BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > BIMMERPOST Universal Forums > Off-Topic Discussions Board > Video + PC Gaming / Computing
 
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      08-10-2009, 10:41 AM   #1
ragingclue
One cam is enough
84

 
ragingclue's Avatar
 
Drives: VF
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: mulletville


Posts: 6,814
iTrader: (1)

Anyone running Win7 7600 RTM?

I was thinking about installing the RTM version of Win7 Ultimate x64 (7600), and I was wondering if anyone had any input as far as the activation goes.... I've read up on the Orbit activator, but that RC method seems to keep the timebomb intact, watermark, all that annoying shit....

The Hazar method looks pretty good too, supposedly making it fully activated as if it was really legit.

My question is which of these methods will withstand any updates/patches/bugfixes, and possible witch hunts from Microsoft while I figure out whether to keep Win7 or go back to Vista? Also, I can't really find any other methods or suggestions, so I was wondering if there was anything I missed.

Another thing I was wondering about is whether or not anyone has any suggestions or input here as far as any software, driver, or hardware issues they've had.
Appreciate 0
      08-10-2009, 11:57 AM   #2
Ochmonek
Nosy Neighbor
0

 
Drives: 2008 335i
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Next Door in Riverside


Posts: 21
iTrader: (0)

It's easier to wait for GA. If you got your copy from a torrents website, you don't know who's monkeyed with it.

Did you pre-order a real copy ?
Appreciate 0
      08-10-2009, 12:06 PM   #3
ragingclue
One cam is enough
84

 
ragingclue's Avatar
 
Drives: VF
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: mulletville


Posts: 6,814
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ochmonek View Post
It's easier to wait for GA. If you got your copy from a torrents website, you don't know who's monkeyed with it.

Did you pre-order a real copy ?
No I haven't ordered a real copy yet. I was waiting for RTM to get the best idea of what the "real" product was going to be, and see if I liked it, so I haven't even checked out the beta too much at this point.

Honestly, I don't mind Vista at all, and if 7 doesn't impress me much, I think I'll just go back to it.
Appreciate 0
      08-10-2009, 02:20 PM   #4
Ochmonek
Nosy Neighbor
0

 
Drives: 2008 335i
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Next Door in Riverside


Posts: 21
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ragingclue View Post
No I haven't ordered a real copy yet. I was waiting for RTM to get the best idea of what the "real" product was going to be, and see if I liked it, so I haven't even checked out the beta too much at this point.

Honestly, I don't mind Vista at all, and if 7 doesn't impress me much, I think I'll just go back to it.

I've checked out the RC and a lot of the builds up until the RTM, and Windows 7 is a lot faster than Vista. I even installed Windows 7 on a very old computer, and it detected the hardware without issue. Windows XP didn't do that, and wouldn't even load the XP drivers for the undetected hardware.
Appreciate 0
      08-10-2009, 08:12 PM   #5
darkphantom
Banned
159

 
Drives: E93 335i
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The place for Bimmers


Posts: 5,949
iTrader: (4)

Send a message via AIM to darkphantom
I don't have W7 yet but here's a comparison from a friend. He and my brother both have the exact same builds which are: i7 920 @ 2.66ghz 6gb ram, 2TB hard drives with a GTX280

At idle, Vista is eating up 1.6-2gbs of ram on my brother's comp

Friend is running W7 on idle, barely uses anything. It's just like XP again with the features of Vista!

For Vista...2gb is barely enough to operate at full capacity, but for W7, 2gb is more than enough for any task!
Appreciate 0
      08-11-2009, 09:04 AM   #6
ragingclue
One cam is enough
84

 
ragingclue's Avatar
 
Drives: VF
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: mulletville


Posts: 6,814
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by darkphantom View Post
I don't have W7 yet but here's a comparison from a friend. He and my brother both have the exact same builds which are: i7 920 @ 2.66ghz 6gb ram, 2TB hard drives with a GTX280

At idle, Vista is eating up 1.6-2gbs of ram on my brother's comp

Friend is running W7 on idle, barely uses anything. It's just like XP again with the features of Vista!

For Vista...2gb is barely enough to operate at full capacity, but for W7, 2gb is more than enough for any task!
Thing is, I built this box myself just a few months ago with the resource hogging of Vista in mind, and it'll run anything on max settings for a while longer. While I didn't go the i7 route, I've still got a 9650E0@4.1GHz, 2x2GB@1.8GHz, and 2x4870 1GB cards (on a FoxConn X48 BlackOps Mobo [boo I know this was a dumb board, but I had extreme cooling and benching in mind for the first month or so]), 3x10kRPM in RAID5, etc.... So, I do have enough power to easily run Vista and pretty much whatever game at max settings on it.

I'm just hoping they didn't skimp on the package to make Win7 run faster. If they did, then it would just make sense to stay with Vista if it doesn't annoy you or hamper you in any way. Truth is, once they ironed all the bugs out, and once you got a computer that wasn't hindered by the fact that Vista is the fattest pig of an OS ever, it was a damn good OS IMHO. This is why I'm trying to figure out whether or not I want to purchase Win7, so I'd like to get a taste of it before I was to order it.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:47 AM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST