BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Engine, Transmission, Exhaust, Drivetrain, ECU Software Modifications
 
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      08-29-2009, 10:36 AM   #45
Roman@ESS
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
Roman@ESS's Avatar
 
Drives: ESS Supercharged E92 M3
Join Date: May 2007
Location: AZ

Posts: 2,593
iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by PencilGeek View Post
I think your assumptions of what work is performed during this so-called "custom tune" isn't entirely correct. Yes you get custom AFR -- but that's about as much actual custom work that you get. The rest is almost entirely boiler-plate and doesn't require your car to be on a dyno.
  • Opening throttle bodies earlier and all the way: check.
  • Modifying spark curve: check.
  • Change the RPM limiter: check.
  • Cat delete: check.
  • Launch control: check.
  • 91 octane tune: check.
  • Air filter: check.
If we really want to get technical about it, your custom tune is really only "custom" on the day you get it. After that, it might as well be a shelf tune. On any other day, the air density is different; density altitude is different, dew point is different; fuel may contain slightly different oxigenation; tempuratures are certainly different. All of these things affect the dyno results and the AFR of your motor. Your custom tune may have been custom on the day you got it, but it's not so custom a week later.

Even with that said, I'd still recommend a custom dyno-tuned ECU by AA or PowerChip if one can afford it.
Much of what is said here is correct. People need to understand how the DME in this car works. First it is a target based system. Unlike older software systems that need independent timing and fueling data to be adjusted based on desired operation this system can be told what you want and it will do it on its own. The DME will auto tune on the fly based on fuel, temp, altitude etc.. The majority of the system is adaptation based not custom pre-set files. There are a few things that can be custom tuned like vanos control, trottle response, RPM limit and adaptation values but this is not a system that requires alot of custom tuning to perform at its potential with a stock car or a car with simple bolt on mods like a pully and a muffler. You can make power on a dyno by simply resetting adaptations after you dyno your car once as the DME will unlearn any negative adaptation values it might have picked up in the past few hundred miles like bad fuel or high temps. We have done this many times with cars durning testing and picked up 10-15hp.

With most of the E90 M3 tunes on the market "including ours" what you will notice is how well the car drives and depending on the fuel you run you will pick up a little extra power. But there is no secret sauce to making a bunch of extra power with a software flash on this car.
Roman@ESS is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-29-2009, 10:53 AM   #46
aus
Major General
 
Drives: Odysse
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Seal Beach, CA

Posts: 7,304
iTrader: (5)

Didn't someone make 25HP here with a tune?

So was that gain just for that day, or will the gains be carried over as long as he has the tune?
__________________
Let me get this straight... You are swapping out parts designed by some of the top engineers in the world because some guys sponsored by a company told you it's "better??" But when you ask the same guy about tracking, "oh no, I have a kid now" or "I just detailed my car." or "i just got new tires."
aus is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-29-2009, 12:22 PM   #47
DLSJ5
Brigadier General
 
DLSJ5's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 E92 DCT M3
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: CA

Posts: 3,425
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via AIM to DLSJ5
Congrats Bro, wished you could have made it this morning! I would have loved to see what your car could do! I'm very impressed with the #'s.

Jeremy @ Powerchip from what I hear and witnessed is the real deal, he tuned my buddies Stage 3 C63 that is a monster, cleary he knows what he's doing.

I do have to say though that the AA #'s don't make any sense, and I don't believe they are an accurate reflection of their tune, lower than stock? I don't think there is foulplay here at all, but AA is a very capable BMW tuner and other dyno's have shown nice gains, either way good stuff Elden and Jeremy!
__________________
08 E92 M3 DCT - Bolt Ons - 60-130MPH 10.71s - 11.88 @ 118MPH - 377WHP
ESS VT2-625 SC 60-130MPH 6.80s - 11.30 @ 129.3 MPH 586WHP / 379WTQ @ 7.2psi - 94 octane / Water meth
ESS VT3-750 - 60-130MPH 6.44s - 10.81 @ 135.13 MPH 690Whp/463Wtq@13.5 psi

Last edited by DLSJ5; 08-29-2009 at 12:39 PM.
DLSJ5 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-29-2009, 02:41 PM   #48
mvagusta
Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2008 m3 coup
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: michigan

Posts: 475
iTrader: (1)

so for me to get the best tune for my car. Is to take the car to powerchip? I live in michigan and we are not lucky to have tuners for bmw's . I'd love to have someone to dyno my car and pull all the hp out of it. So does this mean that i would get a shelf tune? So basicly it doesn't matter for customers outside of the perimeters of these tuners, where stuck with out the shelf tunes. AA or powerchip same thing for me? I have a pulley AA and a afe filter and scoops and I am about to buy a fabspeed hjc cat x pipe with my stock muffler. I can't get a custom tune because my car is not there to dyno?
mvagusta is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-29-2009, 03:25 PM   #49
Mike Benvo
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
Mike Benvo's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 E90 M3 / 400whp Turbo 7
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SoCal

Posts: 4,599
iTrader: (7)

Garage List
1990 BMW 735i Turbo  [5.00]
2004 BMW M3  [0.00]
2008 BMW M3  [5.00]
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Benvo
I agree that it is out of characteristic for the tune to have lost power on the dyno. But I've seen this happen before. AA is a well respected tuner and I was surprised to see the results.

mvagusta: Shoot me a PM and we'll discuss options for your car. There are options for us dyno tuning it remotely with our Powerflash kits. Thanks.
__________________

-----| Like us on Facebook | Instagram || Tuning Information | Remote Coding |-----
----Visit us at www.BPMSport.com - Emotion. Driven. | Toll Free: (888) 557-5133----
Mike Benvo is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-29-2009, 04:02 PM   #50
DLSJ5
Brigadier General
 
DLSJ5's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 E92 DCT M3
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: CA

Posts: 3,425
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via AIM to DLSJ5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Benvo View Post
I agree that it is out of characteristic for the tune to have lost power on the dyno. But I've seen this happen before. AA is a well respected tuner and I was surprised to see the results.

mvagusta: Shoot me a PM and we'll discuss options for your car. There are options for us dyno tuning it remotely with our Powerflash kits. Thanks.
Agreed, Mike I apologize for not giving you props on the #'s as well, nice job!
__________________
08 E92 M3 DCT - Bolt Ons - 60-130MPH 10.71s - 11.88 @ 118MPH - 377WHP
ESS VT2-625 SC 60-130MPH 6.80s - 11.30 @ 129.3 MPH 586WHP / 379WTQ @ 7.2psi - 94 octane / Water meth
ESS VT3-750 - 60-130MPH 6.44s - 10.81 @ 135.13 MPH 690Whp/463Wtq@13.5 psi
DLSJ5 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-29-2009, 04:16 PM   #51
the infamous...
Relapsed Bimmerpost Addict
 
the infamous...'s Avatar
 
Drives: like I'M BOUT THAT LIFE
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: PARADISE aka CANES COUNTRY

Posts: 17,537
iTrader: (0)

Sweet!!
__________________


"simple is clean" -The ///ModFather
the infamous... is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-29-2009, 04:36 PM   #52
J08M3
Major General
 
J08M3's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 M3 COUPE
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NEW YORK

Posts: 6,012
iTrader: (8)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Benvo View Post
I agree that it is out of characteristic for the tune to have lost power on the dyno. But I've seen this happen before. AA is a well respected tuner and I was surprised to see the results.

mvagusta: Shoot me a PM and we'll discuss options for your car. There are options for us dyno tuning it remotely with our Powerflash kits. Thanks.
+1

got almost the same setup as mvagusta, no pulley though.... and MS filter instead. Waiting to hear back on my options
__________________
J08M3 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-29-2009, 05:46 PM   #53
powertrip
Scared money don't make money.
 
powertrip's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 E92 M3 DCT
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Irvine, CA

Posts: 1,458
iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2009 E92 M3  [0.00]
Agreed, but the reality is that the tune lost power up top . I can definitely tell that there is 40 extra horses up top, as the car has decided that it will chirp shifting into 4th gear under full throtte . Just an unbelievable amount of extra power gained considering it's not a forced induction engine .

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Benvo View Post
I agree that it is out of characteristic for the tune to have lost power on the dyno. But I've seen this happen before. AA is a well respected tuner and I was surprised to see the results.

mvagusta: Shoot me a PM and we'll discuss options for your car. There are options for us dyno tuning it remotely with our Powerflash kits. Thanks.
__________________
2009 E92 M3/DCT/Alpine White/Fox Red/Carbon Leather
OE Tuned 402 whp & 303 wtq/Gintani X-pipe/MXP Axle Back/Rogue Pulley/AFE Stage 2/Cosmetics By IND & EAS
HUGE THANKS: Gintani, OE Tuning, and EAS
powertrip is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-29-2009, 06:15 PM   #54
AMPowerJ
One mod leads to another ...
 
AMPowerJ's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 E92 M3
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Blythewood, SC

Posts: 2,472
iTrader: (9)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by powertrip View Post
Agreed, but the reality is that the tune lost power up top . I can definitely tell that there is 40 extra horses up top, as the car has decided that it will chirp shifting into 4th gear under full throtte . Just an unbelievable amount of extra power gained considering it's not a forced induction engine .
Chirping 4th gear is impressive!
__________________

Current: 2015 F80 M3 (SS, Full Black Interior, 6MT, LED, Adaptive, 19's) - On Order - 10/28 PCD
Previous: 2013 E92 M3, 2013 F10 M5, 2009 E90 M3, 1998 E36 M3
AMPowerJ is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-29-2009, 07:41 PM   #55
stylinexpat
Captain
 
stylinexpat's Avatar
 
Drives:
Join Date: Aug 2008

Posts: 806
iTrader: (0)

I think I want to try one of these tunes on my car It's stock now..
stylinexpat is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-29-2009, 08:54 PM   #56
rAdzM
Smashed!
 
Drives: 2009 E92 M3
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Socal

Posts: 1,159
iTrader: (9)

Garage List
2009 BMW M3  [5.00]
2006 BMW M5  [4.50]
congrats! strong dyno bro! HFC's means cat delete?
__________________
est. 2008

BBS_Brembo_KWV3_Recaro_VARIS_Vorsteiner_BMW Performance_Oneighty_Dinan_etc.
rAdzM is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-29-2009, 09:07 PM   #57
powertrip
Scared money don't make money.
 
powertrip's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 E92 M3 DCT
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Irvine, CA

Posts: 1,458
iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2009 E92 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by radz182 View Post
congrats! strong dyno bro! HFC's means cat delete?
No, I'm running Encore Innovation high flow cats .
__________________
2009 E92 M3/DCT/Alpine White/Fox Red/Carbon Leather
OE Tuned 402 whp & 303 wtq/Gintani X-pipe/MXP Axle Back/Rogue Pulley/AFE Stage 2/Cosmetics By IND & EAS
HUGE THANKS: Gintani, OE Tuning, and EAS
powertrip is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-29-2009, 09:46 PM   #58
mixja
Captain
 
Drives: 2011 E90 DCT Silverstone
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Beverly Hils, CA

Posts: 783
iTrader: (1)

powertrip - Given you have a DCT any tips for getting the DCT to work correctly on the Dyno? I'm assuming Dyno Dynamics is a roller dyno? Are Roller dynos easier than hub dynos to get DCT going correctly on the dyno? Because I had real issues on a dynapack hub dyno - see http://www.m3post.com/forums/showthr...light=DCT+dyno
mixja is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-29-2009, 09:51 PM   #59
powertrip
Scared money don't make money.
 
powertrip's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 E92 M3 DCT
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Irvine, CA

Posts: 1,458
iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2009 E92 M3  [0.00]
Good question, Mixja. I haven't had my car on a Dynapack, but she did give us a hard time on this same dyno once before. For some reason it didn't want to shift out of 2nd gear on one run. We've gotten the best results by starting out in 1st and being aggressive with the throttle when accelerating through the gears on the dyno. Hope this helps .

Quote:
Originally Posted by mixja View Post
powertrip - Given you have a DCT any tips for getting the DCT to work correctly on the Dyno? I'm assuming Dyno Dynamics is a roller dyno? Are Roller dynos easier than hub dynos to get DCT going correctly on the dyno? Because I had real issues on a dynapack hub dyno - see http://www.m3post.com/forums/showthr...light=DCT+dyno
__________________
2009 E92 M3/DCT/Alpine White/Fox Red/Carbon Leather
OE Tuned 402 whp & 303 wtq/Gintani X-pipe/MXP Axle Back/Rogue Pulley/AFE Stage 2/Cosmetics By IND & EAS
HUGE THANKS: Gintani, OE Tuning, and EAS
powertrip is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-29-2009, 10:18 PM   #60
mvagusta
Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2008 m3 coup
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: michigan

Posts: 475
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Benvo View Post
I agree that it is out of characteristic for the tune to have lost power on the dyno. But I've seen this happen before. AA is a well respected tuner and I was surprised to see the results.

mvagusta: Shoot me a PM and we'll discuss options for your car. There are options for us dyno tuning it remotely with our Powerflash kits. Thanks.
powerflash kit? How does that work?
mvagusta is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-29-2009, 10:36 PM   #61
stylinexpat
Captain
 
stylinexpat's Avatar
 
Drives:
Join Date: Aug 2008

Posts: 806
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by powertrip View Post
No, I'm running Encore Innovation high flow cats .
Is that with the titanium or steel ones??
stylinexpat is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-29-2009, 11:05 PM   #62
Mike Benvo
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
Mike Benvo's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 E90 M3 / 400whp Turbo 7
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SoCal

Posts: 4,599
iTrader: (7)

Garage List
1990 BMW 735i Turbo  [5.00]
2004 BMW M3  [0.00]
2008 BMW M3  [5.00]
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Benvo
Quote:
Originally Posted by mixja View Post
powertrip - Given you have a DCT any tips for getting the DCT to work correctly on the Dyno? I'm assuming Dyno Dynamics is a roller dyno? Are Roller dynos easier than hub dynos to get DCT going correctly on the dyno? Because I had real issues on a dynapack hub dyno - see http://www.m3post.com/forums/showthr...light=DCT+dyno
We ran into this issue as well on the dyno. Powertrips car would refuse to shift up from second. You just have to keep driving it with varying throttle and it will eventually throw all of the malfunctions, which will unlock the rest of the gears.

mvagusta: Let's not get off topic with the Powerflash kits, you can PM regarding this. Sorry for still not posting the writeup yet, I haven't had a chance. It's coming soon.
__________________

-----| Like us on Facebook | Instagram || Tuning Information | Remote Coding |-----
----Visit us at www.BPMSport.com - Emotion. Driven. | Toll Free: (888) 557-5133----
Mike Benvo is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-30-2009, 12:20 AM   #63
powertrip
Scared money don't make money.
 
powertrip's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 E92 M3 DCT
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Irvine, CA

Posts: 1,458
iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2009 E92 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by stylinexpat View Post
Is that with the titanium or steel ones??
Stainless steel.
__________________
2009 E92 M3/DCT/Alpine White/Fox Red/Carbon Leather
OE Tuned 402 whp & 303 wtq/Gintani X-pipe/MXP Axle Back/Rogue Pulley/AFE Stage 2/Cosmetics By IND & EAS
HUGE THANKS: Gintani, OE Tuning, and EAS
powertrip is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-30-2009, 01:35 AM   #64
mixja
Captain
 
Drives: 2011 E90 DCT Silverstone
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Beverly Hils, CA

Posts: 783
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Benvo View Post
I agree that it is out of characteristic for the tune to have lost power on the dyno. But I've seen this happen before. AA is a well respected tuner and I was surprised to see the results.

mvagusta: Shoot me a PM and we'll discuss options for your car. There are options for us dyno tuning it remotely with our Powerflash kits. Thanks.
Would this be something Powerchip Australia could do? I've had the car flashed twice now, each time they sent me a flashing unit.

I'm assuming it requires some form of Internet connection whilst the car is on the dyno?

Also can you put the car in a special mode via flashing unit whilst on the dyno to disable ABS sensors et al that make DCT dynos hard?
mixja is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-30-2009, 05:01 AM   #65
roycemek
Private First Class
 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Burbank

Posts: 176
iTrader: (4)

Not sure if this is related or not but has anyone tried pulling the tail light fuse. I haven't tried it myself but read a couple posts a while ago about a procedure to do a burnout with a dct tranny. From what I recall without doing anything the abs would freak out and prevent any sorta burnout. I know burnouts and dyno pulls sound very different but the abs errors sound similar.
roycemek is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-30-2009, 07:48 AM   #66
Eugene-TAIWAN
Brigadier General
 
Eugene-TAIWAN's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 M3 Coupe
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Taiwan

Posts: 3,112
iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by powertrip View Post
Agreed, but the reality is that the tune lost power up top . I can definitely tell that there is 40 extra horses up top, as the car has decided that it will chirp shifting into 4th gear under full throtte . Just an unbelievable amount of extra power gained considering it's not a forced induction engine .

chirping is a sign of RAW POWER!
__________________

Past: Gintani stage3 M3
present: Porsche 993RWB, 964RS America,996 cupcar, 964 turbo 3.6, 991C4S, i3 in September
Eugene-TAIWAN is offline   Taiwan
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:41 PM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST