiwan

iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ///V\3Dude View Post
I had this problem with my car to, it happened twice, one was The ICV- and the second time was a fuel selenoid. I Hope they find the problem for you.

How did you find out about this problem???
__________________

Past: Gintani stage3 M3
present: Porsche 993RWB, 964RS America,996 cupcar, 964 turbo 3.6, 991C4S, i3 in September
Appreciate 0
      09-12-2009, 04:29 PM   #20
FStop7
I like cars
FStop7's Avatar
Vatican City State
96
Rep
5,059
Posts

 
Drives: M6
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Newbury Park, CA

iTrader: (3)

So one car that's had this problem has Powerchip tuning

Another car has ESS

And another car has GIAC

This is a little concerning.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      09-12-2009, 05:17 PM   #21
gthirtyfizle
Colonel
gthirtyfizle's Avatar
83
Rep
2,808
Posts

 
Drives: E92 M3 AW
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NYC

iTrader: (4)

Powerchip has a fix for the problem tho. They know excatly whats causing it....
Appreciate 0
      09-12-2009, 05:34 PM   #22
mixja
Captain
United_States
19
Rep
783
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 E90 DCT Silverstone
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Beverly Hils, CA

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by gthirtyfizle View Post
Powerchip has a fix for the problem tho. They know excatly whats causing it....
I think that is the CEL around torque limits, and I think this issue is different.

The pattern for the issue that appears to be happening here is that the more aggressive aftermarket tunes seem to accelerate the onset of other known BMW issues....
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:32 AM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST