BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Engine, Transmission, Exhaust, Drivetrain, ECU Software Modifications
 
Lux Angel Eyes
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      12-12-2009, 01:16 PM   #23
jabwind51
Private First Class
 
Drives: 1
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: NJ

Posts: 180
iTrader: (0)

any word on warranty with this????
jabwind51 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-13-2009, 04:58 AM   #24
MFlight
Let's Race
 
MFlight's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 BMW M3
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Germany/AZ

Posts: 51
iTrader: (0)

I'm fairly new to the BMW world so I have to ask. Why can't we upload a tune via a comm port? This is done on many other vehicles. When I added a KB supercharger to my GT500 I uploaded the custom made tune via a port using my Xcal2 hand held device. There was nothing that needed to be removed. I'm just uneasy with the fact that I would have to remove a part of the M3 and send it in the mail and hope it does not get lost, especially living in Germany. In the mean time the car would be stranded while waiting.

Thanks...
Attached Images
 
__________________

2010 BMW M3 Coupe
Alpine White - DCT
MFlight is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-13-2009, 01:08 PM   #25
808MGuy
Colonel
 
808MGuy's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 E90 M3
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Oahu, Hawaii

Posts: 2,259
iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MFlight View Post
I'm fairly new to the BMW world so I have to ask. Why can't we upload a tune via a comm port? This is done on many other vehicles. When I added a KB supercharger to my GT500 I uploaded the custom made tune via a port using my Xcal2 hand held device. There was nothing that needed to be removed. I'm just uneasy with the fact that I would have to remove a part of the M3 and send it in the mail and hope it does not get lost, especially living in Germany. In the mean time the car would be stranded while waiting.

Thanks...
Because not all the data on the OEM computer can be accessed with a generic OBD tool. You need a special (and expensive) tool to access some of the data that is being modified.
__________________
09 E90 M3 - Interlagos Blue / Black Novillo / Sycamore Anthracite / Eibach / HRE

808MGuy is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-13-2009, 01:58 PM   #26
MFlight
Let's Race
 
MFlight's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 BMW M3
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Germany/AZ

Posts: 51
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 808MGuy View Post
Because not all the data on the OEM computer can be accessed with a generic OBD tool. You need a special (and expensive) tool to access some of the data that is being modified.
I guess I have to wait until I get back to the US to have it done.

Thanks for the info.
__________________

2010 BMW M3 Coupe
Alpine White - DCT
MFlight is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-13-2009, 04:36 PM   #27
H Bomb
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Drives: 08 M3
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: FL to NY

Posts: 1,679
iTrader: (4)

yeah unfortnatly it isn't as easy as that. i have the SCT for my truck too and like you said it is a breeze not to mention a friggin beast

much more complicated software etc on this from what i have read. i had Dinan do mine and love it especially after i did the catless midpipe. i didn't have to send it out anywhere they did it right there, that was another reason i chose them. if your just lookin for all out power i believe the powerchip gives more, but i wanted my warranty etc still.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MFlight View Post
I'm fairly new to the BMW world so I have to ask. Why can't we upload a tune via a comm port? This is done on many other vehicles. When I added a KB supercharger to my GT500 I uploaded the custom made tune via a port using my Xcal2 hand held device. There was nothing that needed to be removed. I'm just uneasy with the fact that I would have to remove a part of the M3 and send it in the mail and hope it does not get lost, especially living in Germany. In the mean time the car would be stranded while waiting.

Thanks...
__________________
Street- 08 E92 M3- Sparkling Graphite/ Fox Red/6sp
Track- 10 CRF 250-PR2 Race Motor/Ohlins TTX Susp
Hauler- 06 Ford Skyjacker F250 4WD
H Bomb is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-14-2009, 04:14 PM   #28
King Tut
Individual LSB - Rust Brown
 
King Tut's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 BMW M3 Coupe Individual
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Gulf Breeze, FL

Posts: 1,305
iTrader: (2)

Send a message via AIM to King Tut
The tune can be uploaded via the OBD-II port. My car was tuned by AA and they only used the port to upload the tune. The problem is the companies that have the ability to tune BMWs don't wish to give us the ability to tune our own cars. I would give anything for one of the companies to step up and produce a program and programmer that would let us tune our own cars.
__________________
King Tut
2012 BMW M3 Individual: lsb.ridedomain.com
1987 BMW 325is SpecE30: spece30.ridedomain.com
2009 BMW M3 Coupe: Sold e92.ridedomain.com
King Tut is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-14-2009, 05:14 PM   #29
mazda3ndp
Lieutenant
 
Drives: E93 M3
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Bergen NJ

Posts: 582
iTrader: (8)

Send a message via AIM to mazda3ndp
Quote:
Originally Posted by King Tut View Post
The tune can be uploaded via the OBD-II port. My car was tuned by AA and they only used the port to upload the tune. The problem is the companies that have the ability to tune BMWs don't wish to give us the ability to tune our own cars. I would give anything for one of the companies to step up and produce a program and programmer that would let us tune our own cars.

I agree, when I had my mazdaspeed6 I had the CP-e tuner (also have it for the 135/335)which was great for custom tunes but it was a standback so it basically tricked (manipulate) the computer... I eventually switched to the Cobb tuner because of its simplicity of 'off the shelf' tunes and it would flash the computer rather than trick it. what I really enjoyed about it was being able to switch back to the factory tune without issues. Cp-e does make a standback for the 335/135 so I think the issue is not that it cant be done, just that the tuning companies want to stay as lucrative as possible.

personally I would enjoy a cobb like tuner, where you plug it in, flash the computer, unplug it and forget about it. I would even dare to say I would pay per map in addition to the tuner.


also my car is still screaming like a raped ape. thanks again powerchips!
mazda3ndp is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-14-2009, 10:30 PM   #30
dcstep
Brigadier General
 
Drives: '09 Cpe Silverstone FR 6MT
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Colorado

Posts: 4,782
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2009 M3  [4.00]
Why don't any of you users invest in before and after dyno runs?

Butt dynos only work for shit.

Dave
__________________
dcstep is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-15-2009, 11:04 AM   #31
H Bomb
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Drives: 08 M3
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: FL to NY

Posts: 1,679
iTrader: (4)

bc some don't care and 99% of the time you post a dyno report it just gets trashed anyway bc people say they cheated they did this they did that and if that is true then the numbers work for shit just like a butt dyno as you put it

me personally i am one that doesn't care about a number report. i did my mods one at a time and i was able to feel the difference from each one and some gave more then others. my midpipe gave amazing gains compared to the rest i did and my butt dyno worked quite well for me actually

Quote:
Originally Posted by dcstep View Post
Why don't any of you users invest in before and after dyno runs?

Butt dynos only work for shit.

Dave
__________________
Street- 08 E92 M3- Sparkling Graphite/ Fox Red/6sp
Track- 10 CRF 250-PR2 Race Motor/Ohlins TTX Susp
Hauler- 06 Ford Skyjacker F250 4WD
H Bomb is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-15-2009, 12:04 PM   #32
dcstep
Brigadier General
 
Drives: '09 Cpe Silverstone FR 6MT
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Colorado

Posts: 4,782
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2009 M3  [4.00]
Think of others. Dyno reports are valid, so long as the dyno used and methodology are consistant.

Coming on here and raving about what your butt told you is pretty useless information. Your judgement seems better than the average forum participant, but many here put out bogus info unintentionally. When objective data is available at reasonable cost, I think that we should at least consider availing ourselves.

Dave
__________________
dcstep is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-15-2009, 02:02 PM   #33
MFlight
Let's Race
 
MFlight's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 BMW M3
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Germany/AZ

Posts: 51
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by King Tut View Post
The tune can be uploaded via the OBD-II port. My car was tuned by AA and they only used the port to upload the tune. The problem is the companies that have the ability to tune BMWs don't wish to give us the ability to tune our own cars. I would give anything for one of the companies to step up and produce a program and programmer that would let us tune our own cars.
So the tune can be uploaded through the OBD-II port? So in a sense, they are only having you remove the module and send it through the mail just so that their tune won't fall into the wrong hands.

The handheld computer can be locked to your individual car which prevents a person from using it elsewhere. The tune itself can also be locked as to prevent any manipulation and/or unauthorized use.

I think they should sell the tune with a handheld. This way it would be easy to get updates just in case there are issues with the A/F, timing, etc. The handheld would also be perfect to have to read any codes that might occur.

I guess BMW and the Tuners wants us to be completely dependent upon them.

Just a thought...
__________________

2010 BMW M3 Coupe
Alpine White - DCT
MFlight is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-15-2009, 02:39 PM   #34
mixja
Captain
 
Drives: 2011 E90 DCT Silverstone
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Beverly Hils, CA

Posts: 783
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MFlight View Post
So the tune can be uploaded through the OBD-II port? So in a sense, they are only having you remove the module and send it through the mail just so that their tune won't fall into the wrong hands.

The handheld computer can be locked to your individual car which prevents a person from using it elsewhere. The tune itself can also be locked as to prevent any manipulation and/or unauthorized use.

I think they should sell the tune with a handheld. This way it would be easy to get updates just in case there are issues with the A/F, timing, etc. The handheld would also be perfect to have to read any codes that might occur.

I guess BMW and the Tuners wants us to be completely dependent upon them.

Just a thought...
Depending on who you deal with, you don't have to send off your ECU or go into the tuner. Some (like Powerchip) will send you the flashing equipment.

I think the main issue is you are selling into a luxury car brand that as such has different types of customers with different types of needs. I honestly think the US is really the only market where anything like what the Cobb AccessPort does for Subaru might succeed, even then, I think it would be a struggle.

I think another issue is most, if not all, of the tuners don't actually have an in depth knowledge of the OBDII/CAN interface to the car. This is probably only well understood by a handful of European companies, so lots of R&D, possible patent infringements etc to deal with....add to that a hand held tuner that needs to compete against other software-only tunes likely means lower margins, I just don't think it stacks up...
mixja is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-15-2009, 11:14 PM   #35
H Bomb
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Drives: 08 M3
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: FL to NY

Posts: 1,679
iTrader: (4)

oh i def agree with you there about people just spouting out bogus info and some don't even have the product or part and will say something about it for whatever reason

i guess in my case i should have done one from the beg and then one each time but i didn't so i kept saying ah next time etc. now i am to the point where i don't care anymore. but to others starting out with mods yes it is a good tool as long as it is done right like you said

H

Quote:
Originally Posted by dcstep View Post
Think of others. Dyno reports are valid, so long as the dyno used and methodology are consistant.

Coming on here and raving about what your butt told you is pretty useless information. Your judgement seems better than the average forum participant, but many here put out bogus info unintentionally. When objective data is available at reasonable cost, I think that we should at least consider availing ourselves.

Dave
__________________
Street- 08 E92 M3- Sparkling Graphite/ Fox Red/6sp
Track- 10 CRF 250-PR2 Race Motor/Ohlins TTX Susp
Hauler- 06 Ford Skyjacker F250 4WD
H Bomb is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-15-2009, 11:44 PM   #36
H Bomb
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Drives: 08 M3
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: FL to NY

Posts: 1,679
iTrader: (4)

that is how they do the Dinan software. they put it in my car right there at the shop. it puts your car in there system so if the dealer ever flashes it off (which has happened to me many times when at the dealer) Dinan puts it back in for you for free. good thing for me the dealer and the dinan place are only 15 min apart from each other lol

some you send out the ECU like AA etc. there are some other ways too, just depends on who you go with

Quote:
Originally Posted by MFlight View Post
So the tune can be uploaded through the OBD-II port? So in a sense, they are only having you remove the module and send it through the mail just so that their tune won't fall into the wrong hands.

The handheld computer can be locked to your individual car which prevents a person from using it elsewhere. The tune itself can also be locked as to prevent any manipulation and/or unauthorized use.

I think they should sell the tune with a handheld. This way it would be easy to get updates just in case there are issues with the A/F, timing, etc. The handheld would also be perfect to have to read any codes that might occur.

I guess BMW and the Tuners wants us to be completely dependent upon them.

Just a thought...
__________________
Street- 08 E92 M3- Sparkling Graphite/ Fox Red/6sp
Track- 10 CRF 250-PR2 Race Motor/Ohlins TTX Susp
Hauler- 06 Ford Skyjacker F250 4WD
H Bomb is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-16-2009, 03:21 PM   #37
skoot3r
BMW n00b
 
skoot3r's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 e92 M3/ 2013 GMC 2500hd
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: San Jose

Posts: 1,146
iTrader: (4)

Send a message via AIM to skoot3r
Some dynos of powerchip vs dinan flashes would be nice. Also does powerchip get rid of the CEL running no cats triggers?
__________________
09 SpaceGray M3 DCT
Power: Dinan 3.62, Gintani Race Mufflers, Dinan Intake, Gintani Xpipe, RPi Scoops
Cosmetic: Vrs Poly-Lip, CSL Trunk, LED Interior Lights, LUX H8, Smoked Tails, Challenge Diffuser
skoot3r is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-16-2009, 07:46 PM   #38
Mike Benvo
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
Mike Benvo's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 E90 M3 / 400whp Turbo 7
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SoCal

Posts: 4,540
iTrader: (7)

Garage List
1990 BMW 735i Turbo  [5.00]
2004 BMW M3  [0.00]
2008 BMW M3  [5.00]
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Benvo
Quote:
Originally Posted by skoot3r View Post
Some dynos of powerchip vs dinan flashes would be nice. Also does powerchip get rid of the CEL running no cats triggers?
I do not have any DINAN vs PC charts, but can give you the info of a few customers of mine that switched and you can ask them what they think.

I used to have DINAN Stage I ECU software on my E60 M5.

We can remove the check engine light at the customers request.

Our flashes are through the OBD II port and program both sides of the ECU. Our flash kits are said to be released shortly, and will allow the customer to purchase a cable and use their laptop to upload our tune into their car. Although these are supposed to arrive soon, I am not sure exactly when.

Depending on the car and ECU family, it may require a replacement chip or chips or it may allow an OBD II program. Sometimes a BDM program is the only way to do it - this procedure is a bit more in-depth than the other two. In the case of the M3, the OBD II flash is the best way to go on the E46 and E9X models.
__________________

-----| Like us on Facebook | Instagram || Tuning Information | Remote Coding |-----
----Visit us at www.BPMSport.com - Emotion. Driven. | Toll Free: (888) 557-5133----
Mike Benvo is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-16-2009, 08:06 PM   #39
srobmw
Second Lieutenant
 
srobmw's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 IB M3 Coupe
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: new windsor, ny

Posts: 273
iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2009 M3 Coupe  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to srobmw
Just did a Powerchip flash last night. I only got a chance to go for a quick run afterwords, but, damn, this is good shit..
__________________
2009 M3 coupe,interlagos blue,6mt,loaded,19" hre comp 97s,powerchip,h&r springs,hamann front splitter,eisenmann race exhaust
Delivered 7/10/09
srobmw is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-16-2009, 08:27 PM   #40
Mike Benvo
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
Mike Benvo's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 E90 M3 / 400whp Turbo 7
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SoCal

Posts: 4,540
iTrader: (7)

Garage List
1990 BMW 735i Turbo  [5.00]
2004 BMW M3  [0.00]
2008 BMW M3  [5.00]
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Benvo
Quote:
Originally Posted by srobmw View Post
Just did a Powerchip flash last night. I only got a chance to go for a quick run afterwords, but, damn, this is good shit..
Represent!
__________________

-----| Like us on Facebook | Instagram || Tuning Information | Remote Coding |-----
----Visit us at www.BPMSport.com - Emotion. Driven. | Toll Free: (888) 557-5133----
Mike Benvo is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-16-2009, 11:49 PM   #41
H Bomb
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Drives: 08 M3
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: FL to NY

Posts: 1,679
iTrader: (4)

does the check engine light work for the rest of the car if there is a problem like the Dinan or does it remove it entirely??

the laptop upload will be great. i use that now for my race bike to upload maps. the tool was expensive though

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike@Powerchip View Post
I do not have any DINAN vs PC charts, but can give you the info of a few customers of mine that switched and you can ask them what they think.

I used to have DINAN Stage I ECU software on my E60 M5.

We can remove the check engine light at the customers request.

Our flashes are through the OBD II port and program both sides of the ECU. Our flash kits are said to be released shortly, and will allow the customer to purchase a cable and use their laptop to upload our tune into their car. Although these are supposed to arrive soon, I am not sure exactly when.

Depending on the car and ECU family, it may require a replacement chip or chips or it may allow an OBD II program. Sometimes a BDM program is the only way to do it - this procedure is a bit more in-depth than the other two. In the case of the M3, the OBD II flash is the best way to go on the E46 and E9X models.
__________________
Street- 08 E92 M3- Sparkling Graphite/ Fox Red/6sp
Track- 10 CRF 250-PR2 Race Motor/Ohlins TTX Susp
Hauler- 06 Ford Skyjacker F250 4WD
H Bomb is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-17-2009, 12:19 AM   #42
Mike Benvo
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
Mike Benvo's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 E90 M3 / 400whp Turbo 7
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SoCal

Posts: 4,540
iTrader: (7)

Garage List
1990 BMW 735i Turbo  [5.00]
2004 BMW M3  [0.00]
2008 BMW M3  [5.00]
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Benvo
Quote:
Originally Posted by H Bomb View Post
does the check engine light work for the rest of the car if there is a problem like the Dinan or does it remove it entirely??

the laptop upload will be great. i use that now for my race bike to upload maps. the tool was expensive though
The light is removed ONLY for Catalyst Efficiency. Any other fault that's present (including issues with the PRE cat 02 sensors) will log a fault and trigger the SES light. We would never jeopardize the safety of the car by removing the light completely. Only the code related to catalyst monitoring is modified.
__________________

-----| Like us on Facebook | Instagram || Tuning Information | Remote Coding |-----
----Visit us at www.BPMSport.com - Emotion. Driven. | Toll Free: (888) 557-5133----
Mike Benvo is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-17-2009, 12:49 AM   #43
H Bomb
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Drives: 08 M3
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: FL to NY

Posts: 1,679
iTrader: (4)

sweet good to know, i will let my friend know who asked me. thanks for the info

H

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike@Powerchip View Post
The light is removed ONLY for Catalyst Efficiency. Any other fault that's present (including issues with the PRE cat 02 sensors) will log a fault and trigger the SES light. We would never jeopardize the safety of the car by removing the light completely. Only the code related to catalyst monitoring is modified.
__________________
Street- 08 E92 M3- Sparkling Graphite/ Fox Red/6sp
Track- 10 CRF 250-PR2 Race Motor/Ohlins TTX Susp
Hauler- 06 Ford Skyjacker F250 4WD
H Bomb is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-17-2009, 04:46 AM   #44
MFlight
Let's Race
 
MFlight's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 BMW M3
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Germany/AZ

Posts: 51
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike@Powerchip View Post
I do not have any DINAN vs PC charts, but can give you the info of a few customers of mine that switched and you can ask them what they think.

I used to have DINAN Stage I ECU software on my E60 M5.

We can remove the check engine light at the customers request.

Our flashes are through the OBD II port and program both sides of the ECU. Our flash kits are said to be released shortly, and will allow the customer to purchase a cable and use their laptop to upload our tune into their car. Although these are supposed to arrive soon, I am not sure exactly when.

Depending on the car and ECU family, it may require a replacement chip or chips or it may allow an OBD II program. Sometimes a BDM program is the only way to do it - this procedure is a bit more in-depth than the other two. In the case of the M3, the OBD II flash is the best way to go on the E46 and E9X models.
I like being able to upload a tune through the OBII port, especially if we only need to get an approrpiate cable and use the Latop. This way we could datalog if necessary and send the information back for analysis. I used to do this all the time with my GT500. Lund racing would send me a tune. I would upload it to the Shelby then do a couple of runs while datalogging. After sending the info back he could then adjust the A/F and timing accordingly. The potential is there.
__________________

2010 BMW M3 Coupe
Alpine White - DCT
MFlight is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
broadway performance, dinan, powerchip, tune

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:10 AM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST